Call us on 01688 400682

Macquarie House Reviews

12 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have walked the hills as a group for over 20 years and all agreed that this was the most fantastic house and location that we have stayed in throughout the years. The bedrooms and en-suites were exceptional, the kitchen diner huge and well appointed and the two lounges with open fires were cosy and great for a night in. Salen, a couple of miles away provides everything that a visitor could want from a well stocked shop to a welcoming hotel/bar at the Salen Hotel. The walking on the island was magnificent and we can't wait to return. Thank you.

    By Phil stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful large and spacious yet warm and homely house, in a beautiful setting and excellent location. The house is generously provisioned with real log fires, several reception rooms and a big easy kitchen. Good showers (needed after swimming in the loch!). Delightful friendly hosts (not at all intrusive), peacocks, fallow deer and hedgehogs all added to our delight. We almost hoped for a truly windy rainy day so we could just stay home! We loved it and are already planning our return for a longer stay. Thank you so much.

    By Sandra stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful house in a fantastic setting. May is a good time weatherise and for bluebells. Peacocks were a novelty! Great central base on Mull.

    By Jane Battye stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The perfect setting for our Easter break. Only 3 of us and the dog so we had masses of space! Mrs Harmer was delightfully welcoming and we made full use of this beautiful, well-equipped, comfortable house; perfectly situated for walking, cycling, painting, plus restaurants in Salen and Tobermory. We will be back.....!

    By caroline taylor stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    6 adults plus 4 children aged 10, 8, 6, & 6 years all had a great time. House very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Use of Loch Ba for sailing/canoeing restricted to non-fishing day (Sunday)! A good base for exploring Mull if you adapt to single track roads with passing places. Allow about 20 minutes for 7-8 miles car travel during peak season.

    By David stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have had a wonderful week at Macquarie house. The owners couldn't have been more helpful during our stay. The location of the house on the shore if Loch Ba is stunning. The house itself is superb, well equipped and comfortable. Lots of space to accommodate a larger party than ours, with room to find a peaceful corner or 3, and the games room was a big hit with my kids (14,10 and 7). A great base to explore the island. We have enjoyed plenty of trips out during our week. The local pony trekking at Killiechronan was great, and the local restaurants were super. I can thoroughly recommend the Sea Life Survey whale watching trips!

    By Morag McGough stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable house in a beautiful and peaceful location. We had the same friendly welcome that others have mentioned. Lots of different rooms and areas to retreat to for a bit of personal space when going with a large party. Well equipped with everything you may need - particularly in the kitchen. Weather wasn't great when we were there but a couple of times we enjoyed the opportunity it gave us to spend some time in the house relaxing in front of the fire and investigating the two bookcases full of books. We would definitely go again.

    By Sara stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the best and most generously equipped holiday home I have ever stayed in! Mrs Harmer made us feel most welcome. The house and surroundings are absolutely stunning! Peacocks and fallow deer including a white stag, inhabit the environs and were seen every day. The space in and outside the house allowed different family members to 'do their own thing' without impinging on others. Every possible bit of equipment was supplied, and the warm boiler/utility room with a pulley, plus a washing machine and tumble dryer, made drying clothes easy. We definitely hope to return.

    By Susan McEwan stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful spacious property in a great location for exploring the island. House is well equipped with wifi/freesat tv and a landline (mobile phones don't get reception at the house)

    By Alex stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful property on peaceful beautiful estate. Friendly welcome. Good amenities including games room

    By Scott stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful house in idyllic setting, super for families, very comfortable and friendly

    By Kate stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Accommodation was of a very high standard and we were afforded a warm welcome.

    By Richard Southgate stayed in April 2014

Add your review