Call us on 01688 400682

The Window Seat Reviews

65 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our 4th stay at the Window Seat! It is such a cosy and welcoming place to stay when the weather is miserable and so well located for exploring any part of the island. We had a great week of walks, bike rides and wildlife watching. The Window Seat was the perfect place to return to to warm up and dry out - comfortable and well appointed.

    By Charlotte and John stayed in January 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat was just perfect for us. Immaculately clean and well appointed it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Lovely welcome on arrival and the wine and biscuits went down a treat thank you. Fabulous location with a view from the window to match. Only ten minutes from the ferry in Craignure and perfectly located for exploring the island. So much wildlife to see here, we just had to return. Thank you Donald and Elisabeth for sharing it with us.

    By Stephen and Susan stayed in October 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a beautiful, well equipped, modern and well designed cottage. The views from the large picture window are amazing and the stars above the velux windows! Brilliant hosts, always ready to help but never intrusive. Loved every moment.

    By Stephen and Deborah stayed in October 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A really beautiful, cosy, comfortable cottage for 2 people. Great views from the picture window over Loch.Don. It is only 10 mins drive from the ferry and a good central place on Mull, making it easy to access both the south and north of the island, though the scenery in the immdeiate vicinity is beautiful. Hosts were so welcoming, friendly and generous. We loved it and would definitely stay here again.

    By John and Barbara Sellars stayed in October 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic location, ideal spot to relax and enjoy Mull ????

    By Mel & Chris stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic location, ideal spot to relax and enjoy Mull ????

    By Mel & Chris stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fantastic little bolt hole in an excellent location. High spec duplex style with fabulous view. Walking on your doorstep and friendly and helpful 'landlords'.

    By David stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Compact but really well thought out and equipped accommodation with a beautiful view out to Loch Don. Well situated for local walks and wildlife viewing and easy access to main road that takes you around Mull. A lovely, relaxing place to stay, would recommend.

    By Myles & Isobel stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect Location, Perfect Host, The Window seat is a fabulous well equipped place to stay for 2 persons. Well appointed modern facilities and a view from the window to watch the wildlife. We saw White Tailed Eagles, Golden Eagles and a pod of Basking sharks on a trip to Staffa.
    Donald and Elizabeth are a friendly welcoming host. A great place to stay!

    By Colin and Janet stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We spent an idyllic two weeks at The Window Seat. The location is superb for exploring north and south of the island. The accommodation is immaculate, very comfy and the view from the window is stunning. We will miss the dawn chorus of Oystercatchers. We visited Iona, Staffa, Lunga and went whale watching. Saw White-tailed Eagles, Otters, Minke Whales, Harbour Porpoise and Puffins. I also met a very handsome Stag just outside the property who stared at me, then went on his way. Donald and Elizabeth are perfect hosts and we enjoyed the wine and biscuits. Thank you!

    By Rose Newbold stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The window seat is one of those special places you don’t come across very often and if we could have we would have given it six stars. We were greeted when we arrived by the lovely Donald and Elizabeth. The property has everything you need and more and the view from the lounge and bedroom is spectacular. It was a lovely place to watch the sunrise at 4am. The only problem we had was we had a heatwave and we had bought too many warm clothes. The wildlife on the island is second to none and we had two fantastic days the first was Staffa and Lunga islands and a day with nature Scotland.

    By Deborah and Dennis Waters stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The window seat is one of those special places you don’t come across very often and if we could have we would have given it six stars. We were greeted when we arrived by the lovely Donald and Elizabeth. The property has everything you need and more and the view from the lounge and bedroom is spectacular. It was a lovely place to watch the sunrise at 4am. The only problem we had was we had a heatwave and we had bought too many warm clothes. The wildlife on the island is second to none and we had two fantastic days the first was Staffa and Lunga islands and a day with nature Scotland.

    By Deborah and Dennis Waters stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat is small but perfectly formed. Well appointed and very comfortable with just about everything you need. Superb view of Loch Don from the windows. Well situated for touring the island. Fantastic holiday with highlights the sea trip to Lunga for puffins with dolphins a bonus, otter with cubs, White tailed Eagles & Hen Harriers. Weather very good hence the reason for comment 'just about everything' as a fan would have been greatly appreciated although I think this was exceptionally warm weather for Scotland.

    By Linda Reed stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great location for exploring the island
    Cosy snug accommodation for 2
    Saw wildlife from the window every day
    Donald and Elizabeth very gracious hosts
    Thank you

    By Lorna & Charles Donnelly stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Tranquil location and perfect for wildlife. We saw white tailed eagles and osprey from our window and throughly enjoyed our stay at The Window Seat. Thank you Donald and Elizabeth

    By Paul and Debbie Lowdon stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our third visit to the Window Seat and won’t be our last. The cottage is ideal for any visit. It’s central and you can spot all Mull’s wildlife from the window (if you are lucky). We managed to spot an Osprey over the loch this time which is a first. The owners are very welcoming and helpful if you need them. If not they leave you to your own devices.

