Call us on 01688 400682

The Smiddy Reviews

10 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage. Log fire already lit so immediately relaxing. Entrance room tiled which was a great advantage coming in wet and muddy from offroad biking or walking. Plenty of space in which to dry kit that wasnt in the sitting room. Great location for all parts of the island. Owner very welcoming and helpful.

    By Sarah Kish stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have known Jenny and Jim for many many years now and we can honestly say that their welcome is always friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The quality of their cottage is top notch, very comfortable and spacious. Beautifully peaceful and a great location. Nice to feed the birds out the front and watch from the lounge. Chaffinches in abundance. White tail eagle over Lochdon, deer over at Grasspoint. Two otters playing together along from Knock Farm and Golden eagles way up the cliffs at Gribun. We felt really at home in the cottage and it had everything we needed. We will be back. Thank you so much.

    By Sue & Ray Baker stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb location, superb accommodation, relaxing, comfortable and very spacious. We even got several days of sunshine. Being close to the Craignure ferry terminal was also handy, and the cottage is positioned well for access throughout the island. Lots of wildlife around, particularly plenty of birds in the large garden. Great holiday.

    By David Blair stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a great place to stay. Spacious, comfortable with an amazingly well equipped kitchen. The cottage felt like home for the 14 days we stayed and was a cosy shelter from Mull's summer rain...

    By Roy Wassink stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I can only confirm the previous reviews, its all true! A great property with excellent clean facilities, all the birdy delights mentioned. Close to either ferry with lovely walks just on the doorstep fantastic!

    By Paul Whorton stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay In the Smiddy, the lovely cottage had everything we needed and more. Jenny was very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The fact it was near the ferry was a definite bonus. Looking forward to a return trip

    By Wendy Harborne stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Spacious and comfortable old cottage. Great views over Lochdon from the reception/dining room. Lots of wildlife to see very close to the cottage. Beds comfortable, excellent log fire to keep you warm in the lounge. Central heating radiators provided background heating. Large kitchen with good views of the back garden and beyond. Close to shops and pub in Craignure. Excellent WiFi in the lounge, TV with usual Freeview channels. DVD player and discs showing Island attractions. Lots of information books and leaflets and ample books to read.

    By Renton Charman stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Smiddy was an excellent place to stay while on Mull: very conveniently located for the Oban-Craignure ferry, a short drive to key wildlife spotting locations, and within easy distance of all the main activities on the island. The cottage itself was very spacious and excellently furnished, with everything you could need in the kitchen and plenty of wildlife and fiction books if the weather keeps you indoors. The welcome from Jenny was also excellent, with the wood burner going and fresh daffodils in the vases. The cottage was also nice and warm, even in cold March, with efficient electric wall heater throughout. Bird food was also provided, and you can sit in the living room watching the birds come to the feeder. We would definitely visit Mull and the Smiddy again, and would recommend it to anyone else!

    By Emily King stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well what a wounderfull place to stay. We caught the 4 o'clock ferry from Oban lovely crossing.
    On our arrival Jenny was waiting for us with the wood burner already lit was a very welcoming.
    Jenny was waving through the window but the smiddy was only 4 minutes drive from the ferry and very easy to find. It was dark when we got there and couldn't see much on arrival.
    The smiddy was much bigger than we thought and was amazed about the amount of space and the cleanliness, the kitchen was well equipped for more more than our needs.
    In the morning when we arose the the sun was just coming up over the loch, what a beautiful view.
    We took some bird food up with us and Jenny had provided some as well, in the end we bought some more.
    The amount of different types of birds where amazing.
    We went to grass point and on our way we saw a lot of deer hiding in the field buzzards.
    The Smiddy was a great place to stop to explore all the island all the wild life is around this area and we would highly recommend stopping there which we will do if we go to Mull Again.
    Thank you for a perfect place to stay and an amazing week.
    Glynis, Stephen. And of course Goldie.

    By Stephen Glynis stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a true home from home, we were made so welcome by Jenny & Jim. We stayed for 3 weeks on a birding holiday and this was an ideal location along side Lochdon for birds and wildlife, with Grasspoint just a short walk from the Smiddy where you will see White-tailed eagles, Hen Harriers, Cuckoo, Short-eared Owl and Buzzard to name a few. We also saw Otters at Grasspoint. The garden at the Smiddy is also a haven for birds. We saw Yellow hammer, Coal Tit, Siskin, and Lesser Redpol as well as the usual Tit's & Finches.
    A great place to stay in a wonderful location. We can't wait to return.

    By Roy Carré stayed in May 2016

Add your review