Call us on 01688 400682

Ardwhin Cottage Reviews

39 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful week here. The cottage was toasty and warm with the fire lit upon our arrival.
    The view was fantastic, we saw loads of wildlife from the conservatory. A lovely walk turn left from the gate and keep going until the end. We walked this daily and it was different view every time. An ideal base to travel from. There was not much open this time of year but that didn't bother us at all. The lovely flora at Loch Buie larder delivered a weeks worth of the most wonderful meals. A return visit for us next year hopefully.
    Thank you for a lovely getaway.

    By Julie & Andy Moore stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location was fantastic, lots of wildlife to be seen from the conservatory.
    Couple of niggles, the conservatory roof leaked in heavy rain, the electric kettle also leaked. The shed doors were no secure so blew about in the wind which was quite strong. No milk for arrival and as this is after 5 the nearest shop closes at five.
    All said we enjoyed our time at the cottage.
    All said

    By Jeffrey Wolfe stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    First time on Mull for all of us - grandparents, parents, 8 month old baby and dog. We loved the island, and will come back. Ardwhin cottage is in a lovely spot, the bay is beautiful, peaceful, we met a magnificent stag on our first morning there. The house is fully equipped, easy to live in, cosy, no problems with heating. Log fire on in the evenings and easy panel heaters in the morning. Enclosed garden front and back great for our dog. Couldn't ask for more!

    By Evelyn Haynes stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage is absolutely beautiful, the photos don't do it justice and in such a magical location too. Just perfect for a relaxing holiday. Even when the weather was bad we could still enjoy ourselves, watching out for passing wildlife from the conservatory. We saw a pair of sea eagles passing over the loch as well as hen harriers, herons curlews and many other birds. Unfortunately we didnt get a glimpse of the otter other visitors had been lucky enough to see. Maybe next time.

    By Margaret Nigel and Emily Briggs stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location of the cottage makes it the prefect base for exploring all of Mull as well as Iona. The view to the front makes it hard to leave to do that exploring! Having travelled all over the island I felt very privileged to be able to return to such a beautiful spot.
    The cottage itself is roomy, comfortable and attractive. The owners have thought of everything. I could have happily stayed for much longer!

    By Alison Page stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Adored our time at this stunning cottage. Tranquil setting with stunning views. One night we had a spectacular fiery sunset. Perfect location for exploring Mull and Iona. The wood burning fire in the living room made for cosy evenings. There were 5 adults and a dog and while the space wasn't huge it didn't feel cramped. Just watch out if you are tall, the stairs and ensuite bathroom are quite low!
    Only one small niggle. There is no downstairs bathroom. Appreciate it is an old cottage and this may not be possible but my gran struggled with the stairs at times. That said, still 5* !!

    By Fletcher and Neilson Families. stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had an amazing week at the cottage. Watched ospreys and sea eagles over the loch as the sun was going down. Cottage was really comfy and plenty of room for 4 adults, one child and one dog who loved looking out of the conservatory windows! Very peaceful location.

    By Marie Heyworth stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a beautiful cottage, amazing views from the conservatory. We saw a pair of sea eagles and watched the deer crossing the Loch onto the small island across from the cottage
    Neighbours friendly, selling veg from the garden and providing advice about things to do &places to visit.
    The cottage is homely and spacious. We didn't use the living room much, after dinner we stayed in the dining room playing board games or in the conservatory enjoying the scenery until the sun went down.
    Bedrooms very comfy, we appreciated the blackout blinds in the bright mornings. Kitchen very well equipped

    By Culberts stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great 2 weeks, weather very good, only a couple of wet days and then we used the wood burner which was lovely and cosy. We saw Sea eagles just down the road from the house and loved watching curlew and oyster catchers on the Loch. Lochbuie, just a short drive away is stunning and would recommend a visit. Our dog loved the garden especially when the wild rabbits came to visit!!, great that it is fully enclosed and safe. The conservatory is the best bit of the house. From early morning till late evening, rain or shine the ever changing view is stunning, a beautiful place to stay.

    By The Jarrolds stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous cottage in a beautiful quiet location. Well equiped and plenty of room. Stunning views over the Loch right in front of the house. We fell in love with the Isle of Mull-so many gorgeous unspoilt beaches to discover....We want to go back!!

    By Fiona Chatten stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Love everything about house. Wonderful views so peaceful. Deer in back garden. Great wood stove, house cosy and warm. Garden good for dog. Had a fabulous time booked house again.

    By Chris stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed at the cottage during the last week of September and the first week in October
    What a spectacular location, right on the lochside! We were visited everyday bar one by eagles, a stag wandered past the conservatory window one evening and we saw countless other species of birds.
    The cottage is conveniently placed for exploring Mull both on foot and by car.
    Our only issue was that the heating was a bit idiosyncratic, we'd just about got it tamed by the time we left. (We are very used to a woodburner as that is how we heat our cottage) In colder weather I fear the cottage may not be quite so cosy.
    All that said, we would return to this amazing location...stunning!

