Call us on 01688 400682

The Tontine Reviews

58 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brilliant cottage. Perfect location to explore the Isle of Mull from and then come back to a cosy, well appointed cottage. Incredible garden, which was perfect for letting the dog off to roam without fear of her getting over the dear fencing. Really well equipped kitchen and a very comfy sofa, with loads of natural light in the living space during the day. Would recommend.

    By Susan, Jack and Samba the greyhound stayed in November 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage congratulations to the owners they have great taste and provided everything we needed . Really comfortable, in a great location and we were very lucky with glorious weather and enjoyed sundowners on the top terrace. Highly recommended.

    By Neil & Bridget Farrar stayed in September 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage is just perfect! The gardens are lovely, great thought has gone into planning the inside, including layout, interesting art work, cushions from the local weavers etc. The kitchen is really well equipped and lovely products to use in the bathrooms. The wifi was poor, but we had read and expected that and had taken lots of DVDs, but the owners had a great selection of films, books and games. Wildlife was great, seals at the bay nearby, eagles and deer, including a herd of about 30 in the field right opposite! You will struggle to find a better cottage on Mull!

    By Jem and Ian Bush stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage. Comfortable and well-equipped. Great location for exploring the south west of Mull, especially if you want to be away from it all. Easy to get to Fionnphort for Iona ferry and Staffa Tours (though ours was cancelled due to high winds).

    By Debbie & Ian stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful, stylish and comfortable house which was lovely to spend rainy days in. The little"lookout" was a fantastic suntrap when we dodged the showers. We had everything we could have wanted and things that we hadn't thought of. 2 stags took up residence in the field opposite and spotted an otter and seals at the nearby beach. Quite far from Tobermory but the drive is spectacular and plenty of lovely wee beaches nearby plus ready to visit beautiful Iona.

    By Alison Winkler stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful, stylish and comfortable house which was lovely to spend rainy days in. The little"lookout" was a fantastic suntrap when we dodged the showers. We had everything we could have wanted and things that we hadn't thought of. 2 stags took up residence in the field opposite and spotted an otter and seals at the nearby beach. Quite far from Tobermory but the drive is spectacular and plenty of lovely wee beaches nearby plus ready to visit beautiful Iona.

    By Alison Winkler stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Luxurious cottage with stylish interior design.
    Perfect location with easy access to local attractions.
    Highly recommended.

    By Gyorgy Banhegyi stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Luxurious cottage with stylish interior design.
    Perfect location with easy access to local attractions.
    Highly recommended.

    By Gyorgy Banhegyi stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I agree with all the other comments...great cottage, location and fantastic scenery and wildlife. Ninth Wave Restaurant in Fionnphort a must

    By John Rea stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful and comfortable house, furnished and equipped to a high spec, warm and cosy. Surrounding garden and decking areas also lovely, giving stunning views of the surrounding area and sky at night. Convenient location for the south west of the island to visit Iona, Staffa, Erraid, Ben More, the Burg, Ardalanish weavers and all the beaches in-between. Plenty of wildlife to spot - otters, eagles, deer, seabirds, even a couple of puffins on boat trip to Staffa (recommend Staffa Trips from Fionnphort). Stocked up on food in Oban and topped up at the Spa in Bunessan. Super weather too!

    By Sarah Parris stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in a very peaceful setting. Very comfortable and lot's of space. We stayed in March which was cold and wet outside but super cosy inside. We did struggle with the slowness of the wi-fi but persevered and managed to get it to work for the full week. The shop close by has sufficient basics to top up your food supplies but best to take as much of your food as possible with you - as most of the coffee shops and restaurants outside Tobermory were closed til Easter. Amazing enclosed garden so planning on coming back in the summer months to make the most of the house.

    By Mrs A G Milburn stayed in March 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage on the Ross of Mull. Nice layout (good having back door entrance for dogs) and beautifully decorated. Great access for the south of the Island and under 30 mins to the Iona Ferry. Lots of amazing beaches near-by which were great for the dogs running around. The garden would be stunning in summer and felt very secure for our 2 working cockers, who loved sniffing around. Would love to come back again, maybe summer next time! Although off season has advantages with island being quieter and often had beaches to ourselves!

    By John and Clare stayed in March 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A superb cottage which is beautifully decorated, very tasteful, very clean. Lovely bathrooms with underfloor heating. Perfect location for visiting so many fabulous spots - Iona, Carsaig and Kintra were favourites. Have stayed in many cottages and this was one of the best I have experienced.

