Call us on 01688 400682

Cnoc a Challtainn Reviews

16 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have visited Mull on numerous ocassions over the years, always use self catering for all our stays throughout Scotland, which are usually two or three times a year. This house is certainly the best we have stayed in on Mull and one if the top in Scotland for value for money. Being used to the Scottish weather, the rain did not put us off, with plenty of drying facilities to dry of wet jackets and boots. The house is very spacious, the rooms immaculate with upstairs rooms having excellent views with the floor to ceiling windows. The kitchen was outstanding as we loved the space and large cooker. Certainly a bonus for us as we love cooking especially the game and fresh shellfish on offer on Mull. The rainforest shower in the master bedroom was superb, with plenty of hot water.
    We have standards we expect in self catering, and this house certainly met them, being spacious, clean and very private with the large garden. Would we stay again during our next visit? Certainly. Would we recommend? A big yes.
    Only issue, was the TV which tended to act up now and again, but certainly did not bother our stay.
    Regarding the road to the property. Some Mull roads are equally as poor and to be expected!

    By Iain & Ella stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a lovely property up on the hill with great views over Loch Cuin. It is a warm, comfortable & well equipped property in an excellent location with lots of walks locally available. A couple of points though: As others have mentioned the drive up to the property is rough and uneven, we had to go at a snails pace & it does urgently need some maintenance. Also due to the septic tank you have to use a supplied toilet paper but what we were given was not enough to last the 2 weeks.

    By Mike & Family stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Not only is this cottage in a stunning location with amazing views, it is furnished and equipped to a very high standard, and kept beautifully clean by Roger and Ian. We had a really restful stay and appreciated the comfortable chairs and bed, as well as the powerful shower. We felt that our dog was made very welcome, too. We didn't have the best weather (typical Scottish August), but it didn't stop us getting out and about in the beautiful surroundings and we didn't see a single midge (perhaps that's an August bonus)! The ample porch with dog towels, together with the washing and drying facilities in the utility room and boiler room, meant that arriving back after a good soaking was not a problem. We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.

    By Ruth and Paul Richardson stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The view from the house is beautiful whether the weather is good or not and for that alone it is worth visiting. The house is well equipped and spacious. We were able to spend time in the garden eating outside and our dog loved to survey her domain sitting beside us. We all enjoyed our holiday and we have missed the house, Dervaig and Mull since we returned.

    By Peter Cullen stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing place to stay, we tried to find something they had not thought of and failed.
    We have stayed in a lot of cottages and this was definitely up there with the best,we would sertenley look to book this place when we return to Mull.
    Roger and Ian where just finishing cleaning when we arrived a little early, very nice and helpful guys.
    We do not have any problem in rating this property 5 star..

    By John & Ann Wright stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Relaxed the second we walked through the door! The house is pure luxury with every little detail thought of. We loved all the art and sculptures in the property and the lighting at night adds such a special touch as you sit in the chairs looking down over Dervaig. The bed was really comfortable and the upstairs games room an added bonus. We would have no hesitation recommending this property for your stay in mull. We will definitely return.

    By Gary and Robyn stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a great property that is beautifully furnished and has lots of extras in the kitchen you would not expect. The owners also let you use the herbs growing in the garden. The views over Dervaig are excellent. The village is 5 minutes away across a grass path or the road in front of the house. There's a good shop and pub in the village. Just be aware the dirt road leading up to the house is pretty rough but we had no issues getting up it in a Volvo and Porsche.

    By Brian Critchley stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved it from the minute we stepped through the door... So welcoming. A real home-from-home... Lovely lighting at night. Games room was a big hit with my children. We also played all the Board games. My husband LOVED the bed. Slept like a log all week. We've stayed in Mull loads of times over the years... Best accommodation yet ????... xx

    By Lynda McGregor stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning house with pretty much everything you could need. Beds are extremely comfortable. We slept the best we have in a long time. Views somewhat dampened by the weather but on a summers day would be gorgeous looking out towards the Loch. Heating in main lounge could be warmer even with the fire on. Signposting to the cottage could have been clearer as we struggled initially to find the cottage and the drive from the road to the cottage really requires a 4 x 4 which thankfully we have. Well worth the effort of getting here though and a wonderful holiday.

    By Fran Croxon stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We really enjoyed our stay, the views are incredible. The directions to the cottage we spot on if you follow them to the letter. We found it toasty and warm and really enjoyed the gas fire.
    The kitchen was well equipped and you can pick herbs from the lovely herb garden just by the door.
    Great shower too! All very comfortable and welcoming.

    By Jennifer Ullman stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage. Well equipped and loads of thoughtful extras for you to use. Very comfortable beds - have slept like a log all week. Beautiful views of Dervaig and easy access to walks with amazing views. Would love to come back in the summer to make use of the garden. If you are bringing a dog, there are bowls, towels etc for them to use. Ian and Roger, housekeepers, are lovely and friendly and on hand if you need anything. We will definitely come back.

    By Wendy Fisher stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb property, very clean, tidy, well presented and very well equipped... we loved the week and would have no hesitation in recommending. The property is in a great location with lovely views, although the private road leading to the property is quite steep and bumpy - we were glad of a 4x4. We would definitely return.

    By Andrew Steele stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning views across the glen and out to Loch Cuin, combined with easy/ convenient access to local amenities (fishing, pub, quality walks), make this property a standout for me.
    Dervaig is a great location with easy access (by Mull standards) to Tobermory/ Salen/ Craignure.
    It was also refreshing to stay at a property that actually welcomes and is sensibly/ effectively designed for making holidaying with dogs a pleasure. It's also a "young family" friendly house, the separate upstairs games room yet another example of the thought that has been put into this property.
    We stayed during a very wet week, so the house being warm with excellent facilities for washing/ drying was a boon.

    By Tony cheffings stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning property an the views are incredible! The property is cleaned to a high standard an decor is lovely an cozy. The kitchen is equipped with everything u could ever need. The beds are very comfortable also, couldn't find one negative with our stay. Highly recommend

    By Michelle stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The property was beautiful with everything you could wish for. Only downside was the temperature in the house on return in the evenings. There is a lot of glazing giving stunning views but the solar gain put temperatures in the house at 35C in the evenings. Opening the windows was possible until the midgie hoards descended. Good weather seems to follow me around so it may not be a problem for everyone. I would happily stay again.

    By Peter stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent property with fantastic views. Very well equipped kitchen and utility room make holiday life easier with a young family! Would definitely stay here again.

    By John, Amanda and family stayed in April 2016

Add your review