Call us on 01688 400682

Cnoc Deaghuinn Reviews

23 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful, isolated cottage within walking distance of coastline and idyllic beaches. Spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Great island for wildlife spotting - we'll be back. Thank you.

    By Juliet Parker-Smith stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful little cottage situated between Dervaig and Calgary signposted for Croig, immaculately clean, very nicely equipped and decorated, if you want peace and tranquility then this is the place for you.

    By NJ stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great week in this nicely presented , warm and comfortable cottage .It is well equipped with everything you are likely to need during your stay. We even had a welcoming committee of inquisitive deer .
    The cottage is in a great private location but is within easy walking or cycling distance of several lovely beaches and just a short drive to the local shop. A lovely relaxing place to stay.

    By Richard & Viv stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic, well-equipped cottage to explore Mull, particularly the beaches to the North and Tobermory. Surrounded by nature yet still miraculously walking distance from a terrific restaurant, the Am Berlinn. Missing it already!

    By Matt P stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely week at the cottage, it's in a great position to explore the nearby beaches of Port na Ba, Langamull and Calgary. Had a beautiful drive down to Iona, blue skies all day. You need an early start as there are so many places to stop and take photos. We were very comfortable in the cottage, and the wood burning stove is a real treat to have on in the evenings. As already stated in previous reviews, the Dervaig shop is really well stocked, and has things that we can't get from our local on the mainland. Thank you.

    By Marion Broad stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a great 2 week stay in this homely comfortable cottage. We are big nature fans and also love to walk and love the peace and quiet of the countryside so the location was perfect. We saw Buzzards every day and were very close to its roost. We also saw deer every day sometime in groups of up to 7. Also saw rabbits and hares and a wide variety of birds that fed every day from the feeders in the garden. Can really recommend the local shop in Dervaig, well stocked and very friendly. Spent one really enjoyable day on Ulva, dont miss this small island. However the roads are a bit of a nightmare !!

    By Martin and Adele Bayley stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a very enjoyable stay in this perfect cottage in a perfect place. The cottage is homely and comfortable and was very well equipped for our needs. The 3 beaches within walking (or biking) distance are all beautiful and much much quieter than Calgary. Am Birlinn restaurant at the end of the road is excellent, as are the pub and shop in Dervaig.
    We are serial visitors to Mull and it is easy to find yourself in a place that requires lots of driving. Not here though, where we found everything we wanted within a walk or a cycle.
    Thank you Emma, just perfect.

    By B,S,D&B Reinsch stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our stay in this delightful cottage. We found it homely, cosy and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. The cottage retains its original charm yet feeling modern, light and airy. The location is perfect for exploring the island, close to the sea and beautiful beaches and stunning walks on your doorstep. Most importantly you are spoilt for local cafes at Calgary, glengorm and the highly recommended Am Birlinn restaurant. The shop at Dervaig is stocked with absolutely everything you need. Thank you Emma for your caring approach in keeping us informed prior to arrival.

    By Andrea, Nick, Jessie and Esther (Gloucestershire) stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay at this very special cottage. It felt like home from the minute we arrived - warm and cosy and simply but stylishly furnished. The whole place had a lovely atmosphere inside and out and as soon as you walk up the small hill behind the house and see the views you know your long journey has been worth it. We loved the walks to local beaches which are stunning and our kids swam every day. Can also recommend the boat trip from Ulva Ferry to Staffa and cycling sround the local tracks and single track roads is fantastic! Highly recommended ?

    By Cal and Family Nottingham stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage in a great location, home from home would definitely return. Village shop well stocked and food at local pub very good with welcoming staff.

    By D Cope stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage with super decor inside. We saw some wildlife and even rainy days were pleasant. Games provided were used and the Wifi was good - important for kids and adults alike. Walked down to Am Birlinn for dinner twice - great food on your doorstep. Close to Calgary Bay for days at the beach and not too far from Tobermory for groceries. We would definitely come again!

    By The McLays stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a peaceful location. Red deer greeted us on our arrival watching us unload, resident golden eagle flew over the cottage every day - walked down to the harbour and up the farm track to find a white beach and watched the seals every morning. Mum had the ground floor bedroom and bathroom as at 79 her mobility is limited and found everything suited her perfectly. Bought food for the birds and watched them feeding and listened to the several cuckoos calling . Had a fabulous holiday. The 500 mile car journey to get there was definitely worth it.