    By Ann C stayed in November 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a superb holiday cottage, well above average in a unbelievable location. There are wonderful beaches nearby a short drive away and you are pretty close to the ferry over to Iona and the trip boats out to Staffa. The Bath House products are very nice. The kitchen is well equipped. Take all your own food - the shops are not nearby. If you want fast broadband this isn't the cottage for you but if you want peace and quiet in a wonderful location, don't miss it.

    By M and V Lees stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in an ideal location for visiting the abundant and beautiful beaches of South West Mull. Really couldn't fault it, tastefully decorated, well equipped. comfortably furnished, plenty of space and good wifi.
    The location is VERY quiet so be prepared. Do go grocery shopping in Oban before you arrive as it's a long way to the Coop in Tobermory, the local Spa is tiny and there's no takeaway delivery service!
    In an ideal world I'd move the tree blocking the view of the cliffs from the deck. But otherwise it's a wee bit of heaven.

    By Julie & Paul Mooney stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a lovely holiday home, very clean, well equipped and comfortable. It's just a short drive to the local shop which is well equipped and there are a selection of farm shops in the area where local meat can purchased. The only downside was the wifi, out of two weeks we were only able to stream telly on 2 of the days the rest of the time it would hardly support looking at a news page on a mobile. I appreciate that this location is remote and WiFi coverage may be sketchy but this should be made clear in the property information.

    By N Cook stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just finished a wonderful 4 week stay in the Tontine. The cottage is in a great setting with wonderful views, a real gem. It was very comfortable and well equipped and in a great location for exploring the Ross of Mull.

    By Ian and Claire Nelson stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved everything about the cottage and garden. The welcome gifts were very appreciated, the decor was beautiful, the beds-so comfortable and we had everything we needed. The Bath House hand wash, hand creams and shower gels were gorgeous. We loved reading the book with drawings and location was perfect. There was lots to do near by like a visit to Iona, plus beautiful walks from the cottage. Thank You.

    By Carole and Peter Scholes stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The most perfect holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. Wonderful setting, tastefully decorated. The attention to detail with the coordinating wallpaper, cushions and china was just so well thought out. We made full use of the garden as the weather was just outstanding. The toiletries within the property were of the highest quality. If ever it was to come on the market we would definitely be putting in an offer! Mark and Lisbeth Bagshaw, Lichfield, Staffordshire.

    By Mark Bagshaw stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a perfect, get away from it all, holiday home. Beautifully situated in The Ross of Mull with plenty beaches to explore then return to relax in luxury and comfort. We had a fantastic week here and would most definitely return.

    By Jane Russell stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a perfect, get away from it all, holiday home. Beautifully situated in The Ross of Mull with plenty beaches to explore then return to relax in luxury and comfort. We had a fantastic week here and would most definitely return.

    By Jane Russell stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first visit to The Tontine and to Mull - and it exceeded our already high expectations. The cottage is stunning - beautiful setting, excellently-well stocked (especially the kitchen!), we had complementary hand sanitiser (especially useful for our stay on the island and our day trip to Iona), the garden is absolutely beautiful, and we are very sad to go home tomorrow. Thank you for a brilliant and well-needed break!

    By Constanze, Dave & Helen stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Second times in this cottage. It's as good as we remembered. We have had a very comfortable week. Completely relaxed and content. ? It's great coming back to such a warm and comfortable cottage after exploring the coastline.

    By Ian mcinnes stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous cottage. Everything u need and more. Will be back.

    By Christine stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage and very comfortable. Nice big bath too

    By Andrew Flannigan stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Best cottage we’ve ever stayed in. Really Comfortable and spacious and just a lovely place to be. So many great beaches to explore. I’ve always said I’d never stay in the same place twice but Tontine has made me seriously rethink. Can only imagine how great a place to be the garden would be if you happened to be here at a drier time of year.

    By Paul Henderson stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage for exploring Mull. Very stylish with excellent facilities and stunning garden. We saw deer in the field opposite.

    By Johnny and Ellen Close stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Property was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Setting was nice with views to the wilderness. highly recommended

    By fred rodger stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was the perfect Mull cottage for us. Its setting was stunning and the cottage was beautiful. A lot of thought has obviously been given to its presentation to ensure it provides the highest level of comfort for guests. It has a delightful ambience and it was a pleasure to come "home" to every evening. We loved being there!

    By Suzanne and Phillip Carter stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage is so lovely. It has been very thoughtfully furnished with a top quality finish. Extremely well decorated and clean. A quiet location well placed to visit places on the island. The little touches add a lovely ambience to the cottage. I am a very fussy `cottager` so trust me, The Tontine is perfect!

    By Ann Newstead stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is far mor pretty, luxurious and comfortable than the pictures say.It feels like a little piece if heaven. The gardens are enclosed, my dog loved the freedom. This cottage has everything you need for a perfect holiday.

