Call us on 01688 400682

Oakfield House Reviews

31 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This large house is full of character and little touches of convenience which has made our group’s stay both spectacular and easy. So much so that, as regular visitors to Mull for diving, we are unlikely to visit when we can get a booking here again! If you have a large group/family to accommodate I would look no further.

    By David Berwick stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning property in a fabulous location. We all wanted to move in permanently. What more can I say! Our holiday on Mull was wonderful - we 'touched' every corner of the Island but will need to return to explore further. So much to see and do. We did manage to see otters, sea eagles, golden eagles, and red deer so we were all very happy. We were made to feel welcome wherever we went. Would love to return!

    By Louise Privett stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow wow wow! What a house, absolutely magnificent.The view is breathtaking.So close to the lovely Tobermory and all its eating and drinking places. A 13 mile drive to Calgary beach is a must, what a great time we had there. Laggan Sands are a bit off the beaten track but worth a visit. Iona was a must, since it’s very near Mull but the drive is quite tiring, never the less, do go. Cannot praise Mull and especially Oakfield House enough.We had a murder mystery evening in the large stunning dining room.Honestly, come to this destination, it will take your breath away.

    By Vittorio Bethune stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have had a wonderful family holiday at Oakfield House in Tobermory. The house and garden surpassed all of our expectations - which were already high, having looked at the photographs. Everything that a family would need or want has been thought of and catered for. I cant praise this house highly enough. The reception rooms are big enough for 10 - and yet the sheer scale of the house means everyone can have privacy or peace and quiet if needed, The location is perfect too - high enough over the bay to watch the common dolphins one evening as they played around a boat in the bay.

    By Lilian Haire stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have booked this house twice for our family holiday and it never disappoints. Very spacious and interesting house with all amenities. Superb position with big garden, lovely views and enough space for the young grandchildren to enjoy themselves. It has the wow factor and would definitely recommend for a large group.

    By Lynne Cottrill stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful property! The house is really spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. The two lounges are fabulous, marvellous views over the sound. The kitchen is incredible, well fitted out and easy to use. Bedrooms lovely and comfortable, good furnishings and fittings.
    The picnic kits and other equipment were really useful. Garden space great.
    Just wow! It was the best holiday let I have ever had. It’s great!

    By Stephen stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Magnificent Victorian house, beautifully restored and very well equipped. Comfortable and spacious, with fantastic views. Great location, just a short walk from the centre of Tobermory. Mull is an amazing place for a holiday: we had some lovely walks, visited Iona, Fingal's Cave and Lunga island (with its puffins) and even swam in the sea. We didn't need a car. The best holiday home I have ever stayed in.

    By Judith Nicholson stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oakfield House is stunning. Oozing history and beautifully renovated, it is a fantastic place for a group holiday. Plenty of space, with the two living rooms plus formal dining room. Great location with lovely views and only a short walk to the centre of Tobermory. Loved Mull and we didn't need a car.

    By Judith stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fantastically restored grand Victorian house, in a really beautiful location overlooking the Sound of Mull and Calf Island. The rooms are sumptuous, grand and beautiful. The ensuite bathrooms are modern, warm and splendid. This house has everything a large family or couple of families would need for a comfortable stay on Mull.The house is close enough to the town centre for convenient shopping, yet high enough to give you privacy from the town and surrounding houses.

    By David Crampton stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oakfield House was perfect for our family holiday on Mull. This was our first time on the island and we wanted a place to relax and enjoy the island away from the chaos that is 2020. OH was perfect - every room was amazing and just perfect for what we needed. The kitchen is definitely the best self catering kitchen we have ever used in the UK or abroad. The house has such a welcoming feel from the moment you go up the drive. The dining room and sitting rooms have amazing views and the bedrooms are luxuriously comfortable but with modern bathrooms. We all want to stay there again.

    By wendy cartwright stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very attractive property with beautiful views over to the Sound of Mull. A very well equipped and well appointed holiday home. It is certainly the best self catering property I have ever stayed in on the Isle of Mull, in over 30 years of visiting. We were a three-generation let and there was plenty of room for us all and the grandchildren loved the space. In truth it is an ideal place for all ages. The kitchen facilities were excellent and it was a pleasure to sit in the dining room at mealtimes and enjoy the view. We all want to come back again as soon as we can.

