Call us on 01688 400682

Calgary Cottage Reviews

36 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've stayed in this cottage 5 times which speaks for itself. It's very well equipped and cosy and just has a great feel about it. Wonderful location - beach, fabulous walks or chill out in the garden. Good facilities nearby (if you go early in the season check what's open first). Wildlife excursions and stargazing trips as amazing night sky with no light pollution. Very pleased to recommend.

    By Brenda Stott stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy cottage which is warm, clean and well equipped .Calgary beach is a short walk away. Our dogs thoroughly enjoyed their time there.

    By Carmel97 stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful, well equipped cottage in a fabulous location. Our dogs loved the garden especially the hidden garden across the stream. Great walk via the art studio to the beach every day. Lots of wildlife including red deer,porpoises, sea eagles, ospreys, more cuckoos than I’ve ever seen before, sadly no otters this time!
    Would stay again!

    By Andrea Roberts stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well equipped and comfortable cottage, 500 yards to the beach. Lovely walks in the vicinity and great wildlife spotting. Great cafe and gallery on the doorstep. Garden was a bit unkempt, very in vogue at the moment, but when wet difficult to keep the dog dry. A small downside, but overall very good value for money.

    By Jillian Reese and Keith Lawson stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Peaceful cottage in a beautiful setting. Very well equipped, comfortable and cosy. Calgary Beach is walking distance and so is the cafe. There are some stunning walks nearby and we spotted lots of wildlife including deer, seals, dolphins and the elusive sea eagle. Can highly recommend this place.

    By Mirjam Green stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage in an excellent location. Calgary Bay and the Art Gallery and cafe in walking distance is a definite plus. The weather wasn't the kindest to us, but the cottage was warm and welcoming after the dreichest of walking days. The dog was a big fan of the garden and was mesmerised by the stream!

    By Lindsay R stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in an awesome location. We would love to keep this cottage as our own personal secret, it’s so perfect. Thank you so much

    By Nicola stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was one of our best holiday's ever! Its a gorgeous and very well equipped house, with a fantastic kitchen, good beds and lovely atmosphere. This must be one of the most beautiful corners of the world. We walked to the beautiful beach every day, and loved exploring the next door sculpture park. Our 6 year old had a wonderful time, with the safe beach and clean water, he spent all day every day in the sea or in the sand! Would recommend wet suits for lots of sea swimming. We would book again in a flash.

    By Rosie Kay stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    So lovely to return to this beautiful little cottage. Our second time here and would return again. The owner really has thought of everything.
    Unfortunately we lost our water supply for 48hrs due to a fractured pipe. Isle of mull cottages and the owner did all they could at the time and the owner appropriately refunded us for 2 nights stay.

    By annette and richard stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage - warm clean and cosy .Everything you could need .Plenty wood for log stove which kept living room like a sauna - just what you needed after autumn walk on nearby Calgary beach .
    Loved the garden - secluded also had seating area complete with log burner.
    Made apple crumble with the fallen apples from the garden and brambles
    Easy walk to Calgary beach and excellent Art in nature walk with gallery and cafe
    Large stylish dining room - but if you wish to eat out Am Birllin on way to Dervaig and Bellachroy hotel in Dervaig nearby options ( Dervaig about 20 min drive)

    By David Helen and Iain stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely spacious cottage, very well equipped (washer and drier), warm and great garden.
    10 min walk to Calgary beach, 2 mins to cafe and art trail (zip wire hit with the kids).
    Great location on Mull.
    Perfect for a relaxing stay with kids.
    Booking process easy and agency via email very helpful with queries.
    Would definitely recommend

    By Charlotte stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Calgary Cottage is very well equipped and cosy comfortable. It’s ideally situated too. Near the beach and local cafe. Great space inside and out in the garden for dog.
    We loved the daily walks to the stunning Calgary beach and enjoyed trips to Tobermory, Iona, pub lunches in Dervaig as well as many beautiful walks. Will definitely return.