    By Ian McInnes stayed in June 2019

    Editor's Note: Thanks, the listing has now been updated to better reflect the superb standard of this property.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from a fabulous week on Mull made all the more special by the quality of The Tontine. The cottage is a superb renovation and extension of a black house that blends old and new seamlessly. The interior design is amazing and we admired every last painting, print and piece of ceramics. A gorgeous area with wonderful beaches. A real treat for the senses inside and out.

    By Jenny and Allen Ogg stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is our second stay at the Tontine, what a beautiful cottage. It is very well presented and was spotlessly clean on arrival. The vista from the front door is stunning with the view of the Burg, and tranquil foreground. The property also enjoys an amazing and well cared for garden with a raised seating platform to soak in views of the Ardtun area. We would like to live here permanently but will have to settle for future visits.

    By Ian and Carolyn stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in many self catering places in the UK and this is one of, if the the best. It was certainly the best decorated. We have made comments about minor specific matters on the feedback form. None of them result in diluting the overall impression of quality.
    Tontine is very well equipped - especially the kitchen.
    Our goal was to see lots of oters and eagles and we did exactly that!
    Thank you.

    By Colin and Kate stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a beautiful cottage, snug in the hillside with a well laid out and interesting garden. We had a fabulous week on Mull, full of walking and wildlife spotting (otters, eagles, deer, seals to name but a few), but it was lovely to hear home to the Tontine for cosy evenings relaxing, just as a holiday should be. Beautifully decorated and well equipped it's one of the best holiday cottages we've stayed in.

    By Claire Morrid stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've had a fantastic week on Mull and the Tontine was just perfect. It's situated in a relatively sheltered spot with possibility for starting some walks straight from the front door. The cottage is very stylishly decorated and is comfortable and cosy. It was particularly nice to be able to relax in the evenings, after making a meal in the well equipped kitchen and enjoying a luxurious bath. The garden is interesting and well laid out too. Clearly a lot of time, thought and effort has gone into making the Tontine just perfect. We'd love to go back again!

    By Claire and Mark stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing cottage in a stunning location. So many beaches to visit on the Ross of Mull and the cottage is perfectly placed. The sunrise hitting the Ardmeanach penisular in the morning was stunning. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipt. Thank you. We will be back.

    By Victoria and family stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fantastic property.Everything is here that you need in a holiday let.We found after being here for a week that it seemed to be the best location/base to see everything The island has to offer.Even had hot sunshine to chill out in the garden at 8pm.Best location for beaches and a short drive for ferry to Iona and the Staffa Tours.Preferred to be in this area even over Tobermory.We booked this holiday in September 2017 and it ended up being our Honeymoon after getting married at Gretna Green.We loved it here on Mull and at the Tontine and will be coming back,one word sums u- Mull and the Tontine. “Fantastic” Thankyou.Chris & Lorna

    By Chris & Lorna stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved this cottage. Spacious and bright, It is tastefully furnished and thoughtfully equipped. The garden was a haven for wildlife and a joy to sit in and relax. Wish we had booked for two weeks.

    By Lynda stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is an excellent holiday cottage both inside and out. The conversion from an original black house is amazing. We were so comfortable and wished we had booked for two weeks. Thank you.

    By Angela stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning property, beautifully refurbished and tastefully decorated with everything you could possibly need.

    By Andy & Jan stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a real get away from it all place. One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in. The Tontine is very beautiful with everything you need. Great location for exploring this part of Mull with all the fabulous beaches and wildlife.

    By Annette stayed in March 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was the most beautiful, well-equipped and tastefully designed and furnished holiday let that I've ever stayed in. Thankyou for all the thought and care that's been put into it.

    By David stayed in January 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent property and nicely remote to watch wildlife.

    By Stephen Hillary stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've been to Mull many times before, but this year we took my parents. Tontine is perfect for four, especially good for using as a base.
    Facilities are all you would want and styled and decorated to make you feel at home.
    Mobile phone reception virtually none existent: BRILLIANT!! It really helped to get away from it all....
    Will certainly return in the future... Very happy (apart from having to leave the place).

    By Graham Henderson stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was everything we hoped it would be and more. Set in a stunning location it was always a pleasure to return back to the property after a busy day exploring everything Mull had to offer. The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished, it's cosy and comfortable and it is equipped with everything that we needed. The garden is fantastic and we enjoyed having breakfast on the bench by the stream, there is lots of wildlife to enjoy in the garden. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, it was brilliant and we had a lovely time.

