Call us on 01688 400682

Keills Cottage Reviews

41 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I travel alone with a small dog so feeling safe where I am staying is essential. Keills cottage was a safe space, welcoming, clean, well equipped and a wonderful place to stay (have been holidaying on the Ross of Mull for past 23 years). Hope I can go back there again next year.

    By Una and Patricia stayed in May 2024

    • Star

    Stayed for a day and a half, draw your own conclusions. Spent an hour cleaning the kitchen on arrival. Broken glass door and didn't close properly with the wood burning stove. Did contact the housekeeper in regards to the stove but received no reply due to the housekeepers internet being down fair enough but we did email them. Whole experience ruined our holiday and the expense has left a sour taste in my mouth. I've taken photos to back up my issues with this holiday let. Medication being left in a bedside drawer is not acceptable. Would not recommend this cottage ????

    By John Glasgow stayed in May 2024

    Editor's Note: Note from the Owner: We are really sorry the guests curtailed their holiday. While the wood burning stove has a crack in the glass front it is certified as completely safe (tested in 2023 and May 2024); for further reassurance there are carbon monoxide alarms in the cottage. We apologise that the housekeepers missed the inhaler left by the previous guest in the bedside drawer and that their internet reception was down (an occupational hazard in Mull). However, there were other people the guests could have tried to contact who would have offered immediate help. We have asked the housekeepers to check all drawers for mislaid possessions in future.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is our fourth stay in Keills Cottage and it feels like our home on Mull! We enjoy the remoteness and it’s a great place to explore Mull, in particular the Ross from.
    The cottage has everything we need and we love sitting at the kitchen table watching the view and spotting wildlife!

    By Pauline and Lori stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic week in the cottage and found it perfect for what we wanted - somewhere comfortable and peaceful after being out walking all day. It is well equipped and the views from the window were stunning - we saw deer and so many birds. The stars from the garden one night were incredible.
    We found the information on walks and beaches to visit really useful. This part of Mull is stunning and the cottage was really well located to explore. We'd definitely love to come back.
    Thank you for a lovely stay.

    By Georgina stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well equipped and comfortable cottage, the enclosed garden was great for our dog, some lovely artwork on the walls and the bed was super comfy. We watched a hen harrier from the kitchen window and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this quiet location. Would definitely stay there again.

    By Marion Ranson stayed in July 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our stay at keills. Location is peaceful, wild and beautiful. We saw deer and many bird species from the kitchen. We found it to be a very special place and would love to return. Cottage was warm, comfortable and very well equipped for cooking, cleaning and laundry .
    For dog owners awareness the garden is enclosed but not 100% secure. Smaller dogs can get under gate at the hinge end, and dogs that like to jump or find ways out will be able to escape (esp if they are motvated by sheep!)
    We attached a longline to the tree in the garden for our "houdini" and this worked for us :)

    By Miss H Mathie stayed in July 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had an enjoyable time on Mull, (our fifth visit) but the cottage isn’t great. The kitchen is very tired, the table and chairs not comfortable and difficult to sit at for a man of 6ft. The bathroom is ok but the bath hopeless for anyone with mobility issues. It could all do with a deep clean too. Don’t really appreciate cobwebs in the entrance. No firefighters or kindling left. On the plus side the beds are very comfortable and anyone wanting to watch wildlife will have a ball! The remote position of the cottage is great but you are a long way from anywhere.

    By David and Rose Goodwin stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage in a stunning location.great beaches close by,hen harriers red deer short eared owl curlew and many more just through the kitchen window.iona and staffa are a must while your there .highly recommended

    By Tony wenham stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage is in a great location, nice and quite but still driving distance to beaches or a little village near by.
    Kitchen had everything we needed, bathroom is only downside to cottage really.
    We didn't use the stove as was warm enough with the heaters on. Think flu wasnt connected to stove when we were there, could see a gap?
    The kingsize bed was very comfy and clean. Garden good for dogs.
    We saw lots of different wildlife around cottage, especially the stag.
    Had a lovely week on mull, weather was in and out but didn't matter to us. Already planning another trip for next year.
    Thanks

    By Emma & Stuart Young stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is well furnished and comfortable but in need of a good deep clean and the tired paintwork refreshed. The roll top bath is not suitable for anyone with the slightest mobility issue as it is narrow and high. The garden needs attention and the dead pot plants removed. It’s a pity that it doesn’t quite hit the mark as it has loads of potential and in a stunning location.

    By P Templeton stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is set in a beautiful, remote location with a nice, secure garden. Internally, the cottage has the potential to be lovely but we felt it was in need of some TLC, including redecorating and the kitchen units are very dated. There was insufficient hot water as the water booster doesn't work and wifi reception very poor. The views and peacefulness the cottage offers are lovely though.

    By Gail Hall stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We enjoy our visit to Mull great wildlife and beaches Cottage is well placed to visit the Ross of Mull but felt it the cottage was a bit tired and bathroom needs an upgrade. Kitchen was well stocked everything needed was there and some nice touches with interesting art work - bed was comfy.

