Call us on 01688 400682

Katrine Cottage Reviews

30 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is near enough perfect. It is luxurious and was very comfortable for the four of us. Everything seems like it is top of the range. I noticed the one (!) negative review about having a queue for the bathroom which has prompted me to write this. Why? There are separate shower and bathrooms and yes, the sink is tiny but big enough to clean teeth. We had awful weather but still thoroughly enjoyed our wildlife spotting and the multiple selection of shorter walks to do between showers. We have to come back as we had our sights set on the mountains so have already rebooked Katrine Cottage. It is excellent.

    By Hobsons and Richardsons stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stopped in Katrine Cottage for one week and it was not enough, the pictures on the website dont do it justice. we never tired of looking out of our lounge window over the loch everyday. even spotting otters. the cottage was extremely well equipped and we even got to meet the owner Steve. Getting used to driving on the roads in Mull takes a little time but everyone very courteous when needing to pass each other. information supplied at cottage extremely comprehensive and plenty of trips to go on to see the wildlife. My suggestion would be to take as much of your provisions with you as only one Coop in Tobermory and then Spar shops in both Salen and Craignure. The Craignure shop is extremely over priced so give this one a miss and drive a little further to Salen where there is more choice and it is much cheaper. Isle of Mull has stunning scenery and you never tire of this. We are already thinking when we can return.

    By Mullin Family stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Exceptional cottage with fabulous views across the loch towards Ben More, can even watch Otters in the loch from the comfort of the living room!
    Highest standard of fixtures & fittings throughout the cottage make a stay here feel less like a holiday let and much more like living in someone's luxury home. Well done to the owners - could happily move in here and stay permanently.

    By Dave and Cynth Palmer stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Exceptional cottage with fabulous views across the loch towards Ben More, can even watch Otters in the loch from the comfort of the living room!
    Highest standard of fixtures & fittings throughout the cottage make a stay here feel less like a holiday let and much more like living in someone's luxury home. Well done to the owners - could happily move in here and stay permanently.

    By Dave and Cynth Palmer stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning, beautiful comfortable cottage. Wonderful for exploring this end of the island. Extremely well equipped and enjoyed the free pack of biscuits too. Being very picky but I would have liked a shelf of some kind in the bathroom to put toiletries on. As I said very picky.

    By Susan &a Andrew stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely wonderful Cottage, clean, well equipped to very high standards and amazing views. No negatives at all

    By Judith and John Ball stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage, well equipped and warm with stunning views from living room.

    By Peter stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We visit Mull at least 3-4 times a year to see the wildlife and to visit friends . This is a beautiful cottage very comfortable, clean, and is very well equipped. If we want to stay in this area again we will certainly try and book this cottage, really enjoyed our short visit here, very nice touch from the owners, their thoughtful note, the biscuits and milk.

    By Ian and Helen Mitchell stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just wonderful. Loads of pluses about the cottage. We had absolutely no problems with the freezer and certainly no smells in rear bedroom and bathroom. So we give an unreserved score of 5/5
    Only minuses were too few teaspoons ( easily rectified ) and the sink in the shower room is very small ( not so easily rectified!)
    The cottage is very comfortable all round from lounge seats to beds. Top quality sheets and kitchen appliances. Plenty big enough for 4 adults and can take 6 with the bunk bed room. We didn't find it noisy - OK walls are not brick but this is common in altered building and this certainly was not a problem for us. So the shower pump is a bit noisy - so what? This is just nit-picking. Anyway, the glorious views make any small niggles pale into insignificance. Go for it!

    By Paul May stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A truly lovely holiday cottage, so comfy and clean! We had no problems at all, and the caretaker even popped around with extra teaspoons after previous guests said there were too few, what wonderful service! Lovely modern high quality décor, and we loved the selection of local books and DVDs. Great for wildlife spotting, loved watching the seals and gannets from the living room window, and we spotted the otter one morning too! We've been to Mull a few times now and this is definitely our favourite cottage so far, will be back again next year hopefully!!

    By Richard & Laura stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a superb cottage! Ideal location for touring the south and west of Mull. Easy access to the loch for kayaking right in front of the property. In contrast to a previous reviewer we did not find the cottage to be noisy or to have any damp issues! Yes, the shower room hand basin is very small but not impossible to clean teeth in and I used it for shaving also. Broadband is slow but fine for emails and web browsing. The Pennyghael Hotel is a ten minute walk if you want to eat/drink out without driving. There is also a wildlife tour operator based at Pennyghael stores.

    By Hedley Wright stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A superb holiday cottage wonderfully located close to the loch side with panoramic views for watching wildlife and soaking up the scenery. The cottage is finished to a very high standard with luxurious furnishings and great attention to detail. Highly recommended.

    By Mark Poole stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fantastic cottage in a stunning location; a wildlife watcher's paradise with views of otters and seals hunting in the loch and the constant changing views of Ben More.
    The cottage is very well equipped and extremely comfortable with high quality decoration, furnishings and appliances. The freezer doesn't seem to work properly, however.
    The main reason for 4 star rating is the smell and feel of damp in the rear bedroom and bathroom. I had to wash unused clothes on return as they smelled musty.
    This said we really enjoyed our stay in Katrine Cottage and would return.

