Call us on 01688 400682

Sands Cottage Reviews

32 Reviews
    • Star

    Very disappointing. We have been holidaying on Mull for over 30 years and this was the worst cottage we have stayed in. Proximity to the beach good but you cannot see the beach from the house because the hedge haas been neglected. 'Neglected' sums the property up. It needs total renovation and renewal. If you have children beware of the stairs - slippery and very steep. Such a shame - this cottage does not do justice to the beautiful island of Mull.

    By The Bell Family stayed in May 2022

    Editor's Note: Note from the owner: the hedge is regularly maintained by a local gardener and the owner has arranged for it to be trimmed again this month in light of your feedback.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Calgary beach is a lovely beach but the cottage is not. It is small, and I couldn't manage the stairs. There is a road and stream you have to cross to get to the beach. There is a campsite nearby. Also, like other reviewers the living room was not comfortable. I did not like the state of the towels provided. The cooker/oven needs replacing.

    By A Macintosh stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just returned from an amazing week in sands cottage.
    I can truly say it was the best week for years in a self catering home in Scotland & we are super fussy.
    Winter storms off & on all week only added to the cosy cottage feel.
    The super small TV was a challenge at times but the weather played its roll in any breaks in transmission.
    We walked our dog on the beach every day 2 or 3 times.
    The views across the bay are stunning & the enclosed garden a bonus when it too wild to explore.
    So good we tried to book the same dates for 2023 & its already booked.

    By Greg & Angie stayed in February 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The idea of getting away in October half term was always going to be tempered with what the weather could through at us. Not to worry on a couple of points, the cottage itself lends to hunkering down against the elements in a cosy way, but as luck would have it the weather played ball, and we were subjected to some amazing sunsets and the sky gave us a colourful display, where the cottage was situated was ideal for this in the stunning Calgary bay. We had lovely long dog walks all over the island, but everyday we had early morning walks along the beach, and in the evening to watch the sunset.

    By Mason Dancey stayed in October 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect cottage in the perfect location overlooking the most stunning beach! Could not ask for more. Kids had a blast!
    Only negative was the campsite on the opposite side of the road had a few large groups with music on until 2am. With group cutting down limbs from trees to start large bonfire on the beach, and not disposing their rubbish.
    However this would not stop us staying their again ??

    By Joanne stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous location. The three children headed out to the beach every morning at 8am! Very cosy living room with the log fire. The cottage was warm and had great facilities. The dehumidifier was great for drying rain jackets! The housekeeper was very kind and helpful. Thank you.

    By Victoria and Family stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous location. Cottage living room. Very small and uncomfortable furniture. Setees not at all comfy. Stairs a nightmare to negotiate and upstairs rooms very cramped. Wont be back to this cottage. Have stayed on mull many times and this has been by far the most disappointing accommodation.

    By Julie stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Totally loved the cottage! Obviously the location is perfect, and we had the beach to ourselves, total freedom for our dog!
    The weather was predictably cold, but we came home to a lovely warm cottage every day. Found it super comfy. Re the upstairs the two bedrooms are built in the roof space, but still roomy enough, for adults the stairs are steep but we had no problem with them, and we are in our 60’s. We stayed as a couple and a dog so slept in the downstairs double. Very comfortable.
    Gaynor the housekeeper had done a brilliant job in us arriving to a lovely clean and warm cottage.

    By Shaun and Heather stayed in February 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    No doubting the location is 5 star. We had the beach to ourselves most days. However cottage is small and living room isn’t very comfortable. We were 2 adults and 1 dog and felt cramped. Upstairs bedrooms have very low ceilings so only suitable for small children, but the steep polished wood stairs I’d argue aren’t safe for small children and impossible for anyone over 60. Had to unpack a freezer upon arrival but having learnt previous 2 x sets of guests had to use the cafe’s freezer a mile away I guess I should be grateful.

    By Paul Henderson stayed in December 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Best cottage we have stayed in. Made even better by being in a great location. Great views of Calgary Bay. Arnie enjoyed exploring. The garden is absolutely dog proof. Highly recommended.

    By Hilary, John and Arnie ( beagle) stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was a lovely cottage to stay in, set in a beautiful location, and with the added bonus we could take our dog with us. We had a thoroughly relaxing week exploring this part of Mull and swimming in the sea. We hope to return some day.

    By Chris, Maria, Hazel and Horace the dog stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful honeymoon here, in an amazing location. Cottage was perfect would recommend if anyone wants a relaxing break. We shall be back

    By Sarah & Kim stayed in January 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We spent a great week in this lovely cottage. The added bonus was the gorgeous beach across the road where we spent all week paddle boarding and swimming.

