Call us on 01688 400682

The Byre Reviews

23 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our first visit to Mull so were unsure about the geography and the best places to stay. The Byre could not have been a better choice. Set amongst stunning scenery with a view across a sea loch with buzzards and eagles for company. The cottage is immaculate, clean, airy and well equipped. a credit to the company and the housekeeper, the lovely Emma. Though the location is not central we explored the island without any problem. Stunning wildlife. I would recommend a tour with Brian from 'Wild About Mull' who has a wealth of knowledge about the island and its wildlife. Based at nearby Pennygael Stores. Wonderful holiday.

    By Peter Reynolds stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Byre was an excellent base for visiting Mull and Staffa. We loved Iona and the the beach at Ardalanish. We managed to explore as far as Tobermory, the B road was particularly beautiful. Our favourite day was going to Ulva where we did a walk (which was well marked) and a lovely meal at 'The Boathouse'. Mull was stunning, no wifi was great and the wildlife amazing. Driving and negotiating sheep and highland cattle is not for the fainthearted but well worth it.

    By Karen and Adam Barnett stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We endorse all the positive comments already made. The comfortable bed, light and airy living space and freedom from the 'noise' of normal life, including having to drive slowly, made it a superb holiday. We added excellent frozen ready meals, bread and vegetables from the Crofters at KIntra (just before Fionnphort) and from the weavers at Ardalanish and appreciated the village shops. For us, a packed Sunday morning service at Iona Abbey, local history in several small but fascinating collections and the scenic road to Ulva were particular highlights. Train travel north and a car hired on Mull made the whole time away memorable.

    By Brian and Judith stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved it all. The weather helped but the Ross of Mull is stunning. We were going to travel the island but in the end a week on the Ross wasn't enough just for that area. Staffa is a must-visit. Emma was great his helping out booking things and making the holiday special.

    By Steve and Sue Gill stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage. Excellent location with outstanding views. Facilities first class with the most comfortable beds.
    Lovely to meet Emma, who was very welcoming and helpful.

    By Kevin and Michelle Brown stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a brilliant holiday at the Byre and felt totally relaxed. The south west part of mull is quiet and wild with excellent walks and beaches and fabulous wildlife watching opportunities so we'll definitely be back.
    The Byre is the perfect spot to get away, it has all you need, is in great condition, good location and has amazing views and cosy nights with the log burner.

    By Lindsey & Rob stayed in December 2016

    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is nicely located with a good view out the main window
    I have to say though whislt overall it was quite cosy the fittings and furniture was a big let down for us
    Firstly the listed double bed is actually two singles pushed together with separate mattresses and bedding so unless you like sleeping on your own or in the crevasse between the two it's hardly ideal for couples !
    We found the stove very temperamental and it was an acquired art to stop it from melting us or extinguishing altogether , lucky there are heaters so for the most part it was quite warm
    The shower had the qualities of an anaemic garden sprinkler and the bathroom floor got quite wet everywhere
    Though a nice little cottage in a great location we did feel the owners might want to up their game a bit

    By John stayed in October 2016

    Editor's Note: Thank you for the review. The bed is a continental style and we've updated the website to make that clearer. Otherwise, we will pass on your comments, but haven't had others reporting problems with the stove or shower.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable cottage and easy to heat on cooler days. ~The views are 'special'. The welcome from Emma excellent/ Great for a retreat from modern electonics!

    By chris and eve gilmore stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    a fantastic holiday, the byre was perfect, very warm greeting from Emma was made to feel at home, views to day for, cant wait to go back

    By lesley and jon storey stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A warm welcome greeted us when we arrived. The cottage was well laid out and very comfortable. It was lovely to relax with a wonderful view especially when we had the addition of a beautiful sunset. We also enjoyed watching the vast array of wildlife.

    By Brenda & David Jefferson stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Byre proves, that a top location does not need any electronic means to contact the outer world. We would even say: the lack of those means added up to our rating! Peace and quiet as peace and quiet was ment to be!!
    Emma made us feel very welcome, the furnishing was top, the bed was great and the view was matchless. Seeing the buzzards fly off and on, the rabbits hopping through the pastures and those unequalled sunsets every evening..
    We can only say: TOP!

    By Rob Hond and Ria Dorsman stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely bright and airy, cosy cottage in a beautiful location, overlooking the sea. Very peaceful with great views, and we had some fabulous sunsets. It is surrounded by so much wildlife, so is the place to go if you're a wildlife lover.

    By Carole and Matthew stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I loved staying at the The Byre. It's a real getaway from it all type of location. If you enjoy total peace and seclusion, with no modern distractions, and you love wildlife, then it's the perfect place to recharge your batteries. I came for the scenery, walking and the bird-watching, and it did not fail to deliver - buzzards and ravens are regular visitors, and a male hen harrier was quartering the crags and fields around the cottage most mornings and evenings. The birding highlight was seeing two stunning golden eagles majestically making a tour of their hunting territory. Lots of friendly wheatears and meadow pipits on the fields around the cottage. Magical sunsets too - what's not to like!

    By Paul Lansdowne stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable and cosy cottage, in a peaceful setting with great views over the loch. It had everything we needed and we especially enjoyed the log burner. There are plenty of good walks, long and short nearby as well as beaches. Emma and family were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend The Byre.

    By Trevor & Sally stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage, beautifully presented. Views of the sea and surrounding countryside are outstanding. We were given the warmest of welcomes on arrival and the housekeeper was eager to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. The local wildlife was great, especially the Golden Eagle that appeared most days. For a "get away from it all" break, The Byre really couldn't be bettered - highly recommended. Many thanks.

    By N Burdell stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautifully presented cottage and very comfortable. Emma was very helpful. Would highly recommend this cottage both for its views, peace and quiet and the interesting local area of the Ross of Mull and Iona.

    By G Brown stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very nice cottage , very peaceful and left alone. Great views from cottage over Loch Scridain, . Plenty of wildlife to look out for. cottage very warm & cosy

    By Kim & Jo Lamb stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely week at de Byre,cosy and warm,
    A Great base to come back
    After touring on our motorcycle.
    We lovend the sunsets &fantastic vieuws
    Thanks for the very warm welcome...

    By Don & Hermien Rikken stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An excellent small cottage in superb location, free of the intrusions of modern life. Fitted to a good standard with a particularly fine bed! We appreciated the genuinely warm welcome and friendly help when needed. We would recommend this cottage to anyone appreciating a serene location and simple country pleasures.

    By Chris Clark stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Byre has everything you need, is in a good location to explore the Ross of Mull and has a spectacular outlook.

    By Kathy Brown stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Byre. Emma was a joy and really helpful to us as I was ill during our stay and she helped us find a local surgery with a drop-in clinic. The property is set in an idyllic location and the sunsets viewed from the dinning table were superb. The cottage was full of helpful information on the island and local activities. We highly recommend this property for a quiet, serene holiday.

    By Ansley Crabtree stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great stay in beautiful surroundings. Byre was just what we needed for our break on Mull.
    Lots of wildlife around the area, sea eagles, otters, etc.
    Emma was very welcoming and helpful.
    Will be going back.

    By Kenneth Evans stayed in February 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well located cottage with a great view of the sea. The owners were friendly and accomodating. Lots of local wildlife to see and great walking. The woodburner added some welcome warmth to come home to and it was blissfully quiet. Perfect for a secluded getaway.

    By Michelagh O'Neill stayed in October 2014

Add your review