Call us on 01688 400682

Glenraille Reviews

27 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This house certainly has the WOW factor! Everything about it is perfect in our opinion - The view, the location, the comfort you find in every room and the owner is really friendly and knowledgable. We feel privileged to have been able to spend a week in this ‘Grand Designs’ house whilst watching the wildlife unfold from the amazing picture window. Lochdon is a fantastic location to be able to travel to other parts of the island. In short, a perfect house!

    By Lucy Cooke stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from our second visit to Mull and second stay at Glenraille. We can't say we've seen all the wildlife others have seen, but that hasn't stopped us sitting at that window and simply relaxing. This house is perfect, and nothing we saw on the island beats it. The kitchen is a joy to work in, especially when using fantastic ingredients like the mussels from Inverlussa. I cannot recommend this house highly enough, perfect!!!

    By Brian Ramsey stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Have stayed on Mull many times but Lochdon is our favourite area as such a diverse amount of wildlife to view and now found an amazing house to match Glenraille is positioned to absorb the atmosphere of everything on offer from eagles, waterfowl,hen harrier, seals and a visit from a harbour porpoise came into visit us one morning , sunsets are beautiful and the owner Iain is very knowledgeable about best places to visit and eat out .

    By Anita & Victor Rolfe stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved it as much as everyone else and completely agree with the five star reviews. If like us you like wildlife, landscape but are not adverse to a bit of comfort, you will like this. The building is a delight, the spaces are beautifully designed. The ground floor is completely dog friendly which is lovely. We were four adults, ab old dog (12 year) and a young dog (6 months) and it worked a dream for all of us.

    By Susan Cross stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brilliant holiday for our first trip to Mull. Fantastic cottage In a stunning location great for bird watching and wildlife. Some lovely walks including Duart Castle, grass point and grass point view. Ian was very friendly and helpful. Look out for the amazing reflections on Lochdon.

    By Joanna Bowe stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic house to stay in with beautiful views over The Loch. Sitting in the front window was a joy watching all the wildlife. We saw otters, stags and so many birds. Ian the owner is so welcoming and helpful. Recommended some great walks with our dog. Ian is a very dog friendly man so owners should have a look at this place. Try the steak night at the Isle of Mull Hotel not far away on a Thursday night. Fabulous food.

    By Paul Gilbert stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just as it seemed on the pictures, clean and well provided with everything you need. we were a bit unsure about the wood pellet burner stove as it made quite a bit of noise, especially at night (had to get up several nights to check on it & refill). The views are beautiful, and the place peaceful. We saw eagles overhead on several days, and lots of waders and ducks etc on the loch. Ian was helpful with recommendations of places to eat and visit. It would be nice to have a bird table perhaps for watching smaller birds from the house, like the cottages further round the loch have...and a bird identification book would be a help since we forgot ours! We did enjoy our stay very much and are considering a return next year but we'll aim for April instead of March as so many places were closed for winter while we were there.

    By The Baxters stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic stay and a superb week exploring Mull. The house is in a beautiful setting and very conveniently located for ferry and all the main sights. Furnished and equipped to a very high standard, we were all very comfortable throughout our stay. The views are amazing and great for spotting wildlife. Highly recommend and would definitely return.

    By The Grant Family stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from a wonderful holiday . Glenraille is a superb place to stay - the views across the loch are stunning and the property has been finished to a very high standard. It was a great base to return to after a day walking and exploring Mull.

    By Sue & Ian stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic home with all the comforts of home and the superb views. Convenient location for exploring mull and no great distance to travel for ferry crossings ( good if you have to cross on early or later ferries )

    By Tom and Hazel stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderfull, luxury home inj a stunning surrounding. Perfect to make even some rainy days comfortable! A good place to see eagles, we saw six of them. Nice walks right from the house (for example to Grass Point, were we spotted an Otter ..), but even perfect location to discover the rest of the island in acceptable time.

    By Christine & Juergen stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just back from a wonderful week on Mull - the Mull Magic was as wondeful as ever and this fabulous holiday home added to a great week despite the damp weather! Absolutely stunning holiday home with amazing views - and plenty of wildlife right on your doorstep.
    Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

    By Mandy & Richard stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb house in superb location: close to ferry and half way between Tobermory and Fionnphort. Everything you would need in self-catering properly including luxuries of a wood burning fire and a massive bath. We will be back!

