Call us on 01688 400682

Kilbeg Cottage Reviews

23 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful break in a fabulous property. We saw white tailed eagles and red deer from the cottage itself as well as many other, smaller birds. We bought bird seed for the feeders to encourage them too. Kilbeg has the best equipped kitchen of any property I've ever stayed it! We wanted for nothing and Elizabeth is kindness itself.
    The cottage is comfortable and welcoming. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    By Tracy stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely cottage. Perfectly situated to explore the whole of Mull, although you don’t have to go far to see the amazing wildlife. We enjoyed bird watching from the cottage- plenty of small birds in the garden, curlews and lapwings on the hills and surrounding farmland, eagles overhead. The children enjoyed the garden. Comfy beds and everything we needed for a great holiday. Lovely walks from the cottage, be sure to go down to the river. I’m sure we will return.

    By Laura stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well this holiday has been a long time coming due to Covid but well worth the weight!! a wonderful welcome! This place is a true wonder! Fabulous cottage with everything you need, Comfortable and spacious also very warm didn’t need to use the real fire. Elizabeth and Hugh the owners will make themselves known to you and they are wonderful people too. Around the cottage the wildlife is abundant we were so lucky to have two weeks of great weather and hope that we will be back again soon.

    By The Jolliffe’s stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well this holiday has been a long time coming due to Covid but well worth the weight!! a wonderful welcome! This place is a true wonder! Fabulous cottage with everything you need, Comfortable and spacious also very warm didn’t need to use the real fire. Elizabeth and Hugh the owners will make themselves known to you and they are wonderful people too. Around the cottage the wildlife is abundant we were so lucky to have two weeks of great weather and hope that we will be back again soon.

    By The Jolliffe’s stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a very relaxing two weeks in this excellent cottage in a stunning location. Good walking from the doorstep especially along the river. Plenty of wildlife to be seen without leaving the cottage. Many thanks Elizabeth for the stay.

    By david and susan fleet stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow, what a cottage. Great location to really relax and enjoy the area. Plenty of great walks, stags, eagles and cows to keep you company.
    Both our kids loved the garden to play in.
    Owners could not be more helpful. Will book again for sure

    By Ben and Siobhan stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Such a beautiful Cottage and such a stunning location. One of the cleanest cottages we have stayed in where I felt I did'nt need to clean anything before I used it. It is equipped with everything you need. The glen is beautiful, we saw Sea eagles, buzzards, herons and there was also a Stag standing amongst the Highland Cows. This cottage is in such a peaceful place ideal to just chill out. The doggies loved the enclosed garden too. Oh my hubby saw bats flying around in the evening too. Hugh and Elizabeth popped along to check all was ok. Hope to return in the future.

    By Emily Mackie stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    our second stay in this beautiful location. Absolutley loved it. Cottage clean and comfortable thanks to Elizabeth. Hugh came to see all was OK. Wildlife didn't let us down. Sea and golden eagles, buzzards, deer on hills and a stray stag next to the cottage. Bats flying round in the evening and the black cat was still visiting on an evening. We were very lucky with the weather, sunny all week. The dogs love the enclosed garden . Will certainly book again.
    Thank you Elizabeth and Hugh.

    By L Sallis stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Immaculately clean cottage in a beautiful scenic location. Best holiday cottage we have ever stayed at. Would definitely recommend and will be returning. Ideal if you want to see some of the local wildlife highland cows, golden eagles, hen harriers, red deer and much more. Some amazing photos and memories to cherish forever.

    By Joyce & Michael Preston stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage and well equipped. Just hills, pine trees and highland cows for neighbours. Good walks round estate especially down by the river. Bumpy track to get to house but well worth it.

    By Jennifer stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really lovely cottage in superb location. Clean and well appointed and, important at this time of year, nice a warm!! Owners really attentive. Booked again for next year whilst we were still there... says it all!!

