Call us on 01688 400682

Wood Cottage Reviews

43 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great cottage in a super location; quiet, accessible and with great walks all around.
    We will be very keen to book again and would recommend the cottage to anyone (with or without dogs) wishing to visit Mull (especially the north end).

    By Tim Sinclair Roads stayed in November 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Idyllic cottage in a wonderful location close to Tobermory. Perfect location for a family with dogs. Loads of beautiful walls on the doorstep.

    By Louise stayed in October 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This dog friendly single floor cottage is a true gem hidden away down a forest track with stunning views across the bay. The ever-changing light and weather mean that the views are constantly changing. A 5-minute drive takes you to the harbour town of Tobermory with shops and restaurants catering for all tastes. The cottage is an ideal base for exploring the rest of the island and is a great homely place to return to at the end of each day.

    By Ian stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A comfortable cottage in a perfect secluded location, and yet so close to Tobermory. We loved the wonderful view of Ben Hiant from the cottage and the garden. Would love to go back.

    By Cindy stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage is just so lovely and cosy, we were provided with everything we could have hoped for, was great to have real coffee in the mornings and only have to drive 5 minutes to Tobermory.
    Only downfall was that the path from the cottage down to the coastal path was an absolute death trap, no fault of the owners of the cottage but please be aware that the walk to Tobermory is significantly longer if you’re to take the route via the Aros park car park. The mud was ankle deep and it’s a very steep rough set of stone steps on a very steep slope.
    Thanks to the owners and housekeeper, a great week!

    By Darryl stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage is in a superb location and provided a peaceful retreat whilst being easily accessible to Tobermory via the woodland coastal path. The views from the garden are amazing and we enjoyed the absolute tranquility sitting by the pond or any of the many garden areas to make the most of the view. The cottage itself was adequately equipped for our needs but we did find the cleanliness of the kitchen in particular was not of the standard we have come to expect. A bit of attention to detail would have given 5 stars.

    By Alex and Nicola stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic location - with to die for views
    Attractive cottage, well equipped
    Lovely walks - Aros Park is wonderful and a walk around the Loch there is a must.

    By Peter stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fantastic cottage you wouldn’t find a better quiet location if you tried, only a short walk along the coastal footpath into Tobermory. Loved the early morning walk down to the waterfalls with our dog. The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you need and more for a self catering holiday.
    We really didn’t want to leave and would be happy to book this cottage again in the future.

    By Alan & Jackie stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderfully equipped cottage set in an idyllic location within Aros Park. Great views over the Sound of Mull to Ardnamurchan.
    Walks from the doorstep and wildlife all around.
    Short drive or a relaxing costal walk to Tobermory.
    Loved this place and genuinely didn't want to leave.
    Highly recommended.

    By Jonny S stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a beautiful setting in the woods overlooking the Loch across to the mainland. Had many walks around and into Tobermory. The fish & chips on the pier were the best we've had. A lovely cottage, well equipped, had many cups of tea looking at the bird and wildlife. Thoroughly recommend Wood Cottage to anyone and hopefully we can visit again. Didn't see the deer in the garden but there was evidence of them visiting. We were lucky to have sunshine all during our week long stay. Sadly we had to come back home.

    By Gary, Claire, Sophie stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful Cottage and garden with all the home comforts.
    Peace and Quiet at its best.. Loved watching the birds on the feeder while having breakfast and early evening meal … I managed to get a 2 minute video of a Great Spotted Woodpecker also had a close encounter with a Deer when I went to get something from my car at dusk..
    I think we will be booking again as we still have some more places see on The Lovely Isle of Mull.

    By Allan & Sharon stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wood Cottage was perfect for our week’s break in Mull. The location was simply incredible - in a park with nobody else around, other than the birds and deer. So peaceful and private. Great sea/mountain views. Waterfalls a few minutes walk away. Tobermory a 30 min walk. We used the ‘sun room’ a lot as the weather was unseasonably warm. Kitchen well equipped. 3 adults and a small dog were perfectly happy and wished we could’ve stayed longer.

    By John stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is beautiful. It's clean, cosy, warm and fabulously well equipped. the setting in Aros park is just amazing - it's like having the most magnificent 'back garden'. Housekeeper is super helpful. The wood fired stove is the best ever. A wonderful, well needed week. I wanted to stay forever .

