Call us on 01688 400682

Heron View Reviews

31 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We really enjoyed our stay at Heron View, and spotted dozens of herons during our week on Mull!. Saw dolphins on our trip to Staffa (with Staffa Trips) and an Otter just along from the cottage, along with dozens of birds. It's an excellent base for exploring the Ross of Mull, although long drives involved to visit the northern areas. The cottage was clean and the beds really comfortable there was also ample hot water. Highly recommended for a family of 4.

    By Salmon Family stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heron View was excellent in all respects, we have stayed in many cottages throughout the UK and this was the best.

    By Michael O'Callaghan stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heron View is a very comfortable, well equipped and well maintained holiday home. We chose the village of Bunessan as a convenient jumping-off point for the ferry to Iona and made good use of this a couple of times. It's also a good centre for a number of excellent walks to the fine local beaches.

    By Frank Gordon stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heron View was a gorgeous, very well equipped & spacious cottage in a great location.
    We had a great week doing many walks on the Ross of Mull. Our favourite to Erraid & it's secret hidden cove - magical!
    We also took a trip from Tobermory looking for whales & dolphins. Well worth the early start to get there for the morning trip.
    A tour to Staffa & Fingal's cave was also excellent as was a day out with a wildlife tour.
    We enjoyed sitting in the garden on several evenings watching the tide come in & out & all the birds.
    We look forward to returning to Mull for another relaxing week.

    By Sophie & Chas stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful and quiet location and the cottage name does not lie ... there is a indeed a heron and he is often to be seen stalking small fish in the weeds and rocks at low tide. So if you are looking for peace and quiet, it is a wonderful spot.
    The only issue is the constant gurgling of the kitchen and downstairs toilet sink drains. There's clearly a need for a air admittance valve in the system to stop the siphoning of the water traps. But excepting the gurgling and lovely place, with with Netflix which given the location is amazing.

    By Iain Hunneybell stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in the most fantastic location. The views from the garden are spectacular and we were able to sit out on several evenings. We climbed Ben More and were rewarded with tremendous views. Walked around the whole of Iona and up to its highest point. We walked to a couple of secluded beaches directly south of the property and they were amazing. A thoroughly enjoyable week.

    By Helen stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    super cottage , excellent facilities, very comfortable. excellent base for the wonderful beaches on this part of Mull. very friendly people at the shops over the bay. we'll be back same time next year.

    By pete stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved Heron View ! So comfortable and beautifully furnished .Very well equipped - the cottage really does have everything you need and more -and just a short walk to the shop and hotel .
    A great base for exploring Mull and handy for Staffa / Iona trip . We hope to return to Heron View !

    By Sue Hughes stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb facilities. Excellent location. Great base. Kitchen very well equipped. Wonderfully peaceful. We listed 55 different species of birds on the kitchen blackboard which we saw on our visit and without travelling very far at all. Would definitely recommend.

    By Susan B stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely spacious and very clean cottage in a quiet position but not isolated. Great views and ideally placed for the ferry to Iona, boat trips to Staffa and there are many wonderful beaches close by too. We'd love to return!

    By David Hawkins stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    warm and friendly house. wildlife excellent. we have enjoyed every minute of our 2 weeks. what more can be said ,perfection!

    By david fleet stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heron View is simply perfect! Everything is just great and it really felt as if somebody had put a lot of thought and love into making everything nice and welcoming for us. We felt instantly at home in the cosy living-room, my husband was happy with the wonderful, exceptionally well-equipped kitchen, we loved the view from the dining-room and our girls (6 and 10) loved their room and the games they discovered in the living-room. The garden is lovely, too, tea and scones on the terrace were super. We definitely want to come back for more...

    By Hardt Family stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heron View is a stunning cottage in a fantastic location for exploring the south end of Mull and also for Iona. The cottage was very well equipped and the garden was great for sitting out in the sunshine. We would definitely recommend!

