Call us on 01688 400682

The Bothy Reviews

25 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fabulous location with lovely walks nearby and lots if wildlife all around. A cosy cottage, lovely and clean and tidy with everything we could have needed. A super option having prepared meals available too.

    By Pete and Jen stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a brilliant time, Flora and tom are very welcoming the peace and quite are great there are some fabulous walks, the meals we ordered were scummy, lots of wildlife The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable we will be going back

    By Lorraine & Bruce Donovan stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a really relaxing week. The cottage was lovely and we can highly recommend Flora's frozen meals!

    By Jenny Attwood stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is very well appointed and off the beaten track so very peaceful. We had direct access to the beach which was brilliant. Saw a Golden Eagle while unpacking and our first wild otter on the rocks along the beach, deer were regular visitors to the bracken behind the cottage. It is well placed for visiting all around the island and we were both very quickly into holiday mode.

    By Jane and Ian stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The peace and quiet is perfect, as is the cottage, for us the weather could have been kinder but we wanted a getaway holiday and this cottage was perfect for us, the breadmaker was especially useful!!

    By Keith and Angela Sawyer stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    beautiful setting,lovely cottage.so very relaxing.lovely family.hope to return.

    By anne valance stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both lead busy lives so this was just what we were looking for. The views were amazing to wake up to. Fantastic walks. Great food. The wildlife was fantastic. The weather couldn't have been any better.
    The dog is still tired out after all the walks and making new friends on the farm. We wanted to stay longer. We will definitely be back and will recommend to anyone who is looking for that perfect break away from it all.

    By Katrina and Ian Bourhill stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you are looking for peace and quiet then this is the place to be...the cottage is so cosy and well equipped, the scenery is stunning and Tom and Flora could not be more welcoming. Overall a fantastic place for a much needed short break.

    By Rebecca and Meg stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    All of the above! It'd be harder to be much further 'off the beaten track' - we had a peaceful break in a beautiful place, with great 'Larder' meals too. And rather special to have a pair of Golden Eagles as neighbours (along with the chickens, deer and Highland cattle, not to mention Flora and family). You won't regret it.

    By Simon and Vicky stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Comfortable cottage in a prime location. Wildlife on the doorstep Loved the warmth of the woodburner on an evening. Well equipped kitchen and huge bed. Flora and Tom are congenial hosts who are most helpful but don't intrude one little bit. Would love to return

    By Judi and Dave stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    the bothy was a lovely outstanding cottage with amazing views and so cosy on autumn evening,s

    By carol seymour stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Idyllic setting and cottage on a working farm. Tom and Flora were excellent hosts and we sampled many of the Larder meals, Lamb Tagine a particular favourite. The dog thoroughly enjoyed the isolated beach walks. Much wildlife was on hand included Fallow deer and Hen Harriers in the local proximity and even had time to fish off the point for some Mackerel which are close in to shore on the spinner. Saw seals and Dolphins at Grasspoint which is close. If you need a calm relaxing holiday then this is the place to go, hope to return some day.

    By Barrie and Julie stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had an wonderful, peaceful and relaxing holiday in marvellous surroundings. The cottage was very comfortable, enjoyed the cosiness of the log fire. Tom and Flora were lovely hosts, very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the Larder meals very much. The wildlife was amazing, deer, eagles, buzzards etc. We really didn't want to come home and hope to return soon. Thank you to Flora and Tom for having us to stay at your cottage.

    By Lynda and Bill stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I can only add to all the previous reviews in the same glowing terms
    The cottage was very cosy and comfortable
    The situation on a working farm with the beach and hills was stunning
    We saw eagle and otter within walking distance
    We loved walking to the "post office" shop to buy various goodies
    Anyone lucky enough to choose the Bothy for their stay on Mull will not be disappointed
    We had an idyllic week on Mull in this wonderful location
    Thank you to Flora and Tom

    By Roy and wendy stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage on a beautiful bay plenty of opportunities for walks and lots of wildlife to see including red deer. We were well looked after by Flora an Tom. The food provided by Flora was excellent so a couple of dishes pre-ordered to save cooking chores turned in to an all out assault on the menu!

    By Steve and Lynda stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both had an amazing stay in The Bothy, it's a perfect location to explore and head off on some beautiful walks. Very peaceful and relaxing, and we couldn't have asked for better weather :) Wish we could have stayed longer.

    By Fiona and Chris stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy is a lovely cottage in a stunning location right next to a beach, perfect if you want peace and tranquility. We had a lovely time on Mull and we were able to explore the entire island, including Iona from this base. Flora and Tom were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The food Flora makes, which can be booked in advance or bought from the Old Post Office down the track, is incredible and we ended up buying extra meals after our first couple of days. We also saw golden eagles and sea eagles just down the road at Loch Uisg and Croggon.

    By Kim and Joe stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I had a perfect stay at this lovely comfortable cottage. Just what I wanted a peaceful escape to enjoy the beauty of Mull. A stunning location for my holiday.

    By Helen West stayed in February 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely week here. The cottage is very comfortable and Flora's meals, available to order directly from her, are delicious and very convenient after a day's walking.

    By Wendy Fisher stayed in February 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Bothy was absolutely perfect. Well thought out, nicely furnished and comfortable (something other self catering accommodation doesn't always offer). Surrounded by incredible nature & wildlife - and a cheeky horse or two. Thanks for having us!

    By Katherine, Mabel and Storm stayed in November 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We both enjoyed our stay here. Flora and Tom were very welcoming and accommodating. The Bothy's location is great as there is lots to see on foot from the doorstep.

    By Ceris Jones stayed in November 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic stay. The cottage is well equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. Great walking from the door step. We saw Dolphins, otters and golden eagles. Every day had a magical moment. Flora and her husband were extremely helpful and gave time but were not intrusive. We would definitely hope to return.

    By Coral Brereton stayed in October 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely little place in a very quiet, out of the way area, with everything that you need. Beautiful beach just a couple of minutes away. Flora and Tom were very helpful, but not intrusive at all. Stunning views all around and we were welcomed with a wonderful sunset on the Saturday we arrived. For peace and tranquility this takes some beating and we will be back! Thank you!

    By Elaine & John stayed in October 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A comfortable cottage on a working farm, a warm welcome awaits you, well worth the effort of getting there along its bumpy track, a fantastic view awaits you of beach, loch and mountains. A perfect place to unwind in peace and quiet.

    By Pat and Ralph stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cosy cottage with stunning views as promised. Perfect hideaway by a beautiful, quiet beach. Lovely owners. Would love to come back & stay again : ) Highly recommended.

    By Sam McDonnell stayed in September 2015

Add your review