    By Gill Alleyne stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful, clean , tidy had everything you could need , amazing walks in the door step to the waterfalls
    Cottage was spotless and had everything you would need even down to board games and books
    Beds were comfy ,
    Wood stove was amazing

    By Lynn Smith stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is an idyllic cottage in a lovely garden with beautiful views over the sea to the mountains. There are great walks in the local area. It is very cosy, comfortable and very well equipped. A very good Wi-Fi signal, which was needed as the mobile phone signal was not good. A lovely touch was the bottle of wine that was left for us. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    By Keith Brown stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable cottage and very well equipped indeed. Tight turn in if you are in a,larger vehicle but round in two not a problem. Amazing views and the local birds appreciate some food. Beds comfortable and everything of a high quality. Would highly recommend

    By Caroline stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, cosy cottage in a secluded position looking over the Sound to Calve Island, yet within walking distance of Tobermory. Interesting walks from the door into Aros Park, ideal if you have a dog. A great base for exploring everything that Mull has to offer.

    By Chris Brooks stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy Wood cottage, nestled in Aros park with breathtaking views from the garden. We spent a lot of time just sat at the dining table watching the birds feed.

    By Dean Radford stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage in a stunning location we had such a great week the walk into Tobermory is so easy as well we loved mull as well

    By Tina and Jim stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We couldn't fault Wood Cottage, it has everything you need to settle in quickly and the location is great. Very peaceful and great wildlife. Lovely coastal walk to Tobermory and the waterfalls in Aros Park are spectacular, only ten minutes from your door. Being dog friendly was a real bonus and Bob the dog had a great time chasing imaginary rabbits in the garden. We hope to return one day.

    By Alison & Paul stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks in Wood Cottage, the ever-changing views across the Sound were entrancing. Very well equipped and it felt COVID secure. Would certainly recommend the cottage as a base to explore Mull; we were sad to leave,

    By Patrick Taylor stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent accommodation with a warm comfortable feeling. Very well equipped with everything we needed. I sat the dining room table overloooking the loch and the mountains and sky for hours, so lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wood Cottage.

    By Peter and Val stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wood Cottage felt welcoming from the moment we arrived. The view across the water to the Ardnamurchan peninsula, woodland setting and several outdoor seating areas are delightful. The cottage is spotlessly clean, contains everything you need and is in a totally private and peaceful location, yet very close to amenities of Tobermory Walks from the door through beautiful Aros park or along the shore path into Tobermory and onwards to the lighthouse are a must. Would definitely recommend Wood Cottage to anyone visiting Mull.

    By Jan & Andrew stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely warm, and cosy cottage. Very well equipped, with stunning views. We really enjoyed been able to walk into Tobermory everyday, and walks around Aros Park. The waterfalls were spectacular, provably because we had so much rain!! Wish we’d come a few weeks earlier to see all the autumn colours. Maybe next year. Definitely recommend this cottage.

    By Nadine Bate stayed in November 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wood cottage is perfect! It’s spacious and comfortable with all the equipment you could possibly need! It was spotlessly clean, the views and location were stunning, we can’t recommend it highly enough! April, Ian, Lucy and Bert the dog!

    By April Pridmore stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An absolute haven in the present madness! Cosy, well equipped cottage in unique location with fantastic views. Beautiful loch practically on the doorstep for dog walks. Thoroughly recommended. Thanks for the wine - much appreciated!

    By Trish, Angela & Betsy the golden retriever stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely lovely. A comfortable and welcoming cottage in a beautiful location in one of our very favourite places. Despite the difficulties caused by the Covid-19 pandemic the cottage was ready and waiting for us, just as promised. We loved every moment of our stay.

    By Owen Stimpson stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Super cottage. Comfortable, clean and very cosy when the log burner gets going! Equipped with everything you need for your stay. Very pet friendly, with lots of great walks from the door and very quiet location. Would love to return.

    By Sarah, Simon and Ruby the Lurcher stayed in March 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in a remote setting overlooking Calve island. If you are into birds, then this place is for you. The cottage is surrounded by trees just full of birds, namely britains smallest bird, the Goldcrest for one. The interior is superb and soon gets warm when the heating comes on. Beds are very comfy too.The kitchen is very well equipped, but could of done with some cloths to wipe down the surfaces after cooking etc. (very minor point) TV picture great, WiFi signal great, no one overlooks you, very quiet and private, great log burner, this cottage is well recommended.

