Call us on 01688 400682

Dobhran Croft Reviews

76 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Best holiday ever. Cottage was lovely. Light and airy and very well equipped. The setting was stunning
    So peaceful and surrounded by wildlife. All sorts of birds, deer both red and fallow ( one of which visited to be fed and jumped the fence into our garden!! )We saw an otter in the loch and a sea eagle overhead. What more can you ask for!

    By Janet Collins stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first trip to Mull & we were thoroughly spoilt with Dobhran Croft. Comfy & very well equipped and the setting was amazing. Deer on the doorstep, golden eagle flying overhead & the weather was amazing too. Perfect.

    By Gillian & David Wright stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fabulous cottage. It has everything you need and more. In a lovely location with amazing views.The welcome hamper was lovely. The wildlife was fantastic. Booking was very straight forward. A wonderful holiday and would highly recommend.

    By Jackie Ralph stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    First visit to Mull and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Beautiful, cosy and well equipped. Lovely location with amazing views.
    Fully recharged after an amazing week.

    By Chris Plumstead stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fab little property and close to the Old Post Office. Just what we needed for a few days away from everything, somewhere quiet to unwind.
    Very well equipped kitchen and it has a tea pot ??
    Great walks along the beach.

    By Lorna Cunningham stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful little cottage, tucked away in a lovely rural location close to the sea. Renovated and decorated to a high standard the cottage has everything you need and the fabulous welcome hamper was a very much appreciated touch containing some tasty local delicacies. We loved our daily visit from ‘Denzel’ the deer who even jumped over the fence into the garden one day.

    By Colin stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our first trip to Mull and we couldn’t have picked a better place to stay! It was an amazing drive just getting to the property, which is situated in a most rural idyllic spot and the head of Loch Buie. The cottage had everything we could want for and more. Lots of attention to detail, very high spec and so warm and cosy. We didn’t even need the log burner and this is mid February! Flora, the owner, was an absolute treasure when our ferry was cancelled due to Storm Dudley and let us stay another night another cottage which wasn’t booked… which was also fabulous!

    By Judy Parker stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a superb little cottage scenery to die for a short walk to the beach and a great base to visit the rest of mull
    We come to mull every year and it still keeps giving
    The cottage has everything that you need and as for the wood burner that was the best coming back after a day out and sitting by that absolute bliss although we couldn’t get near it the dogs loved it to!
    Would highly recommend Dobhran Croft

    By Debbie morris stayed in January 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cosy and warm little cottage, beautifully restored. A long drive back up to the main road, so stock up on food - but so much to see nearby without getting into the car. Otters, golden eagles and white-tailed eagles within dramatic landscape. Lovely walks and a great bay for exploring.

    By Ellie Baker stayed in January 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had an enjoyable week at the croft. Lovely and cosy with the log burner on in the evening.
    Welcome hamper was a lovely touch. No faults would recommend it to others.

    By Eric stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a superb break at this lovely cottage and didn't want to leave. The scenery and wildlife are spectacular in Lochbuie and this cottage is in an ideal location for exploring Mull. The beach and The Old Post Office cafe are only 5 minutes walk away. We didn't even put the TV once, preferring to watch the wildlife in the garden! Loved it all and hope to return.

    By Helen Graham stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a perfect holiday on our first visit to Mull. The croft was absolutely the right choice. Superb location and very comfortable with LOTS of wildlife visiting the garden including red deer stag, red deer doe, Fallow deer and pheasants. The location is super just a few minutes walk from the beautiful Loch Buie. Will definitely be returning.

    By Ray and Eileen Thompson stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just returned from our second visit to Dobhran Croft and we were't dissapointed!
    The cottage is clean, modern and has everything needed for a comfortable stay.
    The wildlife in this area is wonderful and we were lucky to see red and fallow deer daily with 2 red deer stags visiting most days. We also saw otters, white tailed eagle, golden eagle and lots of geese with their goslings!
    Lochbuie has everything you need for a wonderful relaxing holiday including 'The Old Post Office' tea room and shop.
    We also enjoyed a few of Flora's lovely meals available from the 'Lochbuie Larder'!