    By Sharon stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We booked Ardwhin for 3 weeks and were joined for a week of that by 4 adults, an 8 month old baby and 2 dogs. Everyone loved the property, the location, the beds and the island. We had no issues with seating 6 in the lounge and on several beautiful evenings when we all sat in the conservatory to watch the sun go down over the mountains we just borrowed dining room chairs. We had no need to light the fires but on one or 2 evenings we used the electric wall heaters which worked very well. There was plenty of hot water for everyone to shower in the morning and we didn’t have a problem using the ensuite once we had got used to it. The wildlife came to us-we didn’t have to seek it out. Sea eagle visited us several times, we saw deer on the Loch side and watched fish jumping in the Loch. Other than the last 2 days we had good weather and made the most of it. The location of Ardwhin is amazing but speaking personally, having visited Mull twice before, I would avoid visiting in the English school holidays again as car parking was often difficult at attractions and in Tobermory and soon got filled up with motor homes. Some roads don’t seem wide enough, even with the correct use of passing places, to accommodate the coaches etc that frequent them which is a shame. We will just have to wait a couple of years until we retire and can visit whenever we like. All in all, a wonderful cottage in a great location on a stunning island.

    By Catherine Radford stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Delightful cottage in a fantastic situation. The conservatory was a joy in all weathers. Might be less comfortable for six and the ensuite would be tricky for a tall person.

    By Mora J Rolley stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just enjoyed a fantastic week at Ardwhin. Four adults. The ensuite is small and I struggled for room. Otherwise the cottage is very comfortable, well equipped with plenty of space.
    The conservatory heater is just a small fan heater which is quite noisy, otherwise the heating was fine, the supplementary electric heaters are great.
    A few little niggles - note left, so hopefully these will be rectified.
    Overall a great week, beautiful views and a week of sunshine!

    By John Clark stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is in a great location for touring the island. The wood burners were excellent - easy to light and kept the whole cottage cosy. There were a couple of small issues though. When we arrived (and intermittently throughout our stay) there was a strong smell of cooked fish, possibly from the people who had stayed before. The extractor fan in the kitchen wasn't working so that was probably part of the issue. The ensuite shower room was tiny and the shower curtain was inadequate. Although the main bathroom was spacious and adequate. The mattress in the ensuite bedroom needs replaced, it has sagged in the middle and sloped off along the side edge. Definitely extremely uncomfortable and caused some back ache. Our group consisted of a couple and a family of three. Although the cottage sleeps six it only seats four in the sitting room. There is additional seating in the conservatory but this splits the group and is pretty chilly in October. Despite these issues we enjoyed our time on Mull and saw lots of wildlife.

    By Pamela Milroy stayed in October 2017

    Editor's Note: Now replaced by the owners with new mattress and topper

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ardwhin is in a beautiful location overlooking Lochdon, so plenty to gaze out on from the conservatory. It was well furnished and comfortable for 4 people. We agree that seating would be tricky for more people than that. We loved our stay here and would happily come back.

    By Trish and Stephen Graham stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Comfy, cosy Cottage with lovely views from the conservatory. Comfortable beds. Great location with easy access to the road. We toured the whole Island over the week and went to Iona for a day, definitely worth the trip, what a stunning place. If you don't feel like cooking we would thoroughly recommend 'Lochbuie Larder' Flora makes the most delicious wild venison lasagne and sticky toffee pudding we've ever had - order in advance. We went with our teenage children and there was just enough room for us to all sit together comfortably in the evenings unless you don't mind splitting up and going into the conservatory. The main bathroom was a good size with a good shower but the ensuite was tiny so we all shared the shower in the main bathroom.

    By Mell Osbaldstone stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Warm, clean, well-equipped and comfortable in a lovely location with great views from the conservatory. Easy access to Craignure ferry and south and west of Mull for great wildlife watching. Has beds for 6 but comfy seating really for 4 adults.

    By Lesley Hawkins stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We felt this cottage was excellent.We stayed for a week in early June when we had 6 days rain out of 7. Thank goodness for the conservatory which gave us lovely views across the loch and protection from the rain without feeling shut in. Well equipped and comfortable .Convenient for the main road and a useful shop. Handy for touring the island.. Would certainly use this cottage again. Would not hesitate to come with our family as we felt there is plenty of room for 6.

    By Kayte Haynes stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was cosy, clean, and equipped with everything we needed. The location was lovely, and the view from the conservatory changed constantly as the tide went in and out.
    I would definitely recommend Ardwhin Cottage.