    By Alan & Fiona Saunders stayed in March 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely pretty cottage in its own wild garden with sea views and close to Tobermory by walking along coastal path or short drive....quite sheltered too as very windy weather????...enjoyed Mull ....made it to Iona and saw otters and a sea eagle en route???? cottage ideal for dogs too????

    By Trudi and Robin Davies stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect cottage in a lovely remote setting yet within walking distance of the town. Really cosy and well equipped and perfect for walking the dog straight from the door.

    By Amanda Agar stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was a fantastic cottage. Beautifully set up, amazingly equipped, in a fantastic setting. As someone else said, the path down beside the cottage is dodgy, but usable. Otherwise it was just a great place to stay.

    By Les Ireland stayed in November 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very well equipped and cosy cottage when the heating was on. WE were out and about during the day on the many walks so didn't adjust the heating. Wonderful views from the cottage which was really handy for Tobermory - used the coastal path ok - but very private.

    By Margaret and Philip stayed in November 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow beautiful cottage, proper home from home comfy king size bed, very clean, one of the better properties we have booked with. Beautiful views from the cottage. Just be aware that the costal walk from the cottage wasn’t that good probably the time of year we were there, my husband an avid walker with all the proper gear on fell just after the wooden bridge, there were big stones made into steps and on the last one which was really a big stone and not a step he went down and hurt himself, so please be careful. There is another route to it by the lodge as this was the way he came back.

    By Martyn and Diane Cowen stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We enjoyed our stay at wood cottage it had everything we needed and very comfortable.
    The view from the back of the cottage is lovely
    We would definitely stay at this cottage again.

    By Paul woodall stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    As two active(ish) OAPs, we found Wood Cottage a great location from which to embark on a daily yomp - whether on the many trails within Aros woods or further afield. It was a pleasure to return to the cottage every evening - spacious, cosy, comfy and very well appointed. We were assured of a decent sleep being in a really peaceful location and in lovely snug beds - makes all the difference! We'd be happy to return for another stay.

    By Norrie & Susie stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fantastic holiday cottage, we loved it! Well equipped, comfortable, and superbly situated for a tranquil stay, delightful in every way. The surrounding area of Aros Park was amazing. We walked, ran, birdwatched, and simply soaked up this lovely woodland site. Thank you so much, we have had such a great time!

    By ROB SIMPSON stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage in an idyllic spot.

    By Maggie Nock stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from Wood cottage and had a fantastic time on Mull. The cottage is in the most beautiful location, it’s down a private driveway and is very private. The views across the bay from the cottage are stunning. The cottage is set within the Aros national park and so they’re a number of walks directly from the cottage.
    The location from Tobermory is ideal, 20 mins walk down coastal path or 5 mins drive down in car.
    We would highly recommend Wood cottage and hopefully will return someday.

    By Sharon Burles stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very well equipped, peaceful, clean and comfortable cottage in a great location with lovely views and a great base for exploring the island.

    By Tony and Vicky Evans stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My family and I (dog included) had such a wonderful time at Wood Cottage.
    The location is ideal. Secluded enough in a national park, but close to Tobermory for all you might need. The paths found near the cottage are stunning and worth walking.
    The cottage was really clean and comfortable. The beds are soft and cosy and the kitchen is fully equipped. I have to mention that the washer/dryer is fabulous, which is a rare commodity in a rental place. Loads of games to spend the evening playing. It is very peaceful at night. All that is is missing is a BBQ cooking tool set. We will be back soon!

    By Alejandra Ayala stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wood Cottage is comfortable, clean and very well equipped.
    The location is ideal, being out-of-the-way but within walking distance of Tobermory. The 20 minute walk on the coast path was a perfect preparation for dinner at Café Fish – which is not to be missed!

    By Ian Henderson stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is probably the best equipped that we have ever stayed at. We loved both the cottage and it's situation. The only thing that let it down was the fact that it wasn't very clean when we got it. It looked okay but after siting on the leather sofas our clothes were dirty and the floors were very dusty and dirty. We spent Sunday morning sweeping all floors and dusting sofas and dining room furniture. We left the cottage a lot cleaner than we found it so hopefully other visitors won't experience the same problem. We would book the cottage again as these are probably teething problems.

    By Elaine Pimlott stayed in May 2019

Add your review