    By Jim Eaglesham stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oakfield House is a fabulous place to stay, with character and amazing views over the Sound of Mull. On arrival, driving up the long driveway as the house came in to full view, my children could not believe their eyes and were not to be disappointed when exploring the many large and well furnished rooms. Our visit to Mull was really exceptional, helped by favourable weather, amazing scenery and a great house.

    By Shaun Godfrey stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Having read all of the previous comments I cannot think of anything more to add! In my 45 years of renting self catering accommodation in Scotland Oakfield House definitely comes out top. It has the wow factor as soon as you arrive at the house and when entering you cannot wait to explore the whole house. The three grandchildren aged 6-8 were so excited running from room to room looking at everything, closely followed by the adults!! A truly amazing house to celebrate my 70th birthday with all the family and friends and one that I will never forget. Thanks go to the owner!

    By Lynne Cottrill stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our group stayed here for a wildlife package expedition and had a perfect stay at OH. A beautiful historical building with a wonderful mix of modern and tradition. The house was spotless and all the rooms have amazing modern bathrooms. We look forward to returning very soon.

    By Ewan Miles stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A magnificent house, lavishly equipped and furnished and exceptionally well-prepared.It was a privilege to stay at Oakfield House, where everything was exactly as you would wish it to be. The view from the front patio alone is worth a week just sitting and drinking it in.The location is perfect, away from the busy, touristy harbour front, but only a short walk away, and with easy access to shops / restaurants and bars.You MUST visit the sea-front fish van - it's in the top two or three fish and chip experiences in the UK. In summary a truly exceptional week,worthy of the highest recommendation

    By Malcolm Graham stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We can only reiterate what other reviewers have said; lovely well equipped house, stunning views and lots to do. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great but the house was a good place for a party of seven to stay indoors without getting in each others way. Hope to visit again!

    By Ray & Christine stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a house.The squeals of delight when the grandchildren arrived
    One practically tripping over his jaw at the sight of ‘That staircase! ’‘Two fridges’. ‘Look at the size of the dining room table!’ Happy to host a dozen for dinner, the music of three generations.The fun of Tobermory a short wander down the lane and countless wonderful restaurants and the steady stream of boats past the window by day.The Highland games a short walk from the house. What a treat for the eyes and and the ears. The view down the sea, never the same one glance to the next.
    And cubic yards of peace.

    By Sir Charles Madden stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This house is in a stunning position with views down the Sound of Mull. It is spacious and is super-well equipped. It was difficult to tear ourselves away, Without some stern encouragement I could have easily passed a day watching the boats cross the Sound of Mull. Oakfield has a special feel about it and we all felt instantly at home there. The town of Tobermory with its colourful front is a delight. One evening we joined an authentic ceilidh involving multi generations, singing, dancing and instrumental playing. Our three generations loved it. We want to return.

    By Irena Boyle stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Five friends and I stayed at Oakfield House for a week of bird-watching and touring in early June and within minutes of arrival it was clear we had made a very good choice. The accommodation fully lived-up to our expectations with well-furnished and good-sized rooms, a very well equipped kitchen and a marvellous view over Tobermory Bay and along the Sound of Mull towards Craignure. And all within a short walk from the shops and restaurants on Tobermory's sea-front. The heating worked very well in the variable weather, providing limitless hot water and keeping the rooms comfortably warm.

    By Allan Neilson stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a marvellous week with a group of old friends in this amazing house. It had lovely views, was so convenient for the town, and lots of super places to visit nearby. The highlight was the trip to Staffa and the Treshnish Islands. Would highly recommend Oakfield House for a holiday.

