Call us on 01688 400682

Shepherd's Light Reviews

26 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our second stay here. Delighted to be back. Just as stunning as last year with the added bonus of lengthy sighting of a pod of dolphins in the distance from the patio. Also a surprise visit from the huge Queen Elizabeth cruise liner!
    Would highly recommend Shepherd's Light.

    By Jan, Ken, Janice and Mark stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We didn't want to leave! Shepherd's Light is a real sanctuary. The views from the cottage are spectacular and everything about the property was perfect. Covid security is taken very seriously which is reassuring. The area is stunning as is the wildlife. We will be back again for sure.

    By Paula and Terry stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely outstanding! We can't recommend this property highly enough. Firstly, the location is even more spectacular than the photos portray, and the standard of the accommodation is exceptional. If you appreciate peace & quiet, isolation, spectacular views and wildlife, whilst staying in a stunning cottage, this place is for you. It's location is ideal for exploring the island but honestly you'd enjoy staying put just as much.

    By Steve & Jan stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage in a great location with a stunning view. We had everything we needed for a very comfortable week and the regular visits of the sheep and Highland cows were an added bonus. A distant view of an otter and a passing white tailed sea eagle at the cottage added to the experience. We have already booked again for next year.

    By Jan, Ken, Mark and Janice stayed in August 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is the second time we have stayed at Shepherd's Light, because we love the cottage and the surrounding area. This year we found some great new coastal walks we hadn't tried before
    All the communication around changes due to Covid-19 were very clear and helpful and due to the measures taken, we were not concerned at all

    By Claire Cairns stayed in July 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage with the wow-factor.
    Outstanding views, great location, well equipped plus a well-stocked library.
    Free from noise and light pollution - a total escape.

    By ALI stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning location, lovely well-equipped cottage and loads of wildlife and sheep. The weather wasn't great but Mull and the cottage more than made up for it. Would love to visit again.

    By Shelagh stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Shepherds Light is in a Stunning location, so comfortable & well equipped. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday. So quiet & peaceful. Will definitely be back to the cottage & island. Mull is stunning xx

    By Jackie Hanna stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Shepherd's Light is a fabulous cottage. It is really well equipped, spotless and has an absolutely amazing view out towards the Treshnish islands.
    We loved the open plan living and kitchen area, with the glass doors making the most of the view and the location is perfect, near to Calgary Bay and Ulva, but very private and quiet.
    We will almost certainly book again

    By Claire stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderfully comfortable and well equipped cottage in a fabulous location.

    By Gin stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    On arrival we both said what a stunning location, if you want to get away from it all and you enjoy watching the wild life I can totally reccomend Shepherds Light.
    The owners have thought of every thing, any thing that you may need is there, the complimentary bottle of wine was also a very nice touch.
    The first day we were visited by a golden eagle absolutely fantastic.
    The weather could not have been better, almost two weeks of glorious sunshine which made are stay a most memorable one.

    By Steve Dunn stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We absolutely loved this cottage. It has a really welcoming feel and instantly felt like home. It's well equipped, warm and cosy and the views are stunning. We loved this area of Mull and would definitely return.

    By Emma & Rob stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Shepherds Light is truly wonderful cottage in a stunning location.
    The views are to die for. Even when we had a bad weather day we were happy to sit and take in the dramatic outlook and listen to music.
    One of the best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in, didn’t need our little box of essentiols we always take with us.

    By Andrew & Susan Tyrrell stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A truly stunning cottage with views to match. Loved our first stay here and even the mostly poor weather didn't spoil the views and scenery and wildlife around the cottage.
    A remote and very cosy home from home.
    Great views of the Milky Way on our last night which unfortunately was the only clear night of our stay but gave a flavour of what one could expect to see on truly dark and clear nights.
    We will definitely return here

    By Andy & Liz stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely comfortable cottage; perfect in every way. The views are stunning although we were unable to appreciate them for a lot of the time because of the weather! The same with the stars although we did get some tantalising glimpses. Lots of very useful information in the cottage. We would certainly stay here again.

    By Lynne Pascoe stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely the place to come and enjoy a holiday. Great views. It rained s couple of times but we just sat and relaxed and watched the world get wet, then when it finished training we sat and watched it dry out on the patio. No one around and some great walks locally. Mull, our second home.

    By Ian Mould stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely and very comfortable, beautifully furnished cottage with outstanding and ever-changing views. We loved watching the cabaret of wildlife outside the window and listening to the peace and quiet.

    By Rob & Anne stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An outstanding property with amazing scenic panoramic views and, nearer to home, plenty of highland cattle, sheep, birds, including eagles, and rabbits to attract one's attention. The steep hill, bend and dirt track approach was daunting on first arriving but we soon got used to it and the need to open and close two gates. We found it helpful to read and apply the contents of the manuals so that we were able to use the television and music systems as intended. The water supply was at a constant temperature, the shower a good size and, something that many Scottish properties fall down on, there is at least one, possibly two shaver points! Plenty of storage as well. The downside for us was the miles and miles of single track roads with passing places that characterises Mull. After a while the charm fades especially since many local drivers go at speed and although that's no problem if they are behind me as I can pull in and let them pass, it does get more scary when they come round a blind bend on on a blind hill summit. Of all the Scottish islands that I have visited, Mull is sadly at the bottom of the list from my perspective as a driver - few car parking/picnic/rest and view areas compared to other Scottish islands and whilst is has great scenery that my wife appreciated, I saw more of the road infrastructure! Thankfully Shepherd's Light was fantastic to rest in, take in the ever changing views, appreciate the light, the weather systems, the natural wildlife etc that it put the rest in perspective!

    By David Uffindall stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful holiday with fantastic weather. The cottage is lovely and private and is a wildlife paradise with birds and animals in view all the time. We were out most days and love to walk so nothing better. Ulva was only ten minutes down the road and over on the little ferry in no time to an island full of meadows.

    By Jane and Roger Pearce stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage with amazing views - cannot fault the cottage or the view. Weather not very good when we were there but was fascinating watching Ulva disappear into the mist and then re-appear.

    By Tom & Debbie Manning stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was an exceptionally well equipt cottage with fabulous views all around. The music system was great we had wonderful weather for the whole week so we’re on the patio most days. Shepherds Light was a great base to travel the whole island from. This cottage was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed.

    By BarbaraNeill stayed in March 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This really is the perfect bolthole, in good weather or bad. We spent a great few days here over new year and found it difficult to leave. These islands are special and Shepherd’s Light lives up to the beauty of its surroundings. The views are better than you will expect.

    By Malcolm Robertson stayed in December 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage couldn't be in a better location. Make yourself a drink, sit out on the patio, take in the view and listen to your favourite music. Life doesn't get any better!!

    By Francis Smith stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely well equipped and comfortable cottage, fantastic views. Although the weather was very wet and windy during our stay we did get a few clear nights and the dark sky experience was amazing.
    Be warned though you have to like sheep and highland cows in the back garden as despite the gates they still managed to get over the wall but it was an experience herding them out again!
    Would happily stay here again.

    By Sylvia Collingwood stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful cottage - wonderful view - wonderful stereo - we love it!

    By Stefan Maria Rother stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautifully designed cottage with a wonderful view.

    By J. Mackenzie stayed in June 2017

Add your review