Call us on 01688 400682

Oakfield House Reviews

19 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Having read all of the previous comments I cannot think of anything more to add! In my 45 years of renting self catering accommodation in Scotland Oakfield House definitely comes out top. It has the wow factor as soon as you arrive at the house and when entering you cannot wait to explore the whole house. The three grandchildren aged 6-8 were so excited running from room to room looking at everything, closely followed by the adults!! A truly amazing house to celebrate my 70th birthday with all the family and friends and one that I will never forget. Thanks go to the owner!

    By Lynne Cottrill stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our group stayed here for a wildlife package expedition and had a perfect stay at OH. A beautiful historical building with a wonderful mix of modern and tradition. The house was spotless and all the rooms have amazing modern bathrooms. We look forward to returning very soon.

    By Ewan Miles stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A magnificent house, lavishly equipped and furnished and exceptionally well-prepared.It was a privilege to stay at Oakfield House, where everything was exactly as you would wish it to be. The view from the front patio alone is worth a week just sitting and drinking it in.The location is perfect, away from the busy, touristy harbour front, but only a short walk away, and with easy access to shops / restaurants and bars.You MUST visit the sea-front fish van - it's in the top two or three fish and chip experiences in the UK. In summary a truly exceptional week,worthy of the highest recommendation

    By Malcolm Graham stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We can only reiterate what other reviewers have said; lovely well equipped house, stunning views and lots to do. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great but the house was a good place for a party of seven to stay indoors without getting in each others way. Hope to visit again!

    By Ray & Christine stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a house.The squeals of delight when the grandchildren arrived
    One practically tripping over his jaw at the sight of ‘That staircase! ’‘Two fridges’. ‘Look at the size of the dining room table!’ Happy to host a dozen for dinner, the music of three generations.The fun of Tobermory a short wander down the lane and countless wonderful restaurants and the steady stream of boats past the window by day.The Highland games a short walk from the house. What a treat for the eyes and and the ears. The view down the sea, never the same one glance to the next.
    And cubic yards of peace.

    By Sir Charles Madden stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This house is in a stunning position with views down the Sound of Mull. It is spacious and is super-well equipped. It was difficult to tear ourselves away, Without some stern encouragement I could have easily passed a day watching the boats cross the Sound of Mull. Oakfield has a special feel about it and we all felt instantly at home there. The town of Tobermory with its colourful front is a delight. One evening we joined an authentic ceilidh involving multi generations, singing, dancing and instrumental playing. Our three generations loved it. We want to return.

    By Irena Boyle stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Five friends and I stayed at Oakfield House for a week of bird-watching and touring in early June and within minutes of arrival it was clear we had made a very good choice. The accommodation fully lived-up to our expectations with well-furnished and good-sized rooms, a very well equipped kitchen and a marvellous view over Tobermory Bay and along the Sound of Mull towards Craignure. And all within a short walk from the shops and restaurants on Tobermory's sea-front. The heating worked very well in the variable weather, providing limitless hot water and keeping the rooms comfortably warm.

    By Allan Neilson stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a marvellous week with a group of old friends in this amazing house. It had lovely views, was so convenient for the town, and lots of super places to visit nearby. The highlight was the trip to Staffa and the Treshnish Islands. Would highly recommend Oakfield House for a holiday.

    By John Dickinson stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oakfield House was an amazingly well-equipped house within a very short walk to the harbour of Tobermory. The view from the windows was beautiful and ever-changing during the day. The huge kitchen had a remarkable selection of equipment, dishes, glasses, and cutlery, etc. (Two fridges and two microwaves!) The owners left us a book containing the operating instructions for every appliance in the house – wow, we have never seen that before. Our bed was very comfortable and the plumbing up-to-date. It worked perfectly for our group of nine but we only wish the house came with the staff it used to

    By Helen B stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful week in May 2019, staying with a group of friends. The house is many spacious rooms. Two large sitting rooms - on the ground and first floor - have fantastic views over the bay. The large kitchen is well equipped. Five minutes walk to the high street, with good variety of eating places. A well-stocked co-op, with surprisingly moderate prices. Lots to do - Sea eagles, Boat trips - Ioan, Staffa and Treshnish islands. Walks to suit all, including climbing a Munroe for the adventurous. This has everything. Wonderful location, spacious well-equipped accommodation.