    By Elizabeth Leatham stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage and settling is wonderful. Quiet and with birds on the feeder outside the lounge window, sheep on the hillside (although they did desert us for most of the week) and red deer to watch and photograph on three occasions. Although the weather was a very Scottish mix of sun and rain we loved the Island and the cottage was an excellent base for exploring.
    The Chaffinches and Sparrows love loose bird seed but the Blue tits prefer the peanuts. We bought food for them and watched them devour it.
    A beautiful place to stay

    By sheila stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in great location - well and thoughtfully equipped. Deer, buzzard and eagles on the doorstep and a great restaurant and sandy beaches within walking distance. Long drive to get there but we definitely hope to come again.

    By Hutchinson family stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I couldn't recommend this cottage enough. Warm, cosy, comfortable and so tastefully furnished and decorated.The cottage had everything we could have wished for - home from home, actually much nicer! The cottage setting was idyllic. Stunning views! We explored several beautiful, quiet beaches nearby and went on some lovely walks. Lots of different wildlife to see too. We cooked lots of our evening meals at the cottage as it was so comfortable and had everything we needed – lit the log burner and settled in for the night. The Am Berlin restaurant, 2 mins walk, was delicious. A very special stay!

    By The Hall Family stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A real home from home in the most stunning location. One of the best holiday cottages I have stayed in, warm and cosy over a wintery week by the fire, just what we wanted. A few lovely day trips out to explore - with stags, seals, eagles and the like all on our doorstep. We even got to see the Aurora twice! We will definitely be returning to Mull and what a great asset it is having the Dervaig shop and bakery only minutes away! Good local restaurants apparently too - but closed from Nov 1st... maybe next time!

    By Tamasine Smith stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous week. Wonderful cottage and very comfortable with everything you need, including good wifi. Lovely furnishings and decorations. We saw minke whales offshore 15 min walk from the cottage and had our own resident golden eagle visiting most days. Great walks on Ulva, but Thresnish Headland walk beats them all.

    By Anita stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just returned from a great Easter break at this lovely cottage. Perfectly located on the north west of the island, there are great places to explore whatever the weather. We particularly enjoyed the sunsets and the view of the stars at night... breathtaking. The cottage was brilliant and provided everything we could’ve needed, and we even got a friendly ‘hello’ from the sheep each morning!! Highly recommended.

    By The Corns stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Can’t rate this cottage/house highly enough. Whilst there were only 2 of us, the cottage would comfortably cater for 6 adults with 3 large bedrooms and ample space in both the living and dining room areas. We had sub zero temperatures but the combination of the heating and the wood burner meant that the cottage was cosy throughout. The kitchen had everything you would need for a self catering stay and the quality of the furnishings was excellent throughout. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into the overall style and finish which makes it feel like a home as opposed to a rental property. Location wise you have great walks direct from the property and are only a 10 minute drive from Calgary Bay which is a must see. Tobermory is circa 9 miles, and the pub in Dervaig is just 3 miles distant. In terms of wildlife then lost for words. We saw White Tailed Sea Eagles every day that we were there, within walking distance of the property, including 1 individual which casually flew directly over the cottage. Red deer abound and we were fortunate to see otters in Calgary Bay. Having been to Mull before 2 of the best walks we’ve undertaken have to be Calgary Bay and Treshnish Point both within easy striking distance of the cottage. If you’re a night bird then there is almost zero light pollution due to the location of the property, amazing if you’re fortunate enough to have a clear sky. Suffice to say we will be back.....

    By George stayed in January 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a superb stay. The house was perfectly placed for exploring the north of the island and also not far to Ulva Ferry to catch boat trips out. A good back porch area with washing facilities is ideal if you are a walker and come back a bit damp and muddy.

    By John stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cnoc Deaghuinn is a delightful cottage and thoroughly recommended. Warm and welcoming with charming décor and wildlife on the doorstep. Don't be put off by its position in the north-west. Breath-taking coastline and hidden, sandy coves within walking distance and a good choice of roads from Dervaig, all with stunning scenery, to carry you around the island. We had a wonderful week.

    By Brian, Rosie and Olly Clifton-Sprigg stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the third time we've been to Mull and we've stayed in different places every time. Croc Deaghuinn did not disappoint - it is a wonderful house and had everything we needed. It is in a great location with Croig, Calgary Bay and Dervaig all close to the house. We had a great meal at Am Birlinn restaurant which we just walked to down the track. Our 2 year old loved the house and garden and had us up the hill behind the house most days. The views up there are amazing. You can see Ardnamuchan Light and beyond that are Muck, Rum and Skye. We had amazing weather the week we there, which always helps but Mull is a great place no matter what the weather is doing.

    By Kevin, Alison & Nicholas (Ayr, South Ayrshire) stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A sunny and comfortable holiday in this lovely cottage. We have particularly enjoyed the beaches at Calgary Bay and Port Na Ba, the local walking and cycling, the sunsets, and views from behind the cottage and eating at Am Birlinn restaurant - high;y recommended.

    By C Ditchburn stayed in June 2017

Add your review