Call us on 01688 400682

Dobhran Croft Reviews

33 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, superb location, loads of wildlife, weather was dramatic, which made for cosy times in the cottage ! . Meals were lovely and made cooking so easy. Ideal for relaxing or for long walks. Bed was very comfy and cooking facilities and washing machine etc were great items to have as well. I would love to return and would recommend.

    By Nikki and kevin stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second time staying in this beautiful Croft and we think it was even more lovely than the first time! It was a chilly day when we arrived and the owner had lit the fire for us which was just such a lovely touch. The cottage is lovely and warm and cosy and I wouldn’t hesitate to go ‘out of season’ again. The cottage has the WOW factor and the owners are such lovely people. Our 2 dogs adored the enclosed garden and we loved our visits from the friendly deer (tip: bring bird food if you want to make friends with the deer!). Lochbuie is a blissful place with beautiful quite walks from the cottage. It would be impossible to not unwind in this magical cottage.

    By Lucy Cooke stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful and cosy cottage in stunning remote location, wonderful walks from the doorstep and plenty of wildlife to watch. The old post office down on the beach was so handy for a hot drinks and nibbles while sitting watching the black necked divers and otters. Would recommend dobhran cottage and lochbuie for relaxation, peace and quiet.

    By Sharon and George Jack stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely, well equipped croft in a stunning location. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility and walks which were available directly from the door, Laggan Sands etc. Lots of wildlife to be seen. Wonderful views everywhere you turned! Thanks to Flora and Tom for the tasty meals and for being so helpful.

    By Arthur & Kathy stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Such a wonderful holiday. The cottage was so welcoming to get back to after a long day hunting down wild flowers and looking at birds and views out in the wilds.
    Forecast had been lots of rain, but we managed to miss most of it while we were out and about, and even had some sunshine. We did have a spectacular night-time storm - Flora very promptly replaced the phone that was zapped by the lightning. The internet connection worked well, and surprisingly survived the storm.
    Flora's fish pie and venison casserole were both really delicious. We bought bacon and steak from the Old Post Office freezer, and both were very good.
    We were privileged with three separate otter sightings, including a pair catching fish and playing together. We also enjoyed close encounters with the pheasant visiting the garden - he enjoyed eating a sprinkling of muesli, and would come right up to the back door. We'll have to come back for the eagles, though we did see plenty of other birds.
    Apart from a visit to Tobermory on arrival day, we spent the whole week on the southern part of the island, and still had many places we hadn't explored. Can't wait to visit again.
    (Wild Flower Walks on Mull by Lynne Farrell was handy - bought in the Tobermory book shop, but also available online.)

    By Di and Richard stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage in a stunning location - just perfect.
    Top tips - put the car keys away & enjoy what's right on the doorstep. Look up when you step outside - there are eagles up there. Pause by the water - the otters will come by in a while - the walk to Glenbyre was an otter hotspot. Flora's food is amazing - order something in advance & it'll be there for you when you arrive. Share a little of your lovely welcome hamper - sprinkle some grated cheese outside the back door & put a spoonful of jam on a fence-post. You'll be amazed at how many new friends you make!

    By Richard & Joan stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow! We feel very privileged to have been able to stay in such a beautiful cottage in such a beautiful location. Neither of us can remember the last time we felt so relaxed after a holiday. We loved the lack of crowds and abundant wildlife! Flora and Tom were very friendly and helpful and everyone we talked to on the island were lovely. We had very much a wildlife agenda and ticked pretty much all the boxes we'd wanted to. We've rebooked for this year and will be ordering Flora's lovely meals again. Counting down the days until another trip to magical Mull....

    By Cooke-Peter family stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first stay on Mull and we absolutely loved the peacefulness of Dobhran Cottage and Lochbuie. The cottage was perfect and we spent every evening sat outside watching the sun go down behind Ben Buie and watching the incredible wildlife ( too numerous to mention). We were very lucky and had a week of clear blue skies. We had food delivered from Lochbuie Larder which was delicious- and Flora and Tom the owners are great. We both agree that our stay here was our best, most relaxing holiday ever !

