Call us on 01688 400682

Brackens Reviews

11 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Super cottage in a lovely village. We enjoyed spending the day in the cottage as much as the warm welcome when getting in from a long walk - particularly the sofas and the log burner! Would highly recommend.

    By Hannah and Ed stayed in December 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb, comfortable, dog-friendly cottage in a village with good walks, friendly bar, well stocked shop and (expensive) bakery. The cottage has an enclosed garden - perfect for dogs. It's just 5 miles to Calgary Bay which is a perfect beach for a dog. Felt very welcome when we found wine and biscuits in the kitchen. Best cottage I've ever stayed in anywhere.

    By Kevin Curley CBE stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    On arrival meet with biscuits and wine which was very welcome.
    It felt like home straight way, wish we could have picked it up and brought it home with us, all furniture was very comfortable which is usual, so this was a great bonus especially for my wife she eyed the reclining chair up straight away.
    Great enclosed garden for the dog very safe.
    We turned the Seattle round several times to sit and watch the birds feeding out of the big window which was plentiful.
    Take plenty of bird food with you if you like to feed them.
    By far the best cottage we have had the pleasure of stopping in.

    By Stephen and Glynis stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great ! We've visited Scotland 2-3 times a year for over 15 years and stayed in some pretty impressive cottages, but this one has to be in the top three. Clean, well presented. Lovely kitchen, spacious with everything to hand.
    Dog friendly garden, 'Steve' the horse over the back gate (Don't know if he's Steve or even male, but that's how we tagged him)
    White tailed eagle landing on the hill and then flying across the valley in front of the house, a very welcome bonus.
    We don't very often revisit cottages we've gone to, but !!!!
    We'll be back (if we're allowed??).

    By Ian, Barbara, 'Bracken' & Skye stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It's very easy to write a '5 star' review for this property. 'Brackens' is quite simply a lovely house & Dervaig is a beautiful location. Great choice of furniture & a superbly well-equipped kitchen. It's comfortable, spacious & has more cupboard space than you could possibly need!
    Loved all the garden birds just as much as the eagles.
    Great walk to Quinish Point.

    By Richard & Joan stayed in November 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We've visited Scotland many times over the year, particularly the islands and more remote parts, but this was our first trip to Mull. We fell in love. What a beautiful island! The autumn colours never failed to disappoint, the wildlife, the coastline the mountains.
    The cottage is wonderfully well equipped, the large lounge, (TV and interweb for the kids!), huge kitchen and the 2 bathrooms were spot on. The garage was great for storing the bikes, there was a good sized porch/utility room which is ideal for wellies etc. Loads of cupboards. Smashing views & friendly local shop too!!

    By Ben Storey stayed in October 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely stay at Brackens. Cottage so comfortable and well equipped with lots of really thoughtful personal touches to make our stay special. Beautiful location within the village of Dervaig with stunning views. Loved the wildlife which visited the garden and eagles which flew over on a regular basis! Is also a fantastic spot for star gazing due to the dark skies, excellent views of the Milky Way. A 5 star recommendation from the whole family.

    By Vicki Jenkins stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very well equipped property in a great location. Already booked for next year.

    By Kevin and Jane stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely dog friendly cottage in a fantastic location. So lovely just to look out of the windows at the views, and the wildlife, especially the birds visiting the garden and those flying over (including the occasional sea eagle we think). The village is a very short walk down the hill and has a well stocked shop and pub which serves food. We had a great week despite mixed weather and would love to return.

    By Catherine and Ian stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent stay for us, such a beautiful landscape. The cottage is immaculate and everything is to hand. Ian was extremely helpful with his TV knowledge too.

    By Jennifer and Alex stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brackens was so perfect - it had everything, even baking equipment so the kids could bake a cake on a rainy day. All 3 generations loved it, with the kids romping in the garden, Grandma enjoying the birds on the feeder and us nipping off to the pub for a pint. As for wildlife - what can we say?! Five sightings of white tailed eagles out of the window and a sparrow hawk on the gate. Highest recommendations!!

    By Hannah stayed in August 2018

Add your review