Call us on 01688 400682

Carnanamish Reviews

18 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning house. Loved the space upstairs. The weather was pretty wet and windy but the cosy fire, heating system, picture window and good company made up for it. Dogs loved the golf course/lighthouse walk. If you lije good design, this house is for you. Kitchen well equipped. Maybe a bread board, weighing scales and bamboo (wooden) spoons.
    Thing to improve, wardrobe in bedroom 4.
    Thanks for everything.

    By Forbes/Murrays stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful clean house with lovely minimalist furnishings. and very well equipped kitchen. Great views out across the water from the huge lounge window. Perfectly situated above Tobermory, the house is quiet and secluded with good parking for 2 or more cars and a nice enclosed back garden which was great for keeping the dogs safe. The only drawback we had with the house was that the stairs and floors upstairs were a bit slippery for our 2 dogs so we just had to keep an eye on that. Access is via a narrow and quite steep road however so larger vehicles could have problems. There is a good short-cut if walking down to the village which is situated at the side of the monument near the Western Isles Hotel. Mostly steps and a little bit steep in parts but 2 seventy year olds managed it with no problems. There are great places to eat in Tobermory and round the Island. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a very ‘unusually ‘ wet and windy week but it didn’t stop us thoroughly enjoying this lovely holiday.

    By Carol Massa stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous house, stunning views and well equipped kitchen, A welcome pack would be a nice touch,(we were traveling for 12 hours) pillows need replacing and with it being a beautiful spot it would be nice to have some comfy chairs to sit in the garden, we were unable to bring our own due to weight and space! But thank you so much for letting us stay in your wonderful house we had a lovely time.

    By Appleton stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent cottage with fantastic view. We had a wonderful week during the hottest week of the year so far! The house has everything you need although it would benefit from some shelving in the shower cubicle to place toiletries. Wonderfully situated close to the town (walking short cut to Main Street next to war monument) and lovely walk through golf course and to the lighthouse without having to drive. Already recommended to friends and family.

    By Buckley family stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carnanamish. The location is ideal - Tobermory is only a short walk away, and it is an ideal base for exploring the island. The house itself is stunning - very modern and all the furnishings are of a very high standard. The owners have rectified all issues raised in previous reviews, and it made for a wonderful holiday. Our only niggle was the temperature in the house - the weather was beautiful during our stay, and this made the house very hot, even with keeping the blinds and curtains shut during the day. This is due to be it being so thermally efficient (and I imagine it would be wonderfully warm and cosy in the winter), but it was a bit too hot for our liking. This didn't detract from our stay though, and we would highly recommend - we didn't want to leave!

    By The Hutchinsons & Olivers stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great stay at Carnanamish over new year 2017-18. The house is well stocked, clean and great for kids (though bring your own child gate and fire guard).
    It's a great base to see the island, with the main street just a short walk away. We took in the fireworks from one of the balconies rather than go down the high street due to wet weather - and had a great view. With the pubs close by it's a great place for a mix of friends - you can escape for a game of pool of to watch the football.
    A few niggles which we called the property manager with early on. She was on hand and helpful, arranging to have things looked at ASAP.

    By Mairi Hogarth & friends stayed in December 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great stay at Carnanamish in October 2017. Place was warm and cosy and great to come back to after a full day of hiking. Great views from the fabulous picture window and set up the telescope for the duration of the holiday. Who needs a TV!

    By Clements Family stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had wonderful time. House very spacious clean and well what can I say the views were fantastic. ! The owners should take note of the small and simple improvements that would make it so much better. i.e. wardrobe or hanging hooks in 3 bedrooms plus mirrors in all bedrooms. We found (4 of us) plenty of dishes to accommodate us. Didnt have time to use the balconies or BBQ table as we were always out around the island seeing the wildlife etc and so lucky that the weather was kind to us that we saw 3 minkie whales in the Sound before going on to Lunga and the Puffins.
    Definitely a place to return to.

    By Anne Woodburn & friends stayed in June 2017

    Editor's Note: The owner have now added mirrored wardrobes to the bedrooms in Carnanamish

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderful house fantastic views. A few niggles.
    No wardrobes in 3 of 4 bedrooms. Only one shower for 6 of us downstairs. Fridge not cleaned properly on arrival. When leaving cleaners sitting in car outside.No wave or smile very strange. Also no welcome pack or anyone contacting us to see if all ok with house. It's a shame as wonderful place to stay.

