Call us on 01688 400682

Derryguaig Smiddy Reviews

36 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our stay at the cottage. Clean, cosy, very well equipped. Location fab. More than we hoped for. Would recommend without hesitation. We hope to return.

    By Mcnabs stayed in February 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Exactly what was advertised. Perfect location and a fantastic place to stay. It could do with a larger tv and reliable dvd player for the dark and wet nights. Nearest electric car charger is 18 miles away and is a bit pricey and unreliable, so cottage could do with its own charger with the ability to pay extra for its use.
    Make sure you bring all your food etc as the prices in the few shops are extremely high, we went out of season and very few places open even in Tobermory. So we had packed lunches and flasks everyday. We went for the wildlife and wasn’t disappointed Can’t wait to go back.

    By Paul and Deb. stayed in February 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have been to Mull many times but this was our first visit out of season. The cottage is furnished and equipped to a very high standard, we couldn’t really fault it. Very cosy with the heaters on and there is continuous hot water. The location is incredible and all areas of the island are easily accessible. Be aware the track up to the house is passable but very muddy in prolonged rain- don’t take your brand new car!

    By Jill stayed in November 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a brilliant location - very warm despite the gales and rain we had during our stay. Good base for walking Ben More - also recommend heading over to the waterfall close to the cottage; a peaceful spot.

    By Emma and Paul stayed in November 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage is a real home from home, with everything you could possibly need. Fantastic location with outstanding views of the loch and Ben More and easy access to all the local wildlife and abundance of things to do in Mull. Already booked for a return visit next year!

    By Jill stayed in October 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the second time we've stayed in this bothy and have booked again for Sprjng 2024.
    The location is the main feature: 360 degree views, no immediate neighbours with WTE, otters, hen harriers, red deer etc on your doorstep.
    Tips: bring DVDs / games/ books - if the weather is dire and you decide to stay in , the WIFi is intermittent and not strong enough for some downloads or SMART TV.
    Also do not sit directly on the metal outdoor furniture as the rust stains clothing.

    By Nova stayed in October 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It was the first time for us on the Isle of Mull although we were in Scotland for many times. We immediately took the island to our hearts!!!
    The cottage was MARVELLOUS!!!
    Extraordinary clean, warm, cosy, furnished of high standard and well equipped. Situated in a wonderful location with stunning views to the hills, Loch na Keal and the isles and coastline.
    We enjoyed every day (although had extreme weather conditions).
    We will definitely return!

    By Michaela & Jörg stayed in October 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful cottage in an amazing place. Really comfortable, warm and well equipped. Surrounded by mountains and lochs with magnificent views. The only neighbours were sheep and cows. Access to the delights of the Mull landscape and Iona. We will definitely return.

    By Greham Raynham stayed in September 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful, remote and comfortable, the cottage was a lovely place to spend a rather rainy week. There were otters on the loch and so many different small birds to observe.

    By Elizabeth stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Another wonderful week at the Smiddy. The cottage was imaculate and the location rugged and beautiful. Buzzards frequently hunting across the foothills of Ben More were great to watch along with the occasional Eagle. A walk down to the waters edge in the evening gave us wonderful sunsets and then otters to watch. At nearby Loch Ba, herrons,buzzards and a magnificent White tailed Eagle were on show during a lochside walk. Plenty to see further afield using this peaceful retreat as our base. Look forward to our return.

    By Liz Caines stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a beautiful and peaceful location. Great views of Ben More from the bedroom and of the loch from the sitting room. Sitting outside on the patio you can see both the mountain and the loch. There is now garden furniture (table and chairs on the patio and a bench by the front door). The cottage is comfortable and well equipped and there are lovely walks to do nearby or directly from the cottage. We also went to the islands of Ulva and Iona and to Lochbuie, all of which we enjoyed. We loved the cottage, and hope to return.

    By Judith stayed in July 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. We were spoiled by the amazingly hot weather and were glad of a cool swim at Calgary and Uisken beaches which were fantastic and recommended for a visit.
    The cottage makes an excellent base to come back to after a long day. We sat on the patio with a glass of wine and watched the eagles and Red Deer towards Ben More several times. We never did see an Otter, maybe next time.
    There is however room for improvement, we would have liked a larger patio and some furniture as we had to use our own picnic table and chairs.

    By David and Lyn stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in a stunning very remote location Spotlessly clean and well maintained inside Unfortunately the garden furniture in the pics didn't exist and the garden bench was broken

    By Chris Thompson stayed in May 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Smiddy is perfectly located - isolated with amazing views of the loch, the mountains and the stars. The cottage was warm and cosy which was really appreciated during a week of high winds, torrential rain, snow and hail. It’s well furnished and the kitchen was especially well equipped. We were able to walk and cycle from the door to enjoy the scenery and the wildlife.

    By John & Charlotte stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A really special place to stay in the most stunning of areas. Greeted by warmth plus lovely biscuits & a bottle of wine. The views ever changing with the light and times of day. The short walk to the nearby stream and waterfalls added to the perfect feeling of remoteness. Our trip had us seeing both Golden & White Tailed Eagles, Otters a Peregrine, etc. We hope to return!!!

    By Chris & Annie King stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the second time we have stayed in this cottage and we hope we can book again in the future. The location is what makes this place so special. So many walks in the hills and along the coast without even needing to use the car! Great wildlife all around and stunning views that change by the minute. The cottage is warm, clean and cosy with a good standard of furnishings.