    By Kathy stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Looking to book again as we constantly look back on a superb week in his wonderful cotttage. Location idyllic, cottage superb, one of the few places I truly relaxed and slept like a baby!

    By Paul Wycherley stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Such a cosy cottage in a most beautiful location. The views are amazing and all around the local area are lovely walks with great scenery and wildlife. Can't wait to come back.

    By Valerie Turner stayed in March 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An absolutely spectacular location and a truly authentic cottage. We loved it in every way. It doesn’t advertise itself as a unique cottage, but it is every bit as unique as a castle, lighthouse or windmill. There must be perhaps only a dozen properties in the whole of the UK which are in a location as exceptional as Sands Cottage. One of our happiest holidays ever. Dog and cat friendly policy made all of this possible. That we also enjoyed a week of stunning blue sky and sunshine whilst the rest of the UK endured snowmageddon was an extra bonus which we could hardly believe.

    By Graeme stayed in February 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a wonderfully relaxing week in this beautifully located cottage.

    By David Mclennan stayed in December 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great wee cottage in an amazing location.

    By Claire stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic week st Sands Cottage, the weather was amazing with blue skies and mild weather. From the cottage and beach we saw red deer, sea eagle, buzzards, harriers lots of rabbits! The cottage was warm, clean and ideally situated on the edge of this lovely beach

    By Vanessa Handley stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Outstanding location and a really terrific little cottage.

    By Peter stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in an amazing setting. Mull is simply beautiful. Too big to explore in a week and we didn't see otters so we will just have to come back. Real fire in an evening was lovely to come home to :). Couldn't recommend this place high enough !!!

    By Gill Alleyne stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in beautiful location , thank you Gaynor for the little touches such as fire ready laid.
    Mull as magical as ever , sunshine every day for a week in November , dolphins dancing round the ferry returning to Oban , what a treat!

    By Julie stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This warm cosy Cottage was a welcome sight after 13hrs traveling and avoiding the mull car rally. Housing 4 adults and 2 dogs for the week was easy, great having the beach on the doorstep, dogs loved it. Fantastic location, seen almost everything the local wildlife offers. Looking forward to coming back soon!

    By sally stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful break at this quiet, cozy, warm, and clean cottage. The cottage overlooks the beach and it just a short walk to get around to it. The cottage is warm and has everything you could need in it. We will definitely be back to this cottage and would highly recommend it.

    By Susan Vaughan stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This fabulous cottage and beautiful location provided us with all that was needed for a very special holiday - managing to please a teenager, two young adults , two older adults and two dogs..... no mean feat....just perfect!

    By Carol McFarlane stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb little cottage, right on the sea. Ideal for my old dog as he could easily run on the beach. Ideal for the younger one who could run and swim! Comfortable, clean and well equipped - we wanted for nothing. A perfect holiday on a perfect Island.

    By Heather Magee stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    fabulous location, even the damp weather didn't put us off from walking on the beach. A lovely spot for wild life enthusiasts and those just wanting to chill out as we did.

    By Elizabeth Rushton stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy cottage. Beautiful location - I don't think you can beat it on Mull. And the dog loved being yards from the beach!

    By ANNABEL MORGAN stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cozy comfortable and warm cottage. Fantastic location right on the beach with easy access to 2 fabulous restaurants. Being able to have our dog with us was fabulous.

    By debbie and Tim stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both enjoyed our stay at Sands Cottage immensely. Wonderful cozy, well equipped cottage in a very private location. A few steps away from a beautiful, quiet beach. We'll remember this wonderful holiday forever as we were even lucky enough to see the Aurora Borealis right above the cottage.

    By Jacquie and Steve Williams stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We very much enjoyed our stay in Sands Cottage. It is well fitted out, and comfortable. It was a cold time of year, but we were generally very cosy in the cottage, and we loved the direct access to the beach.

    By Jo Shaw stayed in January 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was just what we needed, warm, cozy, all the facilities you would expect (wi-fi, tv, heating etc etc) but what the holiday was the location. A 10 second walk and you are in the beach. We stayed in January so we had the beach to ourselves. Kids loved playing in the water and rock pooling. We had some great walks as well, didn't use a map, just followed our nose and had some very rewarding scenery for our efforts. We kept our eyes pealed for white tailed Eagles but no joy, spotted an owl one night when driving back to the cottage.
    If you want a peaceful cottage near a beach then this is perfect! Make sure you get your supplies in as the nearest shop is a good 20min drive away.

    By James, Rhona, Ewan,Skye & Iona the dog! stayed in January 2015

Add your review