Call us on 01688 400682

Craig Ben Lodge Reviews

10 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great week .weather not too bad.house very comfortable and well equiped. lovely views of the loch and hills. a lovely part of mull. would love to come back to craig ben. thank you for letting us stay in your house. hope to be back in 2018.

    By james Ross stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The first thing I must say is that we had a great 2 weeks at the house. The location is remote and beautiful. Lovely views from the sitting room and enough space for our party of 7 to spread out. Our son spent many hours swimming in the loch. I can't give it 5 stars because there were a few management/ maintenance issues. The living room fire smokes badly making it unusable. The thermometer on the Aga does not work. The sofas are in advanced state of collapse so only comfortable to lie in and not to sit. There isn't a single pan in the kitchen suitable for frying, poaching or scrambling an egg although there are gadgets for all sorts of other things. Despite these niggles it makes a fine base for a group of friends and family to spend time together and I heartily recommend it for this.

    By Lesley Marron stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ah! What can I say about this place, it far exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with. The house is warm welcoming and just lovely. We were treated to visiting deer, swooping buzzards and hungry birds of all kinds and that was without leaving the house. The loch is great for swimming, kayaking, fishing or just staring at from the living room chairs. Can't recommend the place enough. Great spot for exploring Mull, Just be sure to factor in time for sheep and cow traffic! The island is just teeming with wildlife and coming back to this house after a days exploring is so special. Would go back in a headtbeat, thanks for sharing this wonderful spot.

    By Claire Cawkwell stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved this place and enjoyed being Lord and Lady of the Manor, if only for a week! Our 2 Cocker spaniels made themselves at home, loved running up and down the stairs, which kept our 14 year old Cocker fit! It was a great location, overlooking the loch, we shall certainly bring our kayaks next time. There is a good amount of walking from the property. There was everything there that you would need, extremely well equipped. I am missing it already and would definitely return.

    By Maureen Duncombe stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fantastic location and a spectacular house. We had a really great week here and hope to return. Our two year old granddaughter loved the size and openness of the place and hardly stopped running around and exploring. Extremely well equipped. Bedding is high quality and immaculately clean. Some of the furnishings are a bit tired looking but still very comfy. The reason we have not given it 5 stars is the poorly maintained garden, drive and entrance which gives a bad first impression.

    By Ian & Marjory Clyde stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I agree with the other comments on this site.
    It is difficult to recommend Craig Ben Lodge too highly.
    It was a privilege to stay and it is very generous of the owners to share their house in this way.
    On a historical note, it is worth saying that the distinguished novelist Stanley Weyman stayed at Craig Ben Lodge in the autumn of 1905. Weyman loved nature and rural tranquillity; a resident of Ludlow in Shropshire, he once said " ... quiet as life is in this old town, I often long for a quieter life. I would love to live in the country, to see cattle outside my window." He certainly knew what he was doing when he went to Craig Ben Lodge!

    By Jim Lawley stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Clean, comfortable, elegant, well equipped, beautiful setting, amazing wildlife. Nice touches with the Aga, unlimited logs for the fires and all cleaning materials. I would also use Flora from Lochbuie Larder again - amazing lamb and fresh scallops.

    By Peter Aitken stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our entire family loved Craig Ben Lodge. The location was so picturesque and remote and this was exactly what we wanted. The walled garden was great for our puppy miniature Dachshund. The house had everything we could need and more. The games room saw many a table tennis tournament and plenty of other board games to keep the kids entertained. Plenty of wildlife to view on your doorstep too. As others have said if you visit Lochbuie a visit to the honesty-box run The Old Post Office is a must. We regularly had duck eggs, venison sausages and a superb topside joint which was cooked to perfection in Craig Ben Lodge's Aga. The Aga was a new
    Cooking tool for myself but Ive left wanting one! Oh and if you think this old Victorian lodge will be cold and breezy think again we were toasty all week. All in all a superb holiday home....sorry a grand holiday home; book and you'll not be disappointed. Thank you David for letting us stay in your home from home, thank you Sarah for the housekeeping and the welcome eggs (much appreciated), thanks Bob for keeping on top of the maintenance and thanks Becky at Isle of Mull Cottages without whom we would not have found this home.. Gavin

    By Gavin Chilvers stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place to stay in a lovely remote location. The lodge is very well equipped and an ideal place to stay for a large group. Highly recommended

    By Chris Gilbane stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our third fabulous extended family holiday in this beautiful lodge. Great views, wonderful large rooms to relax in, with everything you could want for a comfortable holiday. Can view Red deer, Eagles and Buzzards from the windows and seals and otters in the nearby sea loch. Thank you to both the owners and housekeeper for a wonderful holiday.

    By Catherine Watts stayed in August 2016

Add your review