Call us on 01688 400682

The Tontine Reviews

39 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a perfect, get away from it all, holiday home. Beautifully situated in The Ross of Mull with plenty beaches to explore then return to relax in luxury and comfort. We had a fantastic week here and would most definitely return.

    By Jane Russell stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a perfect, get away from it all, holiday home. Beautifully situated in The Ross of Mull with plenty beaches to explore then return to relax in luxury and comfort. We had a fantastic week here and would most definitely return.

    By Jane Russell stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first visit to The Tontine and to Mull - and it exceeded our already high expectations. The cottage is stunning - beautiful setting, excellently-well stocked (especially the kitchen!), we had complementary hand sanitiser (especially useful for our stay on the island and our day trip to Iona), the garden is absolutely beautiful, and we are very sad to go home tomorrow. Thank you for a brilliant and well-needed break!

    By Constanze, Dave & Helen stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Second times in this cottage. It's as good as we remembered. We have had a very comfortable week. Completely relaxed and content. ? It's great coming back to such a warm and comfortable cottage after exploring the coastline.

    By Ian mcinnes stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous cottage. Everything u need and more. Will be back.

    By Christine stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage and very comfortable. Nice big bath too

    By Andrew Flannigan stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Best cottage we’ve ever stayed in. Really Comfortable and spacious and just a lovely place to be. So many great beaches to explore. I’ve always said I’d never stay in the same place twice but Tontine has made me seriously rethink. Can only imagine how great a place to be the garden would be if you happened to be here at a drier time of year.

    By Paul Henderson stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage for exploring Mull. Very stylish with excellent facilities and stunning garden. We saw deer in the field opposite.

    By Johnny and Ellen Close stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Property was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Setting was nice with views to the wilderness. highly recommended

    By fred rodger stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was the perfect Mull cottage for us. Its setting was stunning and the cottage was beautiful. A lot of thought has obviously been given to its presentation to ensure it provides the highest level of comfort for guests. It has a delightful ambience and it was a pleasure to come "home" to every evening. We loved being there!

    By Suzanne and Phillip Carter stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage is so lovely. It has been very thoughtfully furnished with a top quality finish. Extremely well decorated and clean. A quiet location well placed to visit places on the island. The little touches add a lovely ambience to the cottage. I am a very fussy `cottager` so trust me, The Tontine is perfect!

    By Ann Newstead stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is far mor pretty, luxurious and comfortable than the pictures say.It feels like a little piece if heaven. The gardens are enclosed, my dog loved the freedom. This cottage has everything you need for a perfect holiday.

    By Ian McInnes stayed in June 2019

    Editor's Note: Thanks, the listing has now been updated to better reflect the superb standard of this property.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from a fabulous week on Mull made all the more special by the quality of The Tontine. The cottage is a superb renovation and extension of a black house that blends old and new seamlessly. The interior design is amazing and we admired every last painting, print and piece of ceramics. A gorgeous area with wonderful beaches. A real treat for the senses inside and out.

    By Jenny and Allen Ogg stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is our second stay at the Tontine, what a beautiful cottage. It is very well presented and was spotlessly clean on arrival. The vista from the front door is stunning with the view of the Burg, and tranquil foreground. The property also enjoys an amazing and well cared for garden with a raised seating platform to soak in views of the Ardtun area. We would like to live here permanently but will have to settle for future visits.

    By Ian and Carolyn stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in many self catering places in the UK and this is one of, if the the best. It was certainly the best decorated. We have made comments about minor specific matters on the feedback form. None of them result in diluting the overall impression of quality.
    Tontine is very well equipped - especially the kitchen.
    Our goal was to see lots of oters and eagles and we did exactly that!
    Thank you.

    By Colin and Kate stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is a beautiful cottage, snug in the hillside with a well laid out and interesting garden. We had a fabulous week on Mull, full of walking and wildlife spotting (otters, eagles, deer, seals to name but a few), but it was lovely to hear home to the Tontine for cosy evenings relaxing, just as a holiday should be. Beautifully decorated and well equipped it's one of the best holiday cottages we've stayed in.

