Call us on 01688 400682

Old School House Reviews

15 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great place to stay, of course there are small problems that you can pick on but you have to accept it is a very old house if you want all mod cons it is not for you. fantastic views great for wildlife .great to come back to this cosy house. Biggest problem was the cows in the front garden leaving a real mess we will be going. Back for our 3rd visit

    By Linda Carr stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful cottage. Lovely and cosy to return to after walks along the coast. Wildlife amazing, went home with the best pictures of an otter yet! Problem with back door, but soon sorted by John and Cathy, who also brought us fresh duck and hen eggs. The great weather completed the holiday. Our fifth cottage on Mull and best yet. Thank you.

    By Dave and Lesley Roberts stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, beautiful setting. In spite of a damp week, apart from the last two days which were glorious, we managed to walk every day. Before breakfast on our second morning we saw an otter fishing, a golden eagle and a sparrow hawk. Not to mention the deer and rabbits round the cottage morning and evening etc etc! The dog was puzzled and a bit scared of the lambs who were not a bit scared of him! The walk to Portfield Beach is delightful and the view over the loch in the changing weather and light was amazing. We wanted remote and that's what we got.

    By Lynn Barrett stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful holiday . The location of the cottage was perfect for watching the wildlife and the changing view of the loch . We saw so much wildlife both from the cottage and along the beautiful walk to portfield beach . The house was very warm and cosy to come back to . Croggan is so peaceful and a haven for wildlife. Many thanks to John and Kathy who live nearby and sorted a problem with the washing machine.we even saw the northern lights on our last night .

    By Lisa and Clive whatley stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderfully quirky, comfortable little house in a superb location. I am an artist and my husband a cyclist so everyone was happy, including the dog. We will be back!

    By caroline taylor stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing cottage, stunning location! The wildlife that you could see in the surrounding area was just perfect.
    The views reflections and colours in the area made it a magical trip that we will never forget!
    Thank you

    By Barnett vincent stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    a fantastic location and so well equipped , an amazing view across the loch, wildlife every way you look

    By linda carr stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location of the cottage is wonderful. It's beautiful and magic.
    However this house is not a good holidays house. It's dark and cold. And don't even think to get a decent shower or bath. The bathrooms have not been renovated for ages.

    By Guisset-Grandin stayed in July 2016

    Editor's Note: Thanks for your comments. There was a problem with the water supply which the owner's weren't informed of during your stay (blocked filter) - had they been informed, that could have been fixed for you. There was a new shower cubicle installed in the one of the bathrooms this year.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Croggan is a real haven of tranquility. We were lucky enough to have glorious weather all week with beautiful sunrises and sunsets reflected on the Loch. Even saw the aurora borealis which was a bonus. Plenty of wildlife to see from Croggan or on the short walk to the headland...otters, red deer, mountain goats, porpoise in the bay, sea eagles, golden eagles and hen harrier on an almost daily basis. A great place to stay and the cottage was wonderfully warm and cosy

    By Jane Cottell stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent location with direct access to the loch shore...sea eagles and otters seen almost every day! Well equipped cottage and comfortable beds (now king-size we were pleased to note). Our third visit and it will not be our last.

    By Richard Smith stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect location for wildlife and quiet. Exceptionally well equipped and large kitchen made for sociable cooking and eating. Clean and comfortable. Views were stunning and we saw otters and seals from the house and an adder on the hills behind.

    By Jackie Ward stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful holiday and lovely accommodation. Would highly recommended this cottage. Tranquility and wildlife in abundance. Would definitely go again! Thankyou!

    By carol Hawley stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful time in this enchanting and well looked-after cottage, and absolutely enjoyed the stunning surroundings. You cannot imagine the peace, beauty and perfect tranquility of the place until you have been there. We watched otters and seals from the kitchen window, and also spotted the occasional sheep :)
    The house was perfectly clean, all household gear in order and the beds very comfy. Strong recommendation !

    By Benjamin stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I cannot praise this wonderful serene tranquil and perfectly set cottage with its fully furnished facilities to make our weeks break one of the most memorable experiences in many years. The location means we were surrounded by wild life, to include Deer Otters and all manner of bird life while enjoying the loch in front and the backdrop of the mountains. Sunrises and sunsets were just perfect. the track leads to even more hidden treasures for the explorer. The location is not for the disco - night club or regular party person as it offers a complete escape from the pressures of life to leave one feeling totally relaxed and at home.

    By Allan Ainsworth stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Not exactly an upto date review - more of a comment to owners! 20 years ago, just before we were married, my husband and I spent a magical holiday at your school house. You were part way through renovations, which didn't bother us one bit. Shortly after getting married we moved to the USA, where we have lived ever since. Every year we visit family in the UK and this year, we have decided that we will do something a little selfish - revisit Mull, a place that we both fell in love with before we met. So this year we will be hoping that our two teenage daughters feel something of the pull that is motivating us! Of course, we remembered the old school house and today I found it! Of course the cottage is fully booked, but I wanted to let you know how wonderful it looks now all the renovations are complete, and what very happy memories the photographs rekindled. I am so happy that so many people appreciate it - just as we did. Sorry - couldn't think of any other way to pass this message on and just felt the need!

    By Clare Harrison stayed in July 2013

Add your review