Call us on 01688 400682

Tigh na Mara Reviews

16 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely amazing. Perfect location for wildlife. Cottage was really cozy and well equipped. Can’t wait to return next year.

    By Andrew stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We absolutely loved Tigh na Mara & it's stunning location. My dream was to see an otter in the wild & we saw otters every single day of our stay right on the shore in front of the cottage! We were also treated to stags in the garden early in the morning, golden eagles above the hills & seals bobbing by on Loch Spelve. This quiet corner of Mull completely enchanted us & we can't wait to return. We would definitely recommend Tigh na Mara as a comfortable, well equipped place to stay.

    By Sara & Malcolm Burton stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very nice cottage, what you see on the pictures is what you get really. All though it could do with a refresh it was very comfortable and very well equipped, it had everything we needed. The location was ideal, out of the way with some stunning scenery and visiting wildlife. The drive to the cottage off the main road, is long and slow but for an experienced driver mulls road shouldn't be a problem. Overall a brilliant stay.

    By Andrew & Iona stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is such a lovely cottage in such a tranquil place. Whatever the weather this place is magical. The cottage was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. We saw so much wildlife from or around the cottage. There was a regular visit from a Stag in the garden. 5th year on Mull and this was the best despite a mixed second week for weather. We'll be back again and if available Tigh Na Mara it will be. Only improvement would be to have Wifi.

    By Col & Sara Page stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely place to stay! The cottage was clean and really well equipped and although it was tempting to just sit and look at the view we did get out and enjoy the walks and watching the wildlife. The new fence around the property keeps out the sheep but the deer and peacocks still come to say hello! We very much hope to return next year.

    By Sue & Rob Brookes stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our fifth holiday at Tigh na Mara which really says it all!
    The cottage has been slightly upgraded and the road much improved. We have been tempted to try other cottages on Mull this spot in the best part of the island keeps drawing us back.The golden and sea eagles put in a regular appearance but the otters eluded us during our stay.

    By Bill and Sue Sutton stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fantastic place to stay, remote, quiet, dark everything to get away from it all.
    The cottage was clean and well equipped and just what we were looking for. We too saw and heard all the wildlife, the noise from the stags on the hill across the loch was amazing. Clear nights (most of them) with no moon gave a fantastic show of stars and the bonus of a few shooting stars as well.
    We would certainly go back again.

    By Neil & Nikki Thomas stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was lovely and setting beautiful. We enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings looking for eagles, that we saw every day, and otters and seals. Although we were aware that the cottage is part of a working farm we returned one afternoon after a day out to find a couple of hundred sheep had been put in the garden, we saw the farmers arriving in the morning but nothing was said to us about what was going to happen. The sheep were there for two nights and were very noisy, not only with their baaing but moving around the cottage through the night and knocking against the doors etc, the mess on the floor was pretty appalling you couldn't put a foot down without stepping in it. We don't like to be negative as over all we had a lovely week at the cottage but the sheep did put us off a bit.

    By Pete & Sheena stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our fourth stay at this cosy hideaway in a unique location. Stags in the garden, eagles overhead and otters on the loch shore, What more could we ask for?
    The final four miles of road caused some expensive damage to our car, but pot hole filling is now being carried out on the worst sections.
    Any small problems we had were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We look forward to another visit next year.

    By Bill and Sue Sutton stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Tigh na Mara is a lovely cosy cottage in a stunning location. We found the cottage perfect for two people with a well equipped kitchen. It was lovely to sit and have breakfast and dinner whilst watching wildlife right outside.We will definetely book again.to stay here.

    By David & Linda stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely comfortable cottage with stunning views you could look at all day.
    Certainly remote but worth the 20 minute drive from the main road. Very well equipped and clean and a very comfortable bed. Would recommend this cottage to anybody seeking peace and quiet.

    By Tony & Jen stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Tigh Na Mara is a lovely little cottage for 2 in a beautiful location with endless wonderful walking and wildlife on the doorstep. For a none 4x4 the final 4 miles were rather rough going! Our standards are very high and with that in mind we would say the cottage now needs freshening up throughout and some updating including bedroom furniture , a new fridge , a better shower and drainage and Wi Fi. These are not deal breakers we loved our fortnight on Mull and will be back!

    By David Nowell stayed in June 2015

    Editor's Note: Drainage problem with shower is now sorted (could have been done during guests' stay if they had asked). Cottage was painted throughout in February this year.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Back for our 4th stay, wonderful place but getting too popular, when we first stayed here you didn't see anyone else for days, but now there are cars parked all over the place. Another set of drawers in bedroom would solve storage problems, and fridge-freezer rusty on outside. A whirly clothes drier would be handy outside for sunny days. However, we will definitely be back for a fifth stay as soon as we can arrange it.

    By Val and Keith Flintham stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was even better than we had hoped for, very clean and modern and the best equipped kitchen I've ever seen! Views were stunningly beautiful, and we loved wildlife watching from the cottage and spotted otters and seals from the cottage window, and stags and lots of bunnies on the cottage lawns! Wonderful walks straight out the cottage door, and lots of lovely places within a short driving distance! We look forward to returning again in the future!

    By Laura & Richard stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is exactly as it looks in the photographs. Very clean, comfortable cottage, with everything you need (even a very well equipped kitchen)
    If your looking for peace, quiet and tranquility, this is the place to come.
    The wildlife was spectacular, with beautiful scenery and walks right outside the front door.
    An easy island to explore, knowing that your returning to your own secluded cottage at the end of the day.
    Already planning our return visit.

    By Brian & Mary stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was clean, warm and cosy and the situation was stunning overlooking the loch. The only fault was the water in the shower room which was slow to drain away, but I would definitely recommend this property. I hope to go back someday.

    By Christine Green stayed in October 2014

Add your review