    By Claire Morrid stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've had a fantastic week on Mull and the Tontine was just perfect. It's situated in a relatively sheltered spot with possibility for starting some walks straight from the front door. The cottage is very stylishly decorated and is comfortable and cosy. It was particularly nice to be able to relax in the evenings, after making a meal in the well equipped kitchen and enjoying a luxurious bath. The garden is interesting and well laid out too. Clearly a lot of time, thought and effort has gone into making the Tontine just perfect. We'd love to go back again!

    By Claire and Mark stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing cottage in a stunning location. So many beaches to visit on the Ross of Mull and the cottage is perfectly placed. The sunrise hitting the Ardmeanach penisular in the morning was stunning. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipt. Thank you. We will be back.

    By Victoria and family stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fantastic property.Everything is here that you need in a holiday let.We found after being here for a week that it seemed to be the best location/base to see everything The island has to offer.Even had hot sunshine to chill out in the garden at 8pm.Best location for beaches and a short drive for ferry to Iona and the Staffa Tours.Preferred to be in this area even over Tobermory.We booked this holiday in September 2017 and it ended up being our Honeymoon after getting married at Gretna Green.We loved it here on Mull and at the Tontine and will be coming back,one word sums u- Mull and the Tontine. “Fantastic” Thankyou.Chris & Lorna

    By Chris & Lorna stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved this cottage. Spacious and bright, It is tastefully furnished and thoughtfully equipped. The garden was a haven for wildlife and a joy to sit in and relax. Wish we had booked for two weeks.

    By Lynda stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine is an excellent holiday cottage both inside and out. The conversion from an original black house is amazing. We were so comfortable and wished we had booked for two weeks. Thank you.

    By Angela stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning property, beautifully refurbished and tastefully decorated with everything you could possibly need.

    By Andy & Jan stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a real get away from it all place. One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in. The Tontine is very beautiful with everything you need. Great location for exploring this part of Mull with all the fabulous beaches and wildlife.

    By Annette stayed in March 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was the most beautiful, well-equipped and tastefully designed and furnished holiday let that I've ever stayed in. Thankyou for all the thought and care that's been put into it.

    By David stayed in January 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent property and nicely remote to watch wildlife.

    By Stephen Hillary stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've been to Mull many times before, but this year we took my parents. Tontine is perfect for four, especially good for using as a base.
    Facilities are all you would want and styled and decorated to make you feel at home.
    Mobile phone reception virtually none existent: BRILLIANT!! It really helped to get away from it all....
    Will certainly return in the future... Very happy (apart from having to leave the place).

    By Graham Henderson stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Tontine was everything we hoped it would be and more. Set in a stunning location it was always a pleasure to return back to the property after a busy day exploring everything Mull had to offer. The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished, it's cosy and comfortable and it is equipped with everything that we needed. The garden is fantastic and we enjoyed having breakfast on the bench by the stream, there is lots of wildlife to enjoy in the garden. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, it was brilliant and we had a lovely time.

    By Leanne and Steve stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It's rare that a holiday let actually exceeds ones expectations from the description and photographs but this one certainly did. Extremely comfortable with thoughtful and tasteful decor The Tontine is more boutique hotel than holiday let. Worth every penny.
    A word too for Isle of Mull Cottages who's booking service is exemplary.
    We look forward to our next visit.

    By John & Ann stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What an amazing holiday cottage. Had everything we needed and more. So comfortable and beautifully done throughout. Lovely garden with seats and tables outside to enjoy the sunshine. Would recommend to anyone. And thanks for being dog friendly :)

    By Nicky Smith stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    exceptional cottage beautifully decorated and oh so very comfortable. The huge bath was perfect for two!! And the monsoon shower combined with underfloor heating is bliss. My architect husband was very taken with the work which has been carried out to create this fabulous home from home.

