Call us on 01688 400682

Puffin Cottage Reviews

22 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An absolutely fabulous cottage. Brilliant location. Very well equipped. Clean and very comfortable.
    We had a great week exploring Mull. Out three sons enjoyed Calgary, the Boat ride to Staffa and climbing Ben More. Thanks for a super holiday (and barely midge in sight!)

    By Mudd family stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Puffin Cottage is a light and airy cottage with a lovely feel about it and very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, although we added our own cleaning products. Thanks very much for the wine on our arrival. The area around the cottage is beautiful and is a good base to explore the northern parts of the island.
    This was our covid delayed holiday, thank you very much to Mull Cottages for rearranging the dates for us without any quibbles - we very much appreciate your kindness. We thoroughly recommend Puffin Cottage and Mull Cottages.

    By Player family stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Definitely recommended as a house. Clean, warm, comfortable. Everything works. Well equipped. As someone used to several trips to Scotland a year it rates highly. Would be very good for a family as there are lots of rooms and space. Although in a very good area, we found other areas of the island slightly more interesting and drive fairly long distances in the week.

    By Nicky stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely loved Puffin Cottage! Really spacious and well-equipped for our stay in Mull. We were blessed with 7 days of sunny dry weather which helped immensely.
    Great base for the Sea Eagle and Staffa/Lunga (Puffin) boat trips leaving from nearby Ulva Ferry. Also only a short drive (brave cycle) from Calgary and Tobermory.
    We were joined part way through our week by 2 friends and even with 4 adults, the house was plenty big enough.
    Would highly recommend...the scenery and bird life is second to none. Otters are elusive though.

    By Julie & Stuart, Stirlingshire stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely holiday, the house was large enough to feel spacious for us two but also cosy, well thought out and also pristine. The surrounding landscape is a delight to the eye. We had great fun staying at Torluisk.

    By June Hay stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fabulous week exploring Mull from Puffin cottage..such a lovely location enjoyed both beach and hillwalks straight from house. We loved both farm and wildlife around the cottage..buzzards..hen harriers..tawny owls..hooded crows ..red deer and otters. Had pretty good weather so that was a bonus..Ben More with fab views from the top.Saw last of the puffins on Lunga before they head out to ssa again. We will be back????

    By Colin & Caroline Freer stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Puffin Cottage was a lovely cottage. Spacious, really well equipped, spotlessly clean. The TV/sun room with its big patio door opening onto sheep and a Highland cow made this our favourite room! Although were exploring the whole island we really loved having the black sand beach so close for an evening walk. Lovely garden with the picnic bench for breakfast and evening drinks in the sun.

    By The Macdonalds stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous cottage. Immaculately clean & well equipped. All rooms very spacious and found dining room, log fire room & garden room cosy and relaxing. The location is superb for exploring. We stuck to the north of the island and enjoyed the many fabulous coastal walks. Sadly some beaches do suffer from our global plastic problem but we found the detritus was in the main fishing ropes & fishing plastic crates. Leave the camper van. Mull’s roads are single track & not designed for them. We came across one on a hair pin bend that had gone off the road & awaiting assistance.

    By Ruddy/ McClarence Clan stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely, comfortable and spotlessly clean holiday cottage in a great location. We enjoyed the nearby Black Sands Beach and our visit to Ballygown Restaurant. We were very fortunate with the weather and saw otters, dolphins and both sea and golden eagles. The house was a wonderful relaxing place to come home to at the end of a busy day exploring the north end of the island. We were happy with the extra measures put in place during the issues surrounding Covid 19 both at Puffin Cottage and elsewhere on the island. The Dervaig shop were also happy to put a grocery order together for collection

    By Jean Carless stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just about perfect holiday cottage, location great for doing and seeing lots of things.
    Mull is special. Worth finding out about geology and wildlife before going if you are interested in such things cos there's loads to see/do.
    Highly recommended.

