Call us on 01688 400682

The Steading Reviews

39 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fabulous place! Stayed for a week but it was over in a flash…..and the sunny weather certainly helped. Excellent location by the loch with lovely views, particularly of sunset in the west. Beautiful building too, tasteful decor and relaxing. Close to lots of brilliant locations not least the Kilvickeon and Uisken beaches. And great days out to Iona and Staffa…. couldn’t be a better place for a holiday!

    By Peter Davis stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My wife and I were on Mull to scatter my parents ashes. My Mother was born and brought up just a few miles from the Steading and had met and married my Father on the island. Although a somewhat sad occasion we really enjoyed our stay. The Steading was just as described and everything and more than we expected. A special thanks to the owner Donald Cameron for always being available for help or advice and in our case long chats about people, places and family.

    By Neil Wood stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We booked to stay for 5 nights with my parents as part of their 50th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. The property is absolutely stunning inside and the views from the upstairs bedroom & living room are lovely. The beds are super super comfy and all in all one of the best places we've ever rented for a holiday... we didn't want to leave!

    By Samantha B stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent property, everything we expected & more. The owner was really really welcoming & helpful. The house was precisely as described...warm & cosy with everything we could need & more. A perfect locaton for exploring the remote beaches & walks on the south of Mull

    By Lyn Clarke stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful property in a lovely location.
    We had a great few days walking and watching wildlife. A day on Iona, lots of otter and eagle spotting, long walks to wild empty beaches. Nice to come back to the warm house with wood burner in the evenings. Extremely well equipped and furnished. Perfect winter retreat. Just make sure well stocked up with food and supplies as nothing much open out of season, just the little Spar in Bunnesan.

    By Emma and Ian stayed in January 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our 7th. visit to Mull and can honestly say the Steadings is the best accommodation we have had. It is very well designed and furnished. A lot of thought and effort by the owners must have have gone into this new build. The owners were very friendly and helpful and lived only 5 minutes walk away. Location is excellent and to occupy a week not much driving was needed.

    By Graham Atkins stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house in a wonderful setting, with the best beds, easily accessible & a great base to explore from. Iona, Staffa, Crofters Kitchen for supplies, Lochbuie - best lunch location, Kilvicheon, knockvologan, Ardalanish, Uisk - all great beaches. For a grand day out - Ulva, Calgery, Glengorm & Tobermory!

    By Lorna stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our third trip to Mull but the first to The Steading.
    The location is peaceful but accessible. The house is great; well appointed with all the daily needs. Donald is friendly and helpful.
    It is easy to get out and about to all areas of Mull.
    On one of the few sunny days of our visit it was brilliant to be able to walk to Kilvickeon and have the beach to ourselves.
    Thank you very much.

    By Jane Ballard stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a beautiful house in a truly beautiful location.The Kitchen, washer, dryer all excellent, bathrooms excellent, beds excellent, wood stove, perfect. And there is nothing to beat the views of the lake. Donald and his wife were so friendly and very helpful. Walks, birdwatching and nearby beaches are stunning. Easy access to Iona, another magical place. Dont miss the Ardalanish weavers.

    By Leah Hausman stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent holiday home. Beautiful location. Fabulous house. So comfortable, but with everything you could possibly need. Loved the wood burner and the stunning views. Great holiday.

    By Jen & Mark Rennie stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely, warm, spacious, comfortable house in a very quiet location. Perfect for exploring Kilvickeon and Knockvologan beaches. Friendly owners only a few minutes walk away. Only downsides were that you can't access the Loch easily for fishing and the DVD player was missing a lead. We had one day of torrential rain and the kids fancied a dvd. A fantastic stay none the less. Highly recommend this house.

    By Steve McQueenie stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An amazing place in a lovely setting . House is well equipped, spacious and there are fantastic views over the loch. Plenty to do in the area: visit to local beaches, boat trip to Staffa and trip to Iona to name just a few. Highly recommended if you're into outdoor activities in a peaceful location.