    By NICKY AND GEOFF CREIGHTON stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    lovely well equipped cottage. very cosy and comfortable. fabulous wildlife especially the otters. we are about to book for next year.

    By Geoffrey Evans stayed in December 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The week before travelling we ordered 3 days of Flora's ready-meals and the Breakfast Box. This was a good decision. The food was excellent and very high quality. Portions were ample and represented tremendous value.
    Flora also contacted us when the Oban ferries were being cancelled. providing advice and alternatives to get to Mull. This was extremely helpful and eliminated potential stress!
    The cottage is excellent and dog-friendly. Extremely comfortable and well equipped. Great walks from the door. Would stay again.

    By Graham & Heather Fraser stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fabulous week in this lovely cottage in the most stunning location. If you want to get away from it all and be surrounded by beautiful scenery and wildlife (even in the garden) then this is the cottage for you. Great walks, we did a coastal one at Croggan where we saw two otters and even managed to get photos of them on the rocks ???? Just wished we had known about Flora’s meals beforehand as we came prepared for the week. We didn’t want to leave.

    By Sue & Mark stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a gorgeous croft in a fantastic location. It is beautifully furnished, comfortable and very well equipped.
    We are walkers and didnt need to drive anywhere else as there is so much to go at right outside your door. The wildlife seen from our loungeside seats was fab too.
    Really pretty and clean Croft. Thank you

    By Helen and Tom Smith stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage set amongst stunning scenery. Couldn't have wanted for more - clean, tastefully furnished and very well equipped. Many thanks to Flora for her friendliness and attentiveness. Would highly recommend and will certainly return.

    By Martin and Sue Britton stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well what can we say only .. WOW.. We are totally smitten with this beautiful croft and the perfect surroundings it's in . This is our 4th visit in less than 2 years and every time we get blowed away with the fantastic hospitality shown by Flora making sure everything you need is provided,to make your stay so homely. The croft is perfect, super bed, fantastic fire, kitchen had everything you need, and Florals meals are absolutely delishious. We can t to go back in spring and enjoy this beautiful place again. You even have nightly visits by Sasha a beautiful Fallon Deer . What a privalige .

    By Sharon Walsh/ Lee Howarth stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The scenery is fantastic and the people are great. The wildlife even in the garden was great from the Red and Fallow deer that visit to eat the birds peanuts to the Owls that came over each morning. Life on Mull is very simple and peaceful. I have booked already for next year to return to Dobharan Croft when hopefully I will get a great picture of a Sea Eagle the only one missed this year.

    By Colin Eadon stayed in November 2019

    • Star

    The scenery is amazing
    Just a shame the cottages isn’t
    It smells and is filthy
    After a 12 hour drive we had to clean the cottage oven full of grease the fridge stunk of rotten food terrible experience will definitely not return be aware stay well away

    By John Levine stayed in October 2019

    Editor's Note: We have to disagree with John's comments as we visited the property after receiving his complaint and found it to be in a good condition, in line with the feedback we have received from other guests staying at Dobhran Croft

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A magical place to stay. The setting of the Croft was perfect. Everything was a highlight. From the red deer in the field beyond the garden and caught on camera overnight., watching otters feeding on shore at Croggan and kinloch, sea eagles seen on several occasions. Life on Mull is very simple, uncomplicated and refreshing. Spent every day relaxing otter spotting and taking in the glorious views. Everyone must try the honesty mussel farm on the way to the Croft. Delicious mussels at a fraction of the price you pay elsewhere.

