Call us on 01688 400682

Lochview Reviews

21 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Please note that this cottage is semi-detached, practically sharing a garden with the house right next door. It is not Detached or isolated. In fact it is on the road with a lot of houses around. It is not private.
    This sentence is short and hidden amidst description and easily missed.
    ‘It adjoins another holiday cottage, Lochside, on the outskirts of the peaceful village of Bunessan.’
    Due to the above we found this very disappointing and kids and dogs spoilt all the peace.
    Please correct it to what it actually is.
    Cottage itself is clean and well-equipped and the view is great but neighbours take away from it all.

    By Clarke stayed in August 2018

    Editor's Note: Sorry you missed the wording and that you were disappointed with Lochview. We do not say anywhere that the cottage is isolated or detached or private and highlight the fact it adjoins another cottage in both the description and location page

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a brilliant week at Lochview. The accommodation was very well equipped with everything you need and more. The views were truely stunning, so much wildlife and the most breathtaking sunsets I’ve ever seen! The children loved saying hello to the sheep and horses that often visited just outside. Fantastic week, fantastic place to stay, thanks!

    By Helen Cunningham stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at Lochview. The cottage is clean & comfortable with lovely views. It’s location was ideal for us as we wanted to be near the Ross of Mull beaches & Iona. We have been holidaying in Mull & Iona for many years and this was one of the best experiences we enjoyed. I would certainly recommend the cottage & would consider re- booking. Our daughter & family stayed in Lochside at the same time which was ideal. If we booked just for ourselves we would choose Lochside as the decking outside is higher & gives better views & privacy.

    By Janet stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A perfect cottage, spacious, clean and well equipped. The views from the front are amazing!

    By Bill, Jen and Sarah stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful , well-equipped cottage in a superb location for discovering the island. We were in the cottage for 2 weeks and had a fantastic holiday. The cottage has splendid views across the bay. Take your binoculars to watch the birds and the seals just outside the cottage!

    By Eileen and Brian Bright stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    our second trip to mull, but first at lochview. as soon as we entered the living area we both said 'wow' the views from the huge windows over the bay are stunning. the cottage has everything you need and is spacious and modern. the only thing I would mention is maybe black out curtains would be good for the bedrooms as it hardly grows dark in the summer, or take an eye mask!
    we were very lucky as our stay coincided with the heat wave! hardly a cloud in the sky all week, we didn't need to turn on the tv, the views from the windows were all you needed.
    we slept so well, with windows flung open you drifted off to the sounds of oyster catchers and other waders. the sunsets were amazing.
    the wildlife is why we came back to mull, we saw an otter in the bay and seals are on nearby rocks, but so much more on our drives round the island.
    we would highly recommend staffa tours for the treshnish wildlife cruise from fionnphort and mull charters for the sea eagle trip. we also went out with nigel shannon on an island encounter tour, plus took the ferry over to iona.
    we ate in the bluebird bistro in bunessan two nights, you need to book, and the meal was delicious.
    we are already looking foward to returning to mull, and would definately stay at lochview again.

    By christine and paul stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent place to stay with wonderful views thought it was the best area on the island to stay for the views and wildlife weather not good in November but that made it a more colourful island. Would definitely visit Mull again and can thoroughly recommend Lochview to anyone we shall definitely stay there again.

    By MARGARET & BOB BROWN stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great stay and a fab location. Lovely cottage and well furnished. Nice to have a picnic table and bench to sit on to admire the views. Lovely and warm with all mod cons.

    By Mark W stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great location fabulous views and very clean and comfortable property, would definitely recommend it.

    By Susan and Keith stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautifully kept cottage with very well equipped kitchen and stunning views including of seals on nearby rocks. Beaches and wildlife on the Ross of Mull are exceptional.

