Call us on 01688 400682

Witch's Cottage Reviews

13 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really impressed with this cottage. Superbly clean and extremely well equipped. You won't need any toys/games for the kids as they are all there already. Lovely walks from the door to Croig harbour and local beaches. Sea Eagles in the area and masses of seals on the islands in the bay. Lovely having 2 bathrooms but would sacrifice one of them for a dishwasher if I was being really really fussy! All in all though, probably one of the nicest cottages we've stayed in from every aspect. Would book again without hesitation.

    By MW stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    excellent cottage, very comfortable with wonderful views .fantastic local walks and beaches. well pleased with everything. many thanks

    By DAVID FLEET stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have holidayed in several cottages and Witch's Cottage is one of the best we have stayed in.
    It is warm comfortable and very well decorated. There are lots of games etc to keep all ages entertained.
    It is well equipped, and the welcome pack was a treat.
    We had several trips round the island including
    a visit to Iona. The Creel Seafood Bar at the ferry is a must visit. Nicola made the best Cullen Skink I've had in ages !!!
    The highlight of our stay in the cottage was when a Golden Eagle flew right in front the over the roof.

    By Mary Davidson stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in lovely location. Everything you could possibly need for a very comfortable and warm stay. Perfect for a relaxing Spring break. I'd maybe suggest a couple of bird feeders but wee birds were happy to feed from the fence post and ground.

    By Lydea stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Witch's Cottage is amongst the best of the very many cottages we have stayed in, very comfortable and beautifully appointed, though we did question the need for two bathrooms! - replacing one bath with a shower cubicle would seem to make more sense.
    The location was very useful too, with easy access to many parts of the island. We benefited from a glorious week's weather (same as last year!), enabling us to do some fantastic walks, most notably the Treshnish Walk and the Livingston Walk (with extra bits) on Ulva, the walk to Dun Ara, and the Crater Loch. Saw a pair of sea eagles above the road to Tobermory, purple sandpipers in the inlet down at Croig, and had a number of sightings of golden eagles.
    We found Am Birlinn disappointing - rather impersonal and the food nothing to write home about; we hugely preferred the hotel in Dervaig for its very friendly atmosphere and staff, and the fish 'van' on the pier at Tobermory for one of the best fish and chips we've had - yum!
    And always lovely to come back to a comfortable cottage in the evening. If the years permit, hopefully we'll be back some time.

    By Geoffrey Creamer stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We didn't experience the best of weather but the cottage and its location more than compensated. From the generous welcome pack to the spacious and warm living room and bedrooms it was a delight to stay here.
    A short walk from Witch's cottage brings you to a charming old harbour with just a few local inshore fishing boats and a fabulous view out to the Ardnamurchan peninsula and on a clear day the mountains of Coll.
    A days outing took us to Loch Na Keal where we were lucky enough to sight a pair of White Tailed eagles setting off to feed and a Golden eagle just south of Salen. The birds around the cottage included Blackcap and Bullfinch among many others not forgetting the Tawney owl perched on the cottage roof.
    We ate out only once at Am Birlinn and although good I was looking for something a little more exciting as a keen amateur cook myself but would recommend trying it.
    As veteran cottagers holiday users, Witch's has to rank among the best we've stayed in.

    By george williamson stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage was lovely and had all the amenities you would expect as well as a few extras (cafetiere for my morning coffee was a welcome discovery). Location was ideal - being close to both Calgary beach and Tobermory (both of which we visited several times).
    The toy box and board games in the cottage thrilled the boys (4 and 8) - and meant they never ran out of things to do. We also used the DVD player for film night for a couple of DVD's we'd brought from home.
    We went to the Am Birlinn restaurant at the end of the road to celebrate my birthday and the food was stunning - I can fully recommend the cheeseboard. Also worth a visit is the fish & chip van in Tobermory harbour - a great way to end the day following an afternoon getting up close and personal to all the sea creatures in the aquarium.
    Both boys loved the cottage and have already asked when we can go back to 'our lovely little cottage' so this brilliant accommodation gets the ringing endorsement of our family.