    By Jane and Jim stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Now stayed here twice, both times fantastic. The cottage is in a beautiful location with mountains around you and Lochbuie itself just a 5 minute walk away, where there is a lovely beach & scenery. Croggan is only a 20 minute drive away and well worth a visit as the view across the loch towards to the mountains is breathtaking and a good spot to otter watch. The red deer that sometimes come into the garden are amazing to see and a lovely bonus.
    The cottage is well equipped, spotlessly clean & the owner is friendly/helpful; not intrusive but only a short distance away if needed.

    By Alison stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a great week we had at the cottage, it was just perfect, beautifully laid out, had everything we could possibly need, views were amazing, we walked for miles in every direction, so much to see without going near the car, utterly peaceful week!

    By Lesley & Derek stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    a lovely cottage with beautiful views to Ben Buie ; the loch is nearby ; we did several walks in the neighbourhood (Carsaig Pier, 3 lochs, standing stones, the Mausoleum) and saw otters several times ; loved Flora's home cooked meals ; we will come back !

    By Jan en Sandra de Pooter the Netherlands stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We spent 2 weeks here the last week of June & first week of July. Very comfortable place. Enjoyed having the fallow deer in the field behind the croft, and a red deer in the front one evening. Many birds on the feeder Graham fixed up. Saw a sea eagle a couple of times above the cottage. Beautiful weather the first week enhanced the wonderful scenery.

    By Sue & Graham Hammond stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful, quiet location to reconnect with each other and connect directly with nature!
    From 'Trevor' the pheasant (as we named him) knocking on the patio doors in the morning for seed and visits from 2 red dear who came peering into the cottage, to the wonderful sightings of other local wildlife!
    The Post Office store at the bottom of the road is a brilliant idea and a welcome addition to the area plus Flora's ready cooked meals meant we had everything we needed for a relaxing week.
    Will stay in this area again and probably at Dobhran cottage.
    Thanks for a great week!

    By Nicky and Geoff Creighton stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful place to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the area. Great location with stunning scenery. Very dog friendly property. Cosy and loved the woodburner which was great with wild and windy weather we had. We had bright days when we loved walking locally. Highlight was spotting otters at Croggan. A fantastic place to stay. We would recommend 100%

    By Ashley stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've had the best stay ever, cosy, comfy, very well equipped cottage. Simple but stylish decor with every home comfort. Loved log fire, mezzanine bedroom felt like a log cabin! The patio windows are great for watching the local deer's, watch out for Sasha very friendly red doe. Fab location, enjoyed walking every day, spotted fallow and red deer. Golden eagles and an otter towards Carsaig. Final day porpoise in the bay. Floras a fab host great meals from Lochbuie Lardour and sausage and bacon from the Old Post Office so take some cash with you. Lovely welcome hamper too, thanks we will be bac

    By Julie Boothby stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I totally agree with all the other 5 star reviews, so on a personal note I am only going to add that it was faultless , fantastic and I hope I am able to return sometime. Mull is stunning and this cottage accompanies that perfectly! Thank you

    By Alison stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had an amazing stay at Dobhran Croft! The peaceful seclusion, taking long walks, coming back to the beautiful house, lighting the wood burner, looking at the stars... just what we needed!!! Most beautiful place! And Flora was so such a nice host. We also loved her pre cooked meals. Best holiday experience, highly recommended! Thanks for everything, we would love to return.

    By Julia and Mischan stayed in January 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second peaceful week in December at Dobhran. Suffice to say, we plan to return! A very small but perfectly formed place of tranquilly with kitchen stocked full of all equipment you could need. The cottage has been renovated to a high standard and the multi-fuel stove gets it cosy in minutes! We didn't need the back up electric heating.

    By Kate and Craig stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Small but perfectly formed, this beautifully renovated crofter's cottage has been lovingly brought back to life. Cleverly thought-out contemporary design has been blended sympathetically with the traditional. Cosy and warm on the coldest of winter days (and nights), the cottage enjoys what has to be one of Mull's finest locations. At the foot of the magnificent Ben Buie and footsteps away from a stunning coastline, Dobhran Croft is not only blessed with breathtaking landscapes but surrounded by an abundance of wildlife. In short, this is a cottage which you'll want to come back to.