    By Phil & Jen Collier stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect in every way, so good we booked up again for 2 weeks next summer, mulls not bad either

    By Philip& Jacqui ollif stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in self-catering cottages whenever we go on holiday for many years now and this cottage was one of the best. Lovely cosy atmosphere, very clean, well equipped, fantastic views and very helpful, friendly owners. Couldn't have asked for more.

    By HELEN GLEN stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place to stay beautiful scenery and lovely walks enjoyed every minute staying in glen Forsa surrounded by highland cows

    By Tina selwyn stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage very clean with a very well equipped kitchen. Dining in the little conservatory while watching the highland cows and their calves wandering by the window after spotting white tailed eagles, golden eagles, otters etc. in the day was wonderful.
    The cottage is ideally situated for a base camp close enough to local amenities but with a feeling of being away from all hustle and bustle of everyday life.
    One of the best self catering properties we have stayed in.

    By Andrew and Kim Powell stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stayed at Kilbeg 16th to 23rd June first time visiting Isle of Mull the cottage was in beautiful location very well equipped very clean ideal, location for visiting any part of Mull, I would recommend Kilbeg to anyone dream cottage to stay in will return any time to it credit to the owners Hugh and Elizabeth

    By Michael Smith stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed here a few years ago. I used the cottage as a base for four weeks while writing 'Walking the Isle of Mull' guidebook. It was perfect for that. We were happy to come back, for the isolation as much as anything else, although anyone with a low-slung car might have problems on the approach road. That aside we were hoping for some starry skies, which we'd enjoyed previously. But it was not to be, alas. But that didn't detract from the pleasure of the place and the setting. We've used Isle of Mull Cottages previously, and would happily do so again, although I doubt we would return to Kilbeg...nothing wrong with it at all; it's just that there are other places that better suit what I have to do when I visit Mull...which is every year, sometimes more than once.

    By Terry Marsh stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really enjoyed our stay 5th to 12th May 18. The cottage was excellent and in a beautiful location giving easy access to the rest of the island. Good location for walks with the dog and river walks. If you are into bird watching and wildlife, this is the place for you. If any faults were to be highlighted, it was not with teh cottage or the local farmer who we found exceptionally accommodating and friendly, it is with Mull itself, The bars and food outlets need to take a leaf out of The Lake District and Cornwall's books and be more accommodating for dogs, after all, they are part of the family and you cannot leave them in the cottage or car while you go for a meal, so the alternative is that we eat in and the businesses lose out.
    'No midges'!

    By David and Joyce Olive stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow, what a fantastic cottage in the most idyllic setting. It was exactly as advertised and we felt very at home. It was so nice to have a fully enclosed garden for the dogs to enjoy. There is so much wildlife around the cottage, we spotted white tailed sea eagles, golden eagles, hen harriers and much more. The Isle of Mull is gorgeous and we definately found our 'little piece of heaven' at Kilbeg cottage.......we will return.

    By Debbie Huckle stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a find! The cottage was amazing,a fantastic place to recharge your batteries.Kilbeg is set in Glen Forsa,which is beautiful,you feel as if you are miles from civilization but in fact a central place to easily visit all the island.Nothing was missing from the cottage,,very much home from home.

    By Lesley tweddell stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely cottage. It feels idyllic and remote and yet it's only 10 minutes to all the local amenities. All the small touches - every possible accessory we could want, flowers on the table - made it a home from home. You can get everywhere on the island from here, and you can walk out the front door to some fabulous walks. It's a great place to recharge your batteries in a home-from-home setting.

    By Julie stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Kilbeg was everything we hoped for and more. Beautiful, tranquil location with no near neighbours and a fully enclosed garden for our dog to run around in. Despite the rural location the cottage is centrally located so it's a great base from which to explore. The cottage is extremely well equipped with lots of thoughtful little additions. Reading the guest book, we can see that guests often return and we can see why. We think Kilbeg is a special place to spend time.

    By Sian and Phil stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely week in Kilbeg cottage, superb location & very well equipped.

    By Kay stayed in July 2016

Add your review