    By Susan and Brian stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We found the cottage well equipped and comfortable. The garden is lovely with access to an enjoyable walk down to the stunning Calgary beach. The shop and bakery at Dervaig are both excellent.
    Would highly recommend this cottage and look forward to staying there again.

    By Elizabeth Robinson stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, cosy house in a fantastic location. A few minutes walk to Calgary Bay, this house was absolutely everything we wanted. Great for our group of 4 and our dog. Well equipped, clean and spacious. We saw deer from the kitchen window most days! Would definitely recommend staying here.

    By Chloe stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The property is in a fantastic location with easy access to Calgary beech and the surrounding area, the cottage itself is a little tired in places (longe ceiling needs decorating ) and the hot water system could do with an upgrade although that said we would use the cottage again without hesitation.

    By Paul and Jane stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Like previous reviews we loved this cosy cottage, so cute but like a tardis inside. Beautifully decorated, stunning artwork, kept finding a new piece every day! Perfect for pets. They thought of everything!
    Location was stunning just 5min walk down the hill to beautiful Calgary bay. Lots of wildlife to see.
    Will definitely be back.

    By annette stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I'd agree with many of the observation of previous guests. The location is ideal for a quiet getaway. I had the cottage to myself and enjoyed the freedom offered by the cottage and its matchless location. It's perfect for those who enjoy getting out and about. Dervaig - the nearest village - has an excellent shop which supplies most needs and a pub, although I wasn't able to taste it's wares. The road to Tobermorry is incredible and motorists and motorcyclists will love it - as is the road from Craignure to Fionnphort. The scenery, wildlife and geology make Mull a unique holiday destination.

    By Ron Leddy stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An excellent cottage;Very well appointed and good value;I would not hesitate to return again.

    By David stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, well equipped cottage with a great garden and stunning views to the rear of the property.Ideally situated only a short distance from the beautiful Calgary beach.

    By Gillian stayed in March 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautifully decorated and well provisioned cottage in a great position. Walks straight from the door and plenty of wildlife to see. Information booklets and maps were extremely helpful when planning our days.. Never been to Mull before but will definitely be back, stunning. Calgary cottage is an ideal base for families, dog owners (secure garden) and groups of friends as there are two bathrooms plus an ideal en-suite and a separate toilet. A true home from home.

    By Catherine stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Calgary cottage was just the right place for our family to spend some wonderful relaxed days on Mull: very well equipped with everything you need, beautifully decorated, homely and comfortable inside and a wonderful garden to enjoy. We also appreciated all the maps and information on the island and the various suggestions and ideas on how to discover the region. Our three children (16,14 and 9) had a wonderful time and were thrilled to see so much wildlife (eagles, deer, otters, seals...) We will definitely come back again !

    By Familie Spiegelhalter from Germany stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A happy and comfortable stay in a home from home. Excellent facilities and provisions. So near to the beach and cafe, loved our holiday. Will be back.

    By Helen stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from an amazing week at this beautiful cottage in Calgary Bay. I would say the best cottage we have stayed in, it's warm, spacious, well equipped, the upstairs bedroom is just gorgeous, so peaceful and comfortable bed. The artwork throughout is delightful, and perfectly fitting. The garden is also beautiful, a carpet of bluebells whilst we stayed and the weather was warm enough some evenings to enjoy a glass of wine or two in the sun. Enclosed and private ideal for our flatcoats retriever. The location is perfect, we enjoyed nightly walks to the stunning beach and otter spotting, unfortunately we did not see one, but the beauty of the bay is the highlight. Great base for walking, and a very good restaurant close by. We were sad to leave but so pleased to have found this beautiful place.

    By Michelle and Tim Day stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely relaxing cottage. Clean well equipped and full of charm. Beautiful location just a short walk to the beach. Try to get to the nearby lost village if you can. Perfect for exploring the magical Isle of Mull.

