Call us on 01688 400682

Heather Lodge Reviews

18 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you are looking for a lovely house in a beautiful setting, you like peace and quiet and wildlife then this is definitely the place for you. The house itself is brilliant and has everything you need and the views are simply amazing, We saw eagles every day over the farm to the left of the house and also flying down the valley and each evening the deer came into the fields below as did the male Hen Harrier on a hunting mission. Salen is only 10/15 minutes away but the shop in Dervaig actually delivered our weeks shop to us which was great. Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

    By BDT stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house, fantastic views, very comfy beds and everything you would ever need in a kitchen, had a great time staying here, We are a rally team and love the closeness to the stage and the ease of getting to Salem and Tob, have booked for next year and looking forward to it already, thank you

    By Elaine Waddell stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Such a wonderful stay. From the house we have seen so much wildlife, you can practically tick everything off your "must see" list. The Sea Eagles just above Crannich Farm almost daily were a highlight. Bring your binoculars.
    Very well equipped and comfortable house, with plenty of room. Centrally located so easy travel to the rest of the island to see everything else!
    Lovely hosts. I cannot recommend this beautiful house highly enough.

    By Lorraine Gould stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I can agree completely with all the great comments previously, would not hesitate to return, thanks to Sam this is the best property we have stayed in in 30 years of travelling.

    By Frost and West families stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful place. When we arrived the place was nice and cosy and warm but then came a heat wave and the owners swiftly turned off the underfloor heating .The house is ideally situated being very remote and peaceful but within easy reach of nearly everywhere on Mull. It was so special to watch the deer in the valley below, and see the hen harriers flying past or perching on the fence post and to hear the cuckoo in the woods opposite.

    By Bridget Johnstone stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a fantastic cottage, loads of room and vey clean. Brilliant location and views. If you enjoy wildlife, you don't need to leave the cottage, we saw sea eagles, golden eagles, hen harriers, deer the list could go on and on. Also plenty of walks, nearby, we walked round Loch Frisa from the cottage and Ben More is only half hours drive. Would highly recommend.

    By Vivienne Fairley stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful stay at heather lodge over Easter. We saw eagles and hen harriers from the house windows and loved it's location, feeling both remote but within 10 mins drive from Salen.
    Can't wait to return!

    By Duncan, Eve, Ellie, Freddie, Holly and Maia stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second stay at Heather Lodge and again we had a wonderful relaxing holiday. Hate leaving the house and Mull. Very comfortable house that rapidly feels like home. Everything provided and beautifully clean. Loved sitting by the large windows and watching the wildlife. Saw deer, sea eagle, hen harriers and barn owls from the house. Didn't watch TV for the whole 2 weeks! Love the amount of bathrooms, no rush in the mornings! So sad to leave but will return.

    By Julie, Ann, David, Jonathan and Jane McLennan stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Heather Lodge has become our annual summer family vacation location of choice. Again everything was wonderful as it was last July. Clean, well equipped, secluded and peaceful - Heather Lodge gave us another sublimely relaxing holiday in a house that feels like home. We will be back again in 2016.

    By Mrs. Anne Wilkins stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Heather Lodge. The property is in a wonderful location - within easy reach of Salen and Tobermory, but in a peaceful and remote valley with an abundance of wildlife. There are not many places in the UK where you can wake up to see white-tailed eagles and hen harriers from your living room window! The house was amazing; beautifully furnished, with good sized rooms and every amenity. Mull itself is a beautiful island and well worth a visit. I'd gladly come back to Heather Lodge in the future - many thanks for a great stay.

    By Cameron Ward stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful week at Heather Lodge ,Sam gave us a very warm welcome and the tea and biscuits on arrival were a lovely touch.The house was everything we wanted and needed it to be and was immaculately clean.We had very mixed weather whilst there,snow ,wind ,rain and sunshine,but it only kept is indoors for a few hours,which didn't matter as the house is so light airy and comfortable,we were happy to just sit in the huge windows and enjoy the view,watching the snow blow across was magic.We had one of our most relaxing holidays ever,it was nice to be away from everything and yet close enough to shops etc for it to not be a problem to get there.We fell in love with Mull and will certainly be back.Thankyou Sam .

    By Bob and Lynda Allis stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Heather Lodge. Very comfortable accommodation, gorgeous views, absolute peace and quiet. We felt it was conveniently located for exploring all of the island. Handy to know that co op in tobermory was open on sunday afternoon....

    By eve hinsley stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely location with great views, not another house in sight, lots of wildlife to see from the large windows, a really warm comfortable and well equipped house, we had two young children with us and there was really useful kids stuff around the house (eg plastic plates, small cutlery, highchair, cot, games). We had a great time, even in winter there is plenty to do on Mull.

    By The Parrott Farmily stayed in December 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Modern, comfortable and well equipped house, very thoughtfully designed to take advantage of the wonderful views across Glen Aros. The accommodation is generous and as a previous reviewer has mentioned, the ground floor bedroom and wet room add flexibility. The house is in an elevated position above the road giving it real seclusion, yet the location is convenient for accessing the many attractions of the north of the island. Great for spotting Mull's abundant wildlife too - from the house or garden we were lucky enough to see both species of eagle, hen harriers, merlin, sparrowhawk, peregrine and red deer.

    By Andrew Maclaren stayed in August 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A perfect haven of peace and tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle of everyday town life. Heather Lodge is a beautiful, spacious, modern, and well equipped home away from home. It's setting is idyllic in a quiet glen. The grounds are visited by a range of wild birds, and the small garden stream attracts stunning dragonflies. We have seen deer in the valley and golden eagles nearby. Perfectly situated for a short drive to Salen, or to Dervaig, and even the glorious sandy beach at Calgary Bay. My 3 boys aged 10 and under had an absolute ball of a time playing hide and seek and water fights in the expansive and enclosed garden grounds.
    We have already booked to come back summer 2015, as requested by my son for his birthday, and all of us are looking forward to it immensely already!
    Heather Lodge comes with the highest recommendation possible from the Wilkins family.

    By Mrs. Anne Wilkins stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Light, modern and spacious house in complete peace and quiet. Central in location on the island, perfect for day trips out. Owner very approachable and we encountered no problems during our stay. Booked again for next summer- can't wait!

    By Kate Balfour and John Neesom stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Good. Enormous and nearly new, well finished detached house situated in splendid isolation with extensive views all around . Perfect and silent except for the wildlife. You do need a car to stay here unless you want to walk/cycle for miles every day but that's why we liked it. Ten minute drive to Salen for shop, pub and post office etc but a great spot to tour the whole island from. Would I go back ? A definite yes, but a cottage on Calgary beach is next.
    The not so good. Just the midges - made being outside the house a real pain especially in the evening but it is the West Coast of Scotland ! All in all a fantastic holiday in a great property.
    Paul. West Yorks

    By Paul Atkins stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great place to stay in a central location on the island. The house is spacious and modern with fantastic views. We stayed there because of the downstairs bedroom/wet room (my 82 year old mum was with us).

    By Liz Shrewsbury stayed in January 2014

Add your review