Call us on 01688 400682

Smithy House Reviews

22 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing location, impossible to better (in our humble opinion) the inspired design, decoration, fixtures & fittings of the cottage with an empathy for the obvious history of the building were FIRST class, instantly felt at home which is such a bonus. Bonus for us was somewhere to store the bikes. Would LOVE to return

    By Andrew&Jenny Moore stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful cottage, in a super location by the side of the loch. Clean, cosy & well equipped. Super log burner for the chilly evenings - Feb. Views from the windows over the loch to Ben Mure were beautiful with changing weather. Wildlife on your doorstep- otters, sea eagles, deer & over the other side too. Lovely post office/stores just down the road. Visited Tobermory & caught the ferry from Fionnphort. More local Carsaig & over the other side through the valley to Salen (Golden eagles on route).
    Everything was excellent. We wish we could have stayed for longer so will return again.

    By Sue & Andrew stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Smithy House was in a glorious setting with the view over and down the Loch stunning at every time of the day. It’s a fantastic location of exploring the southern side of the Island of Mull. The cottage itself was well equipped and had everything we needed, the wi fi was a tad dodgy at times but manageable and the wood burner was cosy and welcoming in the evenings. The 1st floor bathroom was very small & quite impractical to use. This said we had a fabulous stay and would recommend and we will return to Mull again soon

    By Tracy stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage as described in other reviews
    Well equipped kitchen is a bonus as eating out is not much of an option around this area but that’s the joy of the holidays on Mull, getting away from it all, including limited WiFi. Yes the traffic passes right by the front door but is not that busy and the location makes up for that.did not see otters here but on the opposite side of the Loch about 5 miles up the scenic coastal road to Salen, we watched an other and 2 Cubs fishing and playing for quite some time. Lots of other wildlife all around the cottage, fantastic place to stay.

    By Brian lawrence stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Smithy House is a lovely cosy cottage, very well equipped and with an amazing view over the loch to Ben More. A great base to explore Mull and all it’s wildlife. We had a lovely week with wonderful weather and hope to return again soon.

    By Cathy stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage with equipped with everything you needed. It has a glorious view across the loch with abundant bird life on the shore. Once you knew what to look for you can spot an otter, in fact we watched one eating a fish on shore. From there it is easy to visit both Iona and Sraffa.
    A great place and I would recommend it.

    By Colin Luckett stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage, fantastic location what else could you say. And we had 2 weeks of lovely weather so that was a bonus. Lovely beaches not too far away but wonderful views right on the doorstep..Unluckily we never saw the local otter, not from want of trying. But husband saw all the different eagles and harriers he could wish for on our travels. Also took boat trip to Staffa and enjoyed the close up views of the puffins, a real highlight. Will definitely be returning to Smithy Cottage. Soon

    By Ruth Markham stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous holiday, much needed given the challenging circumstances.
    We loved everything about our stay and were blessed with 2 weeks of glorious weather which enhanced our experience.
    Mull is gorgeous, Loch Scridain fantastic for swimming and kayaking and literally right on the door step. I could go on and on!!
    Smithy house is comfortable and well equipped and in a perfect location.
    If you get to stay here you are very fortunate.
    We look forward to returning soon.

    By Jonathan, Louiza and Emily. stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Smithy House was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped with fabulous views to Ben More. Sadly the traffic during the day rather spoilt the experience with double-decker buses, coaches and log wagons passing several times an hour. The Wifi is very slow and only adequate for reading emails.

    By Sue stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Thank you Smithy House for a great week on the beautiful Isle of Mull. Clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. This house is part of the committee, locals enjoy the front green area as well as visitors to the Isle. The view of the Loch is enjoyed by all. The house is quiet and relaxing even with outside activity. A great place to stay on the Isle of Mull, hope to visit Smithy House again.

    By John and Faye stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were quite happy with the cottage.
    It coincides with a warm spell so the heating was nearly superfluous.
    Waking up and looking out at the Loch was lovely..
    We did learn that paths and walks are boggy.

    By Keith stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Smithy House is exactly as described. Although clearly a historic property, its' now modern interior is well maintained with all the amenities and features to make our stay exceptionally comfortable. The garden is a delight, a wonderful place to relax, It is the view across the Loch though that will steal your heart and draw you to return to this very special place. Yes the buses do pass close by, but very slowly letting very jealous passengers wave to you wishing they were the ones staying here.

