Call us on 01688 400682

Hazelbank Cottage Reviews

22 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely well equipped cottage with amazing huge wild garden, perfect for children. Cosy log fire and the electric heaters heat the place in no time. Hot water fine for 3; one bath and one shower no problem. We loved the quaint furniture and homemade curtains and cushions.
    The cottage desperately needs new beds/mattresses and pillows. The twin beds are antiques! The double mattress is lumpy and sinks in The middle. The pillows are horrific. The minor financial outlay this would cost would make a massive difference to customer satisfaction.

    By Tracy stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Liked carpeted floors, space, nice kitchen, quiet, accessible, nice decor, visit by caretaker on day one, scones on arrival, friendly neighbour. Great location with walks from cottage. No problem with hot water for four of us. Good heating. Would like new mattresses.

    By Dudley Clark stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a lovely character cottage in a peaceful location which is well situated for exploring the island. However as mentioned by a number of reviewers it has solid walls and smells damp until you get it full warmed up (especially the small bedroom). The hot water tank is too small to feed a power shower and we had to wait an hour between showers, this is ok with two but could be a real problem for four. In short it is a bit dated but you do get a good wildlife viewing location which feels a lot more secluded than it actually is.

    By John and Marjie stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved our holiday. We're used to holidaying in our campervan so this was posh luxury!
    The location is idyllic for those who like peace and quiet, dark skies, spectacular scenery and wildlife.
    Warning - you will need to take out a mortgage if you want to keep the bird feeders topped up during your stay!
    We

    By van den Bos family stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We really, really enjoyed our stay in Hazelbank, it's a perfect cottage for two (especially since we sometimes need to sleep separately due to my snoring!)
    Saw a great deal of wildlife - hen harriers, rutting stags, yellowhammers being a highlight. Cottage is cosy and homely - it's a great base to explore the island. Would highly recommend.

    By Peter and Merry stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star

    The setting of the cottage is beautiful as is the Isle of Mull, however, we were most disappointed with the accommodation. The cottage is definitely damp, particularly in the second bedroom and in the bathroom (mould on the walls in both of these rooms). The decor and furniture in all rooms is very dated. In particular the twin beds in the second bedroom were old and very uncomfortable (our 11 year old son cried himself to sleep on the first night as he hated the bed and damp bedroom so much he wanted to go home!). The kitchen was slightly more bright and modern, however, there was very limited crockery/pots/pans and the oven and fridge had not been cleaned to a very high standard. There was food left in the freezer from the previous occupants. One of the reasons we chose this property was due to it being advertised as there being secure parking for cycles. The only outbuilding on site (wood shed) was in a dilapidated state and was not lockable. We had to store our bikes in the cottage (very cramped). To sum up, we would recommend the Isle of Mull for a family holiday (walks/beaches/cycling etc) but NOT in this cottage. We actually went home 3 days early as we didn't enjoy staying here (booking was for a week). Be warned.

    By Family of four stayed in August 2016

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your comments. We do not mention anywhere that the house has secure storage for bikes. As with all feedback, we will pass your comments onto the owners for review.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, could do with a washing machine and tumble drier. A tad damp but I am very aware of damp as my son has cf and I am constantly looking out. With being 4 of us we couldn't manage a shower each we had to space out the showers over 2 days. Woukd be ideal for 2 people even though it has room for 4 due to the hot water and no clothes washing facilities. We saw red deer and a buzzered. We didn't stay around the cottage due to the excessive amount of midges, this time of year! We think this place would be ideal in April time or October time. Loved the scones.

    By Victoria and Treva stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a fantastic stay at Hazelbank, it was just what we wanted. The garden and views were wonderful and we saw some amazing birds just from the garden, Hen Harrier, Buzzard, Short Eared Owl and also, frogs, Palmate Newts, Red Deer and bats. We brought our own birdfood and feeders but found feeders already in situ and they were a great attraction, we had to buy more food from the shop in Craignure but it was well worth it.The moss covered wall at the back of the cottage afforded us no end of entertainment with Bank Voles, Wood Mice and Common Shrew visiting daily. The cottage was conveniently situated for all the places we wished to visit as last year we stayed in the north of the island, we would recommend Lochbuie, Loch Spelve, Croggan and of course Loch Na Keal.