    By Pat Boorman stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning view and some luxurious touches, this cottage would be very comfortable for two/three adults or a small family. However it felt a squeeze for four adults, so six would have been very snug indeed. The shower room has such a tiny sink that it is impossible to clean your teeth, leading to a queue for the bathroom.
    The view is spectacular, a joy to be able to watch for otters from the warm dry vantage point. We are converted to the Egyptian cotton sheets which were a delight and have been added to my Christmas list..
    However, luxury comes from having every last detail thoughtfully catered for. Having read the reviews on here, I ended up disappointed. The cottage is noisy, it is impossible to get up quietly, have a cup of tea, use the bathroom or have a shower without waking up the whole household. There are a few maintenance issues that need to be dealt with, some damp issues and a very noisy pump. Yes, some very, very lovely aspects to this cottage, but not quite the "luxury" accommodation we were hoping for or expecting from previous reviews.

    By A Middleton stayed in July 2016

    Editor's Note: Not sure why there is a queue for the bathroom due to the size of the sink? We don't think it is a squeeze for four adults either as there are three bedrooms and two bathrooms. Thank you.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Can't recommend this property highly enough. So well equipped. Extremely comfortable. Outstanding location. We have had the hottest weather which was a bonus. The view of the loch from the front of the property is mesmerizing from dawn til dusk. We had eagles and otters everyday at the cottage. We didn't want to leave ! We really enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of this stunning place.

    By Merrett/Spiers family stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent quality cottages, well equipped and had everything we needed. Very warm. Superb views, nice location.

    By Saunders & co stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have enjoyed a fantastic family holiday at Katrine cottage. The cottage is very well equipped with high quality furnishings we didn't want for anything. Amazing views from the wonderful picture window. Great location to tour the island. Don't forget camera and binoculars as you won't be disappointed, we enjoyed watching red and fallow deer, otters feeding along from cottage and white tailed sea eagles soaring overhead. The log fire, under floor heating and chance to soak in a hot bubble bath after a day exploring was fantastic. We love Mull and will definitely return to Katrine cottage.

    By Julie boothby stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Katrine Cottage is a stunning 5 STAR location......stunning facilities; stunning comfort; stunning setting; stunning scenery; stunning activities.......Katrine Cottage cannot be improved upon....as "seasoned" West Highland Coast visitors, Katrine Cottage provides everything you could want AND more . Visit and relax among amazing Lochside & Mountain Views.....PLUS Otters, Golden Eagles, Sea Eagles, Stags....all on the doorstep.......plus....our bicycles were secure in the garage...ENJOY

    By Ron & Beryl Jones stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is very nice and comfortable. Very good and high standard equipment. Great location and great views. We watched the hunting otter every morning from the living room window. Wonderful.

    By Petra and Frank stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved the cottage - it had everything we needed in terms of equipment, layout, fixtures and furnishings. Garage useful for bicycle storage. The books and pamphlets provided onsite were very informative.
    The position on the island is great for an away from it all feel, but with easy access to Craignure and the Ross.
    The view from the lounge is heavenly - we could have sat there all day. So much wildlife on the doorstep.
    The coffee machine takes Nespresso capsules! (good to know what to take from home).

    By Cathy & Bob stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An absolutely wonderful cottage in a fantastic location,beautiful and clean and so well equipped.we enjoyed watching the Otters and the almost daily parade of sheep,one of the most wonderful holidays we have had,Thank you for allowing us to use your superb property.

    By Jill&Barry Moorhouse stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was extremely comfortable with top of the range kitchen equipment.
    It is situated in a good position for exploring Mull with wonderful views.
    We were lucky enough to see a golden eagle on the opposite shore and finally saw the otter on the last night.
    The weather was very good with plenty of sunshine and blue sky's great for exploring all the beaches.

    By Caroline and Ian stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent, really comfortable and well equipped bungalow in a stunning location. Beautifully presented - We had a great stay despite mixed weather.

    By Christine stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very high quality and well equipped cottage in a stunningly beautiful and peaceful location. We saw otters twice at the end of our stay from the cottage window. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with plenty to do on Mull with our two boys.

    By Catriona and Tair stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well equipped bungalow, in love;ly location with great views. We benefited from amazing weather but this place has the comfort covered if it is dull, though everything is a drive away so go prepared. Otters every day and more. Definately recommended and good info about the area to hand.

    By Chelle and Lucy stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Katrine cottage is lovely. The facilities and decor are of a very good standard, and the location is great. Views across the loch to Ben More are stunning and we even saw otters from the living room window. We thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

    By Chris + Liz stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Extremely well equipped cottage in in a great area for enjoying the amazing scenery and wildlife that Mull has to offer we also saw Otters from the living room window.

    By TERRY OSBORNE stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Katrine cottage is the ideal holiday cottage. It is equipped to a very high standard and the location is stunning. The owner, who lives on Mull, has included information to guide guests to quiet corners which we might not otherwise have found.

    By Pat and David stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful cottage and location which far exceeded our expectations. Hope to visit again very soon.

    By The Potters stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful peaceful place to stay. Well equipped and very comfortable, nothing has been forgotten....

    By Linda stayed in May 2015

Add your review