Call us on 01688 400682

Tigh na Caora Reviews

20 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful week we had at Tigh na Caora! Beautiful & peaceful setting, incredible 180 degree views & sunsets, plus wildlife all around. The house is warm, cosy and homely, with a really well-equipped kitchen. The sunroom/"blister" takes the biscuit though, and we were lucky with the weather so the garden came into its own too. Highly recommend.

    By Lucy Stobart stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic holiday here! The cottage is full of character and very cosy; comfy beds, good showers and an excellent kitchen. The garden was great for the kids and while not secure for dogs, excellent for the children. It's in an excellent location so it's very easy to explore the north and central parts of mull, as well as being in fairly easy reach of shops. Beautiful views from the cottage with plenty of wildlife on the doorstep. Would highly recommend!

    By Emma and Anna Dorward stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a place this is! If you are looking for a base to explore the island with stunning outlooks and peaceful surrounds, then Tigh na Caora is the perfect choice. The cottage has a great homely feel to it, with an exceptional kitchen and a light filled sunroom. Thoroughly recommend.

    By Brandon stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great week. No problems with the drive, steps or fences! This is in the country after all.. Lovely views over to Ulva where there's a lot of choice of walks and good cafe. Wildlife trip and boat trip both from Ulva Ferry and when it rained it was a chance to take advantage of a really fabulous cosy house. Shame it wasn't a fortnight. So many local walks you don't want to use your car much, but it's a long way to the shop.

    By Chris Procter stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is in a breath-taking location. It is an interesting building, warm and welcoming, and totally peaceful. Furniture and beds are comfortable; showers are good and hot! The kitchen is very well-equipped, with a very capable range-style cooker. We loved our stay and would highly recommend Tigh na Caora.

    By Steve and Sue stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning setting for peace and quiet and watching wildlife.
    House could do with some refurbishment and the hard tiled floors and steps inside and out would be unsuitable for elderly and anyone with a disability. Not really dog friendly as garden is not fenced off and sheep in the fields. Road leading up to cottage is very rough causing our car to ground several times. More suitable for 4x4 cars

    By Janet and Laurence Simpson stayed in March 2022

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your feedback and glad you liked the setting of the cottage. We do describe the property as an older, characterful house (not refurbished and priced accordingly). Dogs are welcome, but the garden isn't fully fenced. We do describe the access to the cottage via the old drover's road on the website and will pass your feedback to the owner, from our experience it is passable in a normal car.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A magical home for the week! We made forever memories! Loads of space, warm and homely. Very comfy beds and lovely linen. We spent time inside and out and both were heaven. Incredible views a s the conservatory the most wonderful “television.” We saw deer, golden eagles, and so much more. A peaceful haven. Thank you for letting us share your wonderful property! We will be back.

    By The Stanley Family stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great house full of love, character and history. amazing sunsets and night by the fire playing cards. its an amazing house in a great location with access to Ulva and Salen but far enough off the beaten track to be quiet and restful.

    By Richard Cronin stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Magnificent views from cottage-simply Eagle Central-numerous sightings daily.Views over to Ulva and beautiful sunsets.Perfect site for the cottage-being on a hillside meant we got a breeze during the recent hot weather!Cottage is large and very comfortable ,only drawback this holiday was having to drink bottled water as stream water treated by Uv light had failed quality tests.We were contacted immediately by the owners who arranged for 20litres of bottled water to be awaiting us on arrival.Obviously beyond Owners control.Tigh na Caora is definitely our future go to holiday cottage on Mull .

    By ANNE Peters stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Full of character and history, Tigh na Caora has wonderful views and a great location for diverse walks. The kitchen is very well equipped. This was a return visit because we know it would suit us well with dogs and a baby!

    By Mary Watts stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a fantastic week at this cottage and would stay again. The location, setting, views etc are amazing. We’d consider it to be child friendly for our 2 year old and would recommend for families. Plenty to do within walking distance and/or a short drive. Although parts are a tad rough around the edges, it is as described and this adds to the feel it is a family home that has been maintained over time rather than a self catering business. Main point is that it was perfectly clean, tidy etc. Will try to avoid accommodation with TV in the future, really enjoyed the break from any screens.

    By Adam Tillotson stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful comfortable cottage in a fantastic location. We loved the sun room overlooking the fields, watching the lambs playing. Enjoyed seeing the wildlife around the cottage, lots of birdlife and deer and Golden Eagle. Good base to enjoy Mull which is a truly spectacular island. Enjoyed a couple of trips over to Ulva and lunch at the Boathouse. Very well equipped kitchen, but would suggest bringing food supplies with you. Very clean cottage- excellent contact and COVID updates from the agency and helpful owner. We loved Mull and hope to return soon! Thanks for a brilliant holiday!

    By Tim & Sue Dale & Aoife the Welsh Terrier stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was my second stay in this beautiful cottage. We loved it so much the first time that we had to come back! As an early riser, I loved sitting in the "blister" room looking out over the fields, watching the isle of Ulva appear out of the mist as it rolled off the loch opposite. Stunning. We got just what we needed from here: isolation, the beauty of nature, everything that we needed in the cottage, and some stunning places to explore on the island around us. We'll be back!

    By Victoria Ward stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Sublime and superb come close to describing the glory of Tigh na Caora: breathtaking sunsets; the regal soaring of the buzzards nesting on the ridge behind the house; herds of deer grazing at sunrise; a majestical golden eagle which rose dragon-like over the rocky outcrop in front of the house; the delight of galloping lambs in the fields below; the unsurpassable view across the loch to Ulva. We recommend catching the ferry to Ulva to enjoy the scrumptious food at the Ferryboat after hiking around the island. Plus don’t miss Calgary beach and a trip to Tobermory. We will be back.

    By The Harris Family stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A delightful cottage, in the most stunning location. We saw all the wildlife and most from the local beach. Tip: bring all your food with you, we did and we’re glad we did so. Mull is bigger than you think and the local small Spar is a good drive away. Certainly a long way for a pint of milk by that is part of the charm of the island.

    By Alison & John stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stayed here with some friends. Had a wonderful time with glorious walks and cosy nights in by the fire. The kitchen is a delight to cook and host with an original aga. The showers I was most impressed with as they had very good pressure and always hot. Overall a 5 star stay. Would recommend and stay again.

    By John Barnes stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The perfect location for a holiday on the west coast of Mull, the house is a comfy, cosy and well appointed. The kitchen (with Aga) and adjoining "blister" are a highlight - the latter offering views of Ulva and breathtaking sunsets. We had a wonderful time. Highly recommended.

    By Toby & Anna M-P and family stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful, comfortable and welcoming converted farmhouse with breathtaking views across Ulva, the Sound of Ulva and Loch Tuath and well located for exploring the west coast of Mull...wonderful wildlife nearby and on Ulva with easy access to Treshnish Islands and Staffa either from Ulva Ferry (5 mins) or Tobermory (25 mins). We hope to return.

    By Jill and Michael Longman stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely warm and welcoming cottage. Gorgeous views of the sea and Ulva. Great walks from the house - up the hill and to the waterfall and beach. Enjoyed cooking on the Aga. Lots of birds in the garden (especially when we fed them) and sheep in next door field. Deer come down from hills in the evenings. Pony trekking at Killiechronan recommended. Watched eagles from the house plus otters at the local beach. Loch Na Keal gives great views of otter, eagle and divers.

    By Jane Hammett stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautifully situated cottage. So handy for Ulva and Loch na Keal. We missed the otters but we're "eagled out"!!. Great holiday

    By Trevor Judith Mark and Judith stayed in April 2018

Add your review