    By Andy &Alyson Quinn stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful place to stay.. beautifully designed and ideal bolt hole for couples. Comfy bed, nice and cosy and good location for accessing all the island. Very friendly owners. :)

    By Chris and Paul Bain stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful stay in the Window Seat, perfect location for exploring the whole island. The Window Seat is a lovely place, very clean, well equipped, cosy and with wonderful views.

    By Sarah & Chris stayed in March 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just spent a wonderful week at The Window Seat. It is beautifully appointed, having everything you could need for a comfortable stay. We arrived expecting winter weather but have had a spectacular week with lots of sunshine. So lucky. The wood burning stove turned this beautiful place into the warmest space you could imagine. We managed to see deer, a golden eagle and a sea eagle. The Isle of Mull Bistro is definitely worth a visit as is the swimming pool. Actually had it to myself one day. Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

    By Kate Coughlan stayed in January 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I had a wonderful solo stay in early November. The location was perfect for exploring the south of the island. The accommodation was very well equipped, comfortable, and warm (even without the log fire) Donald and Elizabeth were great hosts and very hospitable. The wine and biscuits were a lovely touch too. I even saw an otter from the window! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    By Clare stayed in November 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat was just perfect for us. Immaculately clean and well appointed it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Lovely welcome from Donald on arrival and the wine and biscuits went down a treat thank you. Fabulous location with a view from the window to match. Only ten minutes from the ferry in Craignure and perfectly located for exploring the island. So much wildlife to see here, we will definitely return.

    By Stephen and Susan Draper stayed in October 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An immaculate well equipped property, friendly owners but not intrusive.the views over the loch are amazing lots of wildlife. Very central position being close the the ferry but only about an hour from Tobermory and the ferry to Iona in other direction . Lots to explore on the island one week was not enough we hope we can return to this 5 star property , Thank you Elizabeth and Donald for a wonderful holiday -sadly did not see an eagle this time but saw otters and lots of birds . and the stars at night !

    By Jan and Ken stayed in October 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful place to stay we loved the Window seat. Spotlessly clean and great place to walk from and spot wildlife.
    Highly recommended.

    By Caroline and Alex Harvey stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Immaculate throughout! Owners most sociable and helpful. Widlife wonderful. Perfectly suited to couples.
    Value for money? The highest rating. We hope we can stay there again.
    Thank you, Donald and Elizabeth.

    By Ivor and Barbara Hill stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Window seat is a self contained extension and very creative use of space. Large windows and skylight bring in plenty of light - can see the stars from bed. Well furnished and clean. Ideal for couples.
    Short drive from Craignure ferry and Spar shop and useful base for exploring south of the Island - about an hour to the ferry for Iona and under an hour to Tobermory.
    Lochdon is teeming with wildlife - saw otters on first morning and a golden eagle on the walk down to Grasspoint.
    Owners really helpful and friendly.

    By R & G Holland stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat is a superb cottage in a superb location. We had a very warm welcome from Donald and Elizabeth ,and the wine, biscuits and milk were a lovely touch.Everywhere was immaculate and we had everything that we needed- and more ! It is in a great situation for going down to Iona , and up to Tobermory. The view over Loch Don is beautiful, and one evening we were visited by two deer !
    We would certainly love to visit again.

    By Anne and David stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat is a gorgeous place to stay. It is very cleverly designed and beautifully decorated. The view over the loch is lovely. Donald and Elizabeth are perfect hosts. We would love to return one day.

    By Steph and M stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    First time we have stayed at the Window Seat. It was very clean and well presented. The view over the Loch was great for watching the wildlife especially the Ospreys. It is in a great location for exploring the southern end of the island. It’s a full five stars from us, if we return to Mull we will definitely use the Window Seat again.

    By Simon & Marie stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable, beautifully located property perfect for two. Wonderful view over Loch Don. Welcoming hosts, and good base for exploring Mull.

    By Sue and Jim stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window seat was a perfect stay for us.
    Everything was clean and tidy.
    A very good location for us to explore the parts of the island we wanted to do.
    Donald and Elizabeth are very friendly.

    By P and A DUNKLEY stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our third stay at the Window Seat and I’m sure it won’t be the last. This time we booked for a fortnight and it was wonderful. Plenty of time for walks and bike rides, plus reading books and knitting in front of the wood stove. Best holiday ever. The Window Seat is perfectly equipped and so, so comfortable.

