Call us on 01688 400682

Cragside Reviews

10 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A nice, spacious home in a very good location for exploring the North of Mull. I agree with all of the previous review. A few maintenance issues need addressing and the welcome pack needs updating with information relevant to the house, appliances and bins so you don't waste precious holiday time trying to work things out.
    The shops in Dervaig and Tobermory don't open till 12 pm on Sunday, so if you are arriving late, come prepared with the basics at least. The shop in Dervaig is well stocked at much better than those on the south of the island.
    The peace and quiet was amazing and the wildlife and flora spectacular. We enjoyed a classical concert and the local produce market at the village hall and were made to feel very welcome.
    Craig and Calgary were favourites for beaches, although the Calgary tea rooms weren't a hit....grumpy and expensive!

    By A Middleton stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful house in a lovely quiet setting. Having 6 young children from age 1 year to 10 years it was ideal, with an enclosed garden where they can all play safely. All the rooms are fantastic, and very generous size. Everything there that we asked for, highchair and travel cot etc. We enjoyed a lovely week, exploring the whole Island. We will definately be back again. Thank you for a memorable week.

    By Lenn, Pam Urquhart & 6 children stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house is nice enough however it is quite a way up a rough track so if you have a small car it's not ideal. Although it is "luxury" accomodation there were several things that needed attention ie lights in main bathroom needed replaced and grouting around the bath etc. There were no washing tablets available either which with two very young children in our party was necessary. It is generally the case in accomodation of this standard that a few are left as a courtesy. No replacement bin bags either & ignore the instruction re the wheelie bins as the owner transports them down to the main road now.
    Most disappointing of all was the "Welcome" pack which consisted of a bottle of cheap wine...after driving since early morning we were all exhausted and some bread & milk would have been more welcome. It is common nowadays for a local product ie Mull cheddar or Tobermory whisky to be part of the Welcome package as a taster - a lost opportunity for local businesses?
    Lastly, this house isn't really suitable for very young children as there are no suitable grassy areas for them but otherwise the garden was very sunny and quietly located with plenty of outdoor seating.
    Calgary beach was a hit with my Grandchildren though and there is even an ice cream shack there these days!!

    By Beth Barclay stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really nice house, very spacious and well equipped. Great location for walking and cycling with a very friendly local pub. Secure garden which even our terrier was unable to escape from !

    By Chris Moor stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This house is fabulous, spacious and comfy with a very well equipped kitchen. The location was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay!

    By Charlton Family stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful, spacious and well-equipped house - plenty of room for 3 generations and a dog to spread out and relax. Very nicely furnished and great base for visiting the north end of the Island.

    By Dwyer-Smiths stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful house, big spacious and lovely to stay in. Beautiful island. Dervaig is a friendly village and local store very well stocked.
    Recommended

    By King stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house is beautiful. Kitchen is well equipped and cosy "TV" room - loved the USA theme. It is a good location for exploring the north of the island. It felt like home from home. Had a great time.

    By Diane and Andy stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house with good views. Short walk to convenience store and post office. Shorter to pub where we enjoyed live music and the quiz night was great fun. Good value meal there as well. Cooking in was easy as kitchen was well equipped. Clean, comfortable and loads of hot water. perfect for a week's walking.

    By Gordon Lyons stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    "CRAGSIDE" Dervaig, is a modern, spaceous & exceptionally clean house. The view of the eagles soaring in the spring sunshine, through the open & welcoming front door, while sat at the large dinning table in the spaceous kitchen, I will never forget. A lot of work has gone into the quality finishing of this large property & it truely does nestle into the crags side. The gardens around the house are exquisite & well established for such a modern home. The log fire in the main lounge is such a blessing on those rainy days, something which any vistor to Scotland must accept occasionally. All the bathrooms are of five star quality & the main on-suite double bedroom is a very quiet & romantic honeymoon suite in it's own right! The short morning walks into Dervaig village, to visit the local store & buy those inevitable post cards to send, where well worth the exercise. So, after 10,500 miles (16,898.1kms) a few beers & a truck load of toilet paper, it's time to leave this beautiful & peaceful place & head South, again! Many thanks to the people of Mull Island & my hosts at "Cragside" for their fantastic & warming hospitality. These memories will last forever, Alun Simpson - Cape Town, South Africa.

    By Mr. Alun Simpson - Cape Town, South Africa. stayed in April 2014

Add your review