Call us on 01688 400682

Grasspoint Cottage Reviews

18 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing, stunning location, wildlife galore it's like being on Autumn watch every day. We even had a submarine pop up in the bay, not long after a pod of dolphins passed through. The cows came to visit and surrounded the cottage, along with surrounding us every time we drove up the track !! Loved it. The deer rutted in the field antlers were locked, and the otter visited daily along with golden eagles, seals, sea eagles and porpoise. To those who have left negative reviews with petty comments, I suggest they find other accomodation more befitting their requirements grass point is not for them. To the owners keep doing what your doing don't take away the quirky and unique essence of this wonderful cottage and its location. Can't wait to come back

    By Tracy stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We may not of seen everything mentioned in the previous review , and we had rain everyday but non of this takes away from the magic of our stay . I loved the old cottage , living so simply for the week , watching the sea and having the occasional visit from the otter. We saw many different birds , rutting stags and stubborn cows and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity. The cottage was warm and cosy , we had no problems with the log burner .
    I would advise taking plenty of bottled water to drink , unless you have a stronger constitution than we dared , the brown water maybe authentic but too refreshing looking .
    Can t wait to go back

    By Emma stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is our 3rd stay at Grasspoint after a three year gap and I must say the cottage was a lot more comfortable, especially the bed with an extra matteress and cosy bed linen. However, a new log burner would be in order as the logs burnt out quickly and when alight didn't give off much heat at all. So on a wild and windy night we were quite chilly as the other heater didn't give us heat either.
    We had a magical stay, with amazing views from the cottage windows seeing the otter, sea eagles, harbour porpoises, seal and dolphins and of course the highland cattle. Recommend Duart Castle...intriguing and fab little tea room.
    We love this little cottage with its 'whiskey' bath water and lots of character and will look forward to returning in the future.

    By Rosie Robertson stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Suggestions to improve Grasspoint Cottage - none! It is perfect as it is -- those who are disappointed might prefer a modern property (with many to choose from). Please don't try to turn this very special one into something it shouldn't be. We will be back!

    By Helen and John stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    As people have said, the location of Grasspoint is idyllic. The views and wildlife are wonderful, however, that is not the whole picture. The cottage needs updating and some money spending on it. Just buying a decent and matching set of cutlery would be a start. The chairs and furnishings are worn and shabby, the bathroom is not good, the bed has a mattress that is saggy and makes you roll into the middle. Generally and you feel as if its being let with as little cost to the owners as possible. Things that seemed unnecessary - the vacuum which had not been emptied and was nearly full when we arrived, being left only about 9 matches in a box after I specifically requested matches for the fire to be left, being provided with only one black bin liner - it just all felt cheap. The cottage is basic in every respect, apart from its location and the stunning views.

    By Helen Andrews stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star

    The location of Grasspoint is idyllic. The wildlife is amazing, the views are stunning, the drive up to the cottage is really lovely. However, having said that, none of those comments refers to the cottage itself which is shabby and unkempt beyond belief. I have stayed in other cottages on Mull for the same cost per week and have lived in comfort. Not this week. The fire had the part which regulates the air flow broken or not working which meant the logs either burned out immediately or if the fire door was opened the fire went out within minutes. The storage heater was inadequate for the room and the halogen heater was antiquated and in need of up to date PAT testing. The walls are made of boarding akin to skirting boarding. When the wind blew it blew through the cracks in the boards causing freezing draughts. The door let in gusts of cold air and even the cushions I put in the doorway to block the draughts didn't work. The bathroom is carpeted with ancient, worn out and totally unhygienic carpet and the bath has been badly hand painted.
    The curtains are too short for the windows and completely rotten and torn. The bedspread is made from what looks like 2 curtains sewn together. In it's favour though the bed is exceptionally comfortable.
    Would I visit Grasspoint again? Definitely not. It needs a lot of money investing in it to make it into something suitable for the 21st century. I would not recommend staying there - particularly if on your own as you can't get the car near the house but have to carry your bags and boxes from a car parking area up a rocky track to the house.