    By Sue Biddlecombe stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A comfortable, well equipped cottage in an outstanding (and convenient) location. We suspect better suited to 2 + 2 than 2 + 2 + 2.

    By Philip Vallance stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in this cottage on a number of occasions at different times of the year (usually out of season) The cottage is comfortable and well equipped we have not found any difficulty with the heating or the wood burners. Brilliant location, fabulous view from the conservatory and a haven for wild life. Would highly recommend the cottage.

    By Pat Buck stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really excellent cottage. Truly stunning location. It's even better than the photos. I have travelled a lot and this is one of the best locations I have visited. If you are unsure if you want to stay on Mull or in this cottage my advice would be just go for it, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

    By David Champneys stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a great setting.
    No problem at all with fires or heating.
    Mull is lovely with everyone very friendly. Definitely recommended.

    By Alan and Bev Edwards stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is in a lovely location and very handy for getting around Mull. It's well equipped and beautifully furnished. Although we didn't really have a problem with the woodburners the radiators only got warm once or twice so we had to rely a lot on the supplementary heating. The stairs are very steep in this cottage so I wouldn't recommend it for people with any mobility problems.

    By Lynne Pascoe stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ardwhin Cottage is wonderful.
    Very cosy, clean and in an exceptional location, coupled with a lovely landlady.
    Everything that is so wonderful about the Isle of Mull.

    By Frank Fricker stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage exceeded all expectations ,very comfortable and well equipped ,no problems at all with wood burner ,amazing views from conservatory and an absolute haven for wildlife .Would highly recommend this cottage .

    By lynda and Andy stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely little cottage in a fantastic location with stunning, ever changing views as the tide goes in and out. We had fabulous weather which was great but made the conservatory very limited, nice for late in the evenings.
    Watch out for low ceilings upstairs!
    Highly recommended, oh and you can hire a Kayak just a few doors always!

    By Gillian and Ian stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We found the heating perfectly adequate,heated tank in no time,so hot in bedrooms needed windows open, no difficulty in lighting but we are ex Boy Scouts !!!, views amazing especially the snow capped mountains, plenty of wildlife from cottage : Eagles , harriers, osprey, owls mergansers, etc

    By Linda and Jim Platt stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star

    The heating in this property is inadequate for all but the summer months. It just does not work, the woodburners are difficult to light, keep going out and rarely get hot enough to heat the radiators. There is no heating at all in the bathroom.

    By JANET stayed in April 2016

    Editor's Note: Appreciate the feedback, however, as you can see from previous guest reviews, we would say lots of guests who have stayed at Ardwhin haven't found the heating to be a problem.
    * Additional electric heating now installed at Ardwhin

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house with all you need and more. Slow cooker a nice touch for those long days out. Great base to tour from. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks.

    By Rob and Janet stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have visited Mull every year for ten years but its the first time we've stayed on Lochdon. Although we didn'the see the wildlife we would like from the cottage other than the beautiful deer, the view was still lovely, and it was the perfect location for popping into Craignure for supplies and head out for wildlife watching. Mull is such a beautiful island, stunning scenery, and a wildlife lovers dream.

    By Naomi & Steve stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Exceptionally well equipped cottage in a fabulous setting on the shore of Loch Don. Extremely comfortable accommodation and lots of space for 5 adults plus 2 dogs during our stay. Ideally sited for travelling north and west on the island and very short journey to reach the hills in Glen More. Can't wait to return again.

    By Graeme & Pat Anderson stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, cosy cottage with fabulous views over Loch Don. Wonderful to wake up each morning and spot a wide variety of seabirds and wildlife surrounding the cottage. Could quite happily have stayed there forever!

    By Pam & Craig Robinson stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very homely and comfortable. Loved having breakfast in the conservatory every morning and watching the wildlife right in front of us: Red Deer Stag, Golden Eagle, M & F Hen Harrier, Grey Seal 50m from front door. Hot tip: spread some bid seed on front wall and watch the birds. Would go back any time.

    By Rob & Jan Mellowship stayed in November 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a fantastic location.
    All modern facilities with log fire too.
    Ideal base for exploring this wonderful island.
    Would highly recommend this property for a stay on Mull.

    By Catherine Dalling stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Peaceful location. Lovely view of Loch and beautiful walks. Easy to find; close to ferry and Duart Castle. Very well equipped and comfortable modern dwelling - added bonus of a good selection of books, even cookbooks in the kitchen. Enjoyed the nearby Craignure Inn. Would go back again. Thank-you!

    By Samantha stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great time at Ardwhin. Amazing view from the cottage and decent location to explore the rest of Mull. We were the first people to use the cottage, so there were a few moving-in glitches but they got sorted out straight away, so nothing but praise from us!

    By Alison stayed in May 2014

Add your review