    By Georgina Tarling stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very lovely cottage in an ideal, quiet situation. The wildlife was all one could expect and more. From the garden we saw red deer, fallow deer, hen harrier, woodcock, snipe, shelduck, yellowhammers, peregrine, buzzards, song thrushes, meadow pipits and a host of other birds. A red deer even came into the garden to eat bird food! A very short walk to Loch Buie provided views of otter and common dolphins, as well as Great northern and red throated divers. Golden and white tailed eagles are within half an hours drive, and the rest of the island is easily accessible from a leisurely drive up Uisg and Spelve. Great dog walking locally (particularly if doggy likes water). A mixture of weather added fantastic light and mood to the area.

    By paul leatherland stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage in a great location. Very comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen, excellent bathroom, comfortable sofas, great views and delicious meals from Flora's very imaginative Lochbuie Larder. An amazing week, with mostly good weather and sightings of eagles (golden, white-tailed, juvenile, adult - you name it, we saw it!).

    By Liz & Andrea stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Previous reviews say it all really. Super cottage very warm and cosy. Bed really comfortable. We had a good selection of Flora's meals which were very welcome at the end of a wintry day and delicious! Loads of wildlife to see in the vicinity of the croft.

    By Gillian Holland stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We cannot fault this great wee cottage, very comfortable with all you need for the perfect break away on Mull. The log burner is a fantastic source of heat and make the whole croft very warm indeed.
    Dobhan is a very good location surrounded by lovely walking opportunities, including spotting otters in the bay.
    don't let the single track road into Dobhan put you off, as this adds to the Mull experience.

    By Stephen, Anne and Archie (the dog) stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable, well-equipped cottage and a very friendly welcome from Flora. We pre-ordered some meals, which were really tasty, and we had a great week exploring Mull and Iona over the Christmas period, in spite of storms Barbara and Conor! Lochbuie is a very beautiful and welcoming place.

    By Phil & Deborah stayed in December 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect little cottage for 2 (plus dog): really beautifully presented, with everything you need. Cottage was lovely and warm too. We pre-ordered a few meals from Flora - which was a genius idea, great food and saved all the effort of cooking. Great location for walking and wildlife spotting - even watched a hen harrier while eating breakfast!

    By Rob and Jenny, with Willow. stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first visit to the island in way too long ( 12 years!!) It was wonderful to return to stay in such a comfortable, cosy croft, especially as the weather made November proud! Wrapped up well in our waterproofs and wellies & dog coats, we explored Moy Castle and Laggan Beach and the track beyond Croggan - enjoying pelting hail but then the most glorious rainbows - not minding the ouches and very content knowing the lovely heated croft awaited with a stove to be lit and a lovely hot shower too. It sounds like we really should have tried Flora's catering but unfortunately we were only there for a short break - we'll save this treat for next time hopefully. Dobhran Croft has everything you could possibly wish for - excellent in everyway. Thank you so much.

    By Therry & Ralph with Bonnie & Wiggins stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the cottage and the location, well described in other reviews. We booked at very short notice, too late to order any meals, however, the wee shop on the beach had some in the freezer so we enjoyed one lovely meal. The welcome pack of biscuits, chocolate and Mull cheddar was appreciated. We hope to return.

    By Fiona stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A tasteful and stylish conversion of an old croft house. Perfect for two people and a wonderful location, less than 500 metres from the sea. Lochbuie and Laggan bay are beautiful and set in the stunning backdrop of Ben Buie and surrounding hills - it is a wildlife treasure trove ! You don't have to drive anywhere, just spend a week walking the coast and the hills soaking up the peace and beautiful wilderness of this hidden gem. Our stay was made even better by the delicious meals supplied by Flora ! We will definitely be back !

    By Andy & Shirley Miller and Jack the Flatcoat stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Dobhran Croft and Lochbuie exceeded all my expectations. The cottage has been renovated beautifully and has given me all sorts of ideas for renovating my own wee decrepit hoose. I made the wise decision not to cook and Flora's meals were absolutely delicious (especially the fish pie!;-) We abandoned plans to scoot around the island and took the opportunity to stand and stare. In Lochbuie the more you walk and look the more you see.

    By Carol & Snuggy the Collie stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage with everything we could have wanted in a superb location. Views from the cottage and walks from the doorstep make it the perfect place to stay to enjoy The Isle of Mull at its very best. Already planning next year's visit.

