Call us on 01688 400682

Craig Ben Lodge Reviews

25 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our delayed fortnight (thank you COVID), was all we had expected. The drive up involved a diversion to Lochaline (Oban ferry cancelled) but worth the angst. Our 5th visit to this beautiful house. We had some spectacular weather with mirror reflections in the loch. I painted and cooked for the walkers, cyclists, runners and fisherman. Just perfect. It is truly a home from home and we will return... thank you.

    By caroline taylor stayed in November 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A truly wonderful place to stay in a perfectly peaceful and beautiful setting. The house has everything you need and so much space for a wonderful holiday with the extended family. The rooms and bedding were quality and very comfortable and we were able to cook up a storm in the kitchen using the Aga. So much nature surrounds the place and you can spot wildlife so easily from the windows. The children loved the well equipped games room, large rowing boat and croquet lawn too! Mull is brilliant for day trips, Staffa, Iona, Tobermory, Calgary Bay and so many more. We had a great stay!

    By Simon stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The lodge and the location are both stunning. The lodge and cottage are perfect booked together for large parties. There were 15 of us, and we had an amazing time. The lodge was very well equipped, and comfortable. We made use of the rowing boat, and the bbq. The garden was full of birds due to the well stocked feeders, and supply of bird food. The views were incredible, we saw golden eagle, sea eagles and deer from the lounge window. At night we watched the bats flying.
    We watched the otter at Croggan, and went on trips to see the puffins on Lunga, and whales/dolphins out in the Sound.

    By Sue Biddlecombe stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house and setting are magnificent with lots of wildlife to be seen from the house or very nearby.. The birdlife was amazing! The owner and the housekeeper were marvellous and very accommodating! The house was really well equipped and very spacious.
    Sadly their were a few things that needed attention, the dishwasher didn't work (but a new one was on order) and the metal gates were very heavy and needed to be lifted open. But even that did not spoil a fantastic holiday in a fabulous house!

    By Barbara Parkinson stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely fabulous house and setting. Lovely relaxing views of the loch and hills. We brought are own feeder for the birds and were priviledged to have redpoll on them with loads of siskins and coal tits. Food delivered from the Old Post Office. Very good. Visit the nice coffee place at Lochbuie. Go to Croggan for guaranteed otters. Golden Eagles nesting in the Glen leading to Iona and Short Eared Owls and Hen Harriers nesting and displaying from the layby near Loch Don. Visitied Iona to hear corncrake and climb the hill to view across to Tiree. Divers in Lochbruie but missed the dolphins.

    By Gordon Dougan stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a superb house in a remote location, but with every modern amenity especially in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the views and location stunning. We saw otters on two occasions and would endorse other comments on the lochbuie larder food; excellent and at a very reasonable price.

    By Jonathan Dossetor stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Criag Ben Lodge is in a superb remote location next to picturesque Loch Uisg. The bedrooms were comfortable, modern and clean and the kitchen was equipped with virtually every utensil known to man! We made use of the rowing boat when we could and had the Loch to ourselves. The dining room and living room were great for relaxing and enjoying the view (spot the deer on the hills opposite in the evening). We made full use of the table tennis in the games room when the weather was unkind. It's a great place.

    By Ged Wright stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved Craig Ben Lodge(2nd visit) improvements to new en-suites are great. Sorry do feel the easy seats down stairs need to be replaced. They were there 2 years ago and were uncomfortable then and not any better. The garden so much better now with easier access to the loch having the gardens cleaned out. The property would benefit with a hot tub. It’s size would allow for this. Definitely would visit again if sofas were replaced. TV not important to us but comfort downstairs is.

    By Wendy Mitchell stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay with the family in this beautiful house. The setting was incredible and the use of the boat an added bonus. The house is very well equipped with everything you could wish for. It’s position, 25 minutes drive from the nearest shop, means that you get to experience “wild Scotland”, with its deer, golden eagles and otters and seals off the nearby beach, about a 15 minute cycle ride away from the house. Altogether fabulous.......we loved it!

    By Tony Sharpe stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    1st visit to the lodge, our 6th visit to Mull. The house and location were both stunning. We had amazing weather so were lucky enough to see the views from the house at their very best. Had a lovely time in the lodge, a very comfortable and well equipped house to holiday in. Food deliveries by Flora from Lochbuie Larder was an unexpected bonus and luxury. Beautiful food at a reasonable price.

    By catherine nelson stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    3rd visit to the Lodge, last stayed about 8 years ago so many improvements since then. Wonderfully warm and comfortable house with spectacular views over the loch. Glorious sunshine, otter-spotting, beach picnics, cycling, painting and evenings round the dinner table with gorgeous fire in the grate, family, friends and dogs. Just perfect.

    By caroline taylor stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Couldn't agree more with the previous reviews - warm, comfortable, clean,well equipped, fantastic location and a stunning property. The wildlife eluded us but we heard the deer, enjoyed the bird feeder and had a geology walk and talk by local expert James Westland. Great local food and the company of friends made it a week to remember.

    By Sue Moran stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Delightful property, amazingly comfortable and spacious in a wonderful location - ideal for a mixed group aged 8 months to 70+, we all had a great time. The house a good acoustics for the fiddler, the loch was rowed and swam, we walked, ran, had lazy days and visited other parts of Mull as well as Staffa and Iona. The bird table was a great hit with both humans and the wide range of birds that visited it! It was a first visit to Mull for most of us, and both the island and Craig Ben make for a very memorable holiday.

    By Liz Broumley stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay and are very grateful to the owners. This was our second visit and we learned two things: Craig Ben is great fun even when the weather is bad (we had wall-to-wall sunshine on our first visit), and you don't need to go far from base. We saw a Golden Eagle, and dolphins in the bay at Lochbuie and seals and an otter in the part of Loch Spleve closest to the house at about 9'30-10'00 pm. Having said that, the trip to Staffa was amazing too ...