    By Jane and Shaun stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a great location. Lots of nice personal touches in the decor and layout of the cottage. Incredible wildlife and great walks (easy and more challenging) right on the doorstep. A lovely feeling of being away from it all without actually being too far away from anything. Highly recommended.

    By Mike & Nan Smith stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a great location. Lots of nice personal touches in the decor and layout of the cottage. Incredible wildlife and great walks (easy and more challenging) right on the doorstep. A lovely feeling of being away from it all without actually being too far away from anything. Highly recommended.

    By Mike & Nan Smith stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely fantastic cottage with everything you need. The views are amazing. It's walking distance to the beach in a nice a quiet area with plenty of wildlife. Would 100% recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all.

    By Will & Jess Smith stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our 2nd stay at Dobhran Croft (our 7th visit to Mull) and the island just keeps on giving! We discover new secrets every time and there's still so much more to explore. Dobhran is a beautiful cottage and we'd highly recommend it to anyone seeking a peaceful, tranquil location.
    Tom & Flora were extremely welcoming and very helpful. Flora's menu is amazing and it's well worth ordering a few meals in advance. Try the fish pie!
    The local wildlife is (sometimes quite literally) right on the doorstep.

    By Richard & Joan stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    fantastic location for wildlife and never used the car in the 2 weeks we stayed at Dobhran Croft .The cottage was excellent and we had a wonderfully relaxing holiday. We would be very happy to return.

    By david and susan fleet stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A most wonderfully located property that is decorated and equipped to the highest standard. With red deer in the garden, golden eagles frequently flying above and if you're patient, otters on the loch, it is the perfect location. Will definitely return. Oh, do not forget to order food from Flora, the meals are outstanding

    By Tracy Williams stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage which allowed us to explore the local coastline without having to use the car every day. Lots of wildlife to watch - some without leaving the cottage. A peaceful and restful week.

    By Jane and Ian stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed for 8 nights March 17th- 25th, the cottage setting was perfect and interior was very well laid out and all needs were catered for. Flora was very helpful and the meals that we ordered from the Lochbuie larder were excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful break.

    By John and Val stayed in March 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stayed Dec 31st for 6 nights.
    A very cosy and tasteful little home from home with abundant relaxation or adventure on your doorstep - as you choose Our weather was challenging but this in no way detracted from a perfect winter's break. To be repeated -hopefully1

    By Kate and Craig stayed in December 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage which is very warm and cosy. The Christmas tree was a lovely touch given we were staying 23 December - 30th. The walk along the coast, just a short distance from the cottage, was stunning. Flora's fish pie was perfect and to be highly recommended. We would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Many thanks to Flora and Tom for your sensitive preservation of this lovely croft house.

    By Cathy and Paul stayed in December 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, superb location, loads of wildlife, weather was dramatic, which made for cosy times in the cottage ! . Meals were lovely and made cooking so easy. Ideal for relaxing or for long walks. Bed was very comfy and cooking facilities and washing machine etc were great items to have as well. I would love to return and would recommend.

    By Nikki and kevin stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second time staying in this beautiful Croft and we think it was even more lovely than the first time! It was a chilly day when we arrived and the owner had lit the fire for us which was just such a lovely touch. The cottage is lovely and warm and cosy and I wouldn’t hesitate to go ‘out of season’ again. The cottage has the WOW factor and the owners are such lovely people. Our 2 dogs adored the enclosed garden and we loved our visits from the friendly deer (tip: bring bird food if you want to make friends with the deer!). Lochbuie is a blissful place with beautiful quite walks from the cottage. It would be impossible to not unwind in this magical cottage.