    By Russell stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely clean comfortable cottage, with large rooms and a bonus extra games/tv roomfor my son, WiFi worked. Leaving the large 'piping room' livingroom for the adults. Fresh pillows and linen and comfortable matresses. Lovely private backdoor and public picnic bench at lochside front door overlooking Ben Mhor. Adjacent public hall does Suinday Big Breafast for £8 and Friday nights Spitroast and licenced bar £15, excellent value and portions. This Smiddy was perfect for us on the Ross of Mull, its a beautiful spot. The only small downside is proximity to the road immediately outside with buses.

    By Allison Greig stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved our half term stay at Smithy House. The cottage was beautifully mainintained and situated overlooking Loch Scridian and with views of Ben More. My husband and teenage son loved the proximity to the loch for fishing. The cottage is on the main road between Craignure and Fionnphort but this was very quiet in the winter. We had some wonderful walks on the Ross of Mull, visited Iona and went to Tobermory to join a Nature Scotland winter wildlife expedition on which we saw golden and white tailed eagles and hen harriers. A really lovely week and Smithy House was a fantastic home from home.

    By Elizabeth Low stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Highly enjoyable stay in a luxuriously equipped clean cottage with otters and possibly seals right in front of the cottage. And when blessed with the right kind of weather, it is a place you don't want to leave. Having come to Scotland for 17 years, this was one of our best stays. We certainly would like to come back again to Smithy House.

    By Franz Kubik stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely very well equipped cottage in a beautiful area with magnificent scenery. Although the weather was a little moody at times we managed to see White tailed eagles and otter.
    Enjoyed the local art exhibition.

    By Mary stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Most enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage with every home comfort. Just to step across the road and sit enjoying the magnificent scenery was amazing. Very lucky with the weather but actually glad we had rain at the end so we could use the log burner! A wonderful holiday.

    By Colin Brown stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely the best cottage we have hired in the last ten years whilst visiting Mull. Very comfortable stay with two of our friends, cottage very well equipped . Husband very happy with the setting as he is an avid birder and wildlife watcher. We shall definitely be returning!

    By Heather B stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a beautiful cottage in a spectacular setting on the shores of loch scridian.
    A well equipped cottage, with fantastic decor. The views over to the mountains are just amazing at this time of the year.
    A great place to see wildlife, eagles, harriers, seals, deer, owls, wildfowl.
    The local residents were so friendly, didn’t want to leave.

    By Claire stayed in January 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Of all the places we have visited, Mull is certainly our favourite and we've come almost each year for the past 10 years, usually staying at Tobermory.
    Our usual B&B being unavailable, we decided to stay at Smithy House this time. And we're so happy we did ! It has been a wonderful Christmas escape here at Smithy House and we loved every minute of it.
    The cottage is so comfortable, cosy and warm ! We felt very welcome.
    The view from the cottage is to die for (with snow on Ben More) and it's a great location for wildlife : we saw many otters on Loch Scridain (some at walking distance from the cottage), a seal from our bedroom window, and « cherry on the cake » : a couple of golden eagles at the beautiful Kilvickeon beach near Bunessan (got soaked on the way back : strong wind and drizzle ! But still happy).
    This is a Christmas holiday we will never forget. We can't wait to be back to this wonderful cottage !

    By Nathalie & Daniel Capillon stayed in December 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Smithy House. Every thing to make it comfortable and homely had been considered and was of the highest quality.
    The local hotel was open and very welcoming - we only had a drink there.
    Do take the opportunity to buy local farmed mussels (yum, and very inexpensive) and to go to the Isle of Mull Weavers at Ardanlanish - they not only weave the most gorgeous fabric but they also have their own beef and lamb in the freezer. The beef that I bought was superb.
    The Spa at Bunessan is tiny but has an amazingly good stock - if you cannot see it ask. Behind the Spa is the most wonderful secondhand bookshop, worth a look if only for its curiousity value. The pub in Bunessan made excellent homemade soup.
    Mull was a wonderful relaxing week with walking, wildlife, birds, sealife, history and culture. We did not want to leave.

    By Persephone Wynn stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay at Smithy House. The cottage is gorgeous and furnished to a very high standard. Beds very comfortable with a fantastic view of the loch and its wildlife.
    From breakfast taking in the view, to evenings by the cosy stove the cottage was a delight.
    The hotel nearby was closed while we were there but when open it would be useful for meals out. Make sure that you do a good shop before arrival as although there is a little shop/cafe a mile or so away the nearest spar is Bunessan.. about 20 min drive.
    The only real problem we found though was leaving.

    By Ben Reinsch stayed in August 2017

Add your review