Call us on 01688 400682

Ploughman's Cottage Reviews

14 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was absolutely lovely! It was clean, comfortable, well equipped and managed to be cosy and light and bright at the same time! We loved the conservatory area and the log burner (we had a cold wet week in June!). We found the track down to the cottage to be fine if you take it reasonably slowly, although we have a 4x4. The remote location and almost deserted beaches were amazing and all in all, this has to be one of the best holiday cottages we've ever stayed in.

    By M. Wallace stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous cottage and well equipped with everything you need. Wildlife around the cottage excellent. Often had Ted Deer close to the cottage. Hen Harriers and White Tailed Eagle very close to the cottage.
    The track is absolutely disgraceful, very deep pits holes in abundance that need urgent attention.

    By Steve Evans stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautifully refurbished , warm and comfortable cottage with all the modern essentials.this light bright cottage has a wonderful sun room to take in the amazing views, we also sat outside on the patio. We had a wonderful week which was helped by wall to wall sunshine. We enjoyed the remote location, the wild life and the walking to remote beaches.

    By Caroline Smale stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ploughmans Cottage is absolutely fabulous and set in a stunning location teaming with wildlife. The cottage is really well laid out with an open plan cooks kitchen which has everything you could possibly need, a lovely lounge with a wood burner and the fantastic sun room with a super comfy sofa and extraordinary views! We saw buzzards, hen harriers and deer and don’t worry if you forget your binoculars as they have thought of everything! The bed is really comfortable and the whole cottage is immaculately clean and well maintained. Can’t recommend highly enough!!!

    By Claire Atkinson stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was even better than we could have imagined. The open plan living space meant that we could all be together whilst relaxing, playing games, cooking and eating.
    The highlight being the location and walking distance to magnificent scoor beach!

    By Emma Hedley stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ploughmans cottage is beautiful; very peaceful location. The views are amazing and the property has everything you need. Its been designed really well and the sun room especially was amazing to chill out in! The island is stunning, with so much wildlife, sandy beaches, turquoise seas, loch's, mountains and forests! Honestly, it has everything!!
    If your looking for shops and restaurants, then Mull is not for you. We took everything we needed and I would advise others to do the same.
    Theres a lovely seafood shop just outside Tobermory, defo recommend for homecooking! :)

    By Rachel and Ash stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ploughmans Cottage has everything for a perfect get away from it all break. One of the nicest cottages we have stayed in. Set is spectacular scenery, being able to watch the deer from the beautiful sun lounge in the mornings and amazing sun sets at night. Wonderful walks from the cottage, the local beaches are stunning. A visit to Iona is a must. The downside is the lane, 30 mins to get to the main road. Although it does state about the lane in the details, it is not really suitable for a normal car.

    By Sally Hulland stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you want a peaceful escape from city life, Ploughman's Cottage is the perfect location. It is a long way from anywhere, so do factor in total isolation, especially in the winter months when most restaurants on the island shut up shop. Come prepared to cook yourself and hunker down! Great meat at Ardalanish Weavers a few miles away from the cottage. We were lucky with the weather - went on fabulous walks without another soul in sight. Some great walks direct from the cottage itself - strongly recommend going to Ardalanish beach too, and a walk along The Burg peninsula from Tiroran Hotel.

    By Larry Finlay stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fab location - idyllic, peaceful. Main sound was ravens calling. Lovely walks and beautiful close-by beaches. Eagle lookout point below trig pt above Scoor beach - so superb views of an eagle one morning. We saw them 3 times out of 5/6 visits to this spot.
    V well quipped cottage and we had a lovely stay. Sun room a great spot and we sat in the garden a fair bit too.
    Would just say that the bumpy road would probably put me off booking here again - but this was clear in the details. You do have to factor this in re getting to ferries etc and basically going anywhere away from the cottage....

    By Judy Fitzsimons stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottages is very cosy and has got everything you need. The WiFi solution was not working fine on some of our devices. The location is spectacular with seascapes, beaches and nice but very wet walks. We.even went swimming on the most beautiful beach next to the cottage. The upper space and room is not appropriate at all for an average tall guest (our son ist 6 feet tall) and you have to notice that due to road conditions of the final 2 miles, it takes you 18 min from the main road to get to the cottage.

    By Clemens stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We visit Scotland every year in summer to escape the heat of France. This year my wife had proposed Mull, and Ploughman's cottage seduced us. I had personally been reticent to stay two weeks, but I'm happy to have agreed because I could have easily stayed for three.
    We just LOVED our time on Mull and Iona. Between visits to golden beaches, the highland games, fishing, boat trips to see dolphins and whales, even snorkling, we had one of our best holidays ever.
    The cottage was the perfect comfortable and peaceful base for us, a short trip from Fionnphort and Iona which we visited 4 times.

    By Stuart Johnston stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    we had a wonderful 2 weeks in a very nice cottage , .everything was too are complete satisfaction and I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful holiday in an excellent location overflowing with wildlife. . thank you.

    By david fleet stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very rural cottage. So peaceful and rugged scenery with great views from the property. Take your wellies because outside the property is very muddy. Cottage has comfortable beds and had everything we needed. We found the couches a bit on the soft side. No heating on when we arrived but we soon got it going and the log burner on.

    By Joan Pritchard stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Where to start? There are so many wonderful things to say. The location is spectacular with seascapes, beeches and coves you'd expect on a tropical island. The wildlife is mind blowing: eagles, hen harriers, seals, otters, porpoises and cuckoos everywhere. Every day was perfect whether we were island hopping, swimming in crystal seas, walking on the mountains or visiting the pubs and restaurants. The cottage was so comfortable, well equipped and beautifully finished. We slept like babies! Cannot wait to revisit. Thank you!

    By Graham stayed in June 2018

Add your review