    By John Moore stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed af Oakfield House at the beginning of May 2019. It was a fabulous return to the island for a family celebration (our Dad's 80th), revisiting the haunts of all our childhood holidays and a place full of precious memories of our grandma and her sisters who were born and raised in Dervaig. We needed a special and commodious place to celebrate and the delightful MacLeans supplied that big style. Oakfield is breathtaking, we felt privileged to be allowed to relax in such sumptuous surroundings.

    By Catriona Cochrane stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We wanted a family holiday on Mull to introduce them to what we know know to be a very special place and chose Oakfield House for our stay. To say that this is the ideal place for a group holiday is an understatement. The house, its location, its layout and furnishings and top-end facilities are absolutely fantastic - we could not have asked for more, and with such character and history, and this helped to make it a special holiday for us all. The children thought it was a palace and the spacious layout meant that everyone could do their own thing without getting under anyone's feet.

    By John Moore stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house is spacious and full of character. All the facilities have been modernised without spoiling the character of the house. The kitchen is well equipped and the bedrooms are comfortable. There is a large garden, and a comfortable area for sitting/eating outside. The view over Tobermory Bay is magnificent. The owner was very helpful, and my email queries before the holiday were quickly answered.

    By Alastair Maclean stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were a large party staying over the Hogmanay week and we all agreed it was one of the best holiday stays ever. The house is stunning, the carpets are lush, nobody had a 'bad' bedroom, the location is amazing for views, walks and facilities including restaurants and pubs. The owners had thought of everything from complimentary wine to salt, cooking oil, a full spice rack, washing up liquid, logs for the fire, toys and games for the kids - basically all the things you usually find missing when you stay away! But for us, the icing on the cake was the stunning Christmas tree and decorations!

    By Angela Pramanik stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We booked this beautiful Scottish Island home along with the adjoining property (Oakfield Cottage) for a family Christmas getaway. Set in its own gardens, with wonderful views across the sea to the mainland. Making Christmas Dinner can be fractious at the best of times but when you have a great, fully equipped kitchen to do it, its so much easier. From the generous essential supplies to welcome us, to the special treat of the most beautifully decorated 7 foot Christmas Tree it was just perfect.

    By Sheena Norris stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great family get together staying in the beautiful Oakfield House. The house is immaculate with everything you could need & ideally located with a short walk down to Main Street. Great place to stay.

    By Stuart Ashworth stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning house in an excellent location in upper Tobermory overlooking the harbour. Unbelievable views down the Sound of Mull. The house has all mod cons and the quality of finish is First Class. Will definitely be visiting again.

    By David Fletcher stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful weekend exploring the island of Mull, and Oakfield House was the perfect spot for some rest and relaxation at the end of each day. The view is outstanding- looking out across the bay, and we were very lucky to have clear skies and sunshine for the whole of our trip. A real gem with a lovely homey feel, and very well equipped for all of our needs - all the added touches such as windbreakers for the beach and buckets for the kids to play made the whole trip very effortless. A great getaway and we will definitely be back!

    By Nicola Baudet stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Went to Mull in April for a family reunion. Oakfield House was the perfect venue and Oakfield cottage next door has a further two bedrooms if needed so hopefully next time we'll be able to rent that too.The bedrooms were lovely - the main bedroom / suite, is stunning. There's a large kitchen, butlers pantry and three large reception rooms so if any of us wanted time out it was ideal. We really enjoyed the long family meals round the dining room table. It was a perfect place for a get together and base for revisiting Mull.

    By Anne Weir stayed in April 2018

Add your review