Call us on 01688 400682

The Smiddy Reviews

25 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely week at The Smiddy made to feel very welcome. The cottage is very comfortable and full of character and so well equipped an ideal base for exploring all the island there are also plenty of walks around the cottage an evening stroll or drive to Grasspoint opposite The Smiddy is a must do we saw deer eagles buzzards and harriers. Thank you Jenny & Jim.

    By John & Pauline Hudson stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great cottage for our first visit to Mull. Ideally situated for the ferry and all parts of the island. Very roomy, comfortable cottage, full of character and cosy especially on our first night with the log burner going. Thank you Jenny, and thanks for the cucumber. We had a fabulous week, birdwatching, walking from the cottage, scanning the loch to watch the wildlife coming and going as the tide turned. Can’t wait to return, a week is not long enough to explore the whole island.

    By Ann & Mick Daubney stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was in a perfect location to explore north or south of the island and also a lovely area to walk locally quite spectacular views a short distance away.
    The cottage was thoroughly well equipped with everything you could think of to enjoy a self catering stay, cannot think of any way to improve facility which says it all. My wife and I were joined part of the week by our son and granddaughter and there was no shortage of space at all .
    A superb accommodation strongly recommended.
    Huge thanks to Jenny ,owner next door who through her social media contacts on the island found my lost

    By Gerry McGreevy stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely loved our stay at the Smiddy, Jenny and Jim made us feel very welcome on our arrival. The cottage was everything and more than we had hoped for with everything you would need for a home from home. The view out onto Lochdon with all the birdlife including views of golden eagle and female hen harrier, even the smaller birds coming to the feeders including a cheeky herring gull who seemed to like the bird seed as well. All in all lovely cottage and great position for exploring the island and wd would have no worries about recommending the Smiddy to anyone coming to stay on Mull

    By Robert, Joy and Craig Glass stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It is clear the Smiddy has regular return guests and you can see why. Jenny and Jim made us feel so welcome. The cottage is in a great location with wildlife on the doorstep, and easy drives to both Tobermorey and Iona. We found it easy to make ourselves at home in such a comfortable and well equipped cottage. The Smiddy is now on our list of favourite cottages to return to.

    By Helen and Paul Bricknell stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It is obvious from previous reviews that staying at The Smiddy looked after by Jim and Jenny, the owners, is a very enjoyable experience. During the last few years we have spent some 3 months in total with Jim and Jenny and regard The Smiddy almost as our second home. We wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else on our visits to Mull.
    Jim and Jenny have worked very hard to maintain the accommodation at a high standard and make every effort to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay.

    By Mike and June stayed in May 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Smiddy is in a great location with a lovely view and very quiet. You could spend a week just being very local to the cottage. Jenny the onsite owner is lovely. A well quipped cottage and a comfortable lounge and bed. Some parts of the cottage are too cool for us but the wood burner helped to make the lounge lovely and warm. Only 5 star reviews on the website so maybe this one will not feature.

    By stuart Cullum stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Best equipped holiday let we have ever stayed in. Great location for wildlife watching both in and out of the garden . Jenny and Jim are perfect hosts, attentive without being intrusive. The Smiddy is very comfortable and easy to live in. Parking is right outside the door and well off the road. Perfect location for all types of outdoor activities and we will stay there again.

    By Martin and Yvonne stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Smiddy is an excellent place to stay and we were made very welcome. With so many holiday cottages looking a bit the same in decor and style it's great to stay somewhere that feels like a real home from home yet has all the things you need (and more).
    There are great little walks close by and Loch Don is well placed for the rest of the island. For those new to Mull it takes two minutes to get there from the ferry at Craignure.
    Couldn't recommend it more highly (and you really do not notice the road)!

    By Gary and Sue stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the cottage. It has a warm feel to it, oldey worldly, comfortable, clean. Cosy lounge, good shower, big kitchen, pretty back garden.
    It is perfectly positioned for the ferry and very convenient for exploring the island. Would stay
    here again for sure, one of my favourite cottages so far and we have stayed in many different ones.
    One downside it is just off the main road, which we didn’t know about but it is the agency’s lack of clarity, as I usually find the case, not the fault of the cottage. View beyond the main road is lovely and the area here is very green with lots of walks and quiet places to explore. As we stayed in the area before we knew where to go, so the road was a compromise ok for us but for someone, who doesn’t know or like it might be best to be transparent with it.
    Again, lovely house to stay in (all on one level bangalo) and welcoming owner, who live next door.
    Thank you!

    By lovely stay stayed in August 2018

    Editor's Note: Thank you for the great review of The Smiddy. In response, we do show the road in the images, mention it in the description and it can be seen on the location map.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Couldn't wish for a better place to stay on Mull. Spacious, comfortable cottage in a great location for ferries and touring the island. We've never stayed in such a well-equipped holiday let. Jenny has thought of everything. We'll certainly book in there again when visiting Mull in the future.

    By Ed and Barbara Robertson stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Delightful and welcoming, The Smiddy is a gem!
    Comfortable and roomy with log burner in the lounge ready for use on chillier days, a great kitchen that houses every thing you could possibly require. Double bed lovely to snuggle into after a busy day out and about, modern bathroom with large shower. Quiet and peaceful yet conveniently positioned for travelling to both the north and south of the island and only 3 miles from the ferry for those very early morning crossings or later arrivals. Thank you Jenny and Jim for a lovely stay. See you next year!