    By Mark & Gill Lightfoot stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Calgary cottage is a fabulous well equipped place to stay. Fantastic safe enclosed garden,for our child and dog to enjoy. It's much nearer to the beach than I thought so that's a bonus!. Beautiful finishing touches to the property making it feel very homely and comfortable. Abundance of very hot water which was great. We loved staying here and have booked again for next year!. The weather was generally good. Cooler temperatures but lots of sunshine. Ample heaters in the cottage for the cooler nights plus the lovely log burner in living room was lit most nights. Cosy and comfy. We saw lots of wildlife just from the kitchen window even and used the binoculars in the back porch most nights to spot the deer on the surrounding mountain top! Fantastic!. The housekeeper was friendly,polite and very helpful. We had to contact her as our electricity went off, sockets only though. She came out immediately and the problem was solved plus called the next day to check all okay. Faultless. Generally, a wonderful accommodation , great location and super holiday. I would recommend this property highly to stay in. Mull is a beautiful place to stay. Has an atmosphere of its own of tranquillity and charm. Can't wait to be back.

    By carol stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Minor niggles about the size of en-suite shower or the upstairs bathroom's placement in the roof space cutting off some of the head height are simply irrelevant and outweighed by the plusses.
    The location is superb and the cottage is warm and homely and for the most part well equipped.
    We all had a wonderful and relaxing break and can certainly recommend the property for both its situation and it's stability for most holiday makers.

    By Sam Wodehouse stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage in a wonderful setting, tastefully decorated with quality furnishings and equipment. Mull is a magical place and Calgary Cottage adds to the experience, we really feel depressed when it's time to come home!

    By Glenn & Brenda Stott stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Over the past thirty years we have stayed in Scotland two or three times a year. We always self-cater and have stayed in many lovely properties but this has to be the best ever! The garden was perfect for our two spaniels, the furnishings and artwork in the cottage superb, and so well equipped. Lots of little extra touches we appreciated. Easy parking on road and close to the lovely beach. We did not want to leave. Highly recommend.

    By The Pritchard family stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Calgary Cottage was a fantastic home from home for our family holiday on Mull. It is really well equipped and fantastically decorated with lots of local artwork. It is clear that the owners have gone the extra mile to make this far more than a typical holiday let, with some very nice touches such as maps and walking books of the area, lots of DVDs, binoculars etc.

    By The Button Family stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We enjoyed the comforts of this lovely cottage and garden for two weeks. Having visited the Island several times over the past ten years, and stayed at various accomadation, this one comes out on top.

    By Martin Eva stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An outstanding cottage, well equipped, warm, with great attention to detail. Have never stayed in a better holiday let or in a better setting. Our French friends ( perfectionists in the kitchen- they made a cake every morning) were absolutely delighted with every aspect, as were we. Beautiful art work around the cottage too.

    By Angela Locke stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a marvellous holiday at Calgary Cottage. A beautiful cottage in a superb location. Couldn't ask for anything better and Calgary Beach was superb!

    By Pam Hardy stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in cottages all over the UK and found that this one was one of the best we have used, The location was superb ( even though we did think we had got lost travelling from the ferry !!! ).Also Calgary Beach is one of the best in the UK no wonder they keep it quite !!!

    By Robert Moore stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed in Calgary Cottage for Christmas. It was perfect. I'm not easily pleased, but this cottage was by far the best we'd stayed in. The setting, the attention to detail, the quality of everything in the cottage, the beautiful decor and art work, the free wood, and wine! I'd highly recommend this cottage

    By Rosemary stayed in December 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage, very well equipped and comfortable. Perfect for dogs, suzie had a ball running around the huge garden, which is very secure. Calgary beach is right on the doorstep, only a short walk through the sculpture trail. All in all a fab relaxing holiday

    By Tracy, Gary and suzie (woof), Leeds, w. yorks stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a beautiful well equipped cottage in a fantastic location. Art gallery and art trail to the beach were just around the corner. We particularly enjoyed the local art and pottery around the house. Highly recommend.

    By Sophie stayed in April 2014

Add your review