Call us on 01688 400682

The Bothy Reviews

55 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage is superb in a truly stunning location. It was well equipped for all our needs with a fully enclosed garden for our 2 dogs.
    Tom and Flora the owners were on hand if needed. Ellen also provided lots of information on where to visit on the island. The ready meals available from the Old Post Office were a bonus because shops/ restaurants are a good distance away from The Bothy.
    The Bothy is situated with great views of Laggan Bay a 3 minutes walk away. We loved it so much we've booked for 2023

    By Terry Nesbitt stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just home from a week in the bothy.
    I can’t fault anything about this cottage, it was ideal, well equipped with everything you need. Felt like we had our own private beach we were so close to it. The area was beautiful and remote, just the way we like it. Loved watching the animals on the farm. All in in all a brilliant stay. Had a few meals from the old post office and they were delicious. “The road “ take your time and it’s a dawdle. Thank you Flora and Tom for the welcome hamper, lovely touch. Pity the weather was bad but unfortunately no one can do anything about that. Rowan loved it ????

    By Ann and Neil (and Rowan the springer) stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A really fantastic week at The Bothy. We absolutely loved everything about it. You can't beat a peaceful morning walk and paddle at the beach on a fresh sunny morning and having it all to yourself!
    A delight to have such beautiful hills all around you to explore. The kitchen window view is gorgeous. We enjoyed our breakfast sitting there on the stools every morning, just watching all the animals and feeling completely in the moment.
    Tom and Flora were very friendly and helpful. Flora's frozen meals are great - we tried quite a wide selection of them! A lovely welcome hamper too - thank you.

    By Bron and Michael stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is fantastic, well equipped, cosy and warm with everything you need for a lovely stay.
    The location is breathtaking and you feel like you're on a real adventure driving down that road. We loved being so close to the ocean and there are some stunning walks right from the doorstep.
    We also loved having all the animals around us.
    The Bothy is a lovely place to get away from it all and we really enjoyed our stay.

    By Katharina Unverricht and Robert Carr stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Not long back for our favourite place in the world! The Bothy is well appointed and in the most amazing location. As always a lovely welcome from the hosts, along with super hamper of Isle of Mull goodies. Love it so much we will be back in July

    By Sandra and Anthony Joyes (Reggie and Dottie the Jack Russells) stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location of this holiday cottage was breathtaking. We were blessed with lovely weather and would book again without hesitation. Loved the cottage, beach on the doorstep, wonderful walks, loved the option of buying local ready meals made by Flora at Old Post Office, and a stunning walk to her local cafe on the beach. We felt well looked after next door to Tom and Flora, without being intruded, and enjoyed seeing them work the farm. We have fabulous memories of our time and hope to come back. PS. The farm track does take some care driving, but it is worth it for the location.

    By Louise, Jim and Buster stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the stay on Mull . Some magical places this time of year . The Bothy fitted perfectly around the holiday . Charming to have the animals around , our dogs thought so too, although not sure the animals did!. Perfect welcome from the post office food I pre ordered.
    The rain didn’t put us off and the fire was a great welcome at the end of a day .
    Perfect for dogs just enough outdoor space for the morning toilet and the burn perfect for washing down the mud and sand from walking .
    Cosy and inspiring time all in .

    By Nicola Gilmour stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely time staying here. Just what we needed! it is a lovely location which apart from the animals is lovely and quiet! we loved being able to see all the goats, sheep and cows in the morning. The beach felt like our own private one, and perfect if you can brave a dip. Although the road is rustic my little seat coped just fine with it. If we come back to mull again, we shall definitely be staying here again!

    By Iona and Sam stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful 2 week holiday in Laggan Bothy, set on a working farm in a beautiful and quite remote setting. Beautiful views of the farm animals, the beach and the mountains from most of the windows. The beach is ideal if you have one or more dogs, being only a few minutes walk down the track. Yes the road to the property is challenging when the tarmac ends, but we took it slowly and got used to it. The Bothy had everything we needed. If we were visiting Mull again then we would have no hesitation repeating our stay here.

    By Mark and Sarah stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The stunning rhododendron covered mountainside greeted us en route, afore driving down to the ' track ' t'wards Bothy. What an entrance !
    The experience of taking that trek, an exciting start, and you can always walk the dog after it's long journey if feeling a little frail !!! The sight of The Bothy and its position amid the mountains with the bay/beach on doorstep amazing. We were overwhelmed. Even more so upon views from windows, meeting Tom and Flora, the Highland cattle, sheep, hens, Guinea fowl, goats: beware where you step ! Food from the Old Post Office a must, a lovely 2km walk.

