Call us on 01688 400682

Macquarie House Reviews

23 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful week we have all just experienced based at Macquarie House. Stunning location, spacious and well equipped for big parties. The central location make it a very well placed property in order to explore all of the island.
    The Loch moments from the house is a gem and we were exceptionally lucky to have a week of sunshine. if weather was inclement there are 2 fires, plenty of space and games to enjoy.
    Great host and would highly recommend and revisit.

    By Jo Vincent stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our extended family loved this house. The space suited us very well with a large open kitchen / seating / patio access room where we spent most of our time, apart of course from the highly contested pool and ping pong tournaments in the games room. We also really appreciated the fabulous drying room for recovery after soggy outings! The surroundings are beautiful and Loch Ba perfect for our kayak and dinghy exploits and the brave swimmers in the party. A lovely peaceful old-fashioned family holiday in a cracking house.

    By Kings stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Love this property, it’s surroundings are amazing, fallow deer, sea eagles a plenty, kitchen is very well equipped, we had a lovely peaceful week here, games room was great for ping pong tournaments, would lobe to come back,

    By Elaine Waddell stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very warm welcome to a very warm and comfortable house. The peaceful location is wonderful and great for exploring Mull and local walks. The small Spar in Salen has a great selection of food. A very interesting bookcase and a lovely warm lounge with a wood-burner (infinite wood provided!) made for very convivial evenings. Perfect!

    By Jon stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent location, beautiful scenery with free roaming peacocks and we watched a white tail eagle soaring above us. Bedding clean and beds comfortable. Ideal for large parties with spacious en suite bedrooms.
    Couple of negatives (however they don't outweigh the positives) was general cleanliness. Fridge had to be cleaned before use and owner should attend to the numerous spiders webs throughout the property!

    By June & Jason Macready stayed in September 2019

    • Star

    Macquarie house is spacious with easy access to a loch. we were a party of 7 but more could have been easily accomodated.Whilst the building itself has some character, fixtures and fittings are very basic, think Ikea. As mentioned in other reviews mobile phone signal is non existent, and the patchy internet is more reminisent of dial up, forget netflix and prime. Certain parts of the house are pet friendly like most rentals, however, there is no provision for dealing with pet waste, you can't use dog poo bags, instead you are encouraged to use a shovel to 'fling it into the long grass'.

    By K Jones stayed in August 2019

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear you were disappointed in some respects. As per our advice to guests pre-arrival, we would expect guests to take responsibility for their own dog and there is nothing to suggest otherwise in our literature. The WiFi speed is also mentioned in the property information.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect setting, lovely house, well equipped and large enough that 9 people can spend time together or all find a corner to do their own thing. Loch is beautiful and even got used to noise of peacocks! Kitchen well equipped and easy to make meals for everyone. Had best view ever of Sea eagle at Scoor and excellent sighting of otter at Loch Scridden . Great holiday and if traveling with a group would recommend this house

    By Karen Holden stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fabulous house in a truly stunning location. Certainly helped by the 2 weeks of almost wall to wall sunshine! We were 2 families (5 children) for the first week and then 3 generations of one family the second week - from grandparents to an 11 month old, and the house suited us all perfectly with plenty of space and comfort. Brilliantly located to visit lots of places of interest - we really loved Calgary beach and Ulva island for walks and awesome food at the Boathouse. Perfect days also spent gazing at the house, whiling away hours by the Loch, spotting wildlife and planning our next visit!

    By Watts stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect base. lovely house with everything you require for a great holiday.

    By Ian Wainwright stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I agree with the previous comments.
    Wonderful house and just perfect for our family. It is well located in Mull with easy driving assess to all parts of the island. Highlights for us were Staffa, Calgary Beach, Tobermory and several interesting hikes. Our only problem with the holiday was that it was too short.

    By The Henderson Family stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    All of our group agreed that this, is a good house ,in a central location and amongst the best that we have stayed in years. The utility room It is ideal for walkers , it has good drying facitities. Kitchen and rooms are well appointed. The games room is a plus in inclement weather. Own transport essential.

    By Alan stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have walked the hills as a group for over 20 years and all agreed that this was the most fantastic house and location that we have stayed in throughout the years. The bedrooms and en-suites were exceptional, the kitchen diner huge and well appointed and the two lounges with open fires were cosy and great for a night in. Salen, a couple of miles away provides everything that a visitor could want from a well stocked shop to a welcoming hotel/bar at the Salen Hotel. The walking on the island was magnificent and we can't wait to return. Thank you.

    By Phil stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful large and spacious yet warm and homely house, in a beautiful setting and excellent location. The house is generously provisioned with real log fires, several reception rooms and a big easy kitchen. Good showers (needed after swimming in the loch!). Delightful friendly hosts (not at all intrusive), peacocks, fallow deer and hedgehogs all added to our delight. We almost hoped for a truly windy rainy day so we could just stay home! We loved it and are already planning our return for a longer stay. Thank you so much.

    By Sandra stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful house in a fantastic setting. May is a good time weatherise and for bluebells. Peacocks were a novelty! Great central base on Mull.

    By Jane Battye stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The perfect setting for our Easter break. Only 3 of us and the dog so we had masses of space! Mrs Harmer was delightfully welcoming and we made full use of this beautiful, well-equipped, comfortable house; perfectly situated for walking, cycling, painting, plus restaurants in Salen and Tobermory. We will be back.....!

    By caroline taylor stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    6 adults plus 4 children aged 10, 8, 6, & 6 years all had a great time. House very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Use of Loch Ba for sailing/canoeing restricted to non-fishing day (Sunday)! A good base for exploring Mull if you adapt to single track roads with passing places. Allow about 20 minutes for 7-8 miles car travel during peak season.

    By David stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have had a wonderful week at Macquarie house. The owners couldn't have been more helpful during our stay. The location of the house on the shore if Loch Ba is stunning. The house itself is superb, well equipped and comfortable. Lots of space to accommodate a larger party than ours, with room to find a peaceful corner or 3, and the games room was a big hit with my kids (14,10 and 7). A great base to explore the island. We have enjoyed plenty of trips out during our week. The local pony trekking at Killiechronan was great, and the local restaurants were super. I can thoroughly recommend the Sea Life Survey whale watching trips!

    By Morag McGough stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable house in a beautiful and peaceful location. We had the same friendly welcome that others have mentioned. Lots of different rooms and areas to retreat to for a bit of personal space when going with a large party. Well equipped with everything you may need - particularly in the kitchen. Weather wasn't great when we were there but a couple of times we enjoyed the opportunity it gave us to spend some time in the house relaxing in front of the fire and investigating the two bookcases full of books. We would definitely go again.

    By Sara stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the best and most generously equipped holiday home I have ever stayed in! Mrs Harmer made us feel most welcome. The house and surroundings are absolutely stunning! Peacocks and fallow deer including a white stag, inhabit the environs and were seen every day. The space in and outside the house allowed different family members to 'do their own thing' without impinging on others. Every possible bit of equipment was supplied, and the warm boiler/utility room with a pulley, plus a washing machine and tumble dryer, made drying clothes easy. We definitely hope to return.

    By Susan McEwan stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful spacious property in a great location for exploring the island. House is well equipped with wifi/freesat tv and a landline (mobile phones don't get reception at the house)

    By Alex stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful property on peaceful beautiful estate. Friendly welcome. Good amenities including games room

    By Scott stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful house in idyllic setting, super for families, very comfortable and friendly

    By Kate stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Accommodation was of a very high standard and we were afforded a warm welcome.

    By Richard Southgate stayed in April 2014

Add your review