Call us on 01688 400682

Torrness Reviews

12 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in an amazing setting. This is our fourth time booking with Isle of Mull cottages and all the cottages have been excellent as has the customer service. What we particularly liked about this cottage was the lounge and it’s view and the fact that there was a totally enclosed grass garden for our dogs. Saw deer every night on the far hills and a White Tailed Eagle flew over the cottage one day. Excellent spots of Otter at other parts of the island. Eagles at Loch Na Keal. Excellent holiday and cottage.

    By Lucy Cooke stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Second visit at this time of year and didn’t disappoint. The house is lovely and cozy and lots of room for family to do their own thing. Windows in the lounge amazing for watching the weather and colours change throughout the day. Lovely walk up past the hide on Loch Torr and really near Tobermory for extra supplies.

    By Eve Traynor stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just returned from a week at the beautiful Torrness, the second visit this year. Beautiful house, bright spacious airy, and spotlessly clean. The beautiful Egyptian cotton bedding is a real treat. I recommend the Isle of Mull Cheese for a lovely lunch, great service, and lovely views. We had gorgeous weather for the entire week, and watched a pair of sea eagles soaring over the house for several minutes, an enchanting sight.

    By Lesley Harrison stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The best thing about Torrness is the peace and quiet. The great thing about Torrness is the wildlife on its doorstep and within easy walking distance. Golden eagles; mountain hare; white tailed eagle; dragonflies and damselflies; to name but a few; and the amount of wild flowers is in itself wonderful.
    Downside to property during our visit was the lack of prior cleaning by previous renters. Dog(s) had been allowed to stay and the renters had not properly cleaned house of dog hairs. Nor did others clean their spilled foods & drink, leaving ingrained dirt & stains on carpets.

    By Anne stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had 2 very good weeks in this excellent property ,warm , comfy ,spacious and we felt very safe. Many birds came to the feeders including a family of great spotted woodpeckers. Great views .

    By David Fleet stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Torrness is a gorgeous property, with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Stunning sea eagles flew past most days also Hen Harriers and a Woodpecker family visited feeders each morning giving us all a brilliant display. House was spotlessly clean and had everything you could want to make your stay perfect. Tobermory is a 15-minute drive and the beautiful Calgary Bay is a short drive away. We will definitely be returning to this lovely house.

    By Mr Campbell stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable house, nice and warm and quiet, even though the weather was wild outside! Good walks and spectacular scenery from the front door. Lots of space for drying wet gear and wet dogs! Useful local shop in Dervaig and a wider range of shops in Tobermory, 15 mins away.

    By Baldwin family stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Enjoyed the house comfortable and warm . Location excellent for walking dogs . Only draw back is for some vehicles the driveway up to cottage is a bit rough and steep . All in all we had a lovely stay .

    By Morag Ross stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful spacious property with amazing views. Despite contents being cut back due to coronavirus we had everything we needed. Loved watching the birds on the feeder and often saw eagles too. Well situated, near enough to get supplies in Dervaig and an easy 15-20 minute scenic drive to Tobermory.

    By Maggie stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a lovely weekend at Torrness in October. the house is beautiful and was spotless when we arrived. Only stayed for 2 nights but will definitely be going back for a longer visit soon. Loads of wildlife in the area (eagles, deer etc) and lovely walks from the doorstep. We walked along Loch Torr, which is only a few 100m away from the house and saw an eagle. Had lunch at the Bellachroy in Dervaig which was fab. Gorgeous house, fab location for walking and exploring the rest of Mull.

    By Emma Cooper stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My first visit to Mull was in September and I fell in love with the island. On the ferry across, we were accompanied by a pod of dolphins and the trip just got better from there! Stayed at Torrness which is a beautiful house. All on one level and really well decorated/furnished. The location of the house is great for getting around the north of Mull (Tobermory 12 minutes, Calgary 20 mins). Dervaig is a five minute drive but we actually decided to walk it which took 50 minutes (including a photo stop from the viewpoint above the village). Stayed here again in Oct. Fab!

    By Katie Swanick stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed at Torrness for 5 days in August and it was amazing. The house was spotlessly clean and the beds were super comfortable. The location of the house is ideal for exploring the north part of the island with Tobermory only a 10-15 minute drive away. The village of Dervaig is only a five minute drive and Calgary bay took 20 minutes. We have been to Mull on many occasions and this is now our favourite place to stay. We even saw White Tailed eagles from the deck at the front of the house! We have already booked to return in April.

    By Lesley Harrison stayed in August 2019

Add your review