    By Jim Lawley stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What an amazing house in an amazing location. With the exception of the couches which could do with a couple more springs, the house was absolutely perfect. The images don't do it justice, it's actually nicer! The house was very clean and presented well, I don't think there was one thing that we wanted for, a home from home. Very comfortable. The bird feeders and supplied food were a bonus as was the TV package. Quality linen, superbly equipped kitchen (and that is from a very demanding cook), great laundry, just perfect! We will be back (if you'll have us!) and as it was our sixth visit to the Island and the first to this house we cannot praise it enough. The wildlife as always was great, Otters spotted on the sea loch on the road to the house with buzzards, dear and songbirds a plenty. And the bats, brilliant! We did have to travel to see Eagles but as always they were they to say hello and even sent a juvenile to say goodbye on the way to the ferry. Thanks again Mull and thanks to the family who have opened such a great house up for us mere mortals to experience.

    By Mr & Mrs P stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great week .weather not too bad.house very comfortable and well equiped. lovely views of the loch and hills. a lovely part of mull. would love to come back to craig ben. thank you for letting us stay in your house. hope to be back in 2018.

    By james Ross stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The first thing I must say is that we had a great 2 weeks at the house. The location is remote and beautiful. Lovely views from the sitting room and enough space for our party of 7 to spread out. Our son spent many hours swimming in the loch. I can't give it 5 stars because there were a few management/ maintenance issues. The living room fire smokes badly making it unusable. The thermometer on the Aga does not work. The sofas are in advanced state of collapse so only comfortable to lie in and not to sit. There isn't a single pan in the kitchen suitable for frying, poaching or scrambling an egg although there are gadgets for all sorts of other things. Despite these niggles it makes a fine base for a group of friends and family to spend time together and I heartily recommend it for this.

    By Lesley Marron stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ah! What can I say about this place, it far exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with. The house is warm welcoming and just lovely. We were treated to visiting deer, swooping buzzards and hungry birds of all kinds and that was without leaving the house. The loch is great for swimming, kayaking, fishing or just staring at from the living room chairs. Can't recommend the place enough. Great spot for exploring Mull, Just be sure to factor in time for sheep and cow traffic! The island is just teeming with wildlife and coming back to this house after a days exploring is so special. Would go back in a headtbeat, thanks for sharing this wonderful spot.

    By Claire Cawkwell stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved this place and enjoyed being Lord and Lady of the Manor, if only for a week! Our 2 Cocker spaniels made themselves at home, loved running up and down the stairs, which kept our 14 year old Cocker fit! It was a great location, overlooking the loch, we shall certainly bring our kayaks next time. There is a good amount of walking from the property. There was everything there that you would need, extremely well equipped. I am missing it already and would definitely return.

    By Maureen Duncombe stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fantastic location and a spectacular house. We had a really great week here and hope to return. Our two year old granddaughter loved the size and openness of the place and hardly stopped running around and exploring. Extremely well equipped. Bedding is high quality and immaculately clean. Some of the furnishings are a bit tired looking but still very comfy. The reason we have not given it 5 stars is the poorly maintained garden, drive and entrance which gives a bad first impression.

    By Ian & Marjory Clyde stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I agree with the other comments on this site.
    It is difficult to recommend Craig Ben Lodge too highly.
    It was a privilege to stay and it is very generous of the owners to share their house in this way.
    On a historical note, it is worth saying that the distinguished novelist Stanley Weyman stayed at Craig Ben Lodge in the autumn of 1905. Weyman loved nature and rural tranquillity; a resident of Ludlow in Shropshire, he once said " ... quiet as life is in this old town, I often long for a quieter life. I would love to live in the country, to see cattle outside my window." He certainly knew what he was doing when he went to Craig Ben Lodge!

    By Jim Lawley stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Clean, comfortable, elegant, well equipped, beautiful setting, amazing wildlife. Nice touches with the Aga, unlimited logs for the fires and all cleaning materials. I would also use Flora from Lochbuie Larder again - amazing lamb and fresh scallops.

    By Peter Aitken stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our entire family loved Craig Ben Lodge. The location was so picturesque and remote and this was exactly what we wanted. The walled garden was great for our puppy miniature Dachshund. The house had everything we could need and more. The games room saw many a table tennis tournament and plenty of other board games to keep the kids entertained. Plenty of wildlife to view on your doorstep too. As others have said if you visit Lochbuie a visit to the honesty-box run The Old Post Office is a must. We regularly had duck eggs, venison sausages and a superb topside joint which was cooked to perfection in Craig Ben Lodge's Aga. The Aga was a new
    Cooking tool for myself but Ive left wanting one! Oh and if you think this old Victorian lodge will be cold and breezy think again we were toasty all week. All in all a superb holiday home....sorry a grand holiday home; book and you'll not be disappointed. Thank you David for letting us stay in your home from home, thank you Sarah for the housekeeping and the welcome eggs (much appreciated), thanks Bob for keeping on top of the maintenance and thanks Becky at Isle of Mull Cottages without whom we would not have found this home.. Gavin

    By Gavin Chilvers stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place to stay in a lovely remote location. The lodge is very well equipped and an ideal place to stay for a large group. Highly recommended

    By Chris Gilbane stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our third fabulous extended family holiday in this beautiful lodge. Great views, wonderful large rooms to relax in, with everything you could want for a comfortable holiday. Can view Red deer, Eagles and Buzzards from the windows and seals and otters in the nearby sea loch. Thank you to both the owners and housekeeper for a wonderful holiday.

    By Catherine Watts stayed in August 2016

Add your review