Call us on 01688 400682

Portfield Reviews

11 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Weather as always just a bit better than forecast so spectacular views , plenty of eagles of all types seen, otters a bit evasive. Cosy and comfortable.

    By Rory Musker stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Magical holiday away from emails & the stress of work! Holiday packed with the most wonderful wildlife, the cottage was lovely and very cosy, and saw sea eagles & otters on the beach there. Well equipped and so peaceful...we all enjoyed it and didn't want to leave. We will be back next year hopefully!

    By Angie & Derek, & the two Jack Russells! stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely house in a fabulous setting. Well equipped for self catering. Loved the fact that it was off the grid and we enjoyed cosy candle lit evenings with the wood burner. We took lots of candles with us, but there are also plenty there (and also LED touch lamps). Worth taking logs with you (or picking these up). Fabulous mussels from Inverlussa Mussel farm and we wished we'd known about booking food ahead from the Lochbuie Larder (Old Post Office) one weeks notice required.

    By Catharine & William stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic, what a location.
    the cottage ticked all the boxes, lounge by candle light is something special. wonderfully isolated just an abundance of wild life.
    Holiday to remember for ever, what a treat to be removed from the hustel and bussell of moden life. We are going back

    By Jeff, Val, Richard & Marj and nell the dog stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful place to stay, we spent most of our holiday around the house just exploring the shore, cliffs and woods, watching the cows, sheep and black bunnies - and other wildlife! Rather more passers-by (on foot and bike) than we expected, several each day.
    We left our car (Skoda Fabia) by the gate, and walked along the track - this was one of the highlights for us, it is a very beautiful walk!

    By Angie and John stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful location. The beach nearby was fabulous too. Comfortable, cosy cottage. Off grid so candle light in the evenings! You do need to bring drinking water or boil tap water.

    By Sophie stayed in August 2016

    Editor's Note: Just to clarify the water supply is tested and at the time of writing conforms to all standards and is safe to drink from the tap, thanks.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The serenity, privacy, remoteness and beauty of Portfield's surroundings are unsurpassable, and I'm sure that we would return for these factors alone. The thrill of coming home to a pair of Golden Eagles soaring above the cottage one afternoon and the convenience of a lovely beach so close by were particularly memorable.

    By Tony Cheffings stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Portfield was a superb place to unwind and relax. The remote setting and being off grid meant that it was a truly different experience. Absolutely wonderful scenery and so much wildlife surrounding us. The cottage is was delightful - we especially loved the Rayburn. I will always remember this holiday and the magic of Portfield.

    By Eve Oliver stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very peaceful location to get away from city living to relax and unwind. Fantastic walks for all levels on the island and lovely views from the cottage "garden" . Family enjoyed kayaking in the surrounding waters and spotting various species of wildlife. A lovely holiday that we will all remember.

    By Sharon Wilson stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Portfield encompasses everything needed for a break where remoteness and quiet is essential. Off-grid with a necessity for a grasp of basic practical skills is required will bring rewards of enjoyment seeing otters, listen to snipe thrumming and gazing at the wonderful views. A holiday that will be remembered forever, for all the right reasons.

    By Rory Musker stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage and the remote location was exactly as described. Beautiful scenery and wildlife.

    By Marc Greatorex stayed in June 2015

Add your review