    By Andrew & Barbara stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What can we say... If the owners had not been such lovely people I think we would have considered squatters rights!
    It was mid storm Dennis and the house was so warm and cosy, the light from the many huge windows to view the vista was so welcome. There are all the facilities you could wish for and the beds are super comfy. The Ross is special for beaches, wildlife and it’s people.
    We would highly recommend this place, but don’t tell your friends.... ; )

    By Catherine and David Hartley stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We enjoyed a last minute 5 day break at the Steading and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is lovely and everything about it makes it a comfortable and easy place to stay. Despite wild weather we had great walks from the house and a wonderful trip to Iona. We would recommend The Steading and Isle of Mull cottages to anyone planning a trip to Mull.

    By Jen & Steve Barrettt stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful house in a stunning location. Very spacious and a warm and comfortable base from which to explore the Ross of Mull and Iona. Great walks from the door and wildlife around every corner! Would definitely recommend.

    By Paul and Sue Tomkins stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely lovely. Just the right place to relax and forget all you troubles back home. Wonderfull location to walk from. But, as a non Walker, absolutely great for Elke to just sit back and relax. Driving around the island was an absolute joy.

    By Kev and Elke stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A warm, welcoming and clean cottage.
    Comfortable seating and bed.
    Lovely location.
    Lots to see and do in the area.
    Welcoming host.

    By Lynn and Colin Arnold stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Steading is the best holiday home we have stayed in. We would recommend walking from the house to Kilvickeon Beach (Garbh Eileen on the OS map) via the ruined church and to Port Bheathain via Saorphin. The view from the balcony across the lake is stunning; we saw Red Deer on the hillside and Golden Eagles in flight. The White-tailed Eagles are best seen (if you are lucky enough) from either of the walks.
    The ferry to Iona is only a short drive away, so you can easily catch an early one to make the most of your day on that atmospheric island.
    All in all a great place to stay.

    By Phil and Rebecca stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely location and all was as described in the house information.
    Most of the roads are single track so journeys will take longer as you have to stop whenever cars approach (or they do). so take your time and enjoy the views!
    The owner lives nearby so is always on hand.
    The spar/PO in the village is tiny but has good range if limited of most items. They will order newspapers for you.
    Highlights: Staffa, Iona, walks from the house, relaxing on the balcony, wildlife especially the eagles, woodburning stove, stargazing as little light pollution, the small visitor centre in Bunessan.

    By Alan stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A smashing place to stay. We really enjoyed this cottage, spacious, warm, lots of hot water, scrupulously clean. Friendly owner. We saw lots of wildlife on Mull in general and understand that sea eagles nest near the cottage later in the year. The location is excellent for trips to Iona and Erraid. We would come here again.

    By Peter stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Steading was lovely ,fantastic views, great accommodation. Everthing you need was provided, plenty of room and very comfortable. There was plenty of wildlife around the property including eagles. The location was good for visiting Iona and the fantastic beaches on the Ross of Mull

    By Fiona stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is one of the most beautiful and well equipped places we have ever stayed in. The views over the Loch at sunset are stunning. The house has everything you could hope for in a high calibre rental. The house is perfectly located for Fionnphort for trips to Iona and for a longer drive Tobermory and Ulva. A great house - you won’t be disappointed if you rent it.

    By Jenni Cook stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent property in a wonderful but remote location - 1.5 miles from Bunessan. Entertained by the lambs and plenty of small birds. Eagle across the Loch too. Good walks directly from the house and a good location for an early start for Iona.

    By Wyn Pugh stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Steadings really is a fantastic place to stay, there's so much room and wonderful views across the loch as well as lots of outside space. Furnished to a high standard, lovely comfy beds and sofa. Would add that the wifi worked well but was a little slow, well no point being in a rush, you're on holiday! Local shop, bistro and pub nearby and a short drive to get the ferry to Iona so great locution too. Would highly recommend.