    By Yvonne and Dale Parr stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our first visit to Mull. A magical place. Thank you Jenny for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage and for your welcome to Mull. The cottage is in a great location for touring the island, comfortable and well equipped - we particularly enjoyed the kitchen which has everything to make this home from home.

    By Karen stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Centrally placed on Mull so easy to get round island. Plenty of room though twin room small. Good Wi-fi and tv. Wonderful view.
    Went to eagle watch - worth going if only to find out more, and wildlife tour which was again worth doing, as we could visit places he discussed and saw more wildlife.

    By David stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage. Log fire already lit so immediately relaxing. Entrance room tiled which was a great advantage coming in wet and muddy from offroad biking or walking. Plenty of space in which to dry kit that wasnt in the sitting room. Great location for all parts of the island. Owner very welcoming and helpful.

    By Sarah Kish stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have known Jenny and Jim for many many years now and we can honestly say that their welcome is always friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The quality of their cottage is top notch, very comfortable and spacious. Beautifully peaceful and a great location. Nice to feed the birds out the front and watch from the lounge. Chaffinches in abundance. White tail eagle over Lochdon, deer over at Grasspoint. Two otters playing together along from Knock Farm and Golden eagles way up the cliffs at Gribun. We felt really at home in the cottage and it had everything we needed. We will be back. Thank you so much.

    By Sue & Ray Baker stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in the Smiddy on lots of occasions. JIm an Jenny are brilliant, the cottage is very well equipped. Thoroughly recommend.

    By Tracey Kerr stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb location, superb accommodation, relaxing, comfortable and very spacious. We even got several days of sunshine. Being close to the Craignure ferry terminal was also handy, and the cottage is positioned well for access throughout the island. Lots of wildlife around, particularly plenty of birds in the large garden. Great holiday.

    By David Blair stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a great place to stay. Spacious, comfortable with an amazingly well equipped kitchen. The cottage felt like home for the 14 days we stayed and was a cosy shelter from Mull's summer rain...

    By Roy Wassink stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I can only confirm the previous reviews, its all true! A great property with excellent clean facilities, all the birdy delights mentioned. Close to either ferry with lovely walks just on the doorstep fantastic!

    By Paul Whorton stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay In the Smiddy, the lovely cottage had everything we needed and more. Jenny was very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The fact it was near the ferry was a definite bonus. Looking forward to a return trip

    By Wendy Harborne stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Spacious and comfortable old cottage. Great views over Lochdon from the reception/dining room. Lots of wildlife to see very close to the cottage. Beds comfortable, excellent log fire to keep you warm in the lounge. Central heating radiators provided background heating. Large kitchen with good views of the back garden and beyond. Close to shops and pub in Craignure. Excellent WiFi in the lounge, TV with usual Freeview channels. DVD player and discs showing Island attractions. Lots of information books and leaflets and ample books to read.

    By Renton Charman stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Smiddy was an excellent place to stay while on Mull: very conveniently located for the Oban-Craignure ferry, a short drive to key wildlife spotting locations, and within easy distance of all the main activities on the island. The cottage itself was very spacious and excellently furnished, with everything you could need in the kitchen and plenty of wildlife and fiction books if the weather keeps you indoors. The welcome from Jenny was also excellent, with the wood burner going and fresh daffodils in the vases. The cottage was also nice and warm, even in cold March, with efficient electric wall heater throughout. Bird food was also provided, and you can sit in the living room watching the birds come to the feeder. We would definitely visit Mull and the Smiddy again, and would recommend it to anyone else!

    By Emily King stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well what a wounderfull place to stay. We caught the 4 o'clock ferry from Oban lovely crossing.
    On our arrival Jenny was waiting for us with the wood burner already lit was a very welcoming.
    Jenny was waving through the window but the smiddy was only 4 minutes drive from the ferry and very easy to find. It was dark when we got there and couldn't see much on arrival.
    The smiddy was much bigger than we thought and was amazed about the amount of space and the cleanliness, the kitchen was well equipped for more more than our needs.
    In the morning when we arose the the sun was just coming up over the loch, what a beautiful view.
    We took some bird food up with us and Jenny had provided some as well, in the end we bought some more.
    The amount of different types of birds where amazing.
    We went to grass point and on our way we saw a lot of deer hiding in the field buzzards.
    The Smiddy was a great place to stop to explore all the island all the wild life is around this area and we would highly recommend stopping there which we will do if we go to Mull Again.
    Thank you for a perfect place to stay and an amazing week.
    Glynis, Stephen. And of course Goldie.

    By Stephen Glynis stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a true home from home, we were made so welcome by Jenny & Jim. We stayed for 3 weeks on a birding holiday and this was an ideal location along side Lochdon for birds and wildlife, with Grasspoint just a short walk from the Smiddy where you will see White-tailed eagles, Hen Harriers, Cuckoo, Short-eared Owl and Buzzard to name a few. We also saw Otters at Grasspoint. The garden at the Smiddy is also a haven for birds. We saw Yellow hammer, Coal Tit, Siskin, and Lesser Redpol as well as the usual Tit's & Finches.
    A great place to stay in a wonderful location. We can't wait to return.

    By Roy Carré stayed in May 2016

Add your review