Call us on 01688 400682

Stronbeag Cottage Reviews

14 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We found this cottage "average" I'm afraid! Needs a refurbishment for sure. On the plus side, it's warm and clean and within walking distance of the Main Street; the kitchen is well equipped. On the negative, it is more basic than we had thought and maintenance is lacking; linen/pillows well-worn, very bare shower room (although the shower itself is good), dodgy loo seats, that sort of thing, sadly! We were disappointed I'm afraid - but maybe we just hadn't investigated it enough when we booked! One key thing - the walk up from the town is very steep, had us puffing for sure, and not suitable for elderly/infirm/unfit. Enjoyed our visit to Mull, lovely island, will be back but will choose better accommodation next time.

    By Sheila stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great base for exploring Mull. The cottage had everything we needed. Be aware if you are taking young children or dogs the garden is not enclosed, but could be made so. Plenty of logs available. Kitchen had every needed.

    By Christopher stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our stay at Stronbeag Cottage and on the isle of Mull. What a beautiful island. The cottage was super clean and very comfortable. The bedrooms are nice and cheerful. The bathroom downstairs has a stall shower and heated towel rack which made for a warm and cozy shower. (The weather was quite chilly and rainy when we were there.) There is a living room and a solarium which allows for people to be in two separate areas. Games, puzzles, and books are provided for a rainy day or evening at home. The kitchen is modern and well supplied with pots, pans, utensils, and dishes. Being able to do laundry while traveling is wonderful. We did not have a car with us and the walk to town was quick and easy. But the hill is long and very steep. Keep this in mind if one of your party might have issues with walking or shortness of breath.

    By Pamela Benning stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Nice house, would consider booking again.

    By Matt Jessop stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great week in Tobermory - mixed weather but we expected that on Mull - made the most of the good weather we had at the beach and with a trip to Iona, as well as the boat trip to Staffa from Ulva. The house was great - plenty of room for 5 of us plus dog, very well equipped and we really appreciated the conservatory with the games, jigsaws, books and DVDs to help us entertain the kids during the rainy periods. Thanks for a lovely holiday!

    By Irene J stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic week in Stronbeag cottage which exceeds how nice it appears in the photos.
    We had one day of rain where we didn't really get out but this wasn't a big deal as the place was so well furnished with a decent selection of TV, wifi and lots of games in the conservatory.
    The toaster broke mid holiday and we contacted the caretaker Pat who brought up a replacement within an hour even though we had just used the grill and let her know there was no rush. She was lovely and made sure we were happy with everything and not to hesitate to give her a call if we needed anything.
    There is a brilliant little log fire which was stocked up when we got there and a shed outside with loads more when we ran out.
    Overall it was an excellent holiday with all the beautiful Scenery made even better with this brilliant cottage to spend the week in.
    Would definitely recommend this cottage to all my friends and family looking to visit.

    By Raymond Mooney stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    About as last minute a booking as you can get (day before!) we were pleasantly and helpfully dealt with. The house was beautifully warm on our arrival, with a generous supply of dry wood for the evening stove - and impressively clean. We appreciated the breathing space afforded by the conservatory room (can confirm there is no leak now despite ample provocation) whilst plentiful hot water and heating made our stay very comfortable, drying us out after each expedition. I agree with previous comment that towels were bit of a nuisance, especially as we were on foot. 2 smaller towels were supplied though. Thoroughly enjoyed the house and location.

    By Marj stayed in November 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely property. Excellent setting and very comfortable beds. Brilliant information re the local area. As described apart from the split garden which wasn't a problem but people with young children would need to know.

    By Pam Watson stayed in August 2015

    Editor's Note: The garden isn't enclosed (as described) and the drive is shared with the neighbouring property, which cuts across the garden. Description updated to try and make this more clear.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely and clean and fully equipped.
    We totally forgot to bring our own towels - that was a pain not having towels! Would be good if you provided them really.
    When it rained the conservatory roof leaks.
    Second time we have stayed in this place - so it must be good

    By S and S stayed in June 2015

    Editor's Note: We will let the owners know about the leak so that can be rectified

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfectly situated near the beautiful town of Tobermory. It was a lovely haven of peace and quiet for our stay. The cottage has a contemporary feel, it is modern and decorated well. It is warm enough to dry you out if the weather is unkind to you too.
    A kind note for dog owners, the garden which doubles up as a drive for the car is not secure for your pet, it wasn't too much of a problem as we always used the lead for that little outside visit first and last thing.
    It is ideally situated for a visit to Mull, especially if you have teenagers who would like the harbour and shops.

    By Rachel Harris stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stronbeag Cottage was a relaxing home from home for us & our 3 young children and provided a haven from the terrible weather. Very well equipped throughout, 5 minutes walk down the hill into Tobermory and ideally situated for all that Mull has to offer. Highly recommended.

    By Tammy Wade stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely stay in this cottage. Tobermory is an absolute gem; beautiful walks, great pubs and stunning views. The absolute highlight of the holiday was a trip out from the harbour to see hundreds of doplphins. Utterly unforgettable. The cottage is fitted with everything you need including a cosy woodburning stove. Slight issues with the heating were speedily and pleasantly resolved and we would definitely consider returning to both Mull and the cottage.

    By Jessica Thompson stayed in August 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house. Great Location. Booked to stay again this year within days of returning home - can't say much better than that!

    By Sarah and Shaun Barr stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was basic but very clean and tidy and had everything we required for our stay. Ideally situated for the amenities. Would certainly consider going back again.

    By Ian Walker stayed in April 2014

Add your review