    By Carol and Andy Thorpe stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a fantastic week once again in this great cottage which is in a wonderful position on the island with wildlife on the doorstep. Saw hen harrier, short eared owl, sea eagle red deer all from the cottage aswell as large selection of birds in and around the garden including a superb hawfinch that visited the feeders!
    In all an excellent cottage will definitely be back again!

    By Ian Chaplin stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    great location - felt slightly damp on arrival but quickly warmed up - very generous access to logs which made the cottage feel really cosy.
    Comfy bed - would visit again
    Saw amazing wildlife

    By andrea stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really enjoyed our stay, good position on island for seeing wildlife and the island. Lovely kitchen. Television needs updating as kept cutting out. Hot water supply erratic - lovely shower but rarely hot enough. Seating a bit cramped in lounge. Loved the bird feeders - felt like home from home! Came to see eagles and saw both golden and sea eagles which were truly amazing! Also saw hen harriers, red deer in the garden, sea otter and porpoises! Would definitely come back!

    By Tracy Thompson stayed in September 2015

    Editor's Note: We will get the owner/caretaker to check hot water supply on next visit

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Idyllic good value cottage in beautiful secluded location with waterfall and river flowing past. Good location for trips to Iona, Staffa and Tobermory as well as Ben More. Try the walk from Craignure to Toronsay and back by the coastal path, then to Arlene's Coffee shop. Interesting visit to Moy Castle and Loch Buie.

    By Jim and Pauline P stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage. Quiet and peaceful. Lots of dear on the other side of the road. Fine fireplace.
    Great kitchen and shower.
    The windows are too old and not easy to be opened of cannot be opened at all. The renovation of the kitchen is an example for the rest of the cottage.

    By Arnoud and Yvonne Moraal stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    lovely location for seeing wildlife, would book this cottage again. Loved watching birds on the feeders, and hen harriers across the road. short eared owls just a short walk away along the road to Grasspoint. the beds in the twin room could be a bit more comfy though. the kitchen was well equipped but we could have used a rack for fruit and veg storage.

    By roslyn berryman stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely week at this cottage. Well situated, peaceful with plenty of wildlife all around. We had a red deer herd, buzzard, hen harrier & cuckoo which we viewed from the lounge plus many other bird species around the garden. great kitchen..comfy beds..cosy fire.Thank you.

    By Jill M stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location surrounded (literally) by wildlife and yet another contender for our favourite Mull cottage! Will most definitley be back again!

    By IAN T CHAPLIN stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great cottage in good location
    Superb kitchen/ diner with bank voles outside window. Ran out of bird seed in 2 days.
    of the 3 cottages we stayed in this was our favourite and cheapest.
    Would improve with better beds

    By Richard late April 2015 stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a lovely week at this pretty cottage. We saw deer and hen harriers in the field across the way. It is located on the edge of craignure close enough for pub and meal out but on the edge so we felt really in amongst nature. Fab central spot for exploring Mull as we went all over the island from here. Exactly as described on the website.

    By Jane evans stayed in August 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A beautiful cottage, very handily located for sight-seeing across the island. Very clean on arrival, with a great kitchen.

    By Brian Beresford stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage. Enjoyed a weeks holiday here in July. The cottage was lovely and clean when we arrived, kitted out with everything we needed for our stay. Enjoyed many an evening sat on the outside bench enjoying the wildlife. It is ideally suited to explore all parts of Mull and is only about 10 minutes from the ferry. I would recommend and hope to visit again one day.

    By Carol Franklyn stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My husband and I enjoyed a week in this cottage. It's a good location, not far from the ferry and excellent for exploring the island. The cottage is set back from the road with plenty of space for parking. The living room is comfy with a nice log burning stove - plenty of wood provided. It's not the most modern inside but very comfy and had everything we needed.

    By Sarah Munoz stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really comfy cottage, we spent a lot of time just hanging out in the kitchen during the day, listening to tunes, baking and planning stuff. If you nip out the back door you'll find a trail that takes you up the river which was in full force the day I did it - truly invigorating and helps you 'arrive'. Good, easy walk to Grasspoint from the door where I had a very close encounter with 'my' Sea Eagle. Only thing I missed was a view to get lost in from the windows. Very handy for Craignure. Would recommend.

    By Mike McCaffrey stayed in April 2014

Add your review