    By Charlotte Lindley stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage, stunning surroundings. Highly recommend. Cottage was immaculately clean and owners were very attentive. Flora makes delicious meals!

    By Jennifer Turner stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage in superb location. Very well equipped with the bonus of the "old post office" for restocking the larder. Good local walks with abundance of wild life. Not often you need to stop the car as a peacock has draped it's tail across the road.

    By John Miles stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A charming and cosy cottage, on its own but not remote with a lovely multi-fuel fire.. Great views of Ben Buie and only a 15 minute drive back to the main road but Otters, Golden Eagles and Hen Harriers are always a possibility. Flora's meals are excellent and great value.

    By Oliver Woodman stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We absolutely loved our stay at Dobhran, and Flora was lovely and helpful. It was pretty stormy in January, but the croft was so cosy and warm, and the perfect retreat after a bracing walk. The view of snow-capped Ben Buie from the bedroom was stunning. For a romantic and peaceful break in a beautiful area, it's ideal. We hope to return!

    By Nicola Lang stayed in January 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A quirky and comfortable cottage on this idyllic island. Lochbuie Larder is a delight in this consumer driven world. Flora's meals are delicious especially after a long day out watching wildlife.

    By Peter & Rona Ford stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely stay at this warm and welcoming cottage which is ideally situated for walking, cycling and enjoying the wildlife. It is an extremely quiet and idyllic place to stay. We can confirm that Flora's meals are indeed delicious and The Old Post Office on the beach is a delight. Flora and Tom were most helpful easy to contact if required.

    By Julie and Adam stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, comfortable cottage in a wonderful location. We didn't purchase anything from Lochbuie Larder, but Flora's 'Honesty Shop' by the beach was a wonderful find in today's consumer driven world! Excellent place, excellent location, what more can we say.

    By Jon & Ruth Bagnall stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really, all the reviews are true. Great, tastfully renovated cottage for two in a great location. First time on Mull was amazing. We could not imagine a better base from where we could discover the island and relax. We enjoyed very much the meals of Flora. Highly recommended.

    By Liesbeth & Bas Schreuder stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic peaceful cottage. Very comfortable and beautifully renovated.

    By Pamela Galloway stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a great cottage in a great location. The cottage has been renovated to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. We ordered a number of Flora's Lochbuie Larder meals that where amazing, the best home-cooked meals! Plenty of walks and sights in Lochbuie and around, as well as being a good base for the rest of the island. My only concern is that Dobhran Croft won't be a secret for long! Will definitely be back!

    By Ryan & Laura Tait stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautifully renovated cottage in one of our favourite parts of Mull, Lochbuie. The wildlife all around the cottage was amazing and the sea and Moy Castle a very short walk away. A lovely week and we would love to return someday. A very special place, and pet friendly!

    By NATALIE CHINN stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the most idyllic cottage you could wish to stay in. Flora's cooking is wonderful and, with there being no shops for around 12 miles, it was good not to have to worry about meals. The wood and coal provided for the fire meant that the cottage was always warm and cosy. The wildlife on the island is amazing. Remember most of the island is one track roads with passing places so you have to be confident when reversing! The tame deer which visits you in the evening to eat the newly laid grass is such a sweetie. It's no good trying to shoo her away, she just comes back again once your back is turned. I will certainly be coming back again.

    By Ruth Watson stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great little cottage, very cosy and remote, well situated for walking and wildlife spotting, would use again.

    By Robert Forrest stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Dobhran Croft is such a lovely cottage. Beautiful setting with Ben Buie just out the back door and visible from the bedroom sky light window and floor to ceiling sliding doors. The kitchen is well equipped and very inviting. Wood and coal was provided for my stay and was wonderful to have a fire each morning and evening in the wood burning stove in the living room.
    The sea is a short 2 minute walk from the cottage. Beautiful views! St. Kildas Church, Moy Castle and the Stone Circle were all just a short walk away once you are down at the sea.
    The owner of the cottage is an amazing cook and I was able to order in some meals so that I didn't have to do much preparing. She even went so far as to get a grocery list from me and made sure I had enough food for my arrival.
    I look forward to going back again someday, as it was a magical place to stay on my very first trip to Scotland!

    By Terry McMillan stayed in February 2015

Add your review