    By Alex and Rachael stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fantastic place to stay. The house is wonderful, well equipped and in a great location. During breakfast on our penultimate day we had the pleasure of watching three otters feeding in the bay at high tide. I would not hesitate in recommending Glenraille to anyone.

    By Reg McMillan stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Friendly owner. Very clean, modern, well equipped and spacious property. Superb views. Would not hesitate to recommend this property.

    By David G Parker stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    7minutes from Craignure and you start your holiday in a very lovely house. Totally relaxing location. Wildlife surrounds you and it's fabulous to come home to at the end of an excursion. We want to try it through all the seasons so will be back.

    By Deb & Ian Soutar stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful house in a terrific location. Great for wildlife enthusiasts. Saw Whited Tailed Eagle frequently but most exciting was the lovely male Hen Harrier which hunted opposite the property most evenings. Accommodation and facilities are second to none. Ian (owner) very helpful and attentive without being at all intrusive. Would love to return.

    By Nigel Clements stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning house and location. Great base to explore the island and not too far from local amenities. The owner made us very welcome and suggested some great places to visit. We've visited Mull 5 times in 5 years and likely to return next year. Glenraille is now top of the list

    By Steven Barber stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    WOW......an amazing property with views to match! We loved our week in beautiful Glenraille!

    By Maureen stayed in October 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great property, extremely comfortable. Very well-equipped, and in a handy location for getting around and about on Mull. Highly recommended.

    By Tony Cheffings stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable house in a convenient location for exploring the Island and fabulous views.

    By Sarah Brown stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The accommodation was absolutely perfect, just as described on the website. We were lucky enough to see the stags nearby. The owners are very helpful and friendly and on hand when needed. A truly superb setting.

    By Karen Doughty stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fabulous five star property with wonderful views of Loch Don. When the weather on the island is variable it's a delight to come home to Glenraille to relax in warmth and comfort. I could not recommend it more highly for a holiday and we were fortunate to see the local stags twice , once strolling across the front of the property at dusk and then again swimming across the loch. Enchanting. It's a place to return to again and again.

    By Pamela Gillies stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent holiday! Superb accommodation,fitted out to a very high standard. Ian was very helpful and available if we had any problems.
    Deer passed frequently and the view from the window was captivating!

    By Libby stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb and worth every penny. I have been to Mull many times and stayed in some really nice houses and locations, but Glenraille is head and shoulders above the others. Modern, light, very airy and very well equipped, with everything you would need including a chest freezer in the utility room. A very good and quite controllable log stove and as much chopped wood as anyone would need. When the weather took a turn for the worst, is was a pleasure to sit in the front window and read a book while the rain lashed against the glass. We found we could light the fire in the morning to take off the chill and then shut it down for the rest of the day. When we returned later, cold and damp, we opened the fire vents and within seconds the fire was roaring. The view is fantastic and the large window is there for that purpose. Take a good spotting scope and you will have days of entertainment stood indoors. On our last evening we sat in the window watching three young stags graze at the side of the road/loch side, no more than 20ft away. This place is destined to become a very popular rental and will book up quickly. Our thanks to Ian and Tina who live close by.They are not intrusive, but are close to hand if you need anything or any help with the house. We will certainly be returning. Without doubt the best holiday home I have stayed in.

    By Keith Wain stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Glenraille is the BEST property we have stayed in. The location is ideal for touring and local wildlife watching. The property is fully equipped with quality furnishings and equipment. A true 'home from home' and we never once felt that the domestic goods had been purchased from an auction house on the cheap (like so many SC properties). The sofa's, chairs & bed were comfortable, the oven/hob, kettle and toaster were up-market goods, the iPod sound system was a fantastic addition. We really felt like we were looking after someone's home, not simply their cash-cow second income. Can't wait for the chance to go back and a thank-you to Ian for a wonderful Mull experience.

    By John Clark stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a brilliant time on Mull in a beautiful house with amazing views and in a perfect location. Many thanks to Ian for being so friendly and helpful !

    By Darroch stayed in April 2015

Add your review