Call us on 01688 400682

Craig Ben Cottage Reviews

12 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage with great accommodation, extremely well equipped with many extras like food for the bird feeders, logs, food processor and coffee grinder. Wonderful location on Loch Uisg with Loch Buie and Loch Spelve a short distance away.. Very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed otter spotting at Croggan, which is a beautiful place, and walking round. Loch Buie. You need to go armed with provisions as the nearest proper shop is half an hour away but there are a few things down at the Old Post Office at Loch Buie.(a shop that operates an honesty box), but the milk only comes in small bottles there and is full cream.

    By Sarah stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved the location overlooking the Loch and twice used the fishing boats on loan from the local landowner. The whole family cycled down to the beach and 'shop' at Loch Buie most days. It was great to be away from the commercialised South East of England! Our children loved the idea of the honesty box in the shop and we all enjoyed home made cake and drinks from the shop. The table football was a hit but they also enjoyed playing in the little stream by the cottage, even though they are teenagers!
    We had fabulous mussels purchased direct from the mussel farm nearby.

    By Goudhurst stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've just returned from a fantastic week at Craig Ben Cottage.
    We were a party of 4 adults and 2 dogs and we had lots of room (we didn't use the annexe at all). The house is large, spacious and very clean.
    The garden is large and mostly secure for dogs (the area to the left of the front gate, near the stream needs to be fixed). However, the totally secure rear courtyard fixed this problem for night time unaccompanied doggie business!
    The location of the cottage is fantastic - fairly equidistant between Fionnphort and Tobermory, though most of our time was spent around nearby Loch Buie and Croggan.
    The bird feeders are the busiest I've ever seen (and I work at a Norfolk nature reserve!) with Bullfinch, Siskin, Goldcrest and large numbers of Yellowhammer amongst the highlights. Thankfully, lots of bird seed is provided by the owners.
    Mull's wildlife is legendarily abundant. We saw Golden Eagles at Loch Buie (a pair nest nearby) and twice over the cottage. White-tailed Eagles are easily found, one reliable spot being from the lay-by on the main road overlooking the golf course, just North of Craignure. We saw another pair sat on rocks in Loch Na Keal. We only saw otter once, but had a great view (through my spotting scope) at Loch Scridain.
    Overall I would thoroughly recommend this brilliant house for groups of 4-8 people and all 6 of us would gladly stay here again.

    By Simon Evans stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a comfortable, cosy, well equipped, warm & happy place to enjoy a holiday. The walk directly from the door up the hills was spectacular but steep. We loved seeing the frenzied beautiful birds on feeders, and playing on the small stream. Just started to see buds flowering (shame to miss summer blooms but not the midgies) & will most definitely return here with friends as we had everything we could need & it was well stocked with maps. Thank you!

    By Toseland stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Have been to Mull a few times over the years but this was the first time at Craig Ben Cottage and we loved it. One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in - comfortable, warm, well laid out, great quality facilities and beautifully presented. We were a party of 6 adults and used the cottage as a base to explore things we had not done before. We had about 4 glorious days weather out of our week’s holiday which were truly amazing. In particular we recommend a trip to Staffa to see the Puffins and Fingals Cave, the garden at Lip Na Cloiche and the Ardalanish Weavers. Just a wonderful place and a lovely cottage.

    By Carol Dyer stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Having stopped in Craig Ben Lodge before we were a little concerned about downsizing to the cottage, but we need not have worried this is an excellently furnished and maintained property in a lovely position. The grand children were enthralled with all the nature we saw.
    Why not 5 stars, just that we did not thing the oven/grill was up to the standard of the rest of the property.
    Beautiful area!!

    By Alan Emery stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stayed here with two friends. We come to Mull or Iona every year and this was definitely one of the best cottages ever. Beautiful rooms, remarkably well equipped kitchen, superb location.

    By Geoffrey Richardson stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    3rd year in this beautiful cottage and once again had an amazing time, there were tears as we left!! Such a stunning area and we saw golden and sea eagles, deer, sea otters and seals just a short walk from the door. Cottage has everything you could want and is ideal for a family group, the dogs love it too! Counting down the weeks to coming again in 2018! FABULOUS ????

    By GRAY, LAZENBY & CHAPMAN PARTY stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed for two weeks and we're very glad we did. This was a well equipped cottage, a real home from home complete with induction hob and a good selection of cook books. Our children enjoyed the annexe and having two large tables was a real bonus for us too. The location is perfect with lots of things to do not too far away when you've run out of things to do locally. We found the house almost too warm and only lit the stove a couple of times. The housekeeper and caretaker were very helpful. We also loved watching the birds in the garden, the bird feeders were emptying so fast we could barely keep up refilling them! Already planning to come back!

    By Kathi Branse-Instone stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An amazing cottage, amazing scenery and walks, the beaches are stunning. We had 6 adults and dogs and absolutely loved the space we all had.
    The cottage is so well equipped, everything you could dream of having in your kitchen and this has it.
    We had my husbands 40th birthday here and the sun shone all week, was a chore to put trousers on when we left!!!!
    Visit the old post office at Loch Buie, has everything you could want........milk, juice, jams, ice cream, all kinds of meat/seafood, teas/coffees....much closer than a 25 min drive to Craignure. It operates on an honesty box system.
    Tobermory was beautiful, lovely shops and lovely people, try the fish n chip can (best batter ever), the beach at Calgary is stunning, stay away from the grasses though, big nippy flies!! Dogs had a ball in the water as did the boys!!
    A week just wasn't long enough ????

    By Liz Robertson stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous cottage with everything you could ever need. Beautiful location with stunning scenery and amazing walks from the front door. There were 8 adults staying and dogs and we were all very comfortable, lots of room and very courteous owners. We all had an amazing time, cottage and island wonderful, we will be back!

    By Mandy Gray stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    On Mull for the car rally, so focussed on that, however, never having been to this part of the Island before, I'm intending to return later this year. The location, flora, fauna especially the birds highly impressive. Caretaker Bob pitched in to assist with the car (surely not on his job description?) and we enjoyed Bert's fresh veg and Flora's meals. Shall explore more next time when less hectic.

    By Paul Darlington stayed in October 2014

Add your review