Call us on 01688 400682

Oskamull Reviews

19 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic house very spacious and comfortable, lots of wildlife around you ,stunning views , would definitely come back , well worth the money

    By Richardson stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oskamull is a beautiful house in a fantastic location, the views are magnificent.The house is large with ample space and is very cosy and well equiped.The wildlife is everywhere to be seen,we saw golden eagles,sea eagles and whales.Down at Calgary bay we saw otters and dolphins,we also saw deer.A visit to Iona is a must and is also a beautiful drive around the island to get there,Ulva was my favourite tho just at the bottom of the road from the house a little ferry takes approx 3 mins to get there and the history was very intresting.We also climbed Ben more which can be seen from the house,I would recommend oskamull and would definately stay here again.

    By richardson stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Oskamull is a gem of a house in one of the most stunning settings in the Hebrides and it was a real privilege to experience this little piece of paradise for a week.
    We saw eagles and peregrine falcons every day of our stay and loved the peace and tranquility of the place, the way the sunlight created a glittering mass of diamonds on the loch and how the clouds danced across the hills, creating an ever-changing picture.
    However, It has to be said that most of the criticisms mentioned in other reviews - about aspects of the house which require attention - are valid points.
    We still rate Oaskamull as a five star find though and if these points were addressed we would have scored it ten out of five for its unbeatable location.

    By Les and Moira Hazelgrave-Kerr stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house is spacious and cosy but furnishings are tired (the sofas particularly so). It is interesting to note that our mini-gripes have all been previously noted (e.g noisy plumbing and a shortage of suitable glassware) but sadly not addresssed. On balance though, these are small issues. We had a great stay and Oskamull is an excellent base with incredible views; to continue to justify the weekly rent some of the fixtures and fittings will need a bit of updating.

    By Godber Family stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful House very well furnished, spacious, very clean and confortable. Everything was perfect. We were a family of 2 adults and 3 children from France. ??????

    By Bouc stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Très grande maison, très bien équipée et très propre. La dame qui faisait la propreté était très gentille à notre arrivée. Une superbe maison à conseiller, face à l'océan, au milieu des moutons et des vaches.

    By Bouc stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The views are fantastic and the house spacious, but it feels tired and the equipment is not all functional.
    The plumbing is very noisy and woke the kids in the morning.
    The mirrors are positioned for dwarfs!!
    We have rented far better the cost.

    By Wrights stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very well equipped house with amazing views. Mull has such unique wildlife and coastline. Great for walks and exploring even when it hailed and snowed. We highly recommend.

    By Cousans Family stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful and well equipped cottage in a stunning location. A great base for exploring the wilder parts of Mull, not ideal if you want easy access to shops or a pub!
    The views are amazing and change all the time, and waking up to see the peak of Ben More out your bedroom window is a special treat.

    By Watson and Milne Families stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic holiday, Oskamull is a beautiful house full of character there is not many places in the UK where you can watch dolphins in the distance whilst having breakfast!! The flora and fauna is unique and the butterflies are amazing. We enjoyed every minute of our holiday thank you Tessa for sharing Oskamull. We have told many friends of our adventures. We would love to return.

    By Lizzie Bell stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This house is large, spacious, well equipped and has amazing views. Considering the fact that we had snow at the end of April, the house was warm and cosy and we didn't even need to light the wood-burning stove!
    The kitchen is one of the best equipped we've had in 20+ years of renting cottages in Scotland.
    Picking up on some of the previous comments: there are now wine glasses and plenty of other glasses. It is a squeeze to fit 8 adults at the dining table but just about manageable. There are few in mirrors in the house but for a group who are focused on the outdoors and cycling/walking this wasn't a big issue for us.
    The noise from the boiler/water pump was a problem for those in the back bedroom so we had to avoid turning on taps or flushing looks whilst they were in bed, so if you have light sleepers in your group don't put them in this room.
    However, none of this would put us off staying in the house again and I'd recommend it to others - the views are amazing!

