Call us on 01688 400682

Brackens Reviews

46 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great stay in a well equipped cottage. The only draw back was the size of the bed in the master bedroom, a king size would be much more comfortable. The cottage is in a great village with a fab pub and well stocked shop. It’s a great base for visiting different parts of the island.

    By Caroline stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely bungalow in a great location with excellent views of the area around Dervaig. The village store is well stocked so there is no real need to shop for food etc in busy Tobermory. Would definitely hire Brackens again.

    By Norman stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our 4th stay at Brackens and as always the cottage is clean and tidy on arrival. The cottage has fantastic views from every window, just remember to bring plenty of bird food. Lots of walks straight out of the front door, and the walk down to the pub is a must. We love this cottage so much that we've already booked it for September 2023, starting to feel like our second home. Thanks Michelle & Iain for another perfect holiday.

    By Neil and Jo stayed in July 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a great week in Brackens..even if the weather was against us,!
    Very spacious rooms.the kitchen dining room has loads of space. WiFi was good.
    The only thing we thought was the garden need a good cut back and weeding.
    Loved feeding the birds and watching them from the window.
    Cottage in a great location for touring that end of Mull.

    By Carol, George,Angie,Rab, and Josie the dog stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An excellent property that is spacious and well equipped. Great location on the edge of Dervaig, a base for exploring the rest of the island. Would love to return

    By Tom Bateson stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A really comfortable & cosy cottage in a beautiful location. We had a great stay & would come again.

    By Susan stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second time staying at Bracken and again the cottage was spotlessly clean, hence why we've booked again for a special occasion in July 2022. The weather was increadle. Perfect location for exploring the North of the island and seeing the vast amounts of wildlife. Added bonus of having a pub less than a five minute walk away. Thanks guy's for the percet holiday during this whole covid mess.

    By Neil & Joanne stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful week of glorious weather in a very comfortable property. Brackens had everything we needed and more. It was in a great position for walking and exploring the fabulous coastline and was a super property to return to. A fabulous stay, thank you!

    By Karen H stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A real home from home. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Very well equipped and furnished. Wine and shortbread provided as a welcome gift. Personalised welcome postcard from the owners was a lovely touch. We are so glad we picked Dervaig and this cottage. Couldn’t fault it. :)

    By Hannah stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had an excellent time at Brackens, a very comfortable and well equipped cottage in a lovely location.
    The owners were very helpful too.
    We would definitely go back again.

    By Alexander Smart stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brackens is a fabulous property in a stunning location and close to the amenities in the village. There is plenty of space for 6 adults and lots of storage to keep the place clutter free. The kitchen is very well equipped and the tumble dryer was a bonus! We've stayed in lots of cottages in Scotland and this certainly ranks high in our experiences. Thanks so much Iain and Michelle.

    By Dawn Williams stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a ‘5 star’ property in a wonderful location. You won’t be disappointed when you walk through the front door. As all the reviews say - spacious, clean, well equipped & lovely owners.
    And then there’s the island of Mull. A magical place that just keeps revealing new secrets.
    Book Brackens, explore Mull - you’ll be hooked!

    By Richard & Joan stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a ‘5 star’ property in a wonderful location. You won’t be disappointed when you walk through the front door. As all the reviews say - spacious, clean, well equipped & lovely owners.
    And then there’s the island of Mull. A magical place that just keeps revealing new secrets.
    Book Brackens, explore Mull - you’ll be hooked!

    By Richard & Joan stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brackens is a beautiful holiday home in a fantastic location and setting. It is furnished to a high standard with a well equipped kitchen. The views from the house are stunning and it’s well located to explore around Mull. We would absolutely recommend Brackens.

    By Caroline Johnston stayed in June 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is in a gloriously attractive location, convenient to the local pub & shop (both run by really nice, friendly people btw) and is clean, spacious and faultlessly equipped. Sadly the stock of DVDs, games & books had been cleared out to minimise COVID risks but the owners gave us perfectly fair advance warning of this. Brilliant weather during our stay helped but even allowing for this we could n't fault the property at all. Great value for money.

    By Andy Gudge stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the cottage and location. Excellent value for money. Very responsive owner.
    Can’t wait to return once everything is back to normal after COVID-19.

    By Martin B stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our fourth visit and booked for September again so the property, position and Island are doing something correct. The islands need our support.

    By Jane T stayed in March 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brackens is good value for money, especially for a short break in the winter. Great location with shop and pub close by. Lovely enclosed garden and spacious garage. Cosy and spacious cottage and Xmas tree was a nice touch. Will be back.

    By Katie T stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely stay at brackens cottage over Christmas. The cottage was filled with everything you need for a cosy stay. The log fire was perfect to come back to after a long day out on the local walks. Calgary bay is just 5 mins drive down the road with a lovely beach to explore with the dogs. Thank you !