    By Fiona Brown stayed in April 2017

    Editor's Note: Second shower has now been added to the house in the upstairs bathroom

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a fantastic property with stunning views over the Sound of Mull. I would definitely have a return visit but there are several issues which did detract from our stay. Although the property can accommodate up to 8 people:-
    There is only one stand up shower.
    Only one of the bedrooms has a mirror.
    Only one of the bedrooms has a wardrobe.
    There are only 4 outside seats on the balconies.
    The dining table only accommodates 6 people
    There are no tumblers for G&T's.
    Only 5 cereal dishes.
    Several of the above problems have already been raised by previous guests and should have been addressed by now.
    We have had a wonderful stay and would not let the above issues stop us from booking again. Our stay would, however, have been much more enjoyable if these issues had been addressed following comments made by previous guests.

    By Ken Green stayed in April 2017

    Editor's Note: Owners has now added additional dining chairs, outdoor seating and table, wardrobes have been built and kitchen inventory updated. Large bedroom fans for the hotter days also.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fantastic house in an amazing location. Just the right distance from the harbour to walk to. Beautiful views and a peaceful situation. We stayed during the worst week of weather imaginable so we're grateful for our warm and cosy home to come back to. Would certainly recommend this house as a great centre for a stay on Mull.

    By Sarah Howson stayed in December 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An Amazing place to stay which is brilliant value considering the size,location and quality of this unique property.it had everything we look for whilst visiting the highlands including a very quiet location.it has a huge log burner but the property was so warm we never used it.great views out the front and off the balconies.will return next time we are on mull

    By Mr thompson stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A fabulous house! lots of space for our party of 8, loved the open plan design of the upper floor and with great views from the main living area over the sound of Mull. A very social space that suited our party, the children loved it! Overall a brilliant week in Mull with lots to do, would love to go back and highly recommend Carnanamish.

    By Sarah Bainbridge stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great house and location with plenty of space for everyone . Visited with children and grandchildren and dog and we were very comfortable.
    Garden looked a bit neglected when we arrived - weeds detracted from the smart stylish feel to the place .Niggles re some sticky locks ,mirrors , lack of hanging hooks in bedrooms or towel hanger in downstairs bathroom as others have said so come on guys read your reviews- it wouldn't take much to sort! This IS a lovely, spacious, welcoming property with stunning views and good amenities.

    By Kate Walker stayed in July 2016

    Editor's Note: Quick note to say these snags have all since been corrected, thanks for your feedback!

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic house! Booked to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary (we married on Calgary beach 06/06/06), we stayed as a party of 8 adults from 4-11 June. An unusually hot period of weather was fantastic for the hill walking, climbing and kayaking our party wanted to do but the heat in the house made it almost unbearable in the evenings even with the balcony doors opened upstairs. The master bedroom does not have an opening window - only sliding doors which we did not want to leave open all night! That said, a couple of electric fans would solve the problem should we have a repeat of these temperatures ????. Views from the property were amazing and we would definitely book again. As previous comments have also said - more mirrors required, none at all in main bedroom but these are minor niggles - This is a great property with very good facilities for 8 people. Would highly recommend.

    By Susan Boyle stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful property but if there were eight staying there is really only one proper shower, the other is a handheld shower over the bath. We were there in exceptionally hot weather (mid 20's). The master bedroom has no windows that can be opened just French doors, so at night it was too hot to sleep in that room. Not sure if property has air conditioning but the downstairs bedrooms (4) were all very hot. If there is air conditioning there are no instructions, though admittedly you would not normally expect such amazing weather! Otherwise ace views and well equipped kitchen. If mobility difficulties it is a very steep walk in and out of Tobermory.

    By Cathy stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    An absolutely amazing house in a stunning location with fantastic views from the upstairs living space, balconies and master bedroom. Four adults and 2 dogs had a fantastic week. It is very warm, thanks to the superb weather we never needed the huge Woodburner on and just slept with the doors and windows open making the most of the sea air! The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped with quality utensils. The only small complaint we had was a lack of mirrors in the bedrooms or in places difficult to use and the lack of places to put towels in the downstairs toilet. We would highly recommend this high spec, comfortable and spacious house. We didn't want to leave!

    By Amanda Mee-Shipman stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stylish yet homely house with incredible views of the Sound of Mull. Great location just a short walk away from Tobermory. Some really thoughtful little touches made us feel very welcome. The weather was very warm but we managed to keep the house cool by shutting the curtains while out for the day. Didn't want to leave at the end of our holiday - thoroughly recommended.

    By McManus Family stayed in May 2016

Add your review