    By Lucy Cooke stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful and cosy cottage in stunning remote location, wonderful walks from the doorstep and plenty of wildlife to watch. The old post office down on the beach was so handy for a hot drinks and nibbles while sitting watching the black necked divers and otters. Would recommend dobhran cottage and lochbuie for relaxation, peace and quiet.

    By Sharon and George Jack stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely, well equipped croft in a stunning location. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility and walks which were available directly from the door, Laggan Sands etc. Lots of wildlife to be seen. Wonderful views everywhere you turned! Thanks to Flora and Tom for the tasty meals and for being so helpful.

    By Arthur & Kathy stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Such a wonderful holiday. The cottage was so welcoming to get back to after a long day hunting down wild flowers and looking at birds and views out in the wilds.
    Forecast had been lots of rain, but we managed to miss most of it while we were out and about, and even had some sunshine. We did have a spectacular night-time storm - Flora very promptly replaced the phone that was zapped by the lightning. The internet connection worked well, and surprisingly survived the storm.
    Flora's fish pie and venison casserole were both really delicious. We bought bacon and steak from the Old Post Office freezer, and both were very good.
    We were privileged with three separate otter sightings, including a pair catching fish and playing together. We also enjoyed close encounters with the pheasant visiting the garden - he enjoyed eating a sprinkling of muesli, and would come right up to the back door. We'll have to come back for the eagles, though we did see plenty of other birds.
    Apart from a visit to Tobermory on arrival day, we spent the whole week on the southern part of the island, and still had many places we hadn't explored. Can't wait to visit again.
    (Wild Flower Walks on Mull by Lynne Farrell was handy - bought in the Tobermory book shop, but also available online.)

    By Di and Richard stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage in a stunning location - just perfect.
    Top tips - put the car keys away & enjoy what's right on the doorstep. Look up when you step outside - there are eagles up there. Pause by the water - the otters will come by in a while - the walk to Glenbyre was an otter hotspot. Flora's food is amazing - order something in advance & it'll be there for you when you arrive. Share a little of your lovely welcome hamper - sprinkle some grated cheese outside the back door & put a spoonful of jam on a fence-post. You'll be amazed at how many new friends you make!

    By Richard & Joan stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow! We feel very privileged to have been able to stay in such a beautiful cottage in such a beautiful location. Neither of us can remember the last time we felt so relaxed after a holiday. We loved the lack of crowds and abundant wildlife! Flora and Tom were very friendly and helpful and everyone we talked to on the island were lovely. We had very much a wildlife agenda and ticked pretty much all the boxes we'd wanted to. We've rebooked for this year and will be ordering Flora's lovely meals again. Counting down the days until another trip to magical Mull....

    By Cooke-Peter family stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first stay on Mull and we absolutely loved the peacefulness of Dobhran Cottage and Lochbuie. The cottage was perfect and we spent every evening sat outside watching the sun go down behind Ben Buie and watching the incredible wildlife ( too numerous to mention). We were very lucky and had a week of clear blue skies. We had food delivered from Lochbuie Larder which was delicious- and Flora and Tom the owners are great. We both agree that our stay here was our best, most relaxing holiday ever !

    By Georgina Tarling stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very lovely cottage in an ideal, quiet situation. The wildlife was all one could expect and more. From the garden we saw red deer, fallow deer, hen harrier, woodcock, snipe, shelduck, yellowhammers, peregrine, buzzards, song thrushes, meadow pipits and a host of other birds. A red deer even came into the garden to eat bird food! A very short walk to Loch Buie provided views of otter and common dolphins, as well as Great northern and red throated divers. Golden and white tailed eagles are within half an hours drive, and the rest of the island is easily accessible from a leisurely drive up Uisg and Spelve. Great dog walking locally (particularly if doggy likes water). A mixture of weather added fantastic light and mood to the area.

    By paul leatherland stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage in a great location. Very comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen, excellent bathroom, comfortable sofas, great views and delicious meals from Flora's very imaginative Lochbuie Larder. An amazing week, with mostly good weather and sightings of eagles (golden, white-tailed, juvenile, adult - you name it, we saw it!).