    By Helen stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just returned from a fantastic stay at Derryguiad Smiddy, what a fantastic location, so peaceful and the Cottage was beautifully furnished had everything we needed, would highly recommend

    By Diane and Rob stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place to stay but the outside furniture listed is not provided / not to the required standard. Despite previous feedback on this subject this situation has not being improved at the time of our visit this year so we have decided not to rebook next year for the fifth time. Shame it’s not as good as it once was.

    By Chris Hayton stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is of a good standard and has great views of Ben More and Loch na Keal. Very comfortable and modern equipment. Unfortunately our weather was very poor with wind and rain.

    By David & Gillian Steeley stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Sorry but with well over 40 self-catering holidays in the past, we were really disappointed with the Smiddy and felt it was seriously overpriced. Unimaginatively converted, nice view east but such small windows in living room it was difficult to see the loch so no real view except from porch and bedroom. No knee space for bar stools so useless. Basic equipment and instructions lacking and poor Internet access. We won't be going back.

    By Lesley stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a very comfortable and cosy cottage with everything you need to enjoy your time on Mull. We would come again and also have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

    By Sarah Brown stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a very comfortable and cosy cottage with everything you need to enjoy your time on Mull. We would come again and also have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

    By Sarah Brown stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first trip to Mull and choosing The Smiddy was perfect. Wonderfully cozy for two with everything we could need for our stay. The wake up views of Ben More were amazing and to watch the birds of prey every day was great. Great position back from the road and close to the waterfalls . Stunning week. We will be coming back again.

    By Liz Caines stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location. Excellent facilities and furnishings. Will definitely return. Thank you to all at Isle of Mull cottages for a most enjoyable holiday.

    By Kevin and Michelle Brown stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is so lovely, comfortable and well-equipped, and in such a picturesque location. We loved the peace and quiet and the opportunity to just unwind away from everything. We were lucky to have warm sunny weather during our stay which just added to the beauty of the views.
    We went to Mull for walking and wildlife and both were amazing.

    By Iain and Pauline stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed on Loch Na Keal for many years and this little place is perfect for the isolated location and the luxury of the interior.
    The furnishings are high quality and its well equipped.
    We are hill walkers so, for us, we dont need to drive often as everything we need is right outside the Smiddy. Coastal walks on Mull are also amazing with the chance to see the otters and other sea life.
    The supermarket at Salen is well stocked but good to come prepared so not putting extra pressure on the local resources in COVID times. Dont forget the face masks!
    We will book again.

    By Helen and Tom Smith stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Can only further validate the previous comments. An ideal place to unwind with the Smiddy being faultless accommodation. We'd highly recommend the Lochbuie Larder for quality locally produced food.

    By Ray and Sue stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just returned from the best holiday we have ever had. The Isle of Mull is the most beautiful place. The Smiddy is in the most stunning location with spectacular views . It was spotlessly clean and everything you could wish for. Lighting the log burner at the end of a long day out exploring the island was lovely. Every turn in the road was breathtaking. The wildlife was incredible. We saw golden eagles, sea eagles, hen harriers, buzzards, owls, and lots of sea birds. We were also lucky to watch otters playing in Loch na Keal. We visited all the standing stones on the island. It is a magical pl

    By Jacquie and Stuart stayed in November 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic property and waterfalls above the smiddy added even more,massive storm on 1st night - morning resulted in being unable to go either way along loch road local lads cleared route to salen so able to tour island, scridain side cleared on thurs. All added to excitement of break. Sea eagle tour is a must, and birds to watch from smiddy are amazing. BRILL !!!

    By george fraser stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing stay, helped by glorious sunny weather. Cottage is gorgeous, so comfortable, warm, (we never even lit the fire) and well equipped. Well placed for getting around but you feel gloriously alone. Fantastic wildlife, walking, sea food, gin, and the people of Mull are the best.

    By Caroline & Antony stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fabulous cottage in a very beautiful, secluded location. Had a fantastic week and have booked to come back next year.

    By Georgina Tarling stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed at The Smiddy for the New Year for a week. It is a gorgeous, romantic, little cottage, very comfortable, warm and well-equipped (even has a slow cooker and everything you might need to bake cakes!). It is hidden away whilst still offering amazing views over the hills and Loch Na Keal. We spent our days walking or driving around the island and were entertained by some amazing wildlife (white-tailed and golden eagles, sea otters playing together on the rocks, hen harrier out hunting...). Perfect accommodation in a perfect spot. Would go back in a heartbeat!

    By Veronique & Alistair stayed in January 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very lovely cottage, well situated for visits around the island. Fantastic view over Ben More from the bedroom. Lots of wildlife at the doorstep: white tailed eagles and otters (if you're patient) almost every day.

    By Ilse Lemmers stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful base for visiting all of the Isle of Mull. Beautiful views of Ben More and Loch Na Keal. Warm and cosy with the log burner on and a bottle of Tobermory Distillery's finest.

    By Michael Rosenfeld stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy, well equipped cottage with amazing views over the loch. Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday on the Isle of Mull.

    By Carol stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A first class location absolutely ideal for two people. Total peace and quiet in a lovely cottage.

    By Brian Hubbard stayed in July 2018

Add your review