    By Charlotte and John stayed in December 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat is small but perfect for 2 people. It has fabulous views over Loch Don and is in a lovely quiet location. Birdwatching from the window is excellent, including sightings of White Tailed Sea Eagles on the horizon.
    Elizabeth and Donald are very friendly and knowledgeable about the island.
    The accommodation was spotlessly clean and everything needed for a comfortable stay was supplied. Once the log burner was alight it was very difficult to move from the settee.
    The wine and biscuits were a very nice welcoming touch.
    Very convenient for the port of Craignure.
    We will be back.

    By Neil and Carol Stevens. stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Another fabulous stay at the beautiful Window Seat. Its perfect in location for touring the whole island and the quality of the furnishings are some of the best of all the houses we stay in on the island (and that’s a lot!) it’s a firm favourite for when we visit without the family, perfect just for two. The house is kept very clean, and the owners are very helpful if anything is ever needed.
    The views of Loch Don are beautiful from both large windows at the front, and there are lots of walking routes that can be done straight from the house.

    By Hal and Michael Briggs stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely property for just the 2 of us, fantastic views over the loch from front window. Donald and Elizabeth are brilliant hosts and were great at directing us to some stunning locations for views and wildlife. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a place to stay.

    By Craig and Karin Hunter stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely location overlooking Loch Don and a short drive from the ferry port at Craignure which was handy after along drive to get to Mull. Everything was spotlessly clean and our hosts Donald and Elizabeth were very welcoming and friendly and left a bottle of wine and some local made biscuits on our arrival.The accommodation is not large but adequate for a couple and a great comfy bed which was lovely to fall asleep on with large skylight to look at the starry skies and drift off to sleep.

    By Peter Begbie stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful place in a lovely location. Had a most enjoyable week, plenty of good walking and nature-watching. Couldn't fault the Window Seat, it's small but perfect for a single person or couple.

    By Martin stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely property in an excellent location.
    The hosts were helpful and very friendly.
    Had a great week, thanks

    By Terry Winter stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great location to explore beautiful Mull. Fabulous accommodation for 2 people. Clean, comfortable and friendly hosts. Overlooking Lochdon from the huge window. A lovely retreat for a holiday.

    By Deborah Whitley stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    House is wonderful with great layout for 2 people. The view is amazing with sea eagles nesting nearby we saw them over the Loch most days. The property is in a brilliant location on the Island and makes exploring really easy. We'd love to return to Mull and would definitely pick to stay here again. Wonderful.

    By Nicky stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Compact but superbly designed. Never did we feel cramped. Tasteful decor. Superb outlook over Loch Don. Excellent and friendly hosts. Well be back!

    By John Mills stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect place for a couple. Cosy and well-appointed. Excellent hosts. Well-placed for access to the ferry, the roads to Tobermory & Iona and exploring Mull. Fabulous wildlife. Despite challenging weather (2 major storms) we were pleased we went out-of-season as it was quiet. We hope to return.

    By Dave and Morag stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage , well appointed, wonderful views across the loch , great hosts. So much wildlife to see on the doorstep and easy access to Craignure for the ferry crossings. We have been before and we will be over again. Many thanks

    By Claire and Dave stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat is the perfect place for a holiday for two. The view across the loch is gorgeous (especially at dawn and dusk) and being close to Craignure it was easy to reach on a dark, wet and windy December evening. We loved spending the New Year on Mull - the scenery is spectacular in the winter and we were able to enjoy plenty of walks and bike rides and wildlife spotting. The Window Seat was really cosy to return to in the evenings. It’s so good that this was our second stay.

    By John & Charlotte stayed in January 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing cottage exceptionally clean, fantastic views definitely stay again

    By Darran Wilson stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We could not fault this property, it had everything we needed and more, well equipped and laid out and very comfortable. Fabulous location and the view from the window was delightful; views of sea eagle two days running and just up the road we had great views of otters fishing. Perfect central location to explore the whole island, 10 minutes drive from the ferry. Spotlessly clean on arrival and a welcome bottle of wine was a lovely touch. We would love to return.

    By Chris and Jonathan Taylor stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Despite some challenging weather, we had a fantastic holiday on Mull. Plenty of walking and geology and wildlife, and the Window Seat was the perfect haven to return to at the end of each day. We definitely want to come back again.

    By Charlotte & John stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect stay. Weather was a bit of everything but having The Window Seat to relax in was wonderful. So clean and comfy and modern. I was greeted by the owners and helped to settle in. Hope to return someday!

    By Ruth stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our second stay at The Window Seat. We think it is a superb property for two travellers. Home from home with all the essentials needed for a holiday. The owners are very helpful. Within easy reach of the ferry at Craignure and with beautiful views over Loch Don. Would certainly recommend this property.