    By Elaine and Martin stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Another wonderful stay at Keills Cottage! This time the weather was the best we’ve ever had on Mull! Well equipped cottage with everything we needed. Love the art work throughout the house and enjoyed the books too.

    By Pauline and Lori stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My family and dog thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. My son and husband had no issues with the lower ceiling. The cottage is clean,comfortable and well equipped.The location is excellent with lovely walks and views. We spotted Hen harriers from the kitchen window. The cottage is well furnished and stylish with gorgeous artwork all over. We even used the stove on our first night and it was very easy to use. I needed to ask a question about something and the housekeeper was very responsive and helpful. I would definitely recommend!

    By Collette Howie stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you are 6’ tall & over DO NOT stay in Keills Cottage as there is a low beam between TV room & sitting room which results in frequent head bumps. Cottage in need of a refresh & TLC. Poor internet, TV & mobile reception. Property in good location with enclosed garden.

    By Ingirid stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfy and warm cottage with ample room for the 2 of us and our 2 dogs. Spacious garden but the fencing needs replacing in parts to make it totally dog proof and given the time of year the external lighting is very poor. Unfortunately owing to the COVID-19 restrictions all pubs and restaurants south of Craignure were closed as were most of the visitor attractions around the island. The start of the monsoon season corresponded with our arrival and it rained all week plus the arrival of Storm Aiden at the end of the week with 75 mph winds which proved very challenging!

    By Nigel stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great cottage in a fabulous location. Cottage was spotless on arrival and very well equipped with the additional bonus of having access to a washing machine and dryer and area to hang wet suits. Nice secluded garden with wonderful views. Sad not to see a hen harrier or otters ! We would absolutely recommend a stay here, great value for money and Mull is not to be missed.

    By Louise Banks stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were delighted with everything about our stay at Keills Cottage. We’ve been to Mull camping several times so knew we loved the island. However, the cottage gave us a really comfortable base for our visit. The views from the cottage are fab! We spent a lot of time just enjoying what we could see from the kitchen table! We enjoyed its secluded location and lovely garden. The precautions taken for our safety this year were very reassuring too. We’re looking forward to returning next year!

    By Pauline stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    2nd visit to Keills and it did not disappoint. We had a fab week and the weather got better and better. Sad to leave and most likely to book again.

    By Susan stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great location of cottage.
    Cottage itself is very well equipped, comfortable and lovely firm bed, with the added bonus of the enclosed garden.
    Very happy with the cottage and would recommend it.
    We had a fantastic week on Mull

    By Adrian stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage and well equipped. Quantity of hot water adequate but cold tap still needs fixing although owners aware. Could do more to promote recycling to those staying. Even food waste could be composted at Bunessan community shop. Also previous visitors had not cleaned up after their dog(s). Otherwise would stay there again, it was great!

    By Ruth et al stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We enjoyed our stay in Keills. Lorna - the cleaner - and her friend were very helpful and prompt when we could not turn off the bath tap. The tap needs a plumber's attention. The hot water system fails to provide enough water for the bath unless you constantly over-ride it.
    The local information in the cottage is out of date in parts and needs a review. Otherwise no problems.

    By Kevin Curley stayed in June 2019

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your feedback. The owners are getting the hot water system checked by a plumber.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Keills Cottage was superb and perfect for our stay. Taking dogs was a bonus for us. The cottage was clean and well equipped. We had no trouble with the bath....we had showers. The weather was kind to us and the cottage was in a perfect position for getting about The Ross of Mull. We would love to go back.

    By Rosemarie Ramsay stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great venue, nicely equipped, good location,
    However the fire safety elements need to be overhauled.
    Two rooms have had smoke detectors removed. Kitchen has smoke detector rather than heat detector and cooking anything set of the alarm. Not sure if all alarms are connected as required as if one goes off they all should. Could have been a much better experience without this continued annoyance. Plus better broadband access.

    By Martin Brown stayed in October 2018

    Editor's Note: Smoke detectors working correctly now at Keills

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great location for exploring the Ross of Mull. The cottage is well equipped and very homely. Lots of wildlife to be seen and beautiful and walks nearby. Will definitely come back.

    By Kelley and Glenn stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This a great cottage in good location. It is two miles from the centre of Bunesson (about a 45 min walk along quiet single track) and close to some good beaches). Saw hen arriers hunting over breakfast which was great too
    There were a few issues in the house. Geting hot water from the shower was a bit hit and miss and the tv was a bit tempramental to sort out at times, you have to do your own recylcing (not sure why when all the nearby houses hvae the required recycling bins) and most annoying of all the mattress on the main bed badly dipped in the middle and was possibly one of the worst mattresses I have slept on!

    By Will Bartle stayed in May 2018

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your comments. The owners purchased a new John Lewis mattress for the cottage in 2018, we will keep an eye on feedback from other guests

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Keills Cottage. Clearly the cleaning issues mentioned by others have been resolved, for we found it in excellent condition, and very comfortable. Though some of the weather was very cold and wet, we were very comfortable and warm. Lovely location for exploring the Ross of Mull.