    By Rob and Charlie stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both loved this place., in fact we could of just moved in ,it was so warm , spacious well equipped , and the views were excellent, .we were lucky with the weather so we got out every day , walking and looking for wildlife.
    The village is so canny and we enjoyed your fireworks they were excellent,
    We spotted white tailed eagle ,sea otters and a golden eagle on the day we left.
    We shall be back
    Mark , Karen and Skye the border collie

    By Mark and Karen stayed in November 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our third visit in a year so the owners and Mull are definitely doing something right. Will be back soon.

    By Jane and Kevin Cumbria stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    As by others there are loads of great things to be said about Brackens: Spacious, well equipped, great views from all the windows, lovely garden, nice welcome pack.... The location is brilliant too, nice pub, well provisioned shop, close to other places of interest (Tobermory, Calgary, etc.). We had a very relaxing week. The only slight negative is that we found the beds very uncomfortable and struggled to get a good nights' sleep. I feel bad for knocking a full star off for this, I would have given 4.5 if half stars were allowed, but felt I had to deduct something...

    By Ian & Edith stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely fantastic cottage and location would definitely revisit and recommend. The consideration given by the owners to items available in the cottage to make it home from home was second to none. Could happily have moved in. Only home for 2 days and already missing it. Until next time.
    Thank you to the owners for the lovely extras as a welcome gift - greatly appreciated.

    By Karen & Robin Naylor & Family stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What's not to like about Brackens.... Great location, extremely clean and fantastic views. We will definitely be back at Brackens in the near future.
    Highly recommended.

    By Neil & Joanne stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved every minute here. Had 2 grandchildren with us and they had a great time with all the toys and games at the house. We had a week of fantastic weather and spent 2 days on Calgary beach and then a boat trip to see the puffins - well worth the money. The cottage is in a great place with loads of walks etc right on the doorstep. We will be back.

    By Sam Blenkinsopp stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful spacious cottage with enough room for us, our dog plus daighter, husband & 11 year old son visiting from USA.are now in love with the Isle of Mull!
    Brackens ticked all our boxes-3 good sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, dining area, wifi and dog friendly! Dervaig is perfect spot with well run & stocked shop & pub with good food drink & atmosphere! Calgary beach nearby, Tobermory and Glengorm plus Duart Castle all highlights for a superb holiday. Brackens managers great also!!

    By Max & Carole Carr stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful well equipped house with a lovely enclosed garden. Very close to local amenities and a good starting point for driving around the isle. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely recommend the Brackens.

    By Kim Powell stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    a fantastic 3 week stay to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary - loved the flowers - what a wonderful house and village and so many beautiful places to visit with stupendous views at every turn ... all made better by the perfect weather ... thanks so much for letting us share your little piece of paradise

    By Wendy Mack stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Unbelievably wonderful week. The house has everything and is ideally situated meaning we had more time to enjoy places than our last Mull visit. The weather was hot so less driving was ideal. Enjoyed birds in the garden, seeing hares at Glengorm, deer, wheatears at Calgary and walks at Aros Park. Shop and pub in the village excellent. All three of us had a spectacular holiday, thank you.

    By stephanie johnson stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Enjoyed our stay in Brackens, lovely cottage, very spacious and immaculate . Welcome pack was an unexpected bonus. Great location, would highly recommended.

    By Linda stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a very enjoyable stay in Brackens. The accommodation is brilliant - we agree fully with all the praise in the other reviews.
    We have visited Mull 8 times in the last 6 years, this was our first stay in Dervaig. It's an excellent area for wildlife viewing (Sea and Golden Eagles in the area - 1 view of a sea eagle from the lounge ). There are many walks from the doorstep. Brackens is 'pet friendly', so a great place to take a dog. The village shop is a 'tardis' and the pub is a 2 minute walk away.
    Tobermory is only 7 miles away, the road is winding but plenty of passing places.

    By Paul & Pam stayed in March 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We booked Brackens as a 50th birthday present for our Italian friends and what a birthday present it was! The house the decor the appliances and all the touches made it truly memorable. We had an amazing time, next time we will be mindful that the pub is closed Monday till Wednesday night in the winter! The property is a gem of Dervaig and we would love to come back

    By Mark stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brackens is superb.
    It was our first time staying in Dervaig which is a lovely village with plenty of good walking and wildlife on the doorstep as well as local shops.
    Brackens is so spacious and every little detail has been thought of and provided for guests.
    A massive kitchen, light and bright with all mod cons fitted/provided.
    Big lounge with large windows giving an awesome panoramic view which within 10 minutes of arrival gave us great views of 2 White Tailed Eagles practically overhead the cottage.
    Cannot recommend Brackens highly enough and we will definitely return.