    By Maxwell Family, Dunfermline stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our 2 weeks stay at Heron View every minute. The cottage was very clean, very good equipped with all you can think of, and everywhere in the house all the details, like tissues, soap, welcoming pack, etc. The view from the house is stunning. Perfect location for exploring the south of Mull and Iona as well. Small supermarket, pub and bistro on walking distance. We had a great stay on Mull!

    By Jacques and Evelyn, The Netherlands stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heron View is a lovely, well equipped, cosy cottage with great views. It's the perfect location to explore the South of Mull. We enjoyed the nice garden and the daily visit by two herons. Whatever the weather is like yoou can enjoy the patio or a snug place by the stove. We would certainly recommend this cottage for a lovely stay on Mull!

    By Susanne & Markus Brunner Switzerland stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful well positioned cottage with wonderful views.

    By Johnstone family stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Herron view was a great base for our week in Mull. The cottage was really cosy and warm, and well equipped with cooking utensils, books, games etc. There were lovely little touches such as the welcome pack and binoculars.
    It was great to be able to walk to the local pub and bistro, with some other places a short drive away.
    The views were beautiful too!

    By Rachael stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Comfortable, well appointed cottage with lovely views. In a good location for visiting Iona & the beaches on the Ross of Mull

    By H stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow, we couldn't have chosen better. Heron View was perfect in every way and the attention to detail to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay was outstanding. Wouldn't hesitate to book again.

    By Clare & Richard stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It was our first time being in Scotland and on the hebrides. We loved this cottage and enjoyed the comfort of the accomodation. The nature of the island is breathtaking. We'll come back to your lovely country.

    By Karin and Steffen from Germany stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, well equipped cottage in beautiful location, great for exploring south west Mull. Outdoor furniture a real bonus when the sun was out! Would definitely recommend.

    By Tom and Helen stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful well equipped cottage, spotlessly clean and in a lovely location. Stunning views over the bay, close to shop, pub etc and the garden is beautiful. A sun trap when it shines. The welcome pack, welcome notice on blackboard all go towards making you feel at home. Lovely decor, furnishings and everything you need is to hand. One of the best cottages we have stayed in. Saw buzzards, deer and of course herons from the cottage. FABULOUS HOLIDAY HOME.

    By Jayne and Ralph stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A most enjoyable stay in a very comfortable home. The views across the bay are stunning and are to be enjoyed from both inside and outside of the property. The owners attention to detail is second to none with the addition of an excellent welcome pack with high quality goods. I would certainly recommend this property to family and friends.

    By Sheila and Nick Parker stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage, great location. Someone has put a lot of thought, time and effort into this property. Decor, furnishings are all of a high standard and it was spotlessly clean.
    The little extras such as the welcome pack, his and hers towels, welcome notice on blackboard all go towards making this feel more of a home than a holiday rental.
    And it has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, if it had fitted into my car I would have been tempted to try and take it home.

    By David Ainslie stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous!!!!

    By Leanne stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful holiday, cottage really well equipped. Superb views from bedroom over loch including herons every time we looked out!

    By Mark & Viv Johnston-Smith stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable, pretty cottage with everything we needed. Gorgeous sea views from the front and garden. Super location. We were really sad to leave!

    By Claire stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, generously furnished with good amenities. Everything you needed is provided for a carefree holiday. Lovely sunny position with ever changing views across the estuary. Bunessan is an excellent location.

    By Ruth Issett stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house with a great location.

    By Kirsty Talbot stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautifully furnished and well appointed cottage - a lot of thought has gone into providing everything you need for a relaxing stay. Family friendly with excellent games cupboard (!) and charming twin room for the children. Master bedroom was a generous size with very comfy bed! Delightful garden overlooking the bay. We'll be back!

    By Lucy Pink stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful relaxing property with sunlight filled rooms. Great location with a thoughtful property.

    By Justine Shaw stayed in April 2016

Add your review