    By Liz & Andrea stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Previous reviews say it all really. Super cottage very warm and cosy. Bed really comfortable. We had a good selection of Flora's meals which were very welcome at the end of a wintry day and delicious! Loads of wildlife to see in the vicinity of the croft.

    By Gillian Holland stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We cannot fault this great wee cottage, very comfortable with all you need for the perfect break away on Mull. The log burner is a fantastic source of heat and make the whole croft very warm indeed.
    Dobhan is a very good location surrounded by lovely walking opportunities, including spotting otters in the bay.
    don't let the single track road into Dobhan put you off, as this adds to the Mull experience.

    By Stephen, Anne and Archie (the dog) stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable, well-equipped cottage and a very friendly welcome from Flora. We pre-ordered some meals, which were really tasty, and we had a great week exploring Mull and Iona over the Christmas period, in spite of storms Barbara and Conor! Lochbuie is a very beautiful and welcoming place.

    By Phil & Deborah stayed in December 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect little cottage for 2 (plus dog): really beautifully presented, with everything you need. Cottage was lovely and warm too. We pre-ordered a few meals from Flora - which was a genius idea, great food and saved all the effort of cooking. Great location for walking and wildlife spotting - even watched a hen harrier while eating breakfast!

    By Rob and Jenny, with Willow. stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first visit to the island in way too long ( 12 years!!) It was wonderful to return to stay in such a comfortable, cosy croft, especially as the weather made November proud! Wrapped up well in our waterproofs and wellies & dog coats, we explored Moy Castle and Laggan Beach and the track beyond Croggan - enjoying pelting hail but then the most glorious rainbows - not minding the ouches and very content knowing the lovely heated croft awaited with a stove to be lit and a lovely hot shower too. It sounds like we really should have tried Flora's catering but unfortunately we were only there for a short break - we'll save this treat for next time hopefully. Dobhran Croft has everything you could possibly wish for - excellent in everyway. Thank you so much.

    By Therry & Ralph with Bonnie & Wiggins stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the cottage and the location, well described in other reviews. We booked at very short notice, too late to order any meals, however, the wee shop on the beach had some in the freezer so we enjoyed one lovely meal. The welcome pack of biscuits, chocolate and Mull cheddar was appreciated. We hope to return.

    By Fiona stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A tasteful and stylish conversion of an old croft house. Perfect for two people and a wonderful location, less than 500 metres from the sea. Lochbuie and Laggan bay are beautiful and set in the stunning backdrop of Ben Buie and surrounding hills - it is a wildlife treasure trove ! You don't have to drive anywhere, just spend a week walking the coast and the hills soaking up the peace and beautiful wilderness of this hidden gem. Our stay was made even better by the delicious meals supplied by Flora ! We will definitely be back !

    By Andy & Shirley Miller and Jack the Flatcoat stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Dobhran Croft and Lochbuie exceeded all my expectations. The cottage has been renovated beautifully and has given me all sorts of ideas for renovating my own wee decrepit hoose. I made the wise decision not to cook and Flora's meals were absolutely delicious (especially the fish pie!;-) We abandoned plans to scoot around the island and took the opportunity to stand and stare. In Lochbuie the more you walk and look the more you see.

    By Carol & Snuggy the Collie stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage with everything we could have wanted in a superb location. Views from the cottage and walks from the doorstep make it the perfect place to stay to enjoy The Isle of Mull at its very best. Already planning next year's visit.

    By Charlotte Lindley stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage, stunning surroundings. Highly recommend. Cottage was immaculately clean and owners were very attentive. Flora makes delicious meals!

    By Jennifer Turner stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage in superb location. Very well equipped with the bonus of the "old post office" for restocking the larder. Good local walks with abundance of wild life. Not often you need to stop the car as a peacock has draped it's tail across the road.