    By Joanne and David stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Steading is a very beautiful cottage with lots of space , large gardens to the back and front with a large first floor balcony, ideal for relaxing and taking in the views . We were lucky to enjoy good weather for the first few days with spectacular sunrises and sunsets . The interior was very well furnished and everything was cleaned to a high standard . Occasional visits by sheep and lambs and a very varied birdlife added to our enjoyment . No mobile phone signal and very slow wi-fi ensured we stayed in the holiday mode!

    By Gordon Bell stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Hard to commend this cottage as it will always be fully booked (!!) but as previous reviews state, quite simply the best holiday cottage we have stayed in. Refurbished to a very high standard with imaginative use of the property giving stunning views from every angle. The furnishings are also of a high standard and spotlessly clean. Much more spacious than anticipated...could quite happily live here.

    By Linda & Neil Graham stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fabulous house. We spent a peaceful relaxing week. No WIFI or mobile phone service in the area...bliss!

    By P Stafford stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Quite simply the best holiday cottage we have stayed at in the past eighteen years. Abundant wildlife from the bedroom balcony, beautiful views from every window, warm and very comfortably furnished - even lambs on the patio. If you don't want to use the car there are walks to some stunning beaches from the house.
    You don't go to Mull expecting a mobile signal and fast wifi. You go expecting peace, quiet and unforgettable experiences. You'll get that at The Steadings, with just enough bandwidth to iMessage your jealous friends and family.

    By Phil and Rebecca stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage which had the comfiest bed (assume downstairs one was the same, but we didn't use it) and the best showers we have ever had in self catering accommodation. Superb outlook from the upstairs balcony which could be improved by the provision of a table for drinks etc. So peaceful. Bliss! Loved it. Be aware that the wifi here is very slow and intermittent and no signal for EE. This was actually a plus for us. Very highly recommended.

    By Ann and Duncan Petty stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very nice place with all modern facilities, lay out very good. Ideal place to explore Mull, would certainly recommend it .

    By Simon & Jayne stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house. Light and airy yet warm and cosy.
    Great food to be had at Blackbird Bistro.
    The 18 hole golf course on Iona is a "unique experience"!
    Mull does not disappoint.

    By Caldwells & Cullens stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A delightful cottage in a superb location overlooking a quiet loch. The cottage has been decorated to a high standard and was very comfortable for my family - just as well given the weather we had!

    By G Cole stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fantastic place to stay, modern, clean and comfortable. Located in a great area - we loved the beach at Fidden, the boat trip to Stafa and exploring Iona.

    By J Perkins stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house combines the perfect mix of functionality, aesthetics and luxury in a magical setting by Loch Assapol. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay - a great place to discover the wild Isle of Mull. Highly recommended.

    By Ruth Sefton-Green stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning holiday home in a beautiful location a perfect base for exploring and photographing the islands amazing wildlife including eagles,otters,red throated divers and deer.

    By Ruth Rees stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Gorgeous house, beautifully done with everything provided. Underfloor heating makes it always cosy to come home to. Lovely tranquil setting with amazing master bedroom views over the lough. Great place to explore Mull from, local cafe with lovely baking. Perfect Island holiday. We hope to return next year.

    By Catherine stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a great holiday cottage. Donald, the owner, has thoughtfully renovated the building so that it is very modern and spacious yet has lots of charm. It is well equipped and comfortable. The views towards Loch Asspool are lovely.

    By David and Sara Edwards stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Donald and Yvonne have created a beautiful holiday home and we were lucky to be their first guests.
    The Steading is full of natural light, modern, spacious and extremely comfortable and is equipped with everything you could possibly need. It is in a great location with lovely views over Loch Assapol and it was very special to have evenings warm enough to sit on the upstairs balcony with a glass of wine watching the sun go down.

    By Stuart and Ann stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is an excellent holiday cottage. Very spacious and well laid out. Spotlessly clean and well equipped. Donald, the owner, was charming, friendly and very helpful. Ideally located with great views across the loch. This is a gem in the landscape! Highly recommended for a stay.

    By Fiona & Ray stayed in May 2016

Add your review