    By Andy & Liz stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our second visit to Brackens after our initial visit last September. and we have a third visit booked for later in the year. The property has been extensively and tastefully kitted out, so much so that Yotam Ottolenghi could arrive and dish up his wonderful food with what is in the kitchen.
    Spacious doesn't really do the property justice. If the weather is inclement and you don't fancy walking al fresco, a couple of laps of the kitchen and living room will keep you fit!
    Don't just take my word for it, look at the other five star reviews here and do yourself a huge favour and stay.

    By Kevin stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house was perfect but unfortunately the Isle of Mull is closed to all tourists in February... There was nowhere open apart from Tobermory, which was quite a difficult drive in the dark. We went there 3 times but I always had the thought of the drive back. I feel we should have been warned.

    By Jennifer Cullen stayed in February 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Super cottage in a lovely village. We enjoyed spending the day in the cottage as much as the warm welcome when getting in from a long walk - particularly the sofas and the log burner! Would highly recommend.

    By Hannah and Ed stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb, comfortable, dog-friendly cottage in a village with good walks, friendly bar, well stocked shop and (expensive) bakery. The cottage has an enclosed garden - perfect for dogs. It's just 5 miles to Calgary Bay which is a perfect beach for a dog. Felt very welcome when we found wine and biscuits in the kitchen. Best cottage I've ever stayed in anywhere.

    By Kevin Curley CBE stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    On arrival meet with biscuits and wine which was very welcome.
    It felt like home straight way, wish we could have picked it up and brought it home with us, all furniture was very comfortable which is usual, so this was a great bonus especially for my wife she eyed the reclining chair up straight away.
    Great enclosed garden for the dog very safe.
    We turned the Seattle round several times to sit and watch the birds feeding out of the big window which was plentiful.
    Take plenty of bird food with you if you like to feed them.
    By far the best cottage we have had the pleasure of stopping in.

    By Stephen and Glynis stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great ! We've visited Scotland 2-3 times a year for over 15 years and stayed in some pretty impressive cottages, but this one has to be in the top three. Clean, well presented. Lovely kitchen, spacious with everything to hand.
    Dog friendly garden, 'Steve' the horse over the back gate (Don't know if he's Steve or even male, but that's how we tagged him)
    White tailed eagle landing on the hill and then flying across the valley in front of the house, a very welcome bonus.
    We don't very often revisit cottages we've gone to, but !!!!
    We'll be back (if we're allowed??).

    By Ian, Barbara, 'Bracken' & Skye stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It's very easy to write a '5 star' review for this property. 'Brackens' is quite simply a lovely house & Dervaig is a beautiful location. Great choice of furniture & a superbly well-equipped kitchen. It's comfortable, spacious & has more cupboard space than you could possibly need!
    Loved all the garden birds just as much as the eagles.
    Great walk to Quinish Point.

    By Richard & Joan stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've visited Scotland many times over the year, particularly the islands and more remote parts, but this was our first trip to Mull. We fell in love. What a beautiful island! The autumn colours never failed to disappoint, the wildlife, the coastline the mountains.
    The cottage is wonderfully well equipped, the large lounge, (TV and interweb for the kids!), huge kitchen and the 2 bathrooms were spot on. The garage was great for storing the bikes, there was a good sized porch/utility room which is ideal for wellies etc. Loads of cupboards. Smashing views & friendly local shop too!!

    By Ben Storey stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely stay at Brackens. Cottage so comfortable and well equipped with lots of really thoughtful personal touches to make our stay special. Beautiful location within the village of Dervaig with stunning views. Loved the wildlife which visited the garden and eagles which flew over on a regular basis! Is also a fantastic spot for star gazing due to the dark skies, excellent views of the Milky Way. A 5 star recommendation from the whole family.

    By Vicki Jenkins stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very well equipped property in a great location. Already booked for next year.

    By Kevin and Jane stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely dog friendly cottage in a fantastic location. So lovely just to look out of the windows at the views, and the wildlife, especially the birds visiting the garden and those flying over (including the occasional sea eagle we think). The village is a very short walk down the hill and has a well stocked shop and pub which serves food. We had a great week despite mixed weather and would love to return.

    By Catherine and Ian stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent stay for us, such a beautiful landscape. The cottage is immaculate and everything is to hand. Ian was extremely helpful with his TV knowledge too.

    By Jennifer and Alex stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brackens was so perfect - it had everything, even baking equipment so the kids could bake a cake on a rainy day. All 3 generations loved it, with the kids romping in the garden, Grandma enjoying the birds on the feeder and us nipping off to the pub for a pint. As for wildlife - what can we say?! Five sightings of white tailed eagles out of the window and a sparrow hawk on the gate. Highest recommendations!!

    By Hannah stayed in August 2018

Add your review