    By John Miles stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A charming and cosy cottage, on its own but not remote with a lovely multi-fuel fire.. Great views of Ben Buie and only a 15 minute drive back to the main road but Otters, Golden Eagles and Hen Harriers are always a possibility. Flora's meals are excellent and great value.

    By Oliver Woodman stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We absolutely loved our stay at Dobhran, and Flora was lovely and helpful. It was pretty stormy in January, but the croft was so cosy and warm, and the perfect retreat after a bracing walk. The view of snow-capped Ben Buie from the bedroom was stunning. For a romantic and peaceful break in a beautiful area, it's ideal. We hope to return!

    By Nicola Lang stayed in January 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A quirky and comfortable cottage on this idyllic island. Lochbuie Larder is a delight in this consumer driven world. Flora's meals are delicious especially after a long day out watching wildlife.

    By Peter & Rona Ford stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely stay at this warm and welcoming cottage which is ideally situated for walking, cycling and enjoying the wildlife. It is an extremely quiet and idyllic place to stay. We can confirm that Flora's meals are indeed delicious and The Old Post Office on the beach is a delight. Flora and Tom were most helpful easy to contact if required.

    By Julie and Adam stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, comfortable cottage in a wonderful location. We didn't purchase anything from Lochbuie Larder, but Flora's 'Honesty Shop' by the beach was a wonderful find in today's consumer driven world! Excellent place, excellent location, what more can we say.

    By Jon & Ruth Bagnall stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really, all the reviews are true. Great, tastfully renovated cottage for two in a great location. First time on Mull was amazing. We could not imagine a better base from where we could discover the island and relax. We enjoyed very much the meals of Flora. Highly recommended.

    By Liesbeth & Bas Schreuder stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic peaceful cottage. Very comfortable and beautifully renovated.

    By Pamela Galloway stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a great cottage in a great location. The cottage has been renovated to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. We ordered a number of Flora's Lochbuie Larder meals that where amazing, the best home-cooked meals! Plenty of walks and sights in Lochbuie and around, as well as being a good base for the rest of the island. My only concern is that Dobhran Croft won't be a secret for long! Will definitely be back!

    By Ryan & Laura Tait stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautifully renovated cottage in one of our favourite parts of Mull, Lochbuie. The wildlife all around the cottage was amazing and the sea and Moy Castle a very short walk away. A lovely week and we would love to return someday. A very special place, and pet friendly!

    By NATALIE CHINN stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the most idyllic cottage you could wish to stay in. Flora's cooking is wonderful and, with there being no shops for around 12 miles, it was good not to have to worry about meals. The wood and coal provided for the fire meant that the cottage was always warm and cosy. The wildlife on the island is amazing. Remember most of the island is one track roads with passing places so you have to be confident when reversing! The tame deer which visits you in the evening to eat the newly laid grass is such a sweetie. It's no good trying to shoo her away, she just comes back again once your back is turned. I will certainly be coming back again.

    By Ruth Watson stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great little cottage, very cosy and remote, well situated for walking and wildlife spotting, would use again.

    By Robert Forrest stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Dobhran Croft is such a lovely cottage. Beautiful setting with Ben Buie just out the back door and visible from the bedroom sky light window and floor to ceiling sliding doors. The kitchen is well equipped and very inviting. Wood and coal was provided for my stay and was wonderful to have a fire each morning and evening in the wood burning stove in the living room.
    The sea is a short 2 minute walk from the cottage. Beautiful views! St. Kildas Church, Moy Castle and the Stone Circle were all just a short walk away once you are down at the sea.
    The owner of the cottage is an amazing cook and I was able to order in some meals so that I didn't have to do much preparing. She even went so far as to get a grocery list from me and made sure I had enough food for my arrival.
    I look forward to going back again someday, as it was a magical place to stay on my very first trip to Scotland!

    By Terry McMillan stayed in February 2015

Add your review