    By Leanne and Steve stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It's rare that a holiday let actually exceeds ones expectations from the description and photographs but this one certainly did. Extremely comfortable with thoughtful and tasteful decor The Tontine is more boutique hotel than holiday let. Worth every penny.
    A word too for Isle of Mull Cottages who's booking service is exemplary.
    We look forward to our next visit.

    By John & Ann stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What an amazing holiday cottage. Had everything we needed and more. So comfortable and beautifully done throughout. Lovely garden with seats and tables outside to enjoy the sunshine. Would recommend to anyone. And thanks for being dog friendly :)

    By Nicky Smith stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    exceptional cottage beautifully decorated and oh so very comfortable. The huge bath was perfect for two!! And the monsoon shower combined with underfloor heating is bliss. My architect husband was very taken with the work which has been carried out to create this fabulous home from home.

    By Catriona stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved The Tontine immediately. It has such a lovely atmosphere and every care has been taken with furnishing, decor and equipment. We are holiday cottage owners ourselves and appreciate all the effort that has been taken here. The Tontine offers a real get away from it all base to explore the island and yet you could happily spend a day there enjoying the house and gardens. 10/10. We heartily recommend a stay.

    By Helen Frost stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a place! The Tontine is one of the best self catering cottages we have ever stayed in, and the location is just beautiful.
    From our arrival (quite a long journey!) we walked in and instantly felt right at home and so relaxed!
    The bathrooms are lovely, very tastefully decorated and the underfloor heating is a real bonus.
    The kitchen is the perfect space for preparing and cooking evening meals, and very well equipped. We couldn't think of anything else we needed whilst we were there.
    The garden is a haven for small garden birds, we even had a visit from a buzzard and a pheasant dropped by to say hello.
    Overall an absolutely stunning place, and we cannot wait to come back!

    By Claire stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the best S/C we have ever stayed in. We felt so comfortable from the moment we arrived. We particularly loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms.
    Everything was of a high standard - the subtle colours of the decor, the sumptuous throws, the pretty bed linen, gorgeous curtains. Quite simply a peaceful haven. We can't wait to return.

    By Meg Marshall stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Almost not wanting to review - to keep this cottage a secret!
    After a lengthy trip from the south east of England it was such a delightful place to arrive at.
    Everything has been considered and included, and all at a stylishly high standard. Had quite a busy week visiting all corners of Mull and beyond, but we were not in a hurry to leave in the mornings and very happy to return each evening.

    By Kay Clarke stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely a lovely cottage in a peaceful location and great for chilling out. Kitchen extremely well equipped and wet room shower was fabulous. This was our first visit to Mull and we can't wait to return. Would definitely book Tontine again.

    By Jean & Richard stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely loved everything about this house. The wood burner was a fabulous focal point & we were even lucky enough to be able to sit outside on a couple of evenings with a glass or 3 whilst the dogs enjoyed chasing each other around the massive garden.Our week on the Ross of Mull was a total stress buster. Can't wait to visit again

    By Carolyn Green stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely the best holiday home we have ever stayed in, The Tontine is comfortable, beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped. It is in a lovely peaceful setting with a fabulous garden. Perfectly situated for exploring the Ross of Mull, we had beautiful weather on the days we visited Staffa and Iona and when it did rain, Mull's scenery was still stunning. We had a great week, thank you.

    By MERIEL MUNRO stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Pauline and Gareth's cottage is really lovely. It is beautifully decorated and unbelievably well-equipped (the only the thing we could think of that was missing was a tea cosy and I understand they have now bought one!).
    Although we were lucky with the weather, it was still quite chilly. The cottage was really cosy with a mixture of under-floor heating, storage heaters and a fantastic wood-burning stove. Cold was not a problem in the cottage.
    With regard to location, the cottage is perfectly situated to explore the Ross of Mull and has lovely views out to sea.
    Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

    By Carl & Tricia Davis stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Gareth and Pauline have created a wonderful holiday home in Mull and we were luck to be their first guests. We had a lovely week of walking in the local hills, getting long days out in the mountains and visiting Iona, something I've wanted to do for many years. It's in a beautifully peaceful location and the house itself exudes a sense of calm, partly from the combination of old stone building and spacious new extension, and partly from the carefully chosen, stylish decor.
    Apart from being in a beautiful location, the other things that are important to us are : having a good, hot bath after long days in the hills, a kitchen which has the space and equipment to cook dinner from scratch, a comfortable bed, car parking next to the house and being able to take the dog with us.
    We'd go and live there ourselves if it wasn't for the midges! There's something very special about being on a Scottish island that is hard to define - and its very good for the soul.

    By Alison Bramall stayed in August 2015

Add your review