    By John Dickinson stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oakfield House was an amazingly well-equipped house within a very short walk to the harbour of Tobermory. The view from the windows was beautiful and ever-changing during the day. The huge kitchen had a remarkable selection of equipment, dishes, glasses, and cutlery, etc. (Two fridges and two microwaves!) The owners left us a book containing the operating instructions for every appliance in the house – wow, we have never seen that before. Our bed was very comfortable and the plumbing up-to-date. It worked perfectly for our group of nine but we only wish the house came with the staff it used to

    By Helen B stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful week in May 2019, staying with a group of friends. The house is many spacious rooms. Two large sitting rooms - on the ground and first floor - have fantastic views over the bay. The large kitchen is well equipped. Five minutes walk to the high street, with good variety of eating places. A well-stocked co-op, with surprisingly moderate prices. Lots to do - Sea eagles, Boat trips - Ioan, Staffa and Treshnish islands. Walks to suit all, including climbing a Munroe for the adventurous. This has everything. Wonderful location, spacious well-equipped accommodation.

    By John Moore stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed af Oakfield House at the beginning of May 2019. It was a fabulous return to the island for a family celebration (our Dad's 80th), revisiting the haunts of all our childhood holidays and a place full of precious memories of our grandma and her sisters who were born and raised in Dervaig. We needed a special and commodious place to celebrate and the delightful MacLeans supplied that big style. Oakfield is breathtaking, we felt privileged to be allowed to relax in such sumptuous surroundings.

    By Catriona Cochrane stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We wanted a family holiday on Mull to introduce them to what we know know to be a very special place and chose Oakfield House for our stay. To say that this is the ideal place for a group holiday is an understatement. The house, its location, its layout and furnishings and top-end facilities are absolutely fantastic - we could not have asked for more, and with such character and history, and this helped to make it a special holiday for us all. The children thought it was a palace and the spacious layout meant that everyone could do their own thing without getting under anyone's feet.

    By John Moore stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house is spacious and full of character. All the facilities have been modernised without spoiling the character of the house. The kitchen is well equipped and the bedrooms are comfortable. There is a large garden, and a comfortable area for sitting/eating outside. The view over Tobermory Bay is magnificent. The owner was very helpful, and my email queries before the holiday were quickly answered.

    By Alastair Maclean stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were a large party staying over the Hogmanay week and we all agreed it was one of the best holiday stays ever. The house is stunning, the carpets are lush, nobody had a 'bad' bedroom, the location is amazing for views, walks and facilities including restaurants and pubs. The owners had thought of everything from complimentary wine to salt, cooking oil, a full spice rack, washing up liquid, logs for the fire, toys and games for the kids - basically all the things you usually find missing when you stay away! But for us, the icing on the cake was the stunning Christmas tree and decorations!

    By Angela Pramanik stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We booked this beautiful Scottish Island home along with the adjoining property (Oakfield Cottage) for a family Christmas getaway. Set in its own gardens, with wonderful views across the sea to the mainland. Making Christmas Dinner can be fractious at the best of times but when you have a great, fully equipped kitchen to do it, its so much easier. From the generous essential supplies to welcome us, to the special treat of the most beautifully decorated 7 foot Christmas Tree it was just perfect.

    By Sheena Norris stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great family get together staying in the beautiful Oakfield House. The house is immaculate with everything you could need & ideally located with a short walk down to Main Street. Great place to stay.

    By Stuart Ashworth stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning house in an excellent location in upper Tobermory overlooking the harbour. Unbelievable views down the Sound of Mull. The house has all mod cons and the quality of finish is First Class. Will definitely be visiting again.

    By David Fletcher stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful weekend exploring the island of Mull, and Oakfield House was the perfect spot for some rest and relaxation at the end of each day. The view is outstanding- looking out across the bay, and we were very lucky to have clear skies and sunshine for the whole of our trip. A real gem with a lovely homey feel, and very well equipped for all of our needs - all the added touches such as windbreakers for the beach and buckets for the kids to play made the whole trip very effortless. A great getaway and we will definitely be back!

    By Nicola Baudet stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Went to Mull in April for a family reunion. Oakfield House was the perfect venue and Oakfield cottage next door has a further two bedrooms if needed so hopefully next time we'll be able to rent that too.The bedrooms were lovely - the main bedroom / suite, is stunning. There's a large kitchen, butlers pantry and three large reception rooms so if any of us wanted time out it was ideal. We really enjoyed the long family meals round the dining room table. It was a perfect place for a get together and base for revisiting Mull.

    By Anne Weir stayed in April 2018

Add your review