    By Lorraine Anne Scott stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Mull. The Window Seat is a very modern well thought out place to stay. We highly recommend a visit with plenty of beautiful scenery and wildlife. A comfortable place to relax and unwind

    By Kerys and Mark stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our stay at The Window Seat, it's even better than the pictures. It's a peaceful haven and loved sitting looking out the window across the loch. It's perfectly located to get out and about to explore Mull, and only 10 mins from Craignure. Elizabeth and Donald were very welcoming and have lots of lovely wee touches Inside the Window Seat. Feel very relaxed after our stay here and will be definitely booking a return stay at The Window Seat.

    By Kerrie Sinclair stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat is a lovely place to stay and we have been twice now. Donald & Elizabeth are very welcoming as the owners who live in the attached house. Weather wasn't great but we still enjoyed it. The WS has everything you need for 2 people with a great view over Loch Don. Would recommend Loch Buie Larder for the meals that they can supply - we had 3 this time.

    By John & Enid Scholey stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Another great week spent on Mull and we have found a home from home in the Window Seat. We will be back!!

    By Andy & Alyson stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the Window Seat, top quality accommodation in a very good location for travelling all around Mull. Even though it’s part of the owners home next door it is very private, peaceful and the perfect place for 2 that has been designed and turned in to accommodation with very high quality fittings. Defiantly deserves 5 stars... looking forward to booking again!

    By Halina and Michael Briggs stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window Seat was a delightful cottage. Tastefully decorated and in a great location from which to explore the Island. We arrived on a wild and windy evening to find the log burner glowing. We would love to return.

    By Val &Ewan stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful little cottage with all the essentials and fab little extras that you could want. Wonderful view of loch don. Light and airy. Well positioned for quick access to Craignure. Lovely friendly welcome from host. It’s a great time of year to visit Mull :)

    By Claire stayed in January 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I had a fabulous 3 night stay here, a lovlely warm welcome when i arrived too, the hosts were very friendly, even popped by to say goodbye before i departed! The cottage is perfect, easy to locate and the big window looking out at the loch is just fantastic, i spent most mornings watching the birds with the binoculars that were provided. Great place, will definitely recommend!

    By Becky stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    One word to describe it 'perfect'. Exceeded expectations. Comfortable, warm, well equiped, with thoughtful extras. The decor was very attractive and the whole place filled with light from well placed windows and skylights. The view was amazing and always changing with the tides and the weather. It is very conveniently and centrally located, close to Craignure, the ferry, inn and shop for supplies. Also, centrally placed to travel to either Tobermory or Iona. Donald and Elizabeth were welcoming and helpful. There are no negatives. Would highly recommend a stay at the Window Seat.

    By Judi stayed October 2018 stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Window seat exceeded our expectations - everything we needed in a compact space, flooded with light, total privacy, friendly hosts, perfectly located. Very highly recommended.

    By Nicky and Jane King stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect little bolt hole for a couple. Beautiful location and excellent decor. The owners were very friendly. We will certainly look to booking again for next year

    By Lorraine Anne Scott stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable and well-equipped accommodation. In ideal position, midway between Tobermory and Iona. Owners were helpful, friendly and unobtrusive. Highly recommended.

    By Jean stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our first holiday ever without our children (now late teen/early 20s), and a very overdue holiday in years due to owning our own small business. We wanted a place to explore Mull and discover as much of Mull's wildlife as possible, but also time to relax and get some much needed rest and peace. As soon as we arrived at The Window Seat we were overwhelmed by how it was SO much better than the photos and description. It was a piece of heaven to us. Everything you need for a couple, beautifully decorated, and the location - WOW. The view from the window was amazing. How can you not relax watching the tide come in and out each day and watch the wildlife come and go? The cottage is perfectly located to explore the Island. Not far from the ferry crossing, it also enables you to get to the south and east of the island as well as travel up to Tobermory and beyond. We managed to see over our visit all we wanted, including some we didn't expect to see, but some didn't make an appearance, giving us another reason to travel up again. Hopefully sooner rather than it being 6 years without a break. Donald and Liz, the owners were so welcoming too. Highly recommended.

    By Maggie and Phil stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place to stay. Overlooking Loch Don and 5 minutes from Craignure. Donald and Elizabeth the owners were the perfect hosts. Very friendly and always on hand to answer any queries. Ideal for a couple looking for somewhere quiet with plenty of wildlife on the doorstep. We enjoyed it that much that we have already booked a week for next year.

    By John and Enid Scholey stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    First class accommodation, excellent location.

    By Norman stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place to stop, beautiful views over Loch Don. The property is new and well equipped. Before going we had a slight concern about the property being attached to the owners cottage, but this proved to be unfounded and we had a great stay and would return again.

    By John and Karen stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely place to stay, ideally located for exploring Mull and Iona. The welcoming owners have created a perfect apartment for a short stay - it looks better than the pix on the website! We were lucky with bright weather whilst the rest of UK was wet and cold, so found the wood-burner too powerful!

    By Alice & David, Troon stayed in April 2018

Add your review