    By Alex Huggon stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage in a beautiful and tranquil setting. The cottage is well equipped with everything you could need and more, including lots of entertainment options and toys and games that our boys (7 & 4) enjoyed playing with and helped everyone have a relaxing time. It is attractively and comfortably decorated with loads of space for the family and the two bathrooms was a really nice bonus. The mature garden provides nice surroundings, with great views and a great place to sit and enjoy the countryside.
    The location is ideal, within a walk of gorgeous and in our experience deserted beaches and a really nice restaurant, Am Birlinn, that we visited twice. The village of Dervaig, with the oldest pub on the island, a shop and post office, and the bay and beach at Calgary are both a short drive away. Tobermory is only 10 miles away and the Ulva Ferry, for trips to the island of Ulva or boat trips to the Treshnish Islands and Staffa is only a 40 minute drive away. The location is therefore great, with an ideal mix of being a little remote, but close to everything you'd need.
    We have had a brilliant week - the weather has been mixed with some wet days and some scorching days - but even the kids are keen to come back! We'd definitely recommend Witch's Cottage!

    By Richard Cockbain stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful weather, beautiful cottage, beautiful island. Would stay again at the drop of a hat! Highlights were puffins on Lunga, white tailed eagles with Mull Charters, and simply enjoying the scenery and isolation.

    By Eric Browett stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage witches cottage everything and more in there we wanted for nothing, we was very lucky with the weather had some great days out Ulva and Staffa and Lunga to see the puffins. Would definatly go again

    By Janet Naylor stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed for a week in mid May. The cottage itself is very pleasant, well furnished, etc etc - everything you would hope for. It has games for kids, plenty of cutlery and crockery and bedding, etc. It was warm, clean, etc. However, it does NOT have anything to help you play your own music. So, for example, no docking station. I did manage to plug my iPod into the TV's USB slot, but music was entirely random - I couldn't select an album or genre etc. There is a transistor radio - and it has all the old problems of minute tuning tolerances that I recall from my childhood. So be warned. These are, in my view, tiny irritations. But if I went again knowing what I now know, I'd have taken our docking station.
    Now, location. We liked the area very much. Croig itself is well worth exploring, but even better is having Dervaig and Calgary within a few minutes' drive either way. Dervaig is an archetypal marshy estuary dotted with muddy islands, and the village has a pub and a shop. Calgary has a wonderful beach and a fascinating art-in-nature sculpture trail. OK, getting to Iona will take a while, but any location on Mull will face compromises reaching something at the other end of the island. Tobermory is about 15/20 minutes; Craignure about 50 minutes. There is a restaurant within easy walking distance from Witch's Cottage that is open 5 nights per week - we didn't eat there so I can't comment either way.
    We very much enjoyed our week in Mull. Its tranquility crept up on us as the week progressed - it was a shame to leave! We went to Staffa and saw puffins as well as the basalt columns. We went to Iona. We did an all day wildlife tour with 'Discover Mull' (based in Dervaig). There are so many other parts of Scotland and beyond that we still want to visit that it might be a while before we return. However, if/when we do so, we would very happily stay in Witch's Cottage again and use Isle of Mull Cottages as the booking agent.

    By Nigel & Carol Newman stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I had a wonderful time at Witch's Cottage and enjoyed exploring the north and west of Mull. I came for the walking, the wildlife and getting away from the hurly-burly, and it delivered on all points ! Just after arriving, and whilst filling the kettle for a cuppa, a female hen harrier flew by looking for its supper, duly pouncing on a vole and then being mobbed by a buzzard! It was a good beginning to many more lovely encounters with the birds and wildlife on Mull. Try Loch Tor for otters, I watched two for over an hour, but think I was extra lucky that day.
    The walk from the cottage to Croig and over to Calgary Bay is stunning, and well worth the hike and some scrambling across moorland in some parts. I completed the circular walk by coming back along the road, although there may be other ways. Arriving into sunshine at Calgary as I finally came over the brow of a hill and seeing the beautiful bay ahead of me will always be a treasured memory. Being snowed in on one day was also lovely, if not a bit unexpected!. With a full fridge, amazing snow scenes outside, and a cosy, homely cottage to stay in, what more could you want! I'll be back I'm sure.

    By Paul Lansdowne stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Witch's Cottage was an excellent place to stay. The location was great for exploring north Mull. A trip to Iona was a longer day but still easily manageable. The cottage has lovely furnishings, a well-equipped kitchen and was warm and cosy. The kids loved exploring the garden and surrounding fields, clambering over rocks and hiding in trees and shrubs.

    By Rutherford family stayed in March 2016

Add your review