    By Catriona stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved The Tontine immediately. It has such a lovely atmosphere and every care has been taken with furnishing, decor and equipment. We are holiday cottage owners ourselves and appreciate all the effort that has been taken here. The Tontine offers a real get away from it all base to explore the island and yet you could happily spend a day there enjoying the house and gardens. 10/10. We heartily recommend a stay.

    By Helen Frost stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a place! The Tontine is one of the best self catering cottages we have ever stayed in, and the location is just beautiful.
    From our arrival (quite a long journey!) we walked in and instantly felt right at home and so relaxed!
    The bathrooms are lovely, very tastefully decorated and the underfloor heating is a real bonus.
    The kitchen is the perfect space for preparing and cooking evening meals, and very well equipped. We couldn't think of anything else we needed whilst we were there.
    The garden is a haven for small garden birds, we even had a visit from a buzzard and a pheasant dropped by to say hello.
    Overall an absolutely stunning place, and we cannot wait to come back!

    By Claire stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the best S/C we have ever stayed in. We felt so comfortable from the moment we arrived. We particularly loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms.
    Everything was of a high standard - the subtle colours of the decor, the sumptuous throws, the pretty bed linen, gorgeous curtains. Quite simply a peaceful haven. We can't wait to return.

    By Meg Marshall stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Almost not wanting to review - to keep this cottage a secret!
    After a lengthy trip from the south east of England it was such a delightful place to arrive at.
    Everything has been considered and included, and all at a stylishly high standard. Had quite a busy week visiting all corners of Mull and beyond, but we were not in a hurry to leave in the mornings and very happy to return each evening.

    By Kay Clarke stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely a lovely cottage in a peaceful location and great for chilling out. Kitchen extremely well equipped and wet room shower was fabulous. This was our first visit to Mull and we can't wait to return. Would definitely book Tontine again.

    By Jean & Richard stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely loved everything about this house. The wood burner was a fabulous focal point & we were even lucky enough to be able to sit outside on a couple of evenings with a glass or 3 whilst the dogs enjoyed chasing each other around the massive garden.Our week on the Ross of Mull was a total stress buster. Can't wait to visit again

    By Carolyn Green stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely the best holiday home we have ever stayed in, The Tontine is comfortable, beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped. It is in a lovely peaceful setting with a fabulous garden. Perfectly situated for exploring the Ross of Mull, we had beautiful weather on the days we visited Staffa and Iona and when it did rain, Mull's scenery was still stunning. We had a great week, thank you.

    By MERIEL MUNRO stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Pauline and Gareth's cottage is really lovely. It is beautifully decorated and unbelievably well-equipped (the only the thing we could think of that was missing was a tea cosy and I understand they have now bought one!).
    Although we were lucky with the weather, it was still quite chilly. The cottage was really cosy with a mixture of under-floor heating, storage heaters and a fantastic wood-burning stove. Cold was not a problem in the cottage.
    With regard to location, the cottage is perfectly situated to explore the Ross of Mull and has lovely views out to sea.
    Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

    By Carl & Tricia Davis stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Gareth and Pauline have created a wonderful holiday home in Mull and we were luck to be their first guests. We had a lovely week of walking in the local hills, getting long days out in the mountains and visiting Iona, something I've wanted to do for many years. It's in a beautifully peaceful location and the house itself exudes a sense of calm, partly from the combination of old stone building and spacious new extension, and partly from the carefully chosen, stylish decor.
    Apart from being in a beautiful location, the other things that are important to us are : having a good, hot bath after long days in the hills, a kitchen which has the space and equipment to cook dinner from scratch, a comfortable bed, car parking next to the house and being able to take the dog with us.
    We'd go and live there ourselves if it wasn't for the midges! There's something very special about being on a Scottish island that is hard to define - and its very good for the soul.

    By Alison Bramall stayed in August 2015

Add your review