    By Rick and Fiona Adam stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Four adults stayed for a week.
    Lovely location.
    Found the downstairs part of the house very warm, spacious and well equipped, particularly the kitchen and garden room.
    Upstairs was clean and tidy, but lacked a few finishing touches. For instance, there is no light in the walk-in wardrobe in the master bedroom, or over the bathroom mirror, for shaving. There were no plugs, or filters in the sinks, just a gaping hole. The bathrooms, lacked shelves for toiletries. And the mattresses on the single beds were worn out.
    If we were rating out of a hundred we’d score seventy five.

    By Tony Symons stayed in September 2019

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear you enjoyed the location and living area at Puffin Cottage. I know the owner has been in touch with you and has confirmed he is going to replace the plugs and add shelves. He will also check the mattress on his next visit.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely well equipped cottage on the beautiful west coast of Mull. The garden room in particular was great to relax in in the evening. No puffins in the garden (!) but on the excellent Staffa and Treshnish Isles boat trip from Ulva ten minutes down the road.You see them in their hundreds, plus other seabirds too. Thoroughly recommended.

    By Bob Cossey stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This must be one of the cleanest and best equipped holiday cottages on Mull. Storm Freya lashed the island but the cottage remained snug and warm. The local scenery is superb and its central location means the north and south of the island are easily accessible. Excellent place to stay!

    By Steve and Jen stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, warm, cosy and well equipped. A beautiful location. Great walks from the door. Golden & White Tailed Eagles soaring overhead and Hen Harriers just up the road.

    By Matt stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was an excellent cottage with a well equipped kitchen and spacious sitting accommodation. The bedrooms were also excellent with both bath and shower provided. It was well situated to visit the north of the island as well as Ulva and Ben More. Thoroughly recommend the boat trip to Staffa and Lunga to see the puffins! Definitely makes us want to visit again

    By Liz Cope stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful property with everything we needed. Such comfortable beds and excellent en suite and bathroom. Lovely room overlooking the field with highland cows. Good position for exploring Mull. Thoroughly recommend.

    By Wilma Picton stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was the perfect cottage for us. Very spacious and comfortable. Excellent kitchen with everything you could need. Big dining table and 2 lovely sitting rooms. Good place for sitting outside with nice views, barbeque etc. 3 good bedrooms. Fairly close to Ulva ferry for fabulous boat trips,lovely walks straight from the house. Book it and pray for the weather we had!

    By Carol Sudbery stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very nice cottage, spacious, spotlessly clean, comfy, well equipped. It would easily have accomodated 6 with a bathroom, onsuite shower room and downstairs toilet, 2 sitting rooms (one with a log burner and the other a sun-room) and dining kitchen. Very pleased with the cottage and only by accident did it turn out to be 5 minutes' walk from Torloisk House where the main party (wedding) was staying which was very handy for us. It's also near Dervaig for supplies, the lovely Black Sands beach and a short drive to the Ulva Ferry so all in all very well situated.

    By Catriona Stewart stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Spotlessly clean, well-equipped, comfortable beds - what more could you want from a holiday cottage? The sun room is a great place to relax and watch the tiny lambs play in the adjacent field. Fun, on looking out of the bedroom window, seeing the school bus being held up by eleven sleepy Highland cattle wandering up the road. Lots to do, and cyclists should be mindful of the potholes everywhere.

    By Pam Scarth stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, well furnished and equipped in a quiet location. The house was very warm and sunny. The kitchen had all you need to cook up the great local produce. A good base for cycling and walking - definitely worth bringing the bikes for. The Black Beach is beautiful and very close. A great place to stay to get to know the north west area of Mull.

    By The Warwicks stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Puffin Cottage is an extremely comfortable & spacious cottage with fantastic views & amazing local walks straight outside the front door. Brilliantly located for touring the island, would stay there again & would highly recommend it.

    By The Killick family stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable and well equipped house, convenient for all the north of the island, and lovely and warm in what turned out to be a chilly April week.

    By Mary stayed in April 2017

Add your review