    By Lesley Waud stayed in April 2016

    Editor's Note: Just to clarify, the boiler is located on the ground floor and there isn't a water pump inside the property.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The house is in an excellent location with fantastic views,a perfect base to explore Mull.
    There were Sea-Eagles around every day.Perigrine Falcons and Merlin.
    There could be a few improvements such as mirrors and shelving in all the bathrooms.A wardrobe would have been better instead of the water tank in the twin en-suite as every time the toilet or tap was run it awoke guests in that room..
    All in all we loved the house ,we had an excellent holiday and will return again.

    By Sharon Owens stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A really lovely house in an excellent location with absolutely gorgeous views. Plenty of wildlife to be seen on the doorstep - sea eagles aplenty!
    The house was very spacious and comfortable but perhaps (if I'm being very picky) not quite as well equipped as we would expect - e.g. no mirrors/shelves/loo roll holders in the bathrooms and no (well, one) beer glasses.
    However all-in-all we had a super, comfortable week in a lovely place. We would recommend it and will most likely return!

    By Johnson Family stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely spacious house with amazing views over Ulva and the bay. Great setting to explore this area of Mull. Spotted basking sharks and otters as our wildlife highlights, together with a couple of lovely walks on Ulva

    By Richmond family stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely large house with beautiful views. Mull, Iona and Ulva were beautiful! Unfortunately we had a bad start to our holiday when we had to wait outside in atrocious weather while the housekeeper finished cleaning - we were an hour earlier than arrival time but it might have been hospitable to let us in slightly early for a cup of tea to warm us up! House was let down by lack of storage for clothes in the second bedroom, a smell from drains in one of the en suites, poorly fitting curtains in the main bedroom, the kitchen table not being large enough for 8 people, no salad bowl and servers, no whisk, no proper wine glasses and some dirty paintwork. There is no garden to speak of and the garden furniture wasn't put out for us.(we had emailed beforehand to ask about outside seating) There was no barbecue either. I know I'm complaining but at this price I expect better and it wouldn't take much to make this house fantastic!

    By Muir family stayed in July 2015

    Editor's Note: We do ask guests not to arrive before the stated time of entry. The house was only finished last year so the paintwork was fresh at the start of the year. The plumbing problem was unexpected and has now been resolved and outdoor furniture wasn't on the property description (as we said), but has since been added.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely warm, spacious house with fantastic views. Good spot for exploring NW Mull. Particularly enjoyed our trips to Ulva and excellent lunches! Definitely recommend Oskamull, in fact we are planning a return trip.

    By Carnduff stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent trip, with Turus Mara, from the Ulva ferry across to Staffa and the Treshnish Isles to see the puffins, also with Arthur of Discover Mull for bird watching. We felt the location was perfect for touring around the island. Bad weather for 3 days, snow, hail, sleet, but house was warm and cosy, although weather did not stop us from doing anything.

    By Potter stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Group of eight of us stayed in April 2015 - excellent house for a big group, lots of space upstairs and downstairs, including a utility room which was great for wet coats and boots. House was warm and cosy - we lit a fire one night but didn't need to as the house is so well insulated! Enjoyed relaxed sociable meals in the big kitchen. Fantastic setting - with lots of windows so can see the views in all weathers. Some of the best views on Mull from the house - can see out over Ulva, down to Ben More and up the coast where there were some great sunsets. Highly recommended.

    By Sue Underwood stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Family of 5 stayed April 2015, Oskamull is a fabulous, well equipped, spacious property with views to lose yourself in, Ben More, Ulva, across to Iona, probably some of our favourite views in Mull, and we even saw the Northern Lights! We would highly recommend staying here. Loved the deer in the garden at supper time, but visiting Ulva is probably one of the most special trips, seals galore, otters, deer and the most wonderful sense of times past.

    By The Moorcroft family stayed in April 2015

Add your review