Call us on 01688 400682

The Old Coastguards Reviews

18 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous! Fi has thought of everything and her impeccable taste and thoughtfulness shows in every square inch of the cottage. Comfort and style and a good location ensured our stay was the best self-catering holiday ever. I can't recommend The Old Coasguards enough. Thank you Fi!

    By Jen, Irene, Becky and Tom stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a luxury apartment, beautifully decorated in a Scottish theme. Every feature of the property is "top notch".
    Fiona's welcome and guided tour was an unexpected but appreciated bonus. Although the weather was not very kind to us, we thoroughly enjoyed our week on Mull, exploring its beauty, the wild life and sampling the seafood.

    By Peter and Helen Floyd stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were highly impressed with the standard Fiona had refurbished the property too. I'm relatively fussy and like more modern properties and this hit the mark 100%. Lots of little touches around made it even better. Excellent facilities within the accommodation. The rooms were lovely and the waterfall shower is always a treat.
    Location is excellent (steep hill to the harbour but it was fine for us). Less than a ten minute walk to the centre of town.
    We had a great holiday all in all, lots of Otters, Eagles and the other beautiful wildlife Mull has to offer (which was the reason for our stay)
    Thanks Fiona :-)

    By Clare & Anton Harte stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had the most wonderful week again at the Old Coastguards, we just can't fault anything. Everything you need is on hand, Fiona & Hugh Saw to our every needs. There hospitality is like no other. Weather was very kind to us we even managed a day to lungamull one of the most beautiful beaches on Mull. We can't wait for our next visit in May 2018. Harris Family - Kendal x

    By Harris Family-Lakes District stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superbly finished cottage with all mod cons. Feels like you are staying in a bit of a boutique hotel. This is a great property to rent as its location is so convenient. You can get to the seafront with a few minutes walk and yet it is peaceful in the property. The utility room is brilliant for drying and washing - essentials if you are out and about on a wet week. Having a huge open plan area is great if you need to be kept in by the weather. Really I don't think there are many more properties like this in Tobermory. Highly recommended - just wish we could have stayed longer.

    By Elizabeth Sawyer stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage, beautifully presented and very light and airy - great location and it's so good to have a cottage with a great utility room for dealing with dirty walking gear ! It is a boutique cottage experience and we will be back !!

    By Judith Copland stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    From the minute we walked into Old Coastguards we were delighted and stunned it was so utterly beautiful, it was such a pleasure to stay there, every little detail had been thought about, The interior was decorated so beautifully, we took lots of ideas home with us! no expense has been spared, if We could have transported Old Coastguards back to Surrey we would have, lol

    By June Griffiths stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I have to confess I always read reviews before I commit to anything and then never write reviews of my own. But we were so blown away with this property that I had to post a review. The Old Coastguards is a truly fabulous place and without question the best we have stayed in. Fiona has really put together an absolutely stunning property, it is total luxury! We were struggling to find any living essentials not provided in the house. Everything is immaculate and well considered. Additionally the property is just a short walk from the Main Street and close to the island's main routes - definite plus points when using the property as a base for our adventures. Without a doubt we will definitely come back and stay here again and would encourage others to do likewise.

    By The Brock family stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What can we say this is an amazing place to stay, 5 star luxury! We couldn't of asked for anything better. Location was superb. Weather treated us well too. Fiona was on hand to see to our every needs. We will be back next year! Would Highly recommend....thanks again for making our stay most enjoyable and memorable! The Harris Family X

    By Harris Family Lake District stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Old Coastguards is the most luxurious and beautifully decorated cottage and we loved our annual week in Mull even more this year, because we stayed here. Fiona has thought of everything you'd need to make your stay more enjoyable - and then some... The welcome basket was a lovely touch and the tablet didn't last long!! Delicious!! On what was a very wet week of weather, the Cottage was a lovely, warm and welcoming bolt hole to return to. Would highly recommend you stay here. Thank you Fiona, we had a great week!!

    By The Mucklow Family, Helensburgh (& Mull) stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow! What an exceptional place! The Old Coastguards was so well decorated and equipped. Everything was thought of. We will definitely be booking again for next year. Thank you Fi.

    By The Wheelans Family stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage is furnished and equipped to an extremely high standard - really beautiful and a lovely base from which to explore Mull. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the welcome pack provided by Fi, the owner. We would recommend this cottage to anyone and everyone!

    By Jackie and Iain Macpherson stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Old Coastguards is bar far the best self catering cottage we have stayed in. The cottage has been decorated and styled to a very high standard and equipped with everything that you will need for your stay. The cottage was spotlessly clean when we arrived and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. We had a wonderful time staying here for a week and would highly recommend that you choose to stay here too. Thank you Fi for everything and we will be back staying here as soon as we can!

    By Mr & Mrs Miller stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely place to stay. Great base for Tobermory and the house is immaculate and equipped to a very high standard. Loved the feel of the place with lots of thoughtful touches by Fiona including a welcoming tray of goodies. Thanks for a great week. We would definitely come back here.

    By David and Kath Barr stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were delighted with our stay in this beautifully decorated contemporary, warm, light and airy property which was spotlessly clean. It is indeed a luxurious property which is also equipped to a very high standard. We really appreciated the lovely welcome pack too. We would highly recommend this property which is one of the best we have ever stayed in.

    By KEN & EVELYN SHORT stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fabulous cottage. Without doubt the best we have stayed in. Fiona has thought of everything. Tobermory is a lovely place to stay and we enjoyed the walk up and down the hill from the cottage to the main street. The kitchen has everything you would need for cooking although admittedly we ate out most nights - spoiled for choice by the restaurants Tobermory has to offer. We hope to be back soon.

    By Jo & Paul stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fiona's cottage is decorated to a luxury standard and is really well equipped. We were on holiday with a baby and we had everything we needed to make the week easy. The cottage was comfortable and cosy yet modern, and just lovely to spend time in. A five minute walk down the hill to the town. We would definitely go back. Great holiday!

    By Lisa & David Gallagher stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It gives me great pleasure to be the first ones to stay at and review this property. This is an absolutely stunning cottage and the pictures do not do it justice as luxury exudes from all aspects of this property.
    We were met by the owner when we arrived who gave us a warm welcome and a tour. Ensure you park you car straight in front of the cottage adjacent to the wall.
    Mull is a lovely friendly island with lots to do so you will certainly enjoy your stay along with this luxury accommodation it is a win win.
    We will certainly be back, but we will need to book early as once people find this accommodation it maybe booked up quite quickly :-)

    By Linda & Rod Nisbet stayed in March 2016

Add your review