    By Colin Offor stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a lovely cottage ideal for touring mull.very warm and cosy,furnished to a good standard.tv worked well but sometimes lost picture in heavy rain and high wind.
    Although you are asked to clean before you leave this was difficult as there was no brush head for hoover.after reading review from June it is clear that the owners have not taken action.the hole interior needs a good clean.I cleaned the windows in kitchen inside and out so that we could see properly.

    By Roy monk stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Nice cottage in a great location for exploring the Ross of Mull and Iona. The cottage has good wifi and tv reception given its remoteness. The garden has clearly been improved from when earlier comments were written. It may be the passage of time since previous positive comments were written but we felt the kitchen was a little worn out and in need of attention. On balance a good enough cottage with a lovely new extension but it was definitely let down on our arrival by a less than perfect standard of cleanliness which was disappointing at the start of our holiday.

    By John C stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star

    Oh dear wish we had looked at the pillows etc under the covers at the start of the week and not the end. It is very disappointing to see standards that low for the cost of the cottage you would certainly expect better

    By Buck stayed in September 2016

    Editor's Note: Replacements have been ordered this week

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Comfortable and spacious cottage with good facilities. We liked the choice of sitting areas. Lovely views and good location for the Ross of Mull. A few small things could have been better.

    By Donella stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic stay at Keills cottage. Stunning location great for lovely beaches and it's a must to visit Iona it's wonderful . We were lucky to see lots of wildlife otters,seals ,deer & golden eagles would recommend Keills Cottage very comfy & Cosy Thank you very much.

    By The Brown's & Harstons stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Keills Cottage was in a very peaceful location with great views. This location gives you great scope to see the stunning beaches on the Ross of Mull and also be able to visit Iona.The local wildlife is amazing,deers,eagles,otters etc. The cottage itself is homely and practical.As per other review the garden round the back and sides does require some attention. Ideal cottage for family groups and dog lovers.The little things seem to be well thought through and make the stay more pleasant.Would happily recommend.

    By David and Helen. stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic stay in the lovely Keills cottage. Very cosy and comfortable. Would highly recommend this cottage. Thank you.

    By Gordon and Alison stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely, well equipped cottage in probably the most interesting area in Mull, with stunning beaches and islands to visit nearby. The local pub is also worth visiting. The only criticism that we would make is that the garden is very overgrown and desperately needs tidying up, otherwise an excellent cottage to which we would happily return.

    By Colin and Wendy stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Keills Cottage is a real gem as it is in a stunning location with many opportunities for walking and watching wildlife. We enjoyed seeing the birds and deer right outside the window as we ate breakfast. The cottage itself is an imaginative conversion of an old stone cottage. It is well-equipped and comfortable. Highly recommended.

    By Margaret stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Keills Cottage what can I say wow wow what a wonderful place to stay ! Fantastic views lots of wildlife ! Woken by the call of curlews and cuckoo !
    Lovely cozy cottage and lots of places to go we had puffins landing at our feet on Staffa !
    Highly recommended

    By Peter stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If your looking for a comfortable base for your holiday look no further. The cottage is well set out, fully equipped and so relaxing. It is set in a good position for exploring the Ross of Mull.

    By Pete Lewis stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a lovely, comfortable and well equipped cottage. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return to Keills Cottage. It's in a nice remote location but the walk to the local town (and pub) isn't as far as it looks which was a bonus. Lots of beautiful local scenery to explore and when it rained we were cosy in front of the log burning stove. Highly recommended.

    By Gavin stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I would like to thank the owners of Keills Cottage and Isle of Mull Cottages for making our first stay on Mull a truly wonderful one. The cottage was in a perfect location....hen harriers seen from the kitchen window, what more could you ask for?
    Well maybe a bit and for that it was great to get out and explore The Ross of Mull and the rest of the Island, Ulva and Iona. Long days but worth every moment and knowing that there was a beautiful comfortable cottage on our return at the end of everyday made it even more relaxing.
    It was a home from home holiday but with a stunning island as a backdrop.
    Thank you so very much for making us feel welcome.
    I'd like to have kept this place as our secret to ensure that it is free to return to, but I feel that the secret should be shared so everyone could see it for themselves.
    We will be back for more.
    PS don't forget to bring a Oban tide timetable and an endless amount of energy. The smiles will be never ending.

    By sarah and lucy stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first stay in the Cottage and on the Island. The cottage is in a great location, very quiet - perfect spot to relax and recharge the batteries. Cottage is very clean and comfortable and has everything you need. Fenced and secure garden which was a must for us as we took our Dog with us.
    We were lucky to have wall to wall sunshine for the week we were there, and many a day was spent on Uisken Beach which was only a short drive from the Cottage.
    We had a fantastic stay and will return in the future.

    By Lisa & Grahame Hunt stayed in April 2015

Add your review