    By M Grimwood stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely clean and light and airy holiday home, lovely views and wonderful sunsets.
    Only a short drive to Fionnphort for the crossing to Iona where we spent a lovely day and well worth the visit.
    Would definitely stay here again

    By John Drury stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The only trouble with staying somewhere like this where the furniture and fittings are great quality and better than we have at home is that there is pressure to improve our house!
    We have stayed at lots of places on Mull and this was the most comfortable with a great view. It also brought us on to the Ross of Mull for the first time so we spent more time than ever before exploring locally and we spent 2 days getting to know that there is a lot more to Iona than the Abbey. Would we come again, yes, except we like to try somewhere new each year. Thank you

    By John and Sue Buckman stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage in a great location - very modernistic design, tastefully decorated (exactly how we like), layout, colours, facilities, privacy - just spot on!
    Location is great, close to Bunessan, fabulous views - early morning to sunset - just thank you for such wonderful time.

    By Eva and Slawomir Starzynski stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Can't fault anything about our hoilday. The island and the cottage was excellent. The views from the cottage were amazing. Abundance of wildlife out the back of the cottage. Would recommend this cottage. The service and ease of booking and the friendly staff of isle of mull cottages is second to none. We would recommend using isle of mull cottages.

    By Garry and Alison Dunn stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A really lovely cottage modern with everything you could wish for. Great kitchen and a bathroom with walk in shower and a bath. One of the nicest we have stayed in. The wifi was a great bonus but the views were the best thing. Simply gorgeous! A few minutes from tiny Bunessen but there is a shop and a pub. The beaches are beautiful with white sands and aquamarine seas. The Creel by the ferry is an absolute must and great value. We were very lucky and saw so much wildlife
    We are already planning for next year !

    By Lucinda Chapleo stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had an amazing time in Mull. Lochview was the perfect cottage and the owners were so welcoming and accommodating. We would definitely come back. Thank you for an amazing holiday.

    By Stephanie Parsons stayed in February 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Even Storms Barbara and Connor couldn't ruin our stay here. Very well equipped accommodation, while the wind and rain battered down outside we were snug and warm. Took a bit of finding the first night but we soon settled in. Ten minutes walk from the village of Bunessan - where, this time of year,there's only really a small Spar shop open for supplies so be warned . We did our holiday by public transport, ferries and bus service excellent. We thoroughly recommend both Mull and Lochview cottage for a Christmas / New Year break!

    By Jack and Tom stayed in December 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely and spacious accommodation with beautiful sea views and small garden for the dog. Plenty of great walks to the local weaver and the most beautiful sandy beaches. Plenty of wildlife around. Owners living next door and will help asap if there is a problem. Kitchen well equiped. Wifi worked great throughout the appartment.

    By Monica stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Fairly new and finished to an excellent standard with everything you could wish for a holiday cottage and more. Fantastic sunsets and very convenient location - perfect for Iona. Had a lovely meal at the Blackbird Bistro in Bunessan.

    By Mike Smith stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage, we have stayed all over Mull and very much enjoyed Bunessan. The cottage is very well equipped and exactly as pictured, beautiful location, warm and welcoming. The local pub served good pub food and the seafood at the Creel Bar was excellent.

    By Halina and Michael Briggs, Nottinghamshire stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lochview has to be one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in. My husband, daughter and I booked Lochview on the spur of a moment for the second week of our holiday. The owners were incredibly accommodating and really made the effort to make our stay enjoyable. We were lucky enough to be the first to stay (what a treat!) in the cottage. It is perfectly situated near to the water with a view that changed every five minutes. Bunessan is a ten minute walk away with a great local shop and places to eat. There are a number of white sandy beach within a 10-15 minute drive. Go further afield and visit Iona. However, you must visit the Creel Seafood Bar at Fionnphort before or after your trip to sample the delicious fresh (we saw it being carried up from the fishing boat!) seafood. Anyway, I digress (easy to do when Mull is so lovely), Lochview is decorated to a very high specification and has everything you could ask for in terms of kitchen equipment and I mean, everything. Incredibly well thought out to cater for every need. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom has a bath and a huge shower. The view from the large livingroom is second to none. Watching the wildlife and the horses roam in the evening was far better than any TV programme! Or you could play a game of Scottish Monopoly, which we did. How thoughtful to put board games in a holiday let. We really couldn't fault our stay. Thank you very much.

    By Janey Hoeflich stayed in July 2016

Add your review