    By Ruth Watson stayed in April 2017

    Editor's Note: Really sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cottage. We will be in touch with the owner to see if we can address some of the points you raise.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Staying at Grasspoint in the depth of winter was a very quiet and peaceful time.
    There were regular views of the Otter and Sea Eagles plus a Male Hen Harrier and Red Deer.

    By Brian Kille stayed in January 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    One of the most incredible places I have ever stayed. Such a quaint Cottage with a view of the sea out of every window, not a soul in sight and the wood burning stove to snuggle up in front of each night makes Grasspoint the perfect romantic getaway.
    It was a haven for wildlife we saw an otter swimming near the bridge, deer, golden eagle, royal stag !! We spent an afternoon sitting on the craggy rocks watching the sea lions popping up.
    Grasspoint was obviously one of the most special locations on the island, a magical place, I didn't want to leave, we will return one day soon. x

    By Andrea Cook stayed in January 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A magical place.

    By Mr. McLean stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful place to stay with stunning scenery and wildlife on the doorstep. We saw the regular otter a few times, white-tailed eagle flying, diving gannets and more.. BUT!...It's not as private as some say as it's public land. We had many people walking within feet of the cottage from early morning Kayakers being dropped off on the pier in a speed boat at dawn. two camper vans at the edge of the carpark and kids playing on the rocks yards from the cottage. It's a go-to spot for Wildlife watchers coming and going until dark....We had a great time in a very basic but comfy cottage, but found we had to close the curtains early for privacy from people outside wondering around...We went for peace and serenity and found it at times but it was too often spoiled by others arriving with dogs and kids..If you don't mind visitors around it's a great place...An honest review.

    By Mel and Carol stayed in July 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning location, very basic, wildlife on the doorstep, a view from every window. Great location for a base to explore the island, we stayed one week and should really have done two, so much to see.

    By Graham and Sandra stayed in April 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning location; wonderful for wildlife. Saw white tailed eagles, hen harriers, otter and bottlenose dolphins. The cottage is small, warm and comfy and all windows have sea views. We hope to return soon!!

    By Lynne Pascoe stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We stayed here for our Honeymoon. What a location! We loved the seclusion and NO TV. Saw plenty of wildlife from the window and on the track to the cottage, including otters, eagles, deer, hen harrier. The cottage is adorable.

    By Claire & Steve Bradley stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our 3rd visit to Grasspoint, just an idyllic setting in a comfortable cottage with daily views of white tailed eagle, otter, deer, also sightings of harrier and short eared Owls on the road to the cottage. we will look forward to our next visit.

    By Liz & Neil Lavis stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Grasspoint is practically perfect in every way if you love nature and the wild outdoors. We saw Otter, Bottlenose Dolphins, Deals and Osprey without leaving this cosy cottage! Good 3G signal too which was handy for checking the weather!!

    By Esther Mckerracher stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The setting is amazing. The little cottage itself is quirky... and cosy. The approach road is interesting!!!
    We do hope to come back one day.
    This was our first visit to Mull - which has much to offer.

    By Maurice and Angie Jones stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed at Grasspoint Cottage several times. A lovely homely cottage, basic but with all the essentials, in a beautiful location feet from the sea and surrounded by the wilderness of Mull. The otter visits daily at low tide and the deer come down into the pastures at dusk. Its also great for a spot of fishing - just step outside your front door.

    By Tracey James stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Grasspoint Cottage is a simple and cosy cottage in a stunning location right by the sea – private, beautiful and wild! Surrounded by wildlife, with the otter our most favourite of visitors.We had a wonderful week at Grasspoint, a perfect base for exploring Mull... if you can bring yourself to actually leave Grasspoint!

    By Carly Madden stayed in May 2014

Add your review