Call us on 01688 400682

The Tontine Reviews

15 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent property and nicely remote to watch wildlife.

    By Stephen Hillary stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've been to Mull many times before, but this year we took my parents. Tontine is perfect for four, especially good for using as a base.
    Facilities are all you would want and styled and decorated to make you feel at home.
    Mobile phone reception virtually none existent: BRILLIANT!! It really helped to get away from it all....
    Will certainly return in the future... Very happy (apart from having to leave the place).

    By Graham Henderson stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was everything we hoped it would be and more. Set in a stunning location it was always a pleasure to return back to the property after a busy day exploring everything Mull had to offer. The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished, it's cosy and comfortable and it is equipped with everything that we needed. The garden is fantastic and we enjoyed having breakfast on the bench by the stream, there is lots of wildlife to enjoy in the garden. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, it was brilliant and we had a lovely time.

    By Leanne and Steve stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It's rare that a holiday let actually exceeds ones expectations from the description and photographs but this one certainly did. Extremely comfortable with thoughtful and tasteful decor The Tontine is more boutique hotel than holiday let. Worth every penny.
    A word too for Isle of Mull Cottages who's booking service is exemplary.
    We look forward to our next visit.

    By John & Ann stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What an amazing holiday cottage. Had everything we needed and more. So comfortable and beautifully done throughout. Lovely garden with seats and tables outside to enjoy the sunshine. Would recommend to anyone. And thanks for being dog friendly :)

    By Nicky Smith stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    exceptional cottage beautifully decorated and oh so very comfortable. The huge bath was perfect for two!! And the monsoon shower combined with underfloor heating is bliss. My architect husband was very taken with the work which has been carried out to create this fabulous home from home.

    By Catriona stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved The Tontine immediately. It has such a lovely atmosphere and every care has been taken with furnishing, decor and equipment. We are holiday cottage owners ourselves and appreciate all the effort that has been taken here. The Tontine offers a real get away from it all base to explore the island and yet you could happily spend a day there enjoying the house and gardens. 10/10. We heartily recommend a stay.

    By Helen Frost stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a place! The Tontine is one of the best self catering cottages we have ever stayed in, and the location is just beautiful.
    From our arrival (quite a long journey!) we walked in and instantly felt right at home and so relaxed!
    The bathrooms are lovely, very tastefully decorated and the underfloor heating is a real bonus.
    The kitchen is the perfect space for preparing and cooking evening meals, and very well equipped. We couldn't think of anything else we needed whilst we were there.
    The garden is a haven for small garden birds, we even had a visit from a buzzard and a pheasant dropped by to say hello.
    Overall an absolutely stunning place, and we cannot wait to come back!

    By Claire stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the best S/C we have ever stayed in. We felt so comfortable from the moment we arrived. We particularly loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms.
    Everything was of a high standard - the subtle colours of the decor, the sumptuous throws, the pretty bed linen, gorgeous curtains. Quite simply a peaceful haven. We can't wait to return.

    By Meg Marshall stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Almost not wanting to review - to keep this cottage a secret!
    After a lengthy trip from the south east of England it was such a delightful place to arrive at.
    Everything has been considered and included, and all at a stylishly high standard. Had quite a busy week visiting all corners of Mull and beyond, but we were not in a hurry to leave in the mornings and very happy to return each evening.

    By Kay Clarke stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely a lovely cottage in a peaceful location and great for chilling out. Kitchen extremely well equipped and wet room shower was fabulous. This was our first visit to Mull and we can't wait to return. Would definitely book Tontine again.

    By Jean & Richard stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely loved everything about this house. The wood burner was a fabulous focal point & we were even lucky enough to be able to sit outside on a couple of evenings with a glass or 3 whilst the dogs enjoyed chasing each other around the massive garden.Our week on the Ross of Mull was a total stress buster. Can't wait to visit again

    By Carolyn Green stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely the best holiday home we have ever stayed in, The Tontine is comfortable, beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped. It is in a lovely peaceful setting with a fabulous garden. Perfectly situated for exploring the Ross of Mull, we had beautiful weather on the days we visited Staffa and Iona and when it did rain, Mull's scenery was still stunning. We had a great week, thank you.

    By MERIEL MUNRO stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Pauline and Gareth's cottage is really lovely. It is beautifully decorated and unbelievably well-equipped (the only the thing we could think of that was missing was a tea cosy and I understand they have now bought one!).
    Although we were lucky with the weather, it was still quite chilly. The cottage was really cosy with a mixture of under-floor heating, storage heaters and a fantastic wood-burning stove. Cold was not a problem in the cottage.
    With regard to location, the cottage is perfectly situated to explore the Ross of Mull and has lovely views out to sea.
    Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

    By Carl & Tricia Davis stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Gareth and Pauline have created a wonderful holiday home in Mull and we were luck to be their first guests. We had a lovely week of walking in the local hills, getting long days out in the mountains and visiting Iona, something I've wanted to do for many years. It's in a beautifully peaceful location and the house itself exudes a sense of calm, partly from the combination of old stone building and spacious new extension, and partly from the carefully chosen, stylish decor.
    Apart from being in a beautiful location, the other things that are important to us are : having a good, hot bath after long days in the hills, a kitchen which has the space and equipment to cook dinner from scratch, a comfortable bed, car parking next to the house and being able to take the dog with us.
    We'd go and live there ourselves if it wasn't for the midges! There's something very special about being on a Scottish island that is hard to define - and its very good for the soul.

    By Alison Bramall stayed in August 2015

Add your review