    By David SCHOFIELD stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well for me this was a trip down memory lane -
    LochBuie was were my Beloved Grandparents lived in one the beautiful cottages you pass on the way round to The Bothy. I spent my childhood here so it was extra special to be back re visiting my best memories. The Bothy was everything and more than we could hope for and the views well, I know them but wow they are impressive from all windows day or night rain or shine. Flora and Tom were amazing hosts and the food from The Old PostOffice so good I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Cant wait to go back.

    By Julie Scott stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a perfect holiday in The Bothy, which has all we needed for summer comfort. Our hosts, Flora and Tom were reassuringly around and kind and helpful when needed. The situation within the working farm was lovely, and we loved the hens, sheep, gleanies and goats. The views from the Bothy of the shore, coast and mountains are wonderful and an invitation to explore the coast in both directions. The wildlife was really exciting with many sitings of otters and eagles as well as the constant accompaniment of bird-song. We really loved The Bothy and want to book again.

    By David Thackray stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location. Amazingly peaceful and quiet, a short walk to the beach where you rarely saw more than one other family so often had it to yourself. Hosts Flora and Tom were friendly and helpful and flora’s cakes down at the post office were generous and delicious. Recommended if you want to get away from it all and the dogs loved it

    By David and Louisa Morrison stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a find! Stunning location, cosy welcoming cottage and a lovely warm welcome. From the moment we arrived in Craignure the drive to the cottage was incredible, we had to stop a few times just to take in the view! The track to the cottage was easy enough in our golf, again stunning views along the way! All part of the adventure of arriving at such a stunning location. Cottage well equipped and we pre-ordered food from Flora which was a real treat! Perfectly dog friendly with plenty of lovely walks. Make sure you take time to stop and stare and enjoy the incredible location.

    By Victoria Brooks stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cosy extremely well equipped cottage in a stunning location. The enclosed garden area being a real bonus if you have a dog. Waking to the sound of sheep, cattle and chickens is wonderful. The beautiful peaceful sandy beach only a few minutes walk away , the dog loved it and we enjoyed watching seals in the bay.. The farm track just added the the feeling of remoteness and adventure. We were blessed with fantastic weather, had an amazing time and can't wait to return.

    By Iain, Vicky and Sky the collie stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy property in a stunning location. We absolutely loved our stay and would happily return to this property.
    Although the description of the farm track is accurate, as we have a family car and we did manage; I believe it would be fairer to say that it is most suitable to 4x4 vehicles. The ruts are very deceiving in standing water. But don’t let this put you off, just take care.
    Stunning views, whatever the weather and wildlife on your doorstep. Fantastic.

    By Sean and Mandy stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed at the property in 2002 when it was a B&B so we knew that the location was absolutely great 5-stars. We also knew from 2002 that the road was rocky at places but is was well maintained and no real problem then to drive it.
    On the website the road to the property is subscribe as: 'rough in places but passable with a normal car.' But unfortunately the road isn't well maintained anymore. We have a Toyota auris (a normal car?) and we had to drive 'very very carefully' and even then we couldn't avoid scrapping the bottom of the car over the (solid) rocks, the gravel and grass in the road.

    By Arjan & Lisette stayed in August 2019

    Editor's Note: Thank you for the feedback. The track is regularly maintained and was last redressed in June, but will now be done again to ensure it is more easily passable.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a beautiful place to stay. This is really the place to stay if you want to get away from it all. Stunning views. The bothy itself is well equipped. Wonderful wildlife on your doorstep. Lovely hosts. Highly recommended.

    By Stewart and Suzanne stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really loved this cottage(Bothy) peaceful, outstanding views, walk from Bothy was just heaven and the golden sands we shared with the highland cows, also there is a Goat Very Friendly all he wants to do is play, you are on a farm so expect all kinds of animals. Mags, Flora, and Tom are very welcoming, just an amazing place to stay.

    By Tim and Sue and Sasha Labrador stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely peaceful location and well equipped BUT no windows in the lounge plus the track leading to the property is extremely rough and difficult.

    By Susan Parker stayed in May 2019

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your feedback. The lounge is photographed from both ends on our website and as you can see in the photos the door lets in light. The farm track is described on the website too.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is in an amazing location in a truely beautiful part of Mull. We had a wonderful restful week - the perfect escape. So many walks from the property and right by the beach at Laggan Sands. Very happy dog:) Cosy and welcoming return each day. Fantastic meals by Flora - we ordered more! The Old Post Office with its honesty box a delight and useful for top ups. Our first visit to Mull - we’ll be back.

    By Natasha and Nigel stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fantastic place to stay the views are outstanding. Flora was an fabulous host and made you very welcome the bothy was worm and cosy.
    The beach was only a 5 minute walk with wildlife in abundance.
    Would highly recommend this accommodation.

    By James Dowie stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely property in a stunning location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and there are great walks nearby with beautiful views. Travelling around we were treated with lots of sightings of wildlife which was brilliant and The Bothy was lovely and cosy to return to. I certainly hope we can return for another holiday.

    By Sylvia Yeo stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Even by the standards of magnificent Mull, Laggan is extraordinary! The track off the 'main road' is rough and slow, making the journey there quite an experience. But once you are at The Bothy, with wonderfully kind Flora and Tom next door, you are in another world. I loved exploring Lochbuie, though I kept my dog on a lead all the time due to the livestock. This is a chance to stay on a true Hebridean farm in a stunning location!

    By Mary stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    WOW! We’ve had the most fantastic week. Incredible location - the view from the kitchen window cannot be beaten! The Bothy was absolutely perfect - so warm and cosy! You have everything you could possibly need and then some. Flora was really welcoming and helpful, we can’t wait to return!

    By Lucinda and Thom stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely perfect. In a beautiful setting between the hills and just 4/5 minutes walk from the door to Laggan Sands beach, which the woofer loved. Iif you want a quiet, restful holiday that restores your sole this is the place for you. The Bothy was delightful, cosy and warm with everything you could need - we could have stayed here all week without exploring the rest of wonderful Mull, which was fantastic. We had a fab week, Flora was lovely and very helpful. Loved it - we'd happily be back.

    By Jane and Trevor stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning location with views over the mountains and sea loch. The Bothy adjoins the owners croft house but is still very private. You could easily spend a week exploring the local area if you like walking and wildlife. The cottage is beautifully designed and really comfortable.

    By Helen Bailey stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy was excellent and was very well equipped. If you want remoteness then this is the cottage for you and we thoroughly enjoyed all Flora’s meals from the Old Post Office.
    However, there were two reason for only a four star rating. The first is for dog owners who want to let their dogs off a lead! The pictures give the impression that you could free exercise your dogs on a beautiful sandy beach but this isn’t the case. There are highland cattle and sheep that roam free and were on the beach each day we were there. Also chickens roam free around The Bothy so beware if you have gundogs.
    The second reason is the 7 minute drive off the main road on an track that was full of pot holes and needed attention. We were lucky to have a four wheel drive vehicle but were still concerned about the wear and tear on our vehicle.

    By Sue & Chris stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is in a great location with fabulous views. You get lots of peace and quiet and it is in a good place to explore the southern part of Mull. We saw plenty of wildlife from the Bothy doorstep or nearby including; red and fallow deer, golden and white-tailed eagles, ravens, buzzards, red throated divers, cuckoo and lots of other seabirds and farmland birds. Our best move was to take advantage of the frozen ready meals and the bread maker which took out most of the usual self catering hassle.

    By Pam and Trevor stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Flora and Tom are extremely welcoming but in no way intrusive and their vast local knowledge proved invaluable in ensuring we could enjoy all that the area has to offer. Based on previous reviews we ordered a couple of Flora's meals and we agree they are too good to miss. If it's peace and quiet, stupendous views, excellent walking from the door plus rich and varied wildlife in the immediate area that you are after then we would recommend The Bothy without hesitation. We look forward to returning.

    By Paul and Rachel stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fabulous location with lovely walks nearby and lots if wildlife all around. A cosy cottage, lovely and clean and tidy with everything we could have needed. A super option having prepared meals available too.

    By Pete and Jen stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a brilliant time, Flora and tom are very welcoming the peace and quite are great there are some fabulous walks, the meals we ordered were scummy, lots of wildlife The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable we will be going back

    By Lorraine & Bruce Donovan stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a really relaxing week. The cottage was lovely and we can highly recommend Flora's frozen meals!

    By Jenny Attwood stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is very well appointed and off the beaten track so very peaceful. We had direct access to the beach which was brilliant. Saw a Golden Eagle while unpacking and our first wild otter on the rocks along the beach, deer were regular visitors to the bracken behind the cottage. It is well placed for visiting all around the island and we were both very quickly into holiday mode.

    By Jane and Ian stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The peace and quiet is perfect, as is the cottage, for us the weather could have been kinder but we wanted a getaway holiday and this cottage was perfect for us, the breadmaker was especially useful!!

    By Keith and Angela Sawyer stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    beautiful setting,lovely cottage.so very relaxing.lovely family.hope to return.

    By anne valance stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both lead busy lives so this was just what we were looking for. The views were amazing to wake up to. Fantastic walks. Great food. The wildlife was fantastic. The weather couldn't have been any better.
    The dog is still tired out after all the walks and making new friends on the farm. We wanted to stay longer. We will definitely be back and will recommend to anyone who is looking for that perfect break away from it all.

    By Katrina and Ian Bourhill stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you are looking for peace and quiet then this is the place to be...the cottage is so cosy and well equipped, the scenery is stunning and Tom and Flora could not be more welcoming. Overall a fantastic place for a much needed short break.

    By Rebecca and Meg stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    All of the above! It'd be harder to be much further 'off the beaten track' - we had a peaceful break in a beautiful place, with great 'Larder' meals too. And rather special to have a pair of Golden Eagles as neighbours (along with the chickens, deer and Highland cattle, not to mention Flora and family). You won't regret it.

    By Simon and Vicky stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Comfortable cottage in a prime location. Wildlife on the doorstep Loved the warmth of the woodburner on an evening. Well equipped kitchen and huge bed. Flora and Tom are congenial hosts who are most helpful but don't intrude one little bit. Would love to return

    By Judi and Dave stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    the bothy was a lovely outstanding cottage with amazing views and so cosy on autumn evening,s

    By carol seymour stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Idyllic setting and cottage on a working farm. Tom and Flora were excellent hosts and we sampled many of the Larder meals, Lamb Tagine a particular favourite. The dog thoroughly enjoyed the isolated beach walks. Much wildlife was on hand included Fallow deer and Hen Harriers in the local proximity and even had time to fish off the point for some Mackerel which are close in to shore on the spinner. Saw seals and Dolphins at Grasspoint which is close. If you need a calm relaxing holiday then this is the place to go, hope to return some day.

    By Barrie and Julie stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had an wonderful, peaceful and relaxing holiday in marvellous surroundings. The cottage was very comfortable, enjoyed the cosiness of the log fire. Tom and Flora were lovely hosts, very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the Larder meals very much. The wildlife was amazing, deer, eagles, buzzards etc. We really didn't want to come home and hope to return soon. Thank you to Flora and Tom for having us to stay at your cottage.

    By Lynda and Bill stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I can only add to all the previous reviews in the same glowing terms
    The cottage was very cosy and comfortable
    The situation on a working farm with the beach and hills was stunning
    We saw eagle and otter within walking distance
    We loved walking to the "post office" shop to buy various goodies
    Anyone lucky enough to choose the Bothy for their stay on Mull will not be disappointed
    We had an idyllic week on Mull in this wonderful location
    Thank you to Flora and Tom

    By Roy and wendy stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage on a beautiful bay plenty of opportunities for walks and lots of wildlife to see including red deer. We were well looked after by Flora an Tom. The food provided by Flora was excellent so a couple of dishes pre-ordered to save cooking chores turned in to an all out assault on the menu!

    By Steve and Lynda stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both had an amazing stay in The Bothy, it's a perfect location to explore and head off on some beautiful walks. Very peaceful and relaxing, and we couldn't have asked for better weather :) Wish we could have stayed longer.

    By Fiona and Chris stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is a lovely cottage in a stunning location right next to a beach, perfect if you want peace and tranquility. We had a lovely time on Mull and we were able to explore the entire island, including Iona from this base. Flora and Tom were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The food Flora makes, which can be booked in advance or bought from the Old Post Office down the track, is incredible and we ended up buying extra meals after our first couple of days. We also saw golden eagles and sea eagles just down the road at Loch Uisg and Croggon.

    By Kim and Joe stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I had a perfect stay at this lovely comfortable cottage. Just what I wanted a peaceful escape to enjoy the beauty of Mull. A stunning location for my holiday.

    By Helen West stayed in February 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely week here. The cottage is very comfortable and Flora's meals, available to order directly from her, are delicious and very convenient after a day's walking.

    By Wendy Fisher stayed in February 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy was absolutely perfect. Well thought out, nicely furnished and comfortable (something other self catering accommodation doesn't always offer). Surrounded by incredible nature & wildlife - and a cheeky horse or two. Thanks for having us!

    By Katherine, Mabel and Storm stayed in November 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both enjoyed our stay here. Flora and Tom were very welcoming and accommodating. The Bothy's location is great as there is lots to see on foot from the doorstep.

    By Ceris Jones stayed in November 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic stay. The cottage is well equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. Great walking from the door step. We saw Dolphins, otters and golden eagles. Every day had a magical moment. Flora and her husband were extremely helpful and gave time but were not intrusive. We would definitely hope to return.

    By Coral Brereton stayed in October 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely little place in a very quiet, out of the way area, with everything that you need. Beautiful beach just a couple of minutes away. Flora and Tom were very helpful, but not intrusive at all. Stunning views all around and we were welcomed with a wonderful sunset on the Saturday we arrived. For peace and tranquility this takes some beating and we will be back! Thank you!

    By Elaine & John stayed in October 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A comfortable cottage on a working farm, a warm welcome awaits you, well worth the effort of getting there along its bumpy track, a fantastic view awaits you of beach, loch and mountains. A perfect place to unwind in peace and quiet.

    By Pat and Ralph stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy cottage with stunning views as promised. Perfect hideaway by a beautiful, quiet beach. Lovely owners. Would love to come back & stay again : ) Highly